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Child Support Law in Wisconsin 
This Abstract provides an overview of Wisconsin’s child support law.  It reviews the general 

statutory and administrative provisions governing the establishment, modification and enforcement of 
child support obligations in the state.  The Abstract also provides a brief history of the development and 
use of the standards used to establish child support obligations and offers some examples of how those 
standards are applied in various situations. 

ESTABLISHING CHILD SUPPORT 

Ordering Child Support 

Wisconsin courts are routinely called upon to enter an order requiring a parent of a child to 
financially contribute to the child’s expenses when the child’s parents do not live together.  Wisconsin 
law requires courts to order either or both parents of a child to pay “an amount reasonable or necessary 
to fulfill a duty to support the child” in certain actions affecting the family. 

The court must enter an order for support when it does any of the following:  (1) approves a 
marital settlement agreement or final stipulation providing for child support; (2) enters a judgment of 
annulment, divorce or legal separation; (3) enters an order for child support in an action to establish 
child support; (4) enters an order for family support; or (5) enters a paternity judgment.  [s. 767.25 (1), 
Stats.]  In addition, the court must also order either or both parents to pay child support when a court 
orders the placement of a child outside the home in a nonmedical residential facility, such as a foster 
home, group home, residential care center for children and youth, or juvenile correctional facility.  [ss. 
46.10 (14) (b) and 301.12 (14) (b), Stats.] 

Generally, a support obligation will continue until the child turns 18 years old, or 19 years old if 
the child is pursuing an accredited course of instruction leading to the acquisition of a high school 
diploma or its equivalent.  [s. 767.25 (4), Stats.] 

The Child Support Percentage Standard 

Federal law requires each state to establish one set of guidelines for use in establishing 
child support award amounts within the state.  The guidelines may be established by 
law or by judicial or administrative action.  Those guidelines must, at a minimum, 
consider all earnings and income of the noncustodial parent, be based on specific 
descriptive and numeric criteria, result in a computation of the support obligation and 
provide for the children’s health care needs through health insurance coverage or other 
means. 

Federal 
Requirements 

Federal law requires that the guidelines established by the state constitute a rebuttable 
presumption that the amount of child support generated by the application of those 
guidelines is the correct amount of child support to be awarded in each case.  Federal 
law allows, however, that the presumption may be rebutted by a written or specific 
finding on the record that the application of the guidelines would be unjust or 
inappropriate in a particular case as determined under criteria established by the state.  
That criteria must take into consideration the best interests of the child.  Findings that 
rebut the guidelines must include a justification of why the order varies from the 
guidelines. 
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Federal law requires that a state’s guidelines be reviewed, and revised, 
if appropriate, at least once every four years to ensure that their 
application results in the determination of appropriate child support 
award amounts.  As part of that review, a state must consider economic 
data on the cost of raising children and analyze case data gathered 
through sampling or other methods on the application of and 
deviations from the guidelines.  The analysis of the data must be used 
in the state’s review of the guidelines to ensure that deviations from the 
use of the guidelines are limited.  [45 C.F.R. s. 302.56.] 

Wisconsin’s 
Percentage-
of-Income 
Standard 

In 1983, pursuant to statutory directive, the Wisconsin Department of Health and Social 
Services, which at the time was responsible for administering the state’s child support 
program, adopted what has come to be known as the “percentage-of-income standard” 
or the “percentage standard” for use in establishing child support obligations. 

Under that standard, child support is determined by multiplying the income of a parent 
obligated to pay support by a certain percentage.  The percentage amount varies 
depending on the number of children that parent is obligated to support. 

The percentage of an obligated parent’s income required to be paid as support under the 
standard is as follows: 

• 17% for one child; 

• 25% for two children; 

• 29% for three children; 

• 31% for four children; and 

• 34% for five or more children. 

[s. DWD 40.03 (1), Wis. Adm. Code.] 

The rationale underlying the standard is described in the Wisconsin Administrative 
Code, as follows: 

The standard is based on the principle that a child’s standard of 
living should, to the degree possible, not be adversely affected 
because his or her parents are not living together.  It 
determines the percentage of a parent’s income and potential 
income from assets that parents should contribute toward the 
support of children if the family does not remain together.  The 
standard determines the minimum amount each parent is 
expected to contribute to the support of their children.  It 
expects that the custodial parent shares his or her income 
directly with their children.  It also presumes that the basic 
needs of the children are being met.  This latter presumption 
may be rebutted by clear and convincing evidence that the 
needs of the children are not being met.  [See ch. DWD 40, Wis. 
Adm. Code, Preface.] 

Since 1987, Wisconsin law has generally required that a court determine the amount of 
child support owed in a case by using the percentage standard unless the court finds 
that to do so would be unfair to the child or any of the parties.  [s. 767.25 (lj), Stats.] 
Mandatory 
Use of the 
Percentage 
Standard 
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Despite the general requirement to use the percentage standard, a court may, in certain 
cases, modify the amount of support generated by applying the standard.  However, it 
may do so only if it finds, after considering a number of factors specified in the statutes, 
that the use of the percentage standard is unfair to the child or to any of the parties.  
The factors to be considered in a divorce action or other action in which the parents no 
longer reside together, or in a paternity action are as follows: 

Deviating 
From the 
Percentage 
Standard 

• The financial resources of the child. 

• The financial resources of both parents. 

• Maintenance payments received by either party. 

• The needs of each party to support himself or herself at a level equal to or greater 
than the federal poverty level. 

• The needs of any person, other than the child, whom either party is legally obligated 
to support. 

• If the parties were married, the standard of living the child would have enjoyed had 
the marriage not ended in annulment, divorce or legal separation. 

• The desirability that the custodian remain in the home as a full-time parent. 

• The cost of day care if the custodian works outside the home, or the value of 
custodial services performed by the custodian if the custodian remains in the home. 

• The award of substantial periods of physical placement to both parents. 

• Extraordinary travel expenses incurred in exercising the right to periods of physical 
placement. 

• The physical, mental and emotional health needs of the child, including any costs 
for health insurance ordered by the court. 

• The child’s educational needs. 

• The tax consequences to each party. 

• The best interests of the child. 

• The earning capacity of each parent based on each parent’s education, training and 
work experience and the availability of work in or near the parent’s community. 

• Any other factors the court determines are relevant in a particular case. 

[s. 767.25 (1m), Stats.] 

Similar factors are to be considered when a child is placed in a nonmedical residential 
facility.  [See ss. 46.10 (14) (c) and 301.12 (14) (c), Stats.] 

If a court, after considering the above factors, finds that the application of the 
percentage standard is unfair and the court sets support without strict adherence to the 
percentage standard, the court must state in writing or on the record:  (1) the amount of 
support that would be required using the percentage standard; (2) the amount by which 
the court’s order deviates from the amount that would be required using the percentage 
standard; (3) its reasons for finding that using the percentage standard would be unfair; 

 
Child Support Law in Wisconsin  Page 3 



 

(4) its reasons for the amount of the modification; and (5) the basis for the 
modification.  [ss. 46.10 (14) (d), 767.25 (1n) and 301.12 (14) (d), Stats.] 

When support is set, the percentage standard is applied to the obligated parent’s gross 
income and, if applicable, the obligated parent’s imputed income. 

Defining 
Income Subject 
to Child 
Support For purposes of setting child support “gross income” is defined broadly.  A person’s 

gross income includes all of the following: 

• All income considered federal gross income under the Internal Revenue Code. 

• Net proceeds resulting from Worker’s Compensation or other personal injury 
awards intended to replace income. 

• Unemployment compensation. 

• Income continuation benefits. 

• Voluntary deferred compensation, employee contributions to any employee benefit 
plan or profit-sharing, and voluntary employee contributions to any pension or 
retirement account whether or not the account provides for tax deferral or 
avoidance. 

• Military allowances and veterans benefits. 

• Undistributed income of a corporation, including a closely-held corporation, or any 
partnership, including a limited or limited liability partnership, in which the payer 
has an ownership interest sufficient to individually exercise control or to access the 
earnings of the business, unless the income is included as an “asset available for 
imputing” income.  [Income under this provision is subject to reduction by the 
business expenses that a court determines are reasonably necessary for the 
production of that income or operation of the business.] 

• Any income imputed to the payer. 

• All other income. 

[s. DWD 40.02 (13), Wis. Adm. Code.] 

“Gross income,” however, does not include public assistance or child support that the 
parent receives.  [s. DWD 40.02 (13) (i), Wis. Adm. Code.] 

To determine a parent’s “gross income available for child support,” certain adjustments 
are made to the parent’s gross income.  Generally, the parent’s gross income is 
increased by adding to it wages paid to dependent household members and subtracting 
from it business expenses which the court determines are reasonably necessary for the 
production of that income or operation of the business.  [s. DWD 40.02 (14), Wis. Adm. 
Code.] 

As noted above, a court may sometimes set child support based upon a parent’s 
“imputed income.”  “Imputed income” is the amount of income ascribed to assets which 
are unproductive or to which income has been diverted to avoid paying child support or 
from which income is necessary to maintain the child at the economic level he or she 
would enjoy if the child was living with his or her parents, and which exceeds the actual 
earnings of the assets.  [s. DWD 40.02 (15), Wis. Adm. Code.] 

To impute income for child support, the court must find that:  (1) the payer has 
underproductive assets; (2) the payer has diverted income into assets to avoid paying 
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child support; or (3) the income from the payer’s assets is necessary to maintain the 
child at the economic level he or she would enjoy if the child’s parents lived together.  
Upon making one or more of the above findings, the court may attribute income to the 
payer’s identifiable assets by multiplying the total net value of the assets by the current 
six-month treasury bill rate, or another rate that the court determines to be reasonable.  
The actual earnings of the assets are then subtracted from this amount to arrive at the 
imputed income available for child support.  [s. DWD 40.05, Wis. Adm. Code.] 

The Wisconsin Administrative Code provisions relating to child support contemplate 
the special application of the percentage standard to payers with obligations to support 
children in other households and to those who spend significant periods of time with 
the children they are ordered to support.  The Code describes three different types of 
payers who receive special treatment in the application of the percentage standard:  (1) 
a serial-family payer; (2) a shared-time payer; and (3) a split-custody payer.  The 
application of the percentage standard to all these types of payers is described below. 

Treatment 
of Different 
Households 
Under the 
Percentage 
Standard 

The serial family payer.  A “serial-family payer” is a payer with an existing legal 
obligation for child support who incurs an additional legal obligation for child support 
in a subsequent family as a result of a court order.  [s. DWD 40.02 (24), Wis. Adm. 
Code.] 

Generally, under the serial-family formula, a parent’s existing support obligation is 
subtracted from the parent’s gross income before the percentage standard is applied to 
the parent’s remaining income to arrive at the parent’s subsequent support obligation.  
Under this formula, children of a first family will not see their support reduced due to 
subsequently born children in different families. 

Example:  Parent A pays 17% of his gross income for the 
support of his one child from a previous marriage.  Parent A 
subsequently incurs a second support obligation for a 
nonmarital child.  Parent A’s child support obligation for his 
second child is determined as follows: 

$1,000 Monthly gross income 
-   170 Child support for first child 
 ($1,000 x 17%) 
$   830 Income available for 
  subsequent support order 
x  17% Child support percentage for 
  second child 
$   141 Child support for second child 

[See s. DWD 40.04 (1), Wis. Adm. Code.] 

The shared-time payer.  For parents who spend significant periods of time with their 
children under a “shared-time” physical placement arrangement, the “shared-time” 
formula was developed as a recognition of the increased costs incurred by those parents.  
The law defines a “shared-time payer” as a payer who provides overnight child care or 
equivalent care above 30% of the year (109.5 days) and assumes all variable child care 
costs in proportion to the number of days he or she cares for the child under the shared-
time arrangement.  [s. DWD 40.02 (25), Wis. Adm. Code.]  “Variable costs” include 
payment for food, clothing, school, extracurricular activities recreation, and day care.  
[s. DWD 40.02 (30), Wis. Adm. Code.] 

In addition, the law recognizes that there are physical placement arrangements in which 
the payer provides child care beyond the 30% threshold and incurs additional costs in 
proportion to the time he or she provides care, but because of the physical placement 
arrangement agreed to by the parties or ordered by the court, the payer does not 
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provide overnight care.  Accordingly, the law authorizes the court, upon request of one 
of the parties, to determine that a physical placement arrangement which provides for 
care other than overnight care is the equivalent of overnight care. 

Under the shared-time formula, the net child support obligation of a parent who spends 
more than 30% but less than 40% of the overnights with his or her child will constitute 
a specified percentage of his or her base child support obligation (determined by 
multiplying the parent’s gross income by the appropriate percentage).  Under this 
formula, the more overnights that an obligated parent spends with a child, the lower his 
or her net child support obligation will be.  The amount of time spent with a child and 
the corresponding percentage of the base child support obligation are represented in the 
table below: 

% of Time With Child % of Base Child 
Support Obligations 

30 100 

31 96.67 

32 93.34 

33 90.01 

34 86.68 

35 83.35 

36 80.02 

37 76.69 

38 73.36 

39 70.03 

40 66.70 

 

Example:  Parent A has one child with which he spends 32% of the 
overnights.  Parent A earns $1,000 per month.  Parent A’s monthly 
support obligation is calculated as follows: 

($1,000 x 17%) x 93.34% = $159 (Net Monthly Support Obligation) 

When each parent spends more than 40% of the overnights with the child, support is calculated 
on the basis of both parent’s income.  To establish a support obligation under this approach, the court 
first determines each parent’s base child support obligation by multiplying the parents’ individual gross 
incomes by the applicable percentage under the standard.  Next, each parent’s base support obligation is 
multiplied by a specified percentage depending upon the percentage of time that each parent spends 
with the child to determine each parent’s modified support obligation.  The reduction percentages are 
listed in the table below: 

% Of Time 
With Child 

% Of Base Child 
Support Obligation 

41 63.37 

42 60.04 

43 56.71 

44 53.38 
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% Of Time 
With Child 

% Of Base Child 
Support Obligation 

45 50.05 

46 46.72 

47 43.39 

48 40.06 

49 36.73 

50 33.40 

51 30.07 

52 26.74 

53 23.41 

54 20.08 

55 16.75 

56 13.42 

57 10.09 

58 6.76 

59 3.43 

60 0.00 

Finally, having determined each parent’s modified support obligation, the lesser child support 
obligation is subtracted from the larger one to determine the net child support obligation of the parent 
with the larger modified support obligation.  [s. DWD 40.04 (2), Wis. Adm. Code.] 

Example:  Parent A and Parent B have one child between them.  Parent 
A has placement 42% of the time and Parent B has placement 58% of 
the time.  Parent A’s monthly gross income is $2,000 and Parent B’s is 
$1,500.  The net child support obligation is determined as follows: 

• Parent A’s modified support obligation:  ($2,000 x 17%) x 60.04% = $204 

• Parent B’s modified support obligation:  ($1,500 x 17%) x 6.76% = $17 

• Subtract the smaller modified support obligation from the larger 
modified support obligation to obtain the net child support 
obligation of the parent with the higher modified support 
obligation:  $204 - $17 = $187 (Parent A’s net monthly child 
support obligation). 

Split-custody payers.  A payer who has two or more children but who has physical placement 
of one or more but not all the children is considered a “split-custody payer.”  [s. DWD 40.02 (26), Wis. 
Adm. Code.] 

A split-custody payer’s child support obligation is determined by first establishing each parent’s 
child support obligation by multiplying their individual gross incomes by the appropriate child support 
percentage corresponding to the number of children in the physical custody of the other parent.  The 
smaller obligation is then subtracted from the larger one and the difference is the child support 
obligation of the parent with the larger child support obligation.  [s. DWD 40.04 (3), Wis. Adm. Code.] 
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Example:  Parents A & B have three children.  Parent A has primary 
placement of one child and Parent B has primary placement of the 
other two children.  Parent A earns $2,000 per month and Parent B 
earns $1,500 per month.  The net child support obligation is 
determined as follows: 

• Parent A’s monthly base child support obligation:  $2,000 x 25% = $500 

• Parent B’s monthly base child support obligation:  $1,500 x 17% = $255 

• Parent A’s monthly net support obligation:  $500 - $255 = $245 

Expressing the Child Support Order 

Generally, support must be expressed as a fixed amount of money equal to the appropriate 
percentage of the income of the obligated parent at the time the order is established.  However, the 
parties may stipulate to having the order expressed as a percentage of the obligated parent’s income.  A 
court may not approve such a stipulation unless the state is not a “real party in interest”;1 the obligated 
parent is not subject to any other order, in any other action, for the payment of child or family support, 
or maintenance; and all payment obligations included in the order, other than the annual receiving and 
disbursing fee, are expressed as a percentage of the obligated parent’s income. 

Other Orders Relating to Support 

In addition to providing for child support in the form of monetary payments, Wisconsin 
law authorizes courts to order persons subject to support orders to do certain other 
things to ensure that their children are provided for.  Some examples of these other 
orders are described below. 

Wisconsin law authorizes courts to require either or both parents to seek employment 
or participate in an employment or training program when the court orders child 
support.  [s. 767.253, Stats.]  In addition to this general grant of authority, two special 
situations are recognized in the law: 

Seek Work 
Orders 

Unemployed teenage parents.  The law requires courts to order an unemployed 
teenage parent to do one or more of the following:  (1) register for work at a public 
employment office; (2) apply for jobs; (3) participate in a job training program; or (4) 
pursue or continue to pursue a high school degree or its equivalent if the unemployed 
teenage parent does not possess one.  An “unemployed teenage parent” is a parent who 
is less than 20 years of age, is unemployed, is financially unable to pay child support 
and would be ordered to pay child support if financially able to pay it.  [s. 767.254, 
Stats.] 

Children First Program.  The law requires courts in counties that participate in a 
work experience program to order an unemployed, noncustodial parent who lives in 

                                                             

1 Under s. 767.075, Stats., the state is a “real party in interest” in any of the following circumstances:  (a)  in an 
action to establish paternity whenever there is an application for legal services filed with the county child support 
agency or whenever the attorney for the child support agency receives a referral from a children’s or juvenile court 
to establish the paternity of a child who is the subject of an action in such a court; (b) in an action to establish or 
enforce a child support or maintenance obligation whenever there is a completed application for legal services filed 
with the county child support agency; (c) whenever certain public assistance benefits are provided on behalf of a 
dependent child or are provided to the child’s custodial parent; and (d) whenever such benefits were provided in the 
past and the child’s family is eligible for continuing child support services under federal law. 
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that county to register for the program.  In addition, if the county in which the 
proceeding takes place does not participate in such a program, but the county in which 
the payer resides does participate, the court may order the payer to participate if the 
other county agrees to enroll the payer.  The program, known as the Children First 
Program, may offer the kinds of work experience and job training opportunities 
available to participants in the Wisconsin Works (W-2) welfare program and may also 
include job search and job orientation activities.  A payer may be ordered into this 
program when the parent is able to work full time but works, on average, less than 32 
hours per week, is not participating in another employment training program and has 
actual weekly gross income averaging less than 40 times the federal minimum hourly 
wage or less than the parent has the ability to earn.   

While participating in the program, the parent is required to pay child support at an 
amount equal to the appropriate percentage standard multiplied by the current federal 
minimum wage earned in a 40-hour work week or equal to the amount of child support 
that the parent was ordered to pay in the most recent determination of support.  Those 
payments are to continue until the parent makes full payment for three consecutive 
months or until the parent has participated in the program for 16 weeks, whichever 
occurs first.  Once these conditions are met, the parent’s support obligation is to be set 
by the regular application of the percentage standard to his or her income.  A court need 
not make an order directing a person to participate in the program if the court makes 
written findings that there is good cause not to issue such an order.  [s. 767.295, Stats.] 

A court that issues a child support order for a child must also assign responsibility for 
payment of the child’s health care expenses.  In doing so, the court must consider the 
following:  (1) whether the child is covered under a parent’s health insurance policy or 
plan at the time of entry of the order; (2) the availability of health insurance to each 
parent through an employer or other organization; (3) the extent of coverage available 
for the child; and (4) the cost to the parent for coverage of the child. 

Orders for 
Health Care 
Expenses 
and 
Insurance 

The court may also require a parent to initiate or continue health insurance coverage for 
a child. 

A parent required to provide health insurance coverage is also required to provide 
copies of necessary program or policy identification to the other parent and is liable for 
any health care costs for which he or she receives reimbursement from an insurer.  [s. 
767.25 (4m), Stats.] 

The court may, in directing the manner of payment of a child’s health care expenses, 
order that payment, including payment for health insurance premiums, be withheld 
from the income of the obligated parent and sent to the appropriate health care insurer, 
provider or plan, or sent to another destination for disbursement to the person for 
whom the payment has been awarded.  [s. 767.25 (4m) (c), Stats.]  (The law regulating 
the withholding for health care expenses parallels that for the withholding of child 
support.  Income withholding for child support purposes is discussed in a following 
section.) 

If a court orders a parent to provide for the health care expenses of the parent’s child 
and the parent is eligible for family coverage of health care expenses under a health 
benefit plan that is provided by an employer, the employer must do all of the following:  
(1) permit the parent to obtain family coverage of health care expenses for the parent 
and the child, if eligible, without regard to any enrollment or waiting period restrictions 
that may apply; (2) provide family coverage of health care expenses for the parent and 
the child, if eligible, upon application by the parent, the child’s other parent or the 
county child support agency; (3) notify the child support agency when coverage of the 
child is in effect and, upon request, provide copies of necessary program or policy 
identification to the child’s other parent; and (4) after the child has coverage under the 
employer’s health benefit plan, continue to provide coverage for the child unless the 
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employer receives satisfactory written evidence that the court order is no longer in effect 
or that the child has coverage of health care expenses under another comparable policy 
or plan.  [s. 767.25 (4m) (d), Stats.] 

If a parent obligated to provide health care coverage for a child changes employers, the 
county child support agency must provide notice of the health care coverage 
requirement to the new employer and the obligated parent.  The notice to the parent 
must inform the parent that health care coverage will be in effect upon the employer’s 
receipt of the notice.  The parent may request a court hearing to contest the 
appropriateness of the order for health care coverage remaining in effect. 

In order to protect and promote the best interest of the minor child, the court may set 
aside a portion of the child support which either party is ordered to pay in a separate 
fund or trust.  The accumulation is to be used for the support, education and welfare of 
the child.  [s. 767.25 (2), Stats.] 

Trusts 

Similarly, when the court deems it expedient to do so, it may appoint a trustee to receive 
any payments ordered, to invest and pay over the income for the support and education 
of a child or to pay over the principal at such time as the court may direct.  [s. 767.31, 
Stats.] 

In every action in which a court orders child support, the court must require the parties 
to exchange financial information annually.  [s. 767.27 (2m), Stats.] 

Financial 
Disclosures 

Payment of Child Support 

Where 
Payments 
Are Made 

All court orders requiring the payment of child support must direct that the child 
support be paid to DWD or its designee.  DWD has designated ACS State and Local 
Solutions, Inc., as the statewide, central disbursement unit for all child support 
payments in this state.  The central disbursement unit, which maintains the Wisconsin 
Support Collections Trust Fund, receives the payment, keeps a record of the payments 
and disburses each payment, generally within two business days of its receipt, to the 
party entitled to receive it. 

Generally, parties ordered to pay child support must pay an annual receiving and 
disbursing fee of $35.  [s. 767.29 (1), Stats.] 

Income assignment.  In most cases, child support is automatically withheld from the 
pay of an obligated parent by the employer and sent to the central disbursement unit.  
Every child support order entered in Wisconsin constitutes an assignment of all income 
to be received by the payer.  An assignment requires an employer or other person who 
pays money to a parent obligated to pay child support to withhold the appropriate 
amount of child support from the wages or other money to be paid every time that 
money is paid to the parent. 

How 
Payments 
Are Made, 
Recorded, 
and 
Disbursed 

The assignment is to be in an amount sufficient to satisfy the current child support 
order as well as an amount necessary to satisfy any child support arrearage.  The 
amount used to satisfy the arrearage, however, may not exceed 50% of the amount due 
for the child support obligation and may not leave the payer at a level of income below 
the federal poverty level.  [s. 767.265 (1), Stats.]  Federal law also limits the amount that 
an employer may withhold from a payer’s wages pursuant to an order for support.  If the 
obligated parent is supporting dependents in addition to the person for whom support 
has been ordered, the maximum amount that can be withheld is 50% of the parent’s 
disposable earnings.  (“Disposable earnings” are the part of the earnings of an employee 
remaining after the deduction of federal, state and local withholding taxes, and Social 
Security taxes.)  If the obligated parent is not supporting dependents in addition to 
those for whom the support was ordered, the maximum amount that may be withheld is 
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60%.  These amounts may be increased by 5% if the withholding is to enforce child 
support arrears. 

An assignment may go into effect immediately or at some future date.  If the child 
support order does not call for the immediate effectuation of the assignment, and if the 
obligated parent fails to make a required support payment under the court order within 
10 days of its due date, the court, court commissioner, or county child support agency 
must, within 20 days of the payment’s due date, put the assignment into effect and must 
send a notice to the obligated parent and to the person from whom the parent receives 
income that the assignment is in effect.  The obligated parent may contest the 
effectuation of the assignment by filing a motion with the court within 10 days of the 
notice.  A hearing must be held within 10 days of the date the motion was filed.  If the 
court finds that the assignment is not proper because of a mistake of fact, the court 
must withdraw the assignment.  [s. 767.265 (2h), Stats.] 

If, after an assignment is in effect, the obligated parent’s employer changes its payroll 
period or the parent changes employers and the new employer’s payroll period is 
different from the former employer’s payroll period, the clerk of court may amend the 
withholding order so that the withholding frequency corresponds to the new payroll 
period and the amounts to be withheld reflect the adjustment to the withholding 
frequency.  After amending the withholding order, the clerk of court must provide 
notice of the amended withholding order by regular mail to the employer and to the 
obligated parent.  [s. 767.265 (7m), Stats.] 

The employer or other person who pays money to the obligated parent must remit the 
amount of support withheld from the parent’s pay to the central disbursement unit 
within five days of paying the parent.  The employer must report to the central 
disbursement unit the obligated parent’s gross income or other gross amount from 
which the payment was withheld.  The employer may withhold an additional amount, 
up to $3, from the obligated parent’s pay for the employer’s necessary expenses in 
complying with the withholding order.  [s. 767.265 (3h), Stats.] 

If the employer, after having received notice of the assignment, fails to withhold the 
money or fails to send it to the central disbursement unit, the employer may be 
proceeded against for contempt of court or may be required to forfeit not less than $50 
nor more than an amount, if the amount exceeds $50, that is equal to 1% of the amount 
not withheld or sent.  [s. 767.265 (6) (a), Stats.] 

Deposit account transfer.  If a court or court commissioner determines that income 
withholding is inapplicable, ineffective or insufficient to ensure payment, the court or 
court commissioner may require the obligated parent to identify or establish a deposit 
account, owned in whole or in part by the obligated parent, that allows for periodic 
transfers of funds.  The parent must also file an authorization with the financial 
institution at which the account is located to allow transfer of funds to the central 
disbursement unit.  The authorization must be on a form approved by the court and 
must specify the rate and frequency of the transfers.  The authorization must also 
include the obligated parent’s consent for the financial institution to disclose 
information to the court, court commissioner, county child support agency, or central 
disbursement unit regarding the account for which the obligated parent has executed 
the authorization for transfer. 

A financial institution that receives an authorization must transfer the amounts as 
specified in the authorization.  However, the financial institution may deduct from the 
payer’s account for each transfer its usual fee for such fund transfers.  If the account is 
closed or if no funds are available for transfer, the financial institution must notify the 
county child support agency and the central disbursement unit of that fact within 10 
days after the date on which the funds should have been transferred.  An authorization 
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for child support transfer has priority over other authorizations and may not be revoked 
except by court order.  [s. 767.267, Stats.] 

Record keeping and disbursement of child support by the central 
disbursement unit.  The central disbursement unit is responsible for the receipt and 
disbursement of the child support paid to it under various court orders.  Generally, the 
central disbursement unit is required to disburse the child support to the appropriate 
party within two business days after receiving it.  [s. 767.29 (1), Stats.]  The central 
disbursement unit must also keep accurate records of the child support and arrearage 
payments made by payers.  County child support agencies have access to these payment 
records through the Kids Information Data System (KIDS). 

If a court finds that the record of child support payments and arrearages kept by the 
central disbursement unit is substantially incorrect and that the unit has failed to 
correct the record within 30 days after having received information that the court 
determines is sufficient for making the correction, the court may order payment of costs 
by the unit.  [s. 767.262 (4) (b), Stats.] 

When support is received, it must be applied according to the following order of 
priority:  (1) first, to payment of child support due within the calendar month during 
which the payment is received; (2) second, to payment of unpaid child support due 
before the payment is received; and (3) third, to payment of interest accruing on unpaid 
child support.  [s. 767.25 (6), Stats.] 

If the central disbursement unit receives support money that exceeds the amount due in 
the month in which it was received and determines that it is for support due in a 
subsequent month, the central disbursement unit may hold the overpayment portion for 
disbursement in the next month if:  (1) the payer or payee requests it; (2) the court or 
court commissioner orders it; (3) the support has been assigned to the state as a 
condition of receiving public assistance; or (4) the central disbursement unit determines 
that it should be held and disbursed in the next month.  [s. 767.29 (1m), Stats.] 

MODIFICATION OF CHILD SUPPORT ORDERS 

General 

A final judgment or order for child support is, from time to time, subject to modification by 
court order.  A party wishing to modify a child support order may commence an action to modify the 
support order.  The Office of Family Court Commissioner is required to provide informational material 
relating to the procedure for modifying a judgment or order involving child support and the major issues 
usually addressed in such an action.  [s. 767.081 (2), Stats.]  Some counties also provide to parties, upon 
request, a “do-it-yourself” packet for filing an action to modify a judgment or order of child support.  If a 
party desires legal assistance in modifying his or her child support order, that party may seek the 
services of a private attorney.  In the alternative, a recipient of child support may seek child support 
modification services from the local child support agency. 

Venue for Modification Actions 

A party seeking to modify a judgment or order for child support must file either a petition, 
motion or an order to show cause in the county in which the original judgment or order was rendered or 
in the county where the minor child resides, unless:  (1) all parties stipulate to filing in another county; 
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or (2) the court in the original county orders, upon good cause shown, the action to be filed in another 
county.  [s. 767.025 (2), Stats.] 

If the parties stipulate to filing in another county, the party bringing the modification action 
must send a copy of the petition, motion or order to show cause to the clerk of court in the original 
county.  If a court in the original county orders the modification action to be filed in another county, the 
party bringing the action must attach a copy of that order to the petition, motion or order to show cause 
when it is filed in the other county.  [s. 767.025 (2), Stats.] 

Factors Considered in Modification Actions 

A child support order or judgment may be modified only if the court finds that there has been a 
substantial change in the circumstances of the parties or of the children since entry of the last order for 
support.  The statutes specify several factors which give rise to a rebuttable presumption that a 
substantial change of circumstances has occurred.  Those factors include: 

• Commencement of participation in Wisconsin Works (W-2) by either parent since the entry 
of the last child support order; 

• Except in the case of a percentage-expressed order, the expiration of 33 months after the 
date of entry of the last child support order; 

• Failure of the obligated parent to furnish a timely annual financial disclosure; and 

• A difference between the amount of child support ordered by a court to be paid by an 
obligated parent and the amount that the parent would have been required to pay based on 
the percentage standard if the court did not use the percentage standard in determining the 
child support payments and did not explain its reasons for doing so.  [s. 767.32 (1) (b), 
Stats.] 

In addition to the above factors, the statutes also specify several other conditions that may be 
found to constitute a substantial change in circumstances.  Those include: 

• A change in the obligated parent’s income from the parent’s  income the last time support 
was set (except for orders expressed as a percentage of income); 

• A change in the needs of the child; 

• A change in the obligated parent’s earning capacity; and 

• Any other condition the court determines to be relevant. 

[s. 767.32 (1) (c), Stats.] 

Finally, in an action to modify a support order from one in which the support obligation is 
expressed as a percentage of the obligated parent’s income to one in which the obligation is expressed as 
a fixed sum, the court need not find that a substantial change of circumstances has taken place.  [s. 
767.32 (1) (d), Stats.] 

Determining the Amount of Modified Support 

A court that modifies a child support order must do so by applying the percentage of income 
standard discussed above.  If married or remarried, the obligated parent is treated as though he or she 
were single for purposes of applying the percentage standard.  Thus, the percentage standard may be 
applied only to the income of the obligated parent and not to the income of that parent’s spouse.  [See 
In re the Marriage of Abitz v. Abitz, 155 Wis. 2d 161, 455 N.W. 2d 609 (1990).]  Upon request of a party 
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to the action, the court may deviate from the percentage standard if it finds, by the greater weight of the 
credible evidence, that the use of the percentage standard is unfair to the child or any of the parties.  In 
determining whether the use of the percentage of income standard is unfair to the child or parties, the 
court must consider the factors specified on page 3 of this Abstract.  [s. 767.32 (2) and (2m), Stats.] 

When the state is a real party in interest, the county child support agency must periodically 
review the case to determine if criteria exist for a modification.  If the county child support agency 
determines that criteria exist for a modification of the child support order, the agency must seek a 
modification of the order. 

Retroactive Adjustments 

If the court decides to modify the child support order, it may not revise the amount of support 
due, or the arrearages that have accrued, prior to the date that notice of the action to modify the child 
support order is given to the responding party, except to correct previous errors in calculation.  [s. 
767.32 (1m), Stats.]  However, in some cases, a court may grant a credit to the obligated parent against 
support that is due prior to the date of notice to the other party for payments made by the obligated 
parent in a manner other than the manner required by the court order.  The court may grant such a 
credit in any of the following circumstances: 

• The obligated parent shows by documentary evidence that the payments were made directly 
to the recipient of support by check or money order, and shows by a preponderance of the 
evidence that the payments were intended for support and not intended as a gift to or on 
behalf of the child, or as some other voluntary expenditure, or for the payment of some 
other obligation to the recipient. 

• The obligated parent proves by clear and convincing evidence, with evidence of a written 
agreement, that the recipient of support expressly agreed to accept the payments in lieu of 
child or family support paid as required under the support order, not including gifts or 
contributions for entertainment. 

• The obligated parent proves by documentary evidence that, for a period during which 
unpaid support accrued, the child received certain Social Security benefits based on that 
parent’s entitlement to Social Security disability benefits.  (Any credit granted under this 
provision is limited to the amount of unpaid support that accrued during the period for 
which the benefits were paid.) 

• The obligated parent proves by a preponderance of the evidence that the child lived with the 
obligated parent, with the agreement of the other parent, for more than 60 days beyond a 
court-ordered period of physical placement.  (Credit may not be granted under this 
provision if, with respect to the time that the child lived with the obligated parent beyond 
the court-ordered period of physical placement, the other parent sought to enforce the 
physical placement order through civil or criminal process or if the other parent shows that 
the child’s relocation to the obligated parent’s home was not mutually agreed to by both 
parents.) 

• The obligated parent proves by a preponderance of the evidence that both parents resumed 
living together with the child and that, during the period for which a credit is sought, the 
obligated parent directly supported the family by paying amounts at least equal to the 
amount of unpaid court-ordered support that accrued during that period. 

[s. 767.32 (1r), Stats.] 
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Annual Adjustments in Support 

In addition to the above-described modification process, a child support order may contain 
provisions that call for the amount of support to change on an annual basis based upon a change in the 
obligated parent’s income.  The order may specify the date upon which the order is to change.  However, 
no annual adjustment may be made unless the order allows for the adjustment and the person entitled 
to the payments applies for the adjustment.  A person is limited to one annual adjustment per year.  In 
the order, the court must specify what information the parties must exchange to determine whether the 
obligated parent’s income has changed, and must specify the manner and timing of the exchange of 
information.  [s. 767.33 (1), Stats.] 

If the court provides for an annual adjustment, the court must make available to the parties a 
form approved by the court for the parties to use in stipulating to an adjustment of the amount of 
support.  The form must include an order, to be signed by the court, for approval of the stipulation.  [s. 
767.33 (2), Stats.] 

If the obligated parent’s income changes from the amount found by the court or stipulated to by 
the parties for the current support order, the parties may implement an annual adjustment by 
stipulating to the changed income amount and the adjusted support amount.  The stipulation must be 
signed by all the parties and filed with the court.  If the stipulation is approved, the order must be signed 
by the court and becomes effective as of the date on which the order is so signed.  [s. 767.33 (3), Stats.] 

Any party may file a motion, petition, or order to show cause for implementation of an annual 
adjustment if a party refuses to exchange the required financial information or the obligated parent’s 
income changes, but a party refuses to sign a stipulation adjusting the support order.  If the court 
determines, after a hearing, that an adjustment should be made, the court must enter an order adjusting 
the support payments.  The adjustment may not take effect before the date on which the responding 
party received notice of the requested modification.  However, the court may direct that all or part of the 
adjustment not take effect until such time as the court directs if any of the following applies:  (1) the 
parent receiving the support was seeking an adjustment and the obligated parent establishes that 
extraordinary circumstances beyond his or her control prevent fulfillment of the adjusted child or family 
support obligation; (2) the obligated parent was seeking an adjustment and the parent receiving the 
support establishes that the custodial parent voluntarily and unreasonably reduced his or her income 
below his or her earning capacity; or (3) the obligated parent was seeking an adjustment and the parent 
receiving the support establishes that the adjustment would be unfair to the child.  [s. 767.33 (4) (a) to 
(c), Stats.] 

If a court determines that a party has unreasonably failed to exchange the required financial 
information or failed to do so in a timely manner, or unreasonably failed or refused to sign a stipulation 
for an annual adjustment, the court may award to the aggrieved party actual costs, any costs attributable 
to time missed from employment, the cost of travel to and from court, and reasonable attorney fees.  [s. 
767.33 (4) (d), Stats.] 

 

ENFORCEMENT OF SUPPORT 

In addition to providing for the establishment and modification of child support orders, 
Wisconsin law, and to a lesser extent federal law, provides several tools for enforcing those child support 
orders.  The types of enforcement mechanisms available can be broadly categorized as follows:  (1) civil 
and administrative; and (2) criminal.  A person seeking assistance in enforcing a child support order 
may either contact a private attorney or his or her county child support agency.  Several enforcement 
mechanisms are discussed below. 
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Civil and Administrative Enforcement Mechanisms 

Employers are required to report information on all newly hired or rehired employees 
to DWD to aid in the location of parents with child support obligations and to assist in 
the timely and efficient withholding of support from wages.  Generally, reports are due 
within 20 days after the date the employee starts or restarts work or at least twice per 
month for employers that report electronically or on magnetic tape. 

New Hire 
Reporting 

Employers are required to report the following:  (1) the employee’s name, address, 
Social Security number, date of birth and date of hire; and (2) the employer’s name, 
address and Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN).  This information may be 
reported on the state WT-4 form for income tax withholding, which has been modified 
to accommodate the new hire reporting requirements.  The information submitted to 
the state New Hire Reporting Directory will be linked to a National Directory of New 
Hires, which will help in the tracking of parents who owe child support across state 
lines.  [s. 103.05, Stats.] 

DWD is responsible for the operation of the Financial Records Matching Program, 
which involves data sharing between DWD and financial institutions doing business in 
the state.  The purpose of the program is to identify and locate assets held in accounts at 
financial institutions that belong to persons who owe delinquent support.  When 
financial assets of an obligated parent who owes delinquent support are identified, they 
may be frozen or seized to satisfy the delinquent support obligation. 

Financial 
Record 
Matching 
Program 

When a parent obligated to pay child support fails to pay the court-ordered support, the 
amount that is not paid becomes a lien in favor of DWD upon all property of the 
delinquent payer.  The delinquency is listed in the statewide support lien docket, 
maintained by DWD.  The support lien becomes effective when the delinquency is 
entered on the docket and made available electronically to the register of deeds.  
Obligated parents owing the greater of $500 or one month of support will be added to 
the list. 

Support Lien 
Docket and 
Administrative 
Seizure of 
Assets 

When a delinquency is placed on the docket, DWD must notify the delinquent parent of 
the lien and allow the parent an opportunity to contest the delinquency, to satisfy the 
lien by paying the delinquency in whole or to enter into an alternative payment 
arrangement to satisfy the lien. 

Once the lien is in effect, DWD and child support agency may take action to seize 
financial accounts of a delinquent obligated parent once the lien equals or exceeds 
$1,000 or three months worth of support, whichever is greater.  In addition, the child 
support agency may seize and sell real and personal property of the parent once the lien 
equals or exceeds six months worth of support to satisfy the child support delinquency.  
In addition, DWD may direct the pension administrator of public or private pension 
plans to withhold amounts from lump sum pension distributions to satisfy delinquent 
support amounts when the obligated parent’s name is placed on the support lien docket. 

When a delinquent obligated parent has accrued at least three months worth of 
delinquent support, DWD and child support agencies may take administrative action to 
suspend or cause to be denied various licenses and credentials issued to the parent by 
state agencies.  When notified by DWD or a child support agency that a person is 
delinquent in paying support, the agency may not issue or renew, or must suspend the 
person’s license or credential for up to five years or until the delinquent support is paid 
or an acceptable alternative payment arrangement is agreed to by the delinquent 
obligor. 

Suspension 
of Licenses 
and 
Credentials 

Generally, most professional licenses and credentials, hunting, fishing and other 
recreational licenses and drivers’ licenses are subject to suspension or denial.  In the 
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suspension or nonrenewal process, the delinquent obligor receives several notices of the 
proposal action and has several opportunities to challenge the accuracy of the 
delinquency or make satisfactory alternative payment arrangements to satisfy the 
delinquency. 

Every child support order must contain a provision requiring the obligated parent to 
advise the county child support agency within 10 days of any change in his or her 
address or employer.  [s. 767.263, Stats.]  This allows the court, the parent who is owed 
the child support and the local child support agency to have ready access to the 
obligated parent’s location and employment which, in turn, facilitates collection of child 
support through an assignment of income. 

Notification 
of Change 
in Employer 
or Address 

The county child support agency may disclose to a parent with legal custody of a child, 
upon the parent’s request, the last-known address, and the name and address of the 
last-known employer, of the child’s other parent if that other parent owes a support 
obligation to the child and is in arrears in the payment of the support.  [s. 49.22 (2p), 
Stats.] 

Assign- 
ments 
of Income 
 

The assignment of income provides a major tool for the collection and enforcement of 
child support obligations.  Use of an assignment leaves no discretion to the payer as to 
whether he or she pays his or her child support.  The notice of assignment sent to the 
obligated parent’s employer or other source of income requires deduction of child 
support by the employer or other person who pays money to the parent. 

In addition, as noted above, s. 767.265, Stats., provides for the enforcement of the 
assignment through the contempt of court process under ch. 785, Stats., or through a 
forfeiture procedure against an employer or other person who fails to honor a wage 
assignment.  [s. 767.265 (6) (a), Stats.] 

DWD is required to certify to the Department of Revenue (DOR) a listing of persons 
who are delinquent in their child support payments or who owe past support and those 
who owe medical expenses in actions to establish paternity.  If the person on the list is 
entitled to a tax refund, DOR must withhold from the refund an amount sufficient to 
meet the child support delinquency or other amount owed.  [s. 49.855, Stats.]  A similar 
tax refund intercept program is provided under federal law for the interception of 
federal tax refunds to satisfy delinquent support obligations. 

Tax 
Refund 
Intercepts 

Past due child support, by operation of law, accrues interest at the rate of 1% per month 
on any amount in arrears that is equal to or greater than the amount of child support 
due in one month.  [s. 767.25 (6), Stats.]  (1999 Wisconsin Act 9 modified the amount of 
interest charged from 1.5% per month to 1% per month.  The 1% interest rate applies to 
all arrearages regardless of when the order on which the arrearages are based was 
entered.)  The accrual of interest may operate as an added incentive to obligated parents 
to remain current in their child support payments and, thus, work to deter delinquent 
payments. 

Interest on 
Amounts 
Past Due 

As noted previously, ch. 767, Stats., provides several opportunities for courts to require 
that unemployed parents with a child support obligation seek employment or job 
training when they are unemployed.  [See ss. 767.253, 767.254 and 767.295, Stats.]  
Additionally, the Wisconsin Supreme Court has held that an appropriate remedy in a 
contempt proceeding brought because an obligated parent has failed to pay child 
support is to require the parent to actively seek employment until he or she can pay 
child support.  [In re the Marriage of Dennis, 117 Wis. 2d 249, 344 N.W.2d 128 (1984).] 

Work Search 
Require-
ments 

An order for child support may be enforced by a contempt proceeding under ch. 785, 
Stats.  For purposes of child support enforcement, contempt of court usually means the 
intentional disobedience, resistance or obstruction of the authority, process, or order of 
a court.  [s. 785.01 (1) (b), Stats.]  A court may find that intentionally failing to pay child 

Contempt 
of Court 
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support as ordered by the court is contemptuous conduct.  Having made a finding of 
contempt, the court is authorized to impose either punitive or remedial sanctions. 

Punitive sanctions are intended to punish a past contempt of court for the purpose of 
upholding the authority of the court.  [s. 785.01 (2), Stats.]  As a punitive sanction, the 
court may impose a fine of not more than $5,000 or imprisonment in the county jail for 
not more than one year, or both, for each separate contempt finding made in a 
“nonsummary” procedure.  [s. 785.04 (2) (a), Stats.]  Alternatively, in a “summary” 
procedure, a court may impose a fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment in the 
county jail for not more than 30 days, or both, for each finding of contempt.  [s. 785.04 
(2) (b), Stats.]  A nonsummary procedure for punitive sanctions must be prosecuted by 
the district attorney, the Attorney General or a special prosecutor appointed by the 
court and must be initiated by the issuance of a complaint for the punishment of a past 
contempt.  Under a summary procedure, on the other hand, a penalty is imposed by the 
court upon a person who commits a contempt of court in the actual presence of the 
court.  The court imposes the penalty immediately after the contempt occurs for the 
purpose of preserving order in the court and protecting the authority and dignity of the 
court.  It is not likely that enforcement of a child support order by contempt would 
involve a summary procedure. 

Remedial sanctions are imposed by the court for the purpose of terminating a 
continuing contempt of court.  [s. 785.01 (3), Stats.]  As a remedial sanction, the court, 
after a hearing, may do one or more of the following: 

• Order payment of a sum of money sufficient to compensate a party for a loss or 
injury suffered by the party as the result of a contempt of court. 

• Order imprisonment which may extend only so long as the person is committing the 
contempt of court or six months, whichever is the shorter period. 

• Order a forfeiture not to exceed $2,000 for each day the contempt of court 
continues. 

• Create a remedy designed to ensure compliance with a prior order of the court. 

• Order any other sanction if the court expressly finds that the above sanctions would 
not terminate the continuing contempt. 

[s. 785.04 (1), Stats.] 

Unlike punitive sanctions, remedial sanctions may be pursued by any person aggrieved 
by a contempt of court by filing a motion for the imposition of remedial sanctions in the 
proceeding to which the contempt is related (e.g., by filing a motion for contempt within 
the divorce case in which child support has been ordered but not paid). 

Any respondent against whom an action to establish a child support order or an action 
to modify a child support order has been commenced may be arrested if the court finds 
that service of process cannot be made upon the respondent.  In addition, if the 
respondent has been personally served and he or she fails to appear at the required 
hearing, he or she may be arrested and compelled to appear in court.  [s. 818.02 (5), 
Stats.] 

Arrest 

Arrearage 
Establish-
ment 

Support enforcement is aided by a statutory process which allows an arrearage to be 
established by an affidavit.  [s. 767.293, Stats.]  The procedure allows a recipient of 
support to file an affidavit with the court which sets forth the amount of the alleged 
arrearages that have accrued under a percentage-expressed order.  A copy of the 
affidavit must be served on the obligated parent.  After the parent has been served with 
the affidavit, the court must notify the parent that he or she may request a hearing to 
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dispute the arrearage or the amount of the arrearage.  If the obligated parent does not 
request a hearing and the court is satisfied that the affidavit establishes that an 
arrearage exists, the court must enter an order for the amount of arrearage determined 
by the court.  If a hearing is requested, the court must determine whether an arrearage 
exists and, if so, the amount of the arrearage.  The arrearage may then be collected with 
the aid of an accompanying order for periodic payments, tax intercepts or a number of 
other enforcement remedies discussed herein. 

In addition to the administrative license suspensions discussed above, courts have the 
authority to suspend an obligated parent’s motor vehicle operating privilege if the 
person fails to pay child support or family support, the payment is 90 or more days past 
due and the court finds that the person has the ability to pay the amount ordered.  The 
person’s operating privilege may be suspended until the person pays all arrearages in 
full or makes payment arrangements that are satisfactory to the court.  However, the 
period of suspension may not exceed two years.  A person who has his or her operating 
privilege suspended under this provision is eligible for an occupational license to enable 
him or her to commute to work at any time if he or she is otherwise eligible for such a 
license.  [s. 767.303, Stats.] 

Suspension 
of Driver’s 
Licenses 

The statutes provide that, in ordering child support, a court may provide for the 
payment of support in amounts and at times as the court considers expedient.  [s. 
767.30 (1), Stats.]  Furthermore, the court may impose liability for the payment of these 
sums as a charge upon specific real estate of the party liable for support or may require 
that party to give sufficient security for the payment.  [s. 767.30 (2), Stats.]  Also, if the 
party fails to make the payments or give adequate security, the court is empowered to 
enforce the order or judgment by any appropriate remedy as though it were a final order 
or judgment of the court. 

Other Civil 
Enforcement 
Tools 

Finally, DWD is required to disclose to a consumer reporting agency the amount of 
overdue support owed by a parent.  [s. 49.22 (11), Stats.] 

Criminal Sanctions 

Under ch. 948, Stats., relating to crimes against children, it is a Class E felony for a 
person to intentionally fail for 120 consecutive days to provide support for a child, if the 
person knows or reasonably should know that he or she is legally obligated to provide 
support for the child.  [s. 948.22 (2), Stats.]  A person may be charged with one count 
for each 120 consecutive day period if payment is not made.  If convicted, the person 
may be fined not more than $10,000 or imprisoned not more than five years, or both, 
for each count on which he or she is convicted.  (Effective February 1, 2003, such failure 
is considered a Class I felony, punishable by a fine not to exceed $10,000, or 
imprisonment not to exceed three  years and six months, or both.) 

State 
Criminal 
Penalties 

It is a Class A misdemeanor for any person to intentionally fail for a period of time of 
less than 120 consecutive days to provide support for a child if the person knows or 
reasonably should know that he or she is legally obligated to provide such support.  [s. 
948.22 (3), Stats.]  If convicted, the person may be fined not more than $10,000 or 
imprisoned not more than nine months, or both, for each count on which he or she is 
convicted. 

Under provisions of the Child Support Recovery Act of 1992 (P.L. 102-521), the willful 
failure to pay a past due support obligation for a child residing in another state is a 
federal crime.  For provisions of this federal law to apply, the support obligation must 
be unpaid for over one year or be greater than $5,000 and be owed to a child residing in 
a state other than the state in which the payer lives. 

Federal  
Criminal 
Penalties 
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For a first offense of this law, a person may be fined up to $5,000 and imprisoned for up 
to six months.  For second and subsequent offenses, an offender may be fined up to 
$250,000 and imprisoned for up to two years. 
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