Madison Office: 122 South, State Capitol  Phone: (608) 266-7745  E-mail: Sen.Harsdorf@legis.wi.gov

Texting while Driving Ban Signed Into Law

Wisconsin became the 25th state to ban text messaging on cell phones or other devices while driving now that the Governor signed 2009 Wisconsin Act 220 into law. The law takes effect on December 1, 2010 and carries penalties from $20 to $400 per offense, which mirrors current law for inattentive driving. Additional court fees will also apply.