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Mandatory Auto Insurance 

2009 Wisconsin Act 28, the Biennial Budget Act, makes motor vehicle liability coverage, or 
auto insurance, mandatory in Wisconsin effective June 1, 2010. Currently, 49 states and the 
District of Columbia require drivers to have motor vehicle liability coverage.  New Hampshire 
is the only state that does not require such coverage.1  Under Wisconsin law, no person may 
operate a motor vehicle upon a highway in this state unless the owner or operator of the vehicle 
has in effect a liability policy for the vehicle being operated.  The penalty for violating this 
provision is a forfeiture of not more than $500.  In addition, no person may operate a motor 
vehicle upon a highway in this state unless the person, while operating the vehicle, has in his or 
her immediate possession proof that he or she is in compliance with the requirement to have in 
effect a liability policy.  The operator of the motor vehicle must display the proof required upon 
demand from any traffic officer.  The penalty for violating this provision is a forfeiture of not 
more than $10. 

Act 28 also changed various requirements for motor vehicle liability policies, including 
increasing the minimum coverage amounts. 

MANDATORY MOTOR VEHICLE LIABILITY COVERAGE 

REQUIREMENTS AND PENALTIES 

Effective June 1, 2010, no person may operate a motor vehicle2 upon a highway in this state 
unless the owner or operator of the vehicle has in effect a liability policy for the vehicle being 
operated.  The penalty for violating this provision is a forfeiture of not more than $500.  In 
addition, no person may operate a motor vehicle upon a highway in this state unless the 
person, while operating the vehicle, has in his or her immediate possession proof that he or she 
is in compliance with the requirement to have liability coverage.  The operator of the motor 
vehicle must display the proof required upon demand from any traffic officer.  The penalty for 
violating this provision is a forfeiture of not more than $10.  [ss. 344.62 and 344.65 (1), Stats.] 

A traffic officer may not stop or inspect a vehicle solely to determine whether a person has 
liability coverage or is carrying proof of liability coverage.  [s. 344.65 (3), Stats.] 
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EXCEPTIONS 

A person is not required to have motor vehicle liability coverage if any of the following apply: 

• The owner or operator of the motor vehicle has in effect a bond with respect to the 
vehicle that is filed with the Secretary of Transportation, and the vehicle is being 
operated with the permission of the person who filed the bond. 

• The motor vehicle is insured under another provision of current law, such as current 
law requiring insurance for school buses, and the vehicle is being operated by the 
owner or with the owner’s permission. 

• The motor vehicle is owned by a self-insurer who has a valid certificate of self-
insurance if the person has registered more than 25 motor vehicles; the self-insurer 
has made an agreement that, if he or she has a motor vehicle accident, the self-
insurer will pay the same amounts that an insurer would have been obligated to pay 
under a motor vehicle liability coverage policy; and the vehicle is being operated with 
the owner’s permission. 

• The owner or operator of the motor vehicle has made a deposit of cash or securities 
in an amount of $60,000 per vehicle, and the vehicle is being operated by or with the 
permission of the person who made the deposit. 

• The motor vehicle is subject to financial responsibility requirements for certain 
rented or leased vehicles and human service vehicles. 

• The motor vehicle is owned or leased to the United States, the State of Wisconsin or 
another state, or any county or municipality of Wisconsin or another state, and the 
vehicle is being operated with the owner’s or lessee’s permission. 

[s. 344.63 (1), Stats.] 

FRAUDULENT, FALSE, OR INVALID PROOF OF INSURANCE 

Effective June 1, 2010, no person may create the appearance of satisfying the requirement to 
have motor vehicle liability coverage by doing any of the following: 

• Forging, falsifying, counterfeiting, or fraudulently altering any proof of insurance, or 
other insurance document, or possessing any forged, falsified, fictitious, counterfeit, 
or fraudulently altered proof of insurance, policy of insurance, or other insurance 
document. 

• Representing that any proof of insurance, policy of insurance, or other insurance 
document is valid and in effect, knowing or having reason to believe that the proof of 
insurance, policy of insurance, or other insurance document is not valid or not in 
effect. 

[s. 344.64, Stats.] 
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Any person who violates the above provision may be required to forfeit not more than $5,000.  
[s. 344.65 (2), Stats.] 

MINIMUM LIABILITY LIMITS FOR AUTO INSURANCE POLICIES 

LIABILITY COVERAGE 

The minimum limits for coverage under a motor vehicle liability policy for a single accident are 
as follows: 

• Before January 1, 2010, $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person; $50,000 
for bodily injury or death of two or more persons; and $10,000 for property damage. 

• On or after January 1, 2010, $50,000 for bodily injury or death of one person; 
$100,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more persons; and $15,000 for 
property damage. 

• After December 31, 2016, the limits determined by the Department of 
Transportation (DOT) after making adjustments based on the consumer price index 
for the medical care group on a five-year basis and published by the DOT. 

[s. 344.01 (2) (am), Stats.] 

UNINSURED MOTORIST, UNDERINSURED MOTORIST, AND MEDICAL PAYMENTS COVERAGE 

For policies issued or renewed on or after November 1, 2009, each motor vehicle liability 
insurance policy3 must contain uninsured motorist coverage in limits of at least 
$100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident.  This provision does not apply to a policy 
written by a town mutual.  “Uninsured motorist coverage” covers persons insured under that 
coverage who are legally entitled to recover damages for bodily injury, death, sickness, or 
disease from owners or operators of uninsured motor vehicles.  An “uninsured motor vehicle” 
is a motor vehicle that is involved in an accident with a person who, at the time of the accident, 
does not have motor vehicle liability coverage, has not furnished proof of financial 
responsibility for the future4, and is not a self-insurer under any other applicable motor vehicle 
law.  “Uninsured motor vehicle” also includes any of the following motor vehicles: 

• An insured motor vehicle, or a motor vehicle with respect to which the owner or 
operator is a self-insurer, if before or after the accident the liability insurer of the 
motor vehicle is declared insolvent. 

• An unidentified motor vehicle if an independent third party provides evidence that 
the unidentified motor vehicle was involved in the accident. 

• An unidentified motor vehicle involved in a hit-and-run accident with the person.  In 
this case, third-party verification is not required. 

[s. 632.32 (2) (f) and (g) and (4) (a) 1., Stats.] 
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Also, effective November 1, 2009, every motor vehicle liability insurance policy must contain 
underinsured motorist coverage in limits of at least $100,000 per person and $300,000 
per accident.  This provision does not apply to a policy written by a town mutual.  
“Underinsured motorist coverage” covers persons insured under that coverage who are legally 
entitled to recover damages for bodily injury, death, sickness, or disease from owners or 
operators of underinsured motor vehicles.  An “underinsured motor vehicle” is a motor vehicle 
that meets all of the following conditions: 

• The motor vehicle is involved in an accident with a person who has underinsured 
motorist coverage. 

• At the time of the accident, a bodily injury liability insurance policy applies to the 
motor vehicle; the owner or operator of the motor vehicle has furnished proof of 
financial responsibility for the future or the owner or operator of the motor vehicle is 
a self-insurer under another applicable motor vehicle law. 

• The limits under the bodily injury liability insurance policy or with respect to the 
proof of financial responsibility or self-insurance are less than the damages needed 
to fully compensate the insured for his or her damages. 

[s. 632.32 (2) (d) and (e) and (4) (a) 2., Stats.] 

Finally, effective November 1, 2009, every motor vehicle liability insurance policy must contain 
medical payments coverage, in an amount of at least $10,000 per person.  However, as 
described below, this coverage may be rejected.  Coverage written under this provision may be 
excess coverage over any other source of reimbursement to which the insured person has a 
legal right.  “Medical payments coverage” is defined as coverage to indemnify for medical 
payment or chiropractic payments or both for the protection of all persons using5 the insured 
motor vehicle from losses resulting from bodily injury or death.  An insured may reject medical 
payments coverage.  If the insured rejects the coverage, the coverage does not need to be 
provided in a subsequent renewal policy issued by the same insurer unless the insured requests 
it in writing.  [s. 632.32 (2) (am) and (4) (a) 3m. and (bc), Stats.]   

The above provisions relating to uninsured motorist, underinsured motorist, and medical 
payments coverage do not apply to umbrella or excess liability coverage, described below.  [s. 
632.32 (4) (d), Stats.] 

UMBRELLA OR EXCESS LIABILITY POLICIES 

An “umbrella or excess liability policy” means an insurance contract providing at least 
$1,000,000 of liability coverage per person or per occurrence in excess of certain required 
underlying liability insurance coverage or a specified amount of self-insured retention. For 
policies issued or renewed on or after November 1, 2009, an insurer writing umbrella or excess 
liability policies for an owned motor vehicle must provide written offers of uninsured and 
underinsured motorist coverage.  An insurer is required to provide the offers only one time 
with respect to any policy.  The offers must include a brief description of the coverage offered.   

An applicant for umbrella or excess liability policy coverage or insured may reject one or both 
of the coverages offered, but the rejection must be in writing.  If the applicant or insured rejects 
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either of the coverages offered, the insurer is not required to provide the rejected coverage 
under a policy that is renewed to the person by that insurer unless an insured under the policy 
subsequently requests the rejected coverage in writing.  The action of one named insured to 
reject or request coverage applies to all persons insured under the policy. 

If an umbrella or excess liability policy that was issued on or after November 1, 2009, or that 
was in effect on, but renewed after, November 1, 2009, does not include either uninsured or 
underinsured motorist coverage, or only one of the coverages, and the insurer did not provide a 
written offer of such coverages, on the request of the insured the court must reform the policy 
to include the coverage or coverages not included and for which the insurer did not provide a 
written offer, with the same limits and the liability coverage limits under the policy. 

These provisions do not apply to a town mutual.  [s. 632.32 (4r), Stats.] 

This memorandum is not a policy statement of the Joint Legislative Council or its staff. 

This memorandum was prepared by Anne Sappenfield, Senior Staff Attorney, on May 28, 
2010. 

 

 
 

                                                 
1 Insurance Information Institute, Compulsory Auto/Uninsured Motorists (March, 2010). 

2 “Motor vehicle” does not include trailers, semitrailers, and all-terrain vehicles. 

3 For purposes of minimum liability limits, “motor vehicle liability insurance policy” means every policy of insurance that 
insures with respect to any owned motor vehicle registered or principally garaged in Wisconsin against loss resulting from 
liability imposed by law for bodily injury or death suffered by any person arising out of the ownership, maintenance, or use 
of a motor vehicle.  An “owned motor vehicle” is defined as a motor vehicle that is owned by the insured or that is leased by 
the insured for a term of six months or longer. 

4 An uninsured motorist who appeared to be at fault in a motor vehicle accident that results in bodily injury, death, or 
property damage of $1,000 or more is subject to the financial responsibility law under ch. 344, Stats., and ch. Trans 100, Wis. 
Adm. Code.  Under that law, the person may be required to provide proof of financial responsibility for the future before 
having his or her operating or registration privileges reinstated.  Proof of financial responsibility for the future may be 
demonstrated by maintaining a liability insurance policy in at least the amounts required under current law, maintaining a 
bond in those amounts, maintaining a deposit in cash or securities with DOT, or maintaining a certificate of self-insurance if 
the person has registered more than 25 motor vehicles.  [s. 344.30, Stats.] 

5“Using” includes driving, operating, manipulating, riding in, and any other use.  
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