Wisconsin Legislative Council - Home page

Joint Legislative Council

The Council's primary responsibility is to establish study committees to examine major issues and problems identified by the Legislature. The study committees appointed by the Council are made up of Legislators and citizens who are interested in or knowledgeable about the study topic.  By using citizens on these committees, the Legislature benefits from the knowledge and expertise of Wisconsin's citizens.  Citizens serving on Council study committees not only help in developing public policy, but also learn more about how their state government works.  Study committees do most of their work when the Legislature is in recess.  The Council reviews the legislation recommended by the study committees and, if a majority of Council members (12) vote for introduction, the legislation is sponsored by the Joint Legislative Council.

Current Membership
Senator Luther Olsen, Co-Chair Representative Tyler August
Senator Alberta Darling Representative Joan Ballweg, Co-Chair
Senator Paul Farrow Representative Peter Barca
Senator Scott Fitzgerald Representative Terese Berceau
Senator Chris Larson Representative Amy Loudenbeck
Vacant (President Pro Tempore) Representative Cory Mason
Senator Mark Miller Representative John Nygren
Senator Jerry Petrowski Representative Sandy Pasch
Senator Fred A. Risser Representative Jessie Rodriguez
Senator Jennifer Shilling Representative Pat Strachota
Senator Dale Schultz Representative Robin Vos
2013-14 Meetings
2011-12 Meetings
2009-10 Meetings
2007-08 Meetings
2005-06 Meetings
April 26, 2006 Meeting
January 18, 2006 Meeting
December 14, 2005 Meeting
June 1, 2005 Meeting
May 4, 2005 Meeting
April 6, 2005 Meeting
March 9, 2005 Meeting
2003-04 Meetings

June 3, 2003 Meeting
March 12, 2003 Meeting
February 25, 2003 Meeting
February 19, 2003 Meeting
2001-02 Meetings

April 24, 2002 Meeting
March 6, 2002 Meeting
February 13, 2002 Meeting
  • Presentation, by Dr. Harold Hodgkinson, Center for Demographic Policy, Institute for Education Leadership, to the Downtown Madison Rotary
January 30, 2002 Meeting
October 31, 2001 Meeting
  • Presentation and Summary by Dr. Sung Won Sohn, Executive Vice President and Chief Economic Officer, Wells Fargo Banks
June 27, 2001 Meeting
May 15, 2001 Meeting
March 14, 2001 Meeting