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COUPLES

Wisconsin law addresses the legal rights and obligations of couples, as to each other, in the
areas of marriage, domestic partnerships, marital property, divorce or separation, property
division, and spousal maintenance.

Marriage

In Wisconsin, marriage is a civil contract between spouses that also creates a legal status
that governs certain rights and responsibilities to each other and to others.

Parties

In order to marry, a person must be at least 18 years of age. If a person is age 16 or 17, the
person may marry with the written consent of a parent, guardian, or custodian.

In Wisconsin, some individuals are not allowed to marry. Specifically, persons who are
nearer of kin than second cousins (unless sterile); a person who is already married to
someone else; a person who is incapable of assenting to marriage due to a “want of
understanding”; and a person who has been divorced less than six months may not marry.

License and Ceremony

A marriage license may be obtained in any county where at least one party has resided for
30 days before applying for the license. A license will be issued no sooner than five days
after receiving the application. However, at the county clerk’s discretion, and upon
receiving an additional fee, the five-day waiting period may be waived. If both parties are
nonresidents of the state, a

marriage license may be obtained ( '\
in the county where the marriage

ceremony will be performed. “Common law” marriage is not recognized as a

With the completed application, a legal marital status in Wisconsin. In some

. . states, common law marriage is a status where
couple must submit a fee, provide

a couple living together in a marital-like

their birth certificates, provide relationship for an established period of time

documentary proof of identity and are treated as legally married.
residence, submit a copy of a
judgment or death certificate \ /

affecting prior marital status, and
swear to and affirm the application before the county clerk. Once the license has been
issued, the couple may marry in any county in the state within 30 days of its issuance.

The statutes provide a procedure for family members, the district attorney, or a circuit
court commissioner to object to a marriage. The person objecting may file a petition with
the clerk of probate court explaining that the application is false or insufficient, or that the
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applicants are not legally allowed to marry. If the court determines the objections have
merit, it must issue an order for the marriage applicants to appear, at a hearing, and show
why the objections are not valid.

The marriage ceremony must involve the mutual declarations of the two parties that they
take each other as husband and wife. The declarations must be made before an authorized
adult, and at least two competent adult witnesses. Authorized officiants are ordained
clergy members, judges, circuit court commissioners, and municipal judges. In certain
recognized religious ceremonies, the two parties themselves may mutually declare the
marriage without an officiant.

Recognition of Valid Marriages

Generally, under the Full Faith and Credit Clause of the U.S. Constitution, a marriage
contracted in another state that satisfies the legal requirements of that state will be
recognized in Wisconsin. However, courts have acknowledged an exception for when a
marriage violates Wisconsin’s strong public policy and Wisconsin had the most significant
relationship to the spouses at the time of the marriage. Additionally, state law provides
that if a Wisconsin couple enters into a marriage outside of this state when the couple is
ineligible or is prohibited from marrying under state law, the marriage is void, and each
party is subject to a penalty of up to nine months in jail and up to a $10,000 fine, or both.

The Wisconsin Constitution has a specific provision addressing same-sex marriages and
civil unions in Article XIII, Section 13. This section provides that: “Only a marriage
between one man and one woman shall be valid or recognized as a marriage in this state. A
legal status identical or substantially similar to that of marriage for unmarried individuals
shall not be valid or recognized in this state.” This provision has been challenged in federal
court by eight same-sex couples who have asked either to be allowed to marry or to have
their marriage from another state recognized in Wisconsin. On June 6, 2014, the federal
district court issued a decision finding the state’s provision to be in violation of the Due
Process and Equal Protection clauses of the U.S. Constitution. The court held that the
provision interferes with the right to marry, and discriminates on the basis of sexual
orientation. As of the writing of this chapter, the

state’s appeal in support of the provision is ( \

pending. [Wolf v. Walker, Case No. 14-CV-64-bbc

(U.S. Dist. Ct., Western Dist. of Wisconsin, Wisconsin law provides a

decision filed June 6, 2014).] registration process for same-
. . sex couples wishing to

Domestic Partnerships declare a domestic

partnership, with certain

Wisconsin law includes provisions for the legal rights and benefits.

establishment of domestic partnerships and

related rights and benefits. \ ‘
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Declaration of Same-Sex Domestic Partnership for Legal Rights

Same-sex couples sharing a common residence may apply for a declaration of domestic
partnership with the county clerk where they have resided for at least 30 days prior to the
application. Five days after the application is made, the county clerk will issue the
declaration to the couple. The declaration may be issued sooner, in the clerk’s discretion,
and upon receipt of an additional fee. In order to form the legal status of domestic partners,
the couple must then sign the

declaration before a notary and submit

County-by-county legal resources for it for recording with the Register of

domestic partnership forms and guides . ‘
can be found at: Deeds. The Register then files the

http://www.wilawlibrary.gov declaration with the Wisconsin Vital
Records Office. The Wisconsin Supreme
= Court has reviewed and upheld the
validity of the same-sex domestic
partnership law under the Wisconsin Constitution. [Appling v. Walker, 2014 W1 96, July
31, 2014.]

Partners who wish to terminate their Wisconsin domestic partnership must file a notice of
termination in the same county clerk’s office that issued the declaration of domestic
partnership, even if they no longer reside in that county. If only one party signs the notice,
that partner must complete an affidavit stating that the notice was served on the other
party or, if unable to serve, that an official notice was published in the area where the
partners last shared a residence. The county clerk will then issue an original certificate of
termination of domestic partnership, which is effective 90 days after being recorded by the
Register of Deeds. Additionally, if either party enters into a valid marriage that is
recognized in this state, the partnership is automatically terminated as of that date of
marriage.

Same-sex domestic partners who have declared the relationship have certain benefits, such
as inheritance rights and medical access, but do not have certain other rights of marriage,
such as the mutual obligation for support, the comprehensive marital property system, and
child custody and placement rights and obligations.

Some benefits conferred by filing a declaration of domestic partnership include: inheritance
from a domestic partner who dies without a will; award of a home and vehicles titled in a
deceased partner’s name; workplace death benefits; standing to sue for wrongful death;
coverage by the state Family and Medical Leave Act; visitation and access rights at
hospitals and residential care facilities; and recognition of a domestic partnership status in
a power of attorney for health care or for property and finances.

Some areas of the law where benefits are not conferred to a domestic partner include:
marital property laws; legal custody and physical placement of children; child support;
spousal support; property division upon dissolution; discrimination in education, housing,
employment, credit, and insurance; adoption; social services; and public assistance.
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Affidavit of Same- or Opposite-Sex Domestic Partnership for Public Employee
Benefits

Both same-sex and opposite-sex couples may file an affidavit of domestic partnership with

the Department of Employee Trust Funds (ETF) to enroll the partner in the employee

benefit programs administered by ETF for the state, and for participating local
governmental units. To qualify, the

couple must share a residence and agree

The ETF affidavit of domestic partnership to be responsible for each other’s basic

can be found at: living expenses.
http://etf.wi.gov/publications/et2371.pdf

All benefit programs that are

administered by ETF are available to a

L=

qualifying partner. Children of a
qualifying domestic partner can be
covered by the employee’s health insurance if the family coverage option is selected.
Benefits are also available to a qualifying domestic partner of a retired employee.

Marital Property

Wisconsin’s marital property law took effect on January 1, 1986. The law governs spousal
property interests during marriage as it relates to creditors and at death. It does not
govern property rights at dissolution of marriage by divorce, annulment, or legal
separation.

The principal feature of the marital property system is that each spouse, by law, has an
equal ownership interest in property acquired by either or both spouses during marriage,
which gives a present, undivided, one-half interest in all property.

Under the marital property law, all property owned by spouses is presumed to be marital
property. Marital property includes income earned by a spouse or income attributable to
property of a spouse that accrues during marriage; property acquired in exchange for, or
with, the proceeds of marital property; the substantial appreciation value of individual
property that is attributable to the substantial effort of either spouse; and any property not
classified as something other than marital property.

A spouse may nevertheless have individual property that is excluded from marital rights in
the following circumstances: property owned by a spouse before marriage; property
obtained by gift or inheritance during the marriage; property acquired in exchange for, or
with, the proceeds of individual property; market appreciation of individual property;
income from third party trusts; property designated as individual property by a marital
property agreement; income from nonmarital property designated as individual by a
properly executed “unilateral statement”; and certain portions of personal injury awards.

Special classification rules apply to homestead property, certain retirement, pension and
deferred compensation plans, and life insurance policies. For example, a home titled in
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both spouses’ names together is automatically classified as survivorship martial property,
with all ownership passing to a surviving spouse, unless explicitly classified otherwise.

In general, spouses must act together to manage and control marital property held in the
names of both spouses in the conjunctive (e.g., John and Mary). Otherwise, a spouse acting
alone may manage and control the person’s own individual property and marital property
held in the alternative (e.g., John or Mary). Special management and control rules apply in
some circumstances, such as creating a mortgage interest on a home, managing business
property, and making gifts.

One aspect of the marital property law is equal access to the extension of credit. In
evaluating a spouse’s creditworthiness, the law requires a creditor to consider all marital
property available to satisfy the obligation. If credit is extended, a creditor must give
written notice to the nonapplicant spouse of the extension of credit before any payment is
due. The type of obligation determines when marital property may be used to satisfy the
obligation. For example, an obligation incurred prior to the marriage is generally satisfied
from the incurring spouse’s individual property. An obligation incurred by a spouse during
the marriage is presumed to be in the interest of the marriage and the family and may be
satisfied from all marital property, as well as the individual property of the incurring
spouse.

Marital Property Agreement

Spouses, as well as persons intending to

marry, may enter into a marital property f \

agreement regarding the classification of

marital or individual property and the Marital property agreements are

rights to control the property. Any commonly known as prenuptial

. .. . agreements, or pre-nups, though in

agreement must be in writing and signed i .
Wisconsin they may be executed

by both parties. An agreement cannot either before or during marriage.

affect certain obligations, such as child

support. \ J

In order for a reclassification of property

to be effective against a creditor, the creditor must be furnished with a copy of the marital
property agreement prior to the granting of credit.

The statutes include both marital property and individual property classification agreement
forms, sometimes referred to as “opt-in” and “opt-out” agreements, that parties may use.
These forms are found in ss. 766.588 and 766.589, Stats. An agreement may be amended or
revoked only by a subsequent marital property agreement.

Wills

A spouse may dispose of half of the couple’s marital property by will. The surviving spouse
retains a one-half share in the property, and that share is not subject to probate. “Deferred
marital property” rules apply to property acquired during the marriage, but prior to 1986,
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that would have been marital property had the marital property law applied when the
property was acquired.

Taxation

Married persons in Wisconsin may f \
file joint or separate tax returns. On

joint returns, all income, deductions, The married person’s tax credit is

and credits for both spouses are available to couples filing joint returns

combined on the same return. but not separate returns.

However, the Internal Revenue
Service’s (IRS’s) innocent spouse rule \ )
relieves a spouse from tax liability if the innocent spouse did not know or have reason to
know that the other spouse omitted an income item or erroneously claimed a tax credit or
deduction on a joint return, and it would be inequitable to impose liability on the innocent
spouse.

If separate returns are filed, each spouse must report half of the total, combined, marital
property income, deductions, and credits, except as provided by a marital property
agreement. In order to resolve questions that might arise regarding access of a spouse to
the other spouse’s tax return if separate returns are filed, Wisconsin tax law permits the
spouse or former spouse to examine tax returns or claims of the other spouse if the
Department of Revenue (DOR) issued an assessment or notice of claim to the spouse or
former spouse, or if the spouse or former spouse is subject to a collection for a delinquency.
Also, DOR may disclose whether an extension for filing a return or claim was filed.

For income tax purposes, spouses may reclassify future income by a marital property
agreement or in some cases by a unilateral statement. In order to affect state tax liability,
the agreement or statement must be filed with the DOR before the income is earned.

For estate tax purposes, the “basis” in marital property, which is the adjusted original cost
of property that is used to determine the amount of gain or loss for capital gains taxes,
differs from that given to property that is jointly held with other people. Both spouses’
share of marital property receives a new basis upon the death of the first spouse to die,
adjusted to the date-of-death value of the marital

property. This is known as a double step-up in basis, /‘ \
for community property states such as Wisconsin.
Legal separation is a legal

Divorce or Separatlon status that is distinct from

In Wisconsin, actions for divorce, legal separation, or physical separation. Any

annulment each use the same procedures. For this couple may physically
separate at any time without

affecting their legal marital
status.

discussion, the term “divorce” will generally be used.
A judgment of legal separtion differs only in allowing
the parties to maintain the legal status of marriage

(sometimes used to continue family coverage for \ /
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health insurance, or for other personal reasons) while separating the family and financial
obligations.

In order to initiate a divorce action, one spouse must have been a Wisconsin resident for at
least six months prior to the filing of the petition for divorce. In addition, at least one of the
parties to the divorce must have been a resident of the county in which the petition is filed
for at least 30 days prior to the filing of the petition. County clerks collect a fee when a
party commences an action affecting the family.

Wisconsin is a “no fault” divorce state, which
Circuit court forms for family means the court must find simply that the

actions can be found at: marriage is “irretrievably broken.” This is shown
http://www.wicourts.gov by both parties stating in the divorce petition that

the marriage is irretrievably broken; by the parties

voluntarily living apart continuously for 12 months
or more immediately prior to filing the divorce petition; or, if only one party has stated that
the marriage is irretrievably broken, by the court determining that there is no reasonable
prospect of reconciliation.

Wisconsin requires a waiting period before a judgment of divorce or legal separation may be
granted. When the parties have filed a joint petition for divorce, 120 days must pass from
the filing date before the action may be brought to trial or to a final hearing for approval of
a settlement agreement. When one party has filed the petition, the 120-day waiting period
begins when the other party is served with the petition.

Pendency of Divorce Action

A circuit court judge or court commissioner may make just and reasonable temporary
orders during the pendency of a divorce action concerning legal custody and periods of
physical placement of a minor child; removal of a child from the court’s jurisdiction;
payment for child support and spousal maintenance; payment of debts; disposal of assets;
counseling for one or both parties; and other issues.

Reconciliation may be attempted, if stipulated by the parties in writing, during the
pendency of a divorce action. A suspension of the proceedings to effect reconciliation may
be granted for up to 90 days. Suspension does not affect the parties’ rights in the divorce
action. During the suspension period, the parties may resume living together as husband
and wife and their acts: (1) do not constitute an admission that the marriage is not
irretrievably broken; and (2) do not negate that the parties have voluntarily lived apart
continuously for 12 months or more immediately before the commencement of the action. If
the parties do not reconcile, the action will proceed as though no reconciliation period was
attempted.
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During the pendency of a divorce action, parties /‘ \
are required to disclose information about: (1)

assets owned by them individually or jointly; (2) Each party’s financial

debts and liabilities; and (3) income. There are disclosure statement in a
penalties for disclosures that are not complete. divorce action is sealed by

All financial and asset information that is the court and cannot be

disclosed is confidential and sealed by the court. disclosed to any person

outside the action.
The statutes contain various requirements for

the parties to attend counseling or educational \ )
programs. Most of the programs focus on

educating parents about the effect of divorce or parental separation on children and how to
lessen any detrimental effects. Specific provisions relate to child custody mediation where
it appears that legal custody or physical placement is contested, as discussed below.

Reaching a Judgment

The primary issues decided in a judgment of divorce are: property division; child support
and spousal maintenance; legal custody of a child; and periods of physical placement with a
child (sometimes including visitation rights of third parties).

Parties may stipulate to any of these issues in settlement of a divorce action, subject to
court approval and certain limitations. For example, child support must be determined in a
manner that is consistent with the state’s child support standards. Also, a stipulation
cannot leave one party in need of assistance from the state.

Property Division

Property division in a divorce action is not governed by the marital property law, but,
rather, by the marital dissolution laws. Generally, in a divorce, all property acquired before
or during the marriage, owned by either or both spouses, is subject to division. This
includes assets such as pension plans, retirement accounts, vehicles, and real estate.
Property acquired by gift or inheritance by one party is generally not subject to division.

After determining all assets and debts of the parties, the court must presume that each
party should be awarded an equal value of the total divisible property, but the application
of certain statutory factors may alter this presumption. This includes considerations such
as the length of the marriage, the property brought to the marriage by each party, and the
tax consequences to each party. For example, in dissolving a marriage of short duration,
where the parties had a large difference in the property brought to the marriage, a court
may consider an unequal division of property, approximately back to where the parties
started.

Debts incurred during the marriage are also assigned, but can be collected from either
party regardless of how responsibility for debts is divided between the parties in their
judgment of divorce. A divorce judgment assigning a debt is not binding on creditors,
because a creditor is not a party in the divorce action. To avoid possible problems with the
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collection of debts after a divorce, parties may take actions such as consolidating and
refinancing in the name of the spouse who is assigned those debts.

Maintenance

As part of a divorce judgment, a court may order maintenance payments (formerly known
as alimony) to either party for an open or defined period of time after considering several
designated statutory factors. Some of these factors include the length of the marriage; the
age and physical and emotional health of the parties; the division of property made in
connection with the divorce; the educational level of each party at the time of the marriage
and at the time of the divorce; the earning capacity of the party seeking maintenance,
including the party’s educational and employment background, length of absence from the
job market, and child-rearing responsibilities during the marriage; and the contribution of
one party to the education, training, and earning

power of the other party. (' '\

A maintenance award must meet the dual objectives

of supporting the recipient in accordance with the

. . ‘s . . Maintenan men
parties’ needs and earning capacities, while ensuring aintenance payments

. . . . tt jud t of
a fair and equitable financial arrangement between p}u‘suan oaju gm'en ©
. . divorce are taxable income
them. There is no statutory presumption of an equal

C .. . . . . to the recipient and are a
division of earnings in awarding maintenance, but the

tax deduction to the payer.
courts have stated that a reasonable starting point for

a maintenance evaluation in a long-term marriage is
that the dependent spouse may be entitled to one-half \ )

of the total combined earnings of both parties.

If no maintenance is awarded in the judgment, maintenance is waived and cannot later be
ordered by a court. If maintenance is awarded, a court may consider revising the amount
or duration if it first finds that there has been a substantial change in the parties’ financial
circumstances.

The IRS allows a payer to deduct the amount of maintenance payments from reported gross
income on a tax return, if certain requirements are met. Additionally, the IRS allows
payments made to a third party for the benefit of a former spouse to be considered as
maintenance. However, the IRS disallows deductions for any portion of spousal support
that is intended for child support.

CHILDREN

Wisconsin law addresses the legal rights and obligations of parents and other caregivers
towards children in the areas of legal custody and physical placement, child support,
paternity, adoption, and third-party visitation.
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Legal Custody and Physical Placement

In actions for divorce, legal separation, annulment, or paternity, a court must assign legal
custody and physical placement for a child. “Custody” and “placement” involve different
aspects of a child’s upbringing.

“Legal custody” means the right and responsibility to make major decisions concerning a
child. Major decisions include decisions regarding consent to marry, consent to enter
military service, consent to obtain a driver’s license, authorization for nonemergency health
care, and choice of school and religion. The court, in its order for custody, may delineate
specific decisions to be made by either party.

In contrast to legal custody, which authorizes decision-making on major issues, physical
placement is the actual time a child is in a parent’s care. A parent must make routine daily
decisions while the child is physically with that parent, consistent with the major decisions.

Statutory Factors

In assigning legal custody and physical placement, the

court must consider numerous statutory factors. Some of / \
these include the child’s wishes; the child’s relationship

with the parents; the child’s age; the family’s history of In determining legal

custodial roles and any reasonable lifestyle changes that custody and physical

are proposed; the child’s adjustment to home and school; placement, a court
and the need for regularly occurring and meaningful must consider all facts
periods of physical placement to provide predictability relevant to the best
and stability for the child. interests of the child.

A court may not
Legal Custody

prefer a parent on the

It is presumed that joint legal custody is in the best basis of sex or race.

interest of the child. However, a court may award sole
legal custody if the parties agree to it, and if the court K _)

finds that sole legal custody is in the child’s best interest. If the parties do not agree to sole
legal custody, the court may award it if the court finds that one party is not capable of
performing parental duties or does not wish to be active in raising the child; that conditions
exist that substantially interfere with the exercise of joint legal custody; or that the parties
will not be able to cooperate in future decision-making.

If there is evidence of a pattern or serious incident of domestic abuse by one parent against
the other parent, the presumption for joint legal custody does not apply, and there is a
rebuttable presumption that joint legal custody is detrimental to the child and contrary to
the best interest of the child and sole or joint legal custody cannot be awarded to that
parent.

The “spousal abuse” presumption for sole legal custody may be rebutted only by a
preponderance of evidence that the abusive party has completed treatment for batterers
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provided through a certified treatment program or treatment provider and is not abusing
alcohol or any other drug, and that it is in the best interest of the child that the abusive
party be given joint or sole legal custody after considering the specified custody and
placement factors.

If the court finds that both parties have engaged in a pattern or serious incident of domestic
abuse, for purposes of the presumption, the court must attempt to determine which party
was the primary physical aggressor, considering factors such as any prior acts of abuse,
relative severity of injuries, acts of self-defense, and any patterns of coercive and abusive

behavior between the parties. If one, but not

both, of the parties was convicted of a crime /. \
that was an act of domestic abuse with A court must set a placement

respect to the other party, the court must schedule that: (a) allows the child

find the party who was convicted to be the to have regularly occurring,

primary physical aggressor. If the court meaningful periods of physical
determines that neither party was the placement with each parent; and
primary physical aggressor, the presumption (b) maximizes the amount of time
against a party’s custody rights does not :;i:::ld may spend with each

apply.
Physical Placement \ _)

A child is entitled to periods of physical placement with both parents unless the court finds
that placement with a parent would endanger the child’s physical, mental, or emotional
health. In determining physical placement, a court must consider the same statutory
factors that apply to legal custody determinations, for the best interest of the child.

Wisconsin statutes provide that a placement schedule should allow a child to have regularly
occurring, meaningful periods of placement with each parent. The schedule must maximize
the amount of time a child spends with each parent, considering geographic separation and
the accommodations in the separate households. According to Wisconsin court decisions,
the requirement to maximize time with both parents is not synonymous with a presumption
for equal physical placement, but requires a consideration of the child’s best interests and
the amount of time a child has with both parents within an overall placement schedule.

A court may not deny a parent physical placement based on the parent’s failure to make
child support or maintenance payments.

Guardian Ad Litem

When the legal custody or physical placement of a child is contested, or if there is reason for
special concern regarding the welfare of the child, the court appoints a guardian ad litem
(GAL) for the child. A GAL’s responsibility is to represent the best interests of the child
and to make recommendations to the court regarding paternity, custody, physical
placement, and support. A GAL must be a licensed attorney in the State of Wisconsin who
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meets the GAL special training requirements. Generally, both parents are required to
contribute to the payment of the GAL’s fees.

Mediation

Mediation services may play a significant role in actions involving child custody and
placement issues. Every county must make mediation services available to help the parties
resolve their disputes about the best interests of a child.

With exceptions for undue hardship or endangerment to one of the parties, an initial
session of mediation is required in any action where it appears that legal custody or
physical placement is contested. The parties may contract with a mediator at their own
expense or may use the county’s family court counseling service mediators. If an agreement
1s reached, it must be reviewed by the parties’ attorneys and the GAL and be approved by
the court. If no agreement is reached, the matter must be referred for a legal custody or
physical placement study and the issues are resolved through court procedures.

Modification of Custody and Placement Order

A court generally may not modify an initial legal custody or physical placement order for
two years unless the current custodial conditions are physically or emotionally harmful to
the best interest of the child. This is meant to provide a period of finality and stability
while the child is adjusting to the new family

situation. (‘ \

After the two-year period, the court may

modify the legal custody or placement order Under the so-called “use-it-or-lose-
if it first finds that: (1) it is in the best it” provision, a court may modify a
interest of the child to do so; and (2) a party’s rights to physical placement

substantial change of circumstances has for failure to exercise physical

occurred that affects custody or placement. placement.

In considering a request to modify a custody \ /
or placement order, the court presumes that

continuing substantially equal periods of physical placement, or continuing greater periods
with one parent, is in the best interest of the child.

If the parties have substantially equal periods of placement, the court may modify an order
for physical placement at any time if it is in the best interest of the child, but only if
circumstances make it impractical to continue the equal placement arrangement.

If a court granted physical placement rights to both parents and a parent later plans to
move outside of Wisconsin, move within Wisconsin to a distance that is 150 miles or more
from the other parent, or remove the child from Wisconsin for more than 90 days, that
parent must give at least 60 days written notice, by certified mail, to the other parent. The
statutes provide a procedure for the nonmoving party to object to the move, and provides
standards for when a move may be allowed. The objection must be made within 15 days of
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receipt of the notice. The court will then refer the parents for mediation or other family
court services and may appoint a GAL.

At any time, a court may deny a parent’s physical placement rights if it finds that the
placement rights endanger the child’s physical, mental, or emotional health.

Enforcement of Custody and Placement Order

Methods for enforcing rights to legal custody and physical placement include contempt of

court sanctions and criminal sanctions relating to interference with the custody of a child.
Additionally, statutory remedies require a court to grant periods of physical placement to

replace those denied or interfered with by the other parent and to order the uncooperative
parent to pay costs and attorney fees for maintaining the enforcement action.

Wisconsin courts may also enforce or modify custody and placement orders from tribal
courts, other states, or other countries under the procedures set forth by the Uniform Child
Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act (UCCJEA, ch. 822, Stats.), and the Hague
Convention on the Civil Aspects of International Child Abduction.

Child Support

As part of a divorce judgment, paternity judgment, or cases where a child’s parents may
live apart, the parties are responsible for supporting a child under 18, or under 19 years old
if the child is pursuing an accredited course of instruction leading to the acquisition of a
high school diploma or its equivalent. The court must determine the amount of child
support to be paid using child support standards promulgated by the Department of
Children and Families (DCF), unless the court finds that to do so would be unfair to the
child or either parent.

The administrative code gives the child support standards that are to be applied to a
person’s income in determining the appropriate level of child support. Child support
amounts are based on a percentage of the parent’s gross income. The percentage-of-income
standards when one parent has primary physical

placement are as follows:
Additional information on child )
support in Wisconsin can be ° 17% for one child.

found at: .
0,
http://www.dcf.wisconsin.gov/bces ¢ 25% for two children.

° 29% for three children.

e 31% for four children.

e 34% for five or more children.
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When both parents have court-ordered periods of physical placement of a child for at least
25% of the year (92 overnights) each, the percentage standard is calculated for both parents

and offset under a specific formula.

The amount of child support is determined
from the obligated parent’s gross monthly
income. Gross income includes all salary
and wages before taxes and other
deductions are taken out, income from
assets, workers’ compensation,
unemployment income, and Social Security

r

\.

November 2014

\

In cases of teenage parents, both
sets of grandparents also have a
child support obligation.

J

disability. Income does not include public welfare assistance.

The court is also permitted to set child support based on a payer’s ability to earn, or

“Imputed income,” beyond actual earnings. The court may consider factors such as past

earnings; current physical and mental health; history of child care responsibilities of the

parent with primary placement; the parent’s education, training, and recent work

experience; and local job openings.

Special rules govern the application of the percentage standards to the following types of

payers:

e A serial family payer, who has an existing child support obligation and incurs an
additional child support obligation in a subsequent family.

e A split-custody payer, who has physical placement of at least one but not all the

children.

e A low-income payer, with an income below

150% of the federal poverty level.

e A high-income payer with an income above

$84,000 per year. A further reduced

percentage rate applies to income in excess of

$150,000.

A court may set child support without using the

percentage standards only in limited

circumstances. Upon request of a party to the

(‘

In most cases, child support is
automatically withheld from the
income paid by an obligated

income assignment.

\-

action, the court may deviate from the standards if the court finds that the use of the

applicable standard is unfair to the child or to any of the parties. Any deviation must
include consideration of an extensive list of factors set forth in the statutes.

Although the child support amount is calculated based on a percentage standard, current

law provides that the child support order must be given as a fixed sum. The order may be

expressed as a percentage only in limited circumstances.
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parent’s employer. This is known as
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A court that issues a child support order must also assign responsibility for payment of the

child’s health care expenses. In assigning responsibility, the court must consider specified

factors, including existing and available health insurance, the extent of coverage, and the

cost of health insurance coverage for the child. The court may require a parent to initiate

or continue health care insurance coverage for a child.

Child support is generally required to be withheld from employment income, and is paid to

the Wisconsin Support Collections Trust Fund. Child support payments are then paid out
by direct deposit or added to a debit card.

Modification of Child Support Order

A child support order may be modified only when there has been a substantial change in

circumstances of the parties or the children since the entry of the order. A court may

presume that it has the authority to reconsider a child support order under the following

changes in circumstance: commencement of participation in Wisconsin Works (W-2) by
either parent; expiration of 33 months after the date of entry of the last child support order;

or failure of the payer to furnish a timely annual financial disclosure.

Additional factors the court may consider in determining whether or not to revisit a child

support order include a change in the payer’s income or earning capacity, a change in the

child’s needs, or any other condition the court determines is relevant in a particular case.

If a court determines that a substantial change in circumstances has occurred to give it

authority to review the child support order, the court may, but is not required to, modify

the order, by applying the child support standards to the current circumstances.

Enforcement of Child Support Order

The Wisconsin Child Support
Lien Docket is a registry
containing the names of any
person with an obligation for
past-due child support. The
amount owed equals a lien
against the person’s real and
titled personal property.

The searchable child support
lien docket is available at:
http://www.dwd.state.wi.us/liendocke
tweb/.

4

criminal penalties may also apply.
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There are several tools available for enforcement of
support orders. The mechanisms include
mandatory employer reporting of newly hired
employees to the DCF; tax refund intercepts;
accrual of interest on past due child support
amounts; work search requirements; contempt of
court proceedings with penalties of fines,
imprisonment, or both; ineligibility for W-2
benefits; suspension of driver’s licenses; data
sharing between DCF and state financial
institutions; liens on property; seizure of assets;
suspension of recreational licenses and
professional licenses and credentials; denial of
passports; denial of college or business loans; and
seizure of bank accounts. State and federal

15



Chapter 16 — Family Law

November 2014

Wisconsin courts may also enforce or modify child support orders from other states under

the procedures set forth in ch. 769, Stats., the Uniform Interstate Family Support Act

The application form for child
support case management
services can be found at:
http://www.dcf.wisconsin.gov/bes/

applications.htm
L=

(UTFSA).

The local county child support offices prosecute
enforcement actions on behalf of parents receiving
child support, when the recipients have applied for
the services. The fee for services is $25 for each
year in which $500 or more is received in support.

Paternity

If parents are not married when a child is born, legal fatherhood can be established in three

different ways:

e Voluntary paternity acknowledgment. If both the mother and the man are sure
that the man is the father, the easiest way to establish fatherhood is with the Voluntary
Paternity Acknowledgment form, which the father and the mother may sign together

before a notary. The Acknowledgement may be signed at any time, and is commonly

provided after birth, by a hospital or midwife.

Local child support agencies can also help ( \

with the form.

e Court ruling. If a man is named as the
possible father in a petition for paternity and
does not agree, or, if a man states that he is
the father of a child and the mother does not
agree, a court will make a ruling about J

A child born to a married
couple is presumed, by law,
to be the natural child of the
husband and wife.

paternity. Both the man and the mother will
be notified of the hearing and both may attend.

e Acknowledgment of marital child (legitimation). If a mother and the father marry

after their child is born, the parents may sign a form for an Acknowledgment of Marital
Child to establish paternity. Local child support agencies can help with the form, which
is then filed with the state Vital Records Office.

Several persons are eligible to commence a paternity action under Wisconsin law. Eligible
persons include the child, the child’s mother, or the state. Likewise, a man alleging himself

to be the child’s father may bring an action to determine paternity. In addition, the

husband of the mother, who is presumed to be the child’s father, or a man legally
acknowledged as the child’s father at birth, may

bring an action to refute paternity. f \

Court Procedure An action to establish

A paternity action is commenced by filing a
summons, notice, and petition for paternity with
the clerk of court for the county in which the child \ J

paternity cannot be brought
after the child turns 19.
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or the alleged father resides.

The person filing the action must serve the petition, summons, and other documents on the
other parent or alleged parent within 90 days of filing with the clerk of court. The time
may be extended only for good cause. All parties to a paternity action may be represented
by an attorney. A GAL is appointed for a minor parent, and may be appointed for the child
in some circumstances. The alleged father has a right to counsel, and will have an attorney
appointed if the alleged father is indigent and cannot afford one.

The court proceeding generally has three stages: the first appearance, the pretrial hearing,
and the trial. Paternity can be acknowledged at any of these stages. The alleged father is
permitted to enter one of the following three pleas relating to the paternity: admit
paternity, deny paternity, or admit paternity subject to confirming tests.

At the first appearance the court must inform the parties that a judgment of paternity
grants parental and inheritance rights and establishes child support obligations; that the
alleged father is entitled to an attorney, at public expense if he is indigent; that any party
may request genetic tests; and that the alleged father has several defenses available to him
to deny paternity, including that he was sterile or impotent at the time of conception, that
he did not have intercourse with the mother during the preconceptive period, or that
another man had intercourse with the mother during that period. The first appearance can
be held any time after 30 days have passed from the service of the petition on the
respondent.

At the pretrial hearing the court has an opportunity to evaluate the probability of
paternity. At this point, witnesses and other evidence may be presented. The court may, at
the conclusion of the evidence, dismiss the action or make a recommendation to the parties
regarding settlement of the paternity action. The pretrial hearing is closed to persons other
than those necessary to the action.

If no settlement is reached at the pretrial stage, a ( \
paternity trial is held. Like the pretrial hearing,

the trial is closed to persons other than those Liability for past 01,111(,1 )
support payments is limited to

necessary to the action. The paternity trial is in the period after filing unless

two parts: first, to make the determination of the action was delayed

paternity, as shown by a clear and satisfactory because of duress, threats,
preponderance of the evidence; and, second to make promises, or evasion.

a determination of child support, legal custody,

periods of physical placement, and any related k .)

issues.
Evidence Used to Establish Paternity

Genetic tests are one form of evidence used to determine the existence of paternity. If the
results of genetic testing show that the alleged father is not excluded as a possible father of
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the child and that the statistical probability of the alleged father’s parentage is 99% or
higher, the alleged father is presumed to be the father of the child.

Other evidence that may be submitted includes evidence of sexual intercourse between the
mother and alleged father during the possible time of conception; evidence of a relationship
between the mother and alleged father at any time; an expert’s opinion concerning the
statistical probability of the alleged father’s paternity based upon the duration of the
mother’s pregnancy; and any other evidence relevant to the issue of paternity.

Judgment of Paternity

Once the trial is completed, the court enters a judgment of paternity. The judgment
contains an adjudication of the child’s paternity, an order requiring either parent to pay
child support, an order for the child’s legal custody and physical placement, an order
regarding which parent will have the right to claim the tax exemption for the child, and
orders relating to the payment of birth expenses and all related costs and fees of the action,
including GAL fees and genetic testing fees.

Adoption

The process for adopting a child usually involves four steps: (1) termination of parental
rights; (2) petition to adopt and order for investigation; (3) agency investigation (often
referred to as the home study); and (4) hearing on the adoption. State law requires that all
hearings concerning termination of parental rights and adoption must be closed to the
public.

Agency adoptions involve the placement of a

child with adoptive parents by a public

Additional information on adoption in agency, including the Bureau of Milwaukee

Wisconsin can be found at: i
Child Welfare or any other county

http://www.dcf.wi.gov/children/adoption department of human or social services, or

by a licensed private agency. Public child
welfare agencies generally place children
who have become wards of the state for reasons such as orphanage, abandonment, or abuse.
Private agencies are sometimes run by charities or social service organizations.

An independent adoption refers to situations where the biological and adoptive parents find
each other without the help of an agency, often through friends or acquaintances. In
Wisconsin, these families must still work with an agency for the home study and birth
parent counseling services.

Similarly, a parent who has custody of a child may place the child for adoption in the home
of a relative. This is most familiar in cases of grandparent adoptions, but could also include
adoption by a brother, sister, first or second cousin, uncle, or aunt.
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It is also common for a stepparent to adopt the child of his or her spouse under the same

November 2014

general procedures. Wisconsin does not allow adoption by a same-sex or opposite-sex

domestic partner of a birth parent, under the stepparent adoption procedures.

It is lawful for the proposed adoptive parents to pay certain, limited expenses of the birth

parent that relate to the adoption. These may include medical and hospital expenses,

birthing classes, maternity clothes (not to exceed $300), legal expenses, living expenses if

necessary to protect the mother or child’s
health and welfare (not to exceed $5,000),
counseling, and a gift to the mother (not
to exceed $100 in value).

A biological parent may sign a consent to
terminate parental rights after the birth
of a child, and may revoke the consent at
any point up until the judge signs the
order terminating parental rights. When
the termination order is entered by the

(‘

Wisconsin. If adoptive parents have

parental rights, those promises are not
enforceable by a court.

\-

\

There is no statutory “open adoption” in

made promises of continued contact with
the birth parents after the termination of

/

court, it is final, and there is no waiting period allowing the biological parent to change his

or her mind. A biological parent may appeal the order within 30 days, under an expedited

appeals process.

In every adoption, the agency caseworker must determine whether the federal Indian Child

Welfare Act of 1978 applies. The Act applies if the child is either a member of an Indian

tribe or eligible for membership, and is the biological child of a member of an Indian tribe.

Each tribe sets its own standards of eligibility for membership. Unless it is a voluntary

proceeding, the tribe must be notified and given an opportunity to assert the statutory

placement preference priority in favor of the child’s extended family and tribe.

Third Party Visitation

Wisconsin statutes provide for the visitation of children by certain nonparents, including

grandparents, stepparents, and domestic partners, in several situations. However, unlike a

parent with physical placement or even supervised physical placement, a person granted
visitation with a child does not have any other parental rights or obligations towards the

child.

Person With a Parent-Like Relationship

First, in the context of an existing action dissolving a marriage, grandparents, great-

grandparents, stepparents, or other persons who have maintained a relationship similar to

a parental relationship with a child may request and be granted reasonable visitation
rights, if the parents have notice of the hearing and the court determines that the visitation

is in the best interests of the child.

Wisconsin courts also recognize an independent action for a former same-sex or opposite-
sex partner who is seeking visitation rights with a minor child if the partner proves four
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specific elements to demonstrate a parent-like relationship with the child. These elements
are: (1) the biological or adoptive parent consented to, and fostered, the person’s parent-
like relationship with the child; (2) the person and the child lived together in the same
household; (3) the person assumed parental obligations, including contributing to the child’s
support, without expectation of financial compensation; and (4) the person has been in a
parental role long enough to have established a bonded, dependent parent-like relationship.
If there is no underlying action affecting the family, the person must show that there was a
significant triggering event, such as substantial interference with the parent-like
relationship.

Grandparents of a Nonmarital Child

Grandparents of a child whose parents are not married may petition for, and be granted,
visitation rights in an independent action for visitation or in an underlying paternity
action. The child’s parents must have notice of the hearing and the court must find that:

(1) the parents have not married each other after the birth of the child; (2) the paternity of
the child has been determined if the grandparents seeking visitation are the paternal
grandparents; (3) the child has not been adopted; (4) the grandparents have maintained a
relationship with the child (or have tried but have been prevented from doing so by a
parent); (5) the grandparents will not act in a manner contrary to the parenting decisions of
the parent; and (6) the visitation is in the best interest of the child.

After Adoption

Other relatives may apply for visitation after adoption when: (1) a parent has remarried,
the other parent’s rights have been terminated, and the stepparent adopts the child; or (2)
both parents have terminated their parental rights to the child and the child is adopted by
another relative. In these cases, even though the parental relationship has been legally
extinguished with one or both birth parents, other relatives (listed in the statutes) who
have maintained a parent-like relationship with the child for at least two years before the
action may request visitation rights. Reasonable visitation may be granted if the court
determines that it would be in the best interest of the child, the relative will not undermine
the legal parents’ relationship with the child, and the relative will not act in manner
contrary to the parenting decisions of the legal parents.

After Death of One or Both Parents

Grandparents and stepparents of a child may request and be granted visitation with the
child if one or both parents of the child are deceased and the child is in the custody of the
surviving parent or any other person. For the rights to be granted, the visitation must be
in the best interest of the child. The petition may be filed in an underlying guardianship
action or as an independent action.
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ADDITIONAL REFERENCES

1. Legislative Council Information Memoranda (IM):

e IM- 2012-09, Legal Custody, Physical Placement, and Child Support (May 10,
2012).

e IM- 2012-12, Visitation by Grandparents and Other Third Parties (July 6, 2012).

e IM-2013-05, U.S. Supreme Court Decisions Relating to Same-Sex Marriage (July
29, 2013).

These publications are available at: http:/www.legis.wisconsin.gov/lc.

2. Wisconsin Department of Revenue:

e Publication 109, Tax Information for Married Persons Filing Separate Returns
and Persons Divorced in 2013 (November 2013).

e Publication 113, Federal and Wisconsin Income Tax Reporting Under the Marital
Property Act (February 2014).

These publications are available at: http:/revenue.wi.gov/html/taxpubs.html.

GLOSSARY

Guardian ad litem (GAL): A guardian ad litem is an attorney admitted to practice in
Wisconsin who must advocate for the best interest of a minor child as to paternity, legal
custody, physical placement, and support. The GAL must consider, but is not bound by, the
wishes of the minor child or the positions of others as to the best interest of the minor child.
The GAL must review and comment to the court on any mediation agreement, stipulation,
and parenting plan. The GAL has none of the rights or duties of a general guardian.

Joint legal custody: Joint legal custody means the situation in which both parties share
legal custody and neither party’s legal custody rights are superior, except with respect to
specified decisions as set forth by the court or the parties in the final judgment or order.

Legal custody: With respect to any person granted legal custody of a child, legal custody
means the right and responsibility to make major decisions concerning the child, except
with respect to specified decisions as set forth by the court or the parties in the final
judgment or order.

Major decisions: Major decisions include, but are not limited to, decisions regarding
consent to marry, consent to enter military service, consent to obtain a motor vehicle
operator’s license, authorization for nonemergency health care, and choice of school and
religion.

Mediation: Mediation means a cooperative process involving the parties and a mediator,
the purpose of which is to help the parties, by applying communication and dispute
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resolution skills, to define and resolve their own disagreements. In cases where a child is
involved, the best interest of the child is the paramount consideration.

Physical placement: Physical placement means the condition under which a party has
the right to have a child physically placed with that party and has the right and
responsibility, during that placement, to make routine daily decisions regarding the child’s
care, consistent with major decisions made by a person having legal custody.

Sole legal custody: Sole legal custody means the situation in which only one party has
legal custody.

Termination of parental rights (TPR): Termination of parental rights means that,
pursuant to a court order, all rights, powers, privileges, immunities, duties, and obligations
existing between parent and child are permanently severed.
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