Madison Office: 122 South, State Capitol  Phone: (608) 266-7745  E-mail:

Governor Doyle Declares Drought Emergency

Governor Doyle signed an executive order yesterday declaring a drought emergency in Wisconsin. The executive order includes 41 counties, including Burnett, Dunn, Polk, Pierce, and St. Croix Counties.

Declaring a drought emergency allows the DNR to expedite temporary irrigation permits, which allow farmers to divert water from streams and lakes for crops. A USDA report issued earlier this week indicated that more than half of the state is experiencing short or very short soil moisture. Governor Doyle cited the economic impact of agriculture in Wisconsin that accounts for $59 billion in economic activity and over 350,000 jobs in announcing the executive order.