Madison Office: 122 South, State Capitol  Phone: (608) 266-7745  E-mail:

Governor Vetoes Board of Regents Bill

As expected, Governor Doyle vetoed Senate Bill 223, which would have required a governor to appoint at least one member for each of the seven regions of the state to the University of Wisconsin Board of Regents. The current Board of Regents’ membership includes 10 of its 14 citizen members from either Dane or Milwaukee Counties. No citizen Regent currently resides near the River Falls, Stout, Superior, or Eau Claire campuses.