January 5, 2014
Contact: Scott Fitzgerald, (608)-266-5660  
Fitzgerald Welcomes the Members of the 102nd Wisconsin State Senate
[Madison, WI]   Today marked the first session day of the 102nd session of the Wisconsin State Senate and the swearing in of new and returning members. Senator Scott Fitzgerald (R-Juneau) delivered the following remarks for the proceedings:
  "Madame President, Justice Ziegler, Archbishop Listecki, Minority Leader Shilling, fellow colleagues, dear family, and distinguished guests:
It is with great honor that I stand before you all once again as Majority Leader. I thank my colleagues for continuing to bestow their trust in me, and welcome our incoming leadership, including Senator Mary Lazich who has the great distinction of being the first woman to be elected President of this body. We also welcome back Senator Fred Risser, the longest serving state senator in United States history. To our incoming Minority Leader Senator Shilling: we offer our congratulations and thanks for all of your support in the transition process.
As we begin the important duty of conducting the work of the people of Wisconsin, I would like to welcome and congratulate the 17 Senators whose oaths were renewed or taken for the first time today.  Your constituents have entrusted you with the great privilege and responsibility of representing their interests here in Wisconsin’s statehouse, and I look forward to working with each and every member of this body, new and returning.
While we have made great strides in putting our state on track, we have significant tasks ahead in working to ensure that Wisconsin is moving forward—continually becoming a better place for workers, taxpayers, and businesses.
I am proud of all that we have been able to accomplish, but more than that, I am proud that we have achieved all of this with a spirit of bipartisanship and cooperation. Last session, 97 percent of the bills that passed through these chambers and were signed into law in Wisconsin garnered support from both sides of the aisle. I call on all of my colleagues gathered here today to enter into the 102nd legislative session with that renewed spirit.
In this new session, we must build upon all of the achievements of the last. While Wisconsin’s voters are confident that our responsible stewardship has put Wisconsin on the right track, this session we must renew our commitment to improving our business climate, developing our workforce, and creating jobs.
As we embark on the process of crafting the next biennial budget, we will ensure that the best interests of Wisconsin’s taxpayers remain a priority. Meanwhile, we will strive to reform our education system, defend public safety, invest in infrastructure, and prove that we are responsible stewards of Wisconsin’s finances.
As members of the legislature, we are so often characterized by our divisions—from house, to district, to party affiliation; but all of us here today are united by our shared desire to make our state a better place.  It is in this spirit that I welcome all of you to the 102nd Session of the Wisconsin State Senate.”  
Senate Majority Leader Scott Fitzgerald (R-Juneau) represents the 13th Senate District, which covers portions of Dodge, Jefferson, Waukesha, Washington, Dane, and Columbia counties.
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 7882, Madison, WI 53707-7882



 Phone: (608)266-5660