

WISCONSIN LEGISLATURE

P. O. Box 7882 Madison, WI 53707-7882

Media Release

For Immediate Release August 14, 2017

Contact: Rep. Katrina Shankland, (608) 267-9649 Sen. Patrick Testin, (608) 266-3123

Rep. Shankland and Sen. Testin Team Up to Honor SPASH Boys Basketball

The Legislature passes Shankland-Testin resolution to congratulate SPASH Varsity Boys Basketball Team

MADISON – Back to back! After the Stevens Point Area Senior High School boys varsity basketball team brought home their third consecutive championship trophy, Representative Katrina Shankland (D-Stevens Point) and Senator Patrick Testin (R-Stevens Point) introduced a joint resolution in the legislature congratulating the SPASH Panthers boys basketball team for their remarkable season. The resolution passed the Assembly and Senate on May 10, 2017. They will be presenting the enrolled resolution at 6:00 this evening at the SPASH Basketball Booster Club Annual Fundraiser, which is being held at the Stevens Point Country Club.

"The SPASH Panthers continue to make me and the entire Stevens Point area community proud," said Rep. Shankland. "These outstanding student athletes' work ethic, sportsmanship, and commitment exemplify what it means to be on a team. I'm proud that the Wisconsin State Legislature has again recognized the excellence of the SPASH Panthers, and I'm already looking forward to next season. Congratulations!"

"These young men have accomplished great things because of their dedication to each other and to a common goal," said Testin. "I'm excited to see what each of them will achieve in the coming years, both on the court and off."

The SPASH Panthers varsity boys basketball team won the 2015 Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association Division I State Championship title, their first state title since 1994. This year, the Panthers finished their season by defeating Arrowhead High 85-56 to capture their third consecutive Division I State Championship title, and their sixth state championship in school history.

Led by their three co-captains, Joey Hauser, Drew Blair, and Beau Rosenthal, and joined by exceptional teammates Keon'te Williams, Spencer Tyson, Sam Simmons, Andrew Erdman, Drew Cullen, Brennan Mueller, Logan Lewis, Max Hofmeister, Brett Ehr, Michael Vitt, and Tom Hatton, the Panthers exemplified determination, persistence, and integrity.