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Tanya Geiger, 14, (left) harvested this impressive 8 point, 183 pound, buck on November
6, 2010 while being mentored by her father Andy Geiger (right). The hunt was part of
Sandhill Outdoor Skills Center's Learn to Hunt program for youth and first time deer
hunters. After some early morning disappointment, this buck came through in mid-
afternoon while following a doe. After making an excellent shot with her 30-06, the
buck was recovered about 50 yards from where she shot it. Tanya came out of the hunt
beaming from her success while also making her dad proud. It was a great experience,
and the memories will not be forgotten. Congratulations Tanya!
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WISCONSIN This pamphlet gives you a summary of Wisconsin’s important deer
DEPT. OF NATURAL RESOURCES hunting laws and how they affect you; it is not a complete set of all
the hunting related laws.
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Hunters need to check with local governments for weapon restrictions as
some prohibit rifles and other weapon types within their boundaries.

Firewood Rule: Firewood brought onto state managed lands must not come from
more than 25 miles away. Details can be found by phone at 1-877-303-WOOD
(9663) or online at dnrwi.gov; search for 'firewood'.




A message to Wisconsin’s deer hunters:

I've asked department staff to emphasize the three “Hs” as we talk deer this
fall season: Hunt, Harvest, and Help. Here s what I mean by this phrase.

Hunt — After green and gold, the next most common color within Lambeau
Field is blaze orange. Deer, and deer hunting, are key parts of the Wisconsin
we cherish. For 2011, I want us to just step back and celebrate our deer hunting
heritage. We have a world-class deer herd that attracts hunters from all 50
states and many foreign countries. No other state contributes more record book
bucks annually than we do. We are also a top state both in the quality and
quantity of deer harvested each year. This will be Wisconsins 102nd modern
era deer hunting season. Just like seasons past, first time hunters will take to
the woods and fields to learn from our veteran deer hunters. Did you know that
we had nearly 5,000 deer hunters that were 80+ years young last year? I'm
sure they shared memories - like you did - with nearly 1,400 10 and 11 year
olds that participated in the Mentored Hunt programs. Let’s all keep our deer
hunting heritage strong by joining the hunt!

Harvest - If your family gatherings are like mine, venison snacks are a real
treat. Brats, summer sausage, hot sticks, or some other tasty item quickly
becomes a topic of conversation. Enjoying venison is a way of stretching
deer camp into a year-around event. Your harvest is a very important part of
Wisconsins economy. For many meat processors, the deer season is a big part
of their annual business. I also want to thank you for sharing your deer harvest
to help the hungry. In the past 11 years, you 've donated more than 77,000 deer
and 3.4 million pounds of ground venison to Wisconsin's food pantries. Another
remarkable aspect to Wisconsin's deer harvest is that no other state contributes
more record book bucks annually than we do.

Help — Beyond the fun (the hunt) and the treasures (the harvest and memories),
Wisconsins deer hunters are our partners in managing the deer herd on
behalf of all Wisconsin citizens. We all know that the deer herd does need to
be managed. In some cases, an overabundance of deer can cause problems
for farmers or cause long-term damage to forests. Unfortunately, we’ve also
learned that our deer herd is not immune to disease issues and hunters can help
slow the spread of disease. In short, deer hunters play a vital role in keeping a
healthy herd, and as I have stated often...we can't do this without you! If you
are hunting in a Herd Control or CWD unit, please consider harvesting an
extra antlerless deer among your hunting party or from your property.

I’'m very excited about the 2011 deer hunting season, and the traditions that we
are all helping to keep alive and well. I hope you are excited as well. Let’s all
get out there and hunt, harvest, and help.

Have a great fall!
Cathy Stepp
Secretary
Wisconsin DNR




What’s New in 2011

Most hunters are not allowed to hunt antlerless deer in 8 regular-buck only deer
management units. Archery and gun antlerless deer carcass tags are not valid in units
3,7,29B, 34, 35, 39, 44, and 45. No bonus antlerless tags will be available in these
units. See pages 11-13 and 15 for exceptions for Armed Forces members, youth ages
10-17, and certain disabled hunting permit holders.

In the CWD-MZ, the Earn-A-Buck requirements do not apply when using a person's
one Gun Buck Deer Carcass Tag or when using a person's one Archery Buck Deer
Carcass Tag. All other buck deer harvest in the CWD-MZ and tagged with any other
tag must follow EAB rules.

The 4-day October antlerless-only hunt will only occur in the CWD-MZ.
Beginning in 2011, all youth ages 10-17 will automatically be issued a free antlerless
deer carcass tag when they purchase a gun deer license. This tag is valid for one
antlerless deer in any DMU, including the regular-buck only units which have no
antlerless quota, during any open deer season with the appropriate license and
corresponding weapon. This tag is issued along with the youth’s gun deer license
through any license agent, and may also be filled in any DMU statewide during the
archery season with legal archery gear if the person also holds a valid archery license.
One-time only free antlerless deer carcass tags which were issued to a person upon
completing a Hunter Education Class are no longer being issued.

Telescopic sights with magnification can now be used statewide during all gun
seasons, including the muzzleloader-only deer season.

Whole deer carcasses and certain parts of those carcasses may be transported outside
of the CWD-MZ and its adjacent DMUs if the carcass or parts are transported to a
licensed taxidermist or licensed meat processor within 72 hours of registration.
Landowner Permits and CWD hunter permits are available within the CWD
Management Zone and will be valid from January 9 through March 31, 2012. See
page 40 for details.

The DNR will mail a 2011 Buck Authorization Sticker to hunters who harvest a
CWD-positive buck. If you harvested a CWD-positive buck last year and did not
receive a 2010-2011 Buck Authorization Sticker in the mail, please notify the DNR
at 1-888-WDNR-INFO.

Deer hunting will be allowed at Nelson Dewey State Park during the November
firearm season.

Hunting will be allowed during the muzzleloader-only season at Big Bay State Park.
Rifles will be allowed for hunting deer in Waupaca County during the 9-day firearm
season.

Archery deer season will be open concurrently with the 9-day firearm deer season.

Definitions

Antlerless deer: any deer without antlers or any deer with both antlers less than 3

inches in length.

Buck deer: a deer with at least one antler which is 3 inches or longer in length.
Ground blind: a blind that is located on the ground or used to conceal a hunter hunting

from the ground. Ground blinds do not include elevated blinds or other elevated
devices such as tree stands where both the blind and the hunter are in a tree or
elevated device above the ground.

Vehicle: includes any device, motorized or not, in, upon, or by which any person or

property is or may be transported or towed upon a highway or other roadway.



Unit Breakdown 2011

See map on page 28 to determine your type of unit

e 38 Regular Units: The buck deer carcass tag issued with your deer license is valid
for a buck in these units. Antlerless tags are available in 30 regular units at a cost of
$12 for residents or $20 for non-residents, and are sold over the counter on a first
come, first served basis until sold out. See page 14.

e 74 Herd Control Units: The buck deer carcass tag and free antlerless deer carcass
tag that are issued with each deer license are valid in these units, and unlimited $2
antlerless tags are available. See page 15. There will be no October antlerless-only
hunt in Herd Control Units in 2011.

e 22 CWD Management Zone Units: In the CWD-MZ, the EAB requirements do
not apply to a person's one Gun Buck Deer Carcass Tag or to a person's one Archery
Buck Deer Carcass Tag. All bucks tagged with a tag other than the Buck Carcass
Tag that was issued with your license must follow EAB rules. Unlimited Earn-A-
Buck regulations apply to all archery and gun deer seasons except the October and
December four-day antlerless-only hunts when only antlerless deer may be harvested.
Any of the carcass tags described on pages 14-15 are valid in these units. See these
pages for further instructions.

Deer Marked for Research Purposes

Beginning in 2010, the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources made its
greatest investment ever in Wisconsin deer research. Federal Wildlife Restoration
Act funds are being used to conduct a number of research projects to improve our
deer population knowledge, including buck mortality and fawn recruitment studies.
The University of Wisconsin—Madison, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point,
Wisconsin Conservation Congress, Whitetails Unlimited, Safari Club International,
AFL-CIO, Union Sportsmen’s Alliance, and numerous Wisconsin citizens are key
partners in these research efforts. We will be looking for help from additional partners
to increase our capacity for gathering valuable information through these multi-year
research studies.

The buck mortality and fawn recruitment studies will provide information on the
magnitude and relative importance of various causes of buck mortality (hunting,
predation, vehicle collisions, weather, etc.), and causes of mortality and rates of loss
of fawns (including the roles of predation, habitat, and weather) across northern
(Sawyer, Price, and Rusk Counties) and east-central (Shawano, Waupaca, and
Outagamie Counties) Wisconsin.

Importantly, researchers have captured and marked numerous deer throughout these
areas. External markings on deer include mortality-sensing radiocollars and metal
ear tags. The Department would like to make clear that if hunters encounter any of
these animals while hunting this fall, they are legal to harvest. The Department asks
hunters to treat these deer as they would any other deer, and to make the decision
about whether or not to harvest them as if they were not marked. The Department has
provided contact information on all radiocollars and ear tags and asks that hunters
report harvest information of all marked animals by contacting DNR Research
Scientist Christopher Jacques at 608-221-6358 (i.e., the number listed on collars
and ear tags). Obtaining harvest information on all study animals is critical and the
Department thanks everyone for their assistance with collecting and reporting this
important information. Please feel free to contact Christopher Jacques at 608-221-
6358 if you have additional questions about our deer research program. Thank you,
and good luck hunting!




Deer Hunting Seasons: Regular Units [ [0

Deer populations are at or near goal in these units. Harvesting zero or a limited number
of antlerless deer maintains a DMU’s population near established goals. Regular units
are the non-shaded and darker gray shaded units on the Deer Management Unit map
(pages 28-29). This includes the following units: 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 13, 14, 24, 26, 28, 29A,
298, 30, 31, 32, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 49A, 49B, 50, 52, 53, 55, 56,
59A, and 78. See pages 42-45 for information on state park unit (52A and 59E) seasons.
Archery antlerless deer carcass tags are not valid in the darker gray shaded units:
3,7,29B, 34, 35, 39, 44, and 45.

Seasons & Harvest Limits
2011 Gun Deer Seasons—Regular Units

Season Harvest Limits
October 8 - 9 Youth Gun Deer Hunt (see page 39)

One buck deer per unused Gun Buck Deer Carcass Tag
November 19 - 27 and one antlerless deer per unused Unit Specific Antlerless

Deer Carcass Tag.

Antlerless deer only hunt: One antlerless deer per unused

December § - 11 Unit Specific Antlerless Deer Carcass Tag.

2011 Archery Deer Seasons—Regular Units

Season Harvest Limits

One buck per unused Archery Buck Carcass Tag,
EXCEPT December 8-11. One antlerless deer per unused
valid* Archery Antlerless Deer Carcass Tag and one
antlerless deer per unused Unit Specific Antlerless Deer
Carcass Tag.

September 17 - November 17 &
November 19 - January 8, 2012

Antlerless deer only hunt: One antlerless deer per unused
valid* Archery Antlerless Deer Carcass Tag and one
antlerless deer per unused Unit Specific Antlerless Deer
Carcass Tag.

December 8 - 11

2011 Muzzleloader Deer Seasons—Regular Units
Season Harvest Limits

One buck deer per unused Gun Buck Deer Carcass Tag
November 28 - December 7 and one antlerless deer per unused Unit Specific Antlerless
Deer Carcass Tag.

* Archery antlerless deer carcass tags are not valid in units: 3, 7, 29B, 34, 35, 39, 44,
and 45.

Always Remember the Four Rules of Firearm Safety
1. Treat every gun as if it were loaded.
2. Always point the muzzle in a safe direction.
3. Be sure of your target and beyond.
4. Keep your finger out of the trigger guard until you are ready to shoot.




Deer Hunting Seasons: Herd Control Units [_]

Units are designated as Herd Control Units when a deer population is significantly
over goal and increased antlerless harvest is required to bring populations toward goal.
Herd Control Deer Management Units are the lighter grey shaded units on the Deer
Management Unit map (pages 28-29). There will be unlimited Antlerless Deer Carcass
Tags available in Herd Control Units. Hunters will receive one free with each deer
license, and additional tags may be purchased at $2 each. There will NOT be a 4-day
October antlerless-only season in Herd Control Units. Herd Control Units include:
1M, 4, 8,9, 10, 11, 12, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 224, 23, 25, 27, 33, 46, 47, 51A,
51B, 54A, 54B, 54C, 57, 57A, 57B, 57C, 58, 59B, 59C, 59D, 59M, 60A, 60B, 60M,
61, 62A, 62B, 63A, 63B, 64, 64M, 65A, 65B, 66, 67A, 67B, 68A, 68B, 69, 72, 73B,
73D, 74A, 74B, 77C, 77TM, 80A, 80B, and 81. See page 8 for season dates in Metro
Units 1M, 59M, 60M, 64M, and 77M. See pages 42-45 for information on state park
unit (23A, 57D, 61A, 64A, 69C, 72A, 73A, 77D, 77E, and 80C) seasons.

2011 Gun Deer Seasons—Herd Control Units

Season Harvest Limits

October 8 - 9 Youth Gun Deer Hunt (see page 39)

One buck deer per unused Gun Buck Deer Carcass Tag

and one antlerless deer per unused Antlerless Deer Carcass

Tag which specifies being valid statewide or in Herd

Control and EAB units.

Antlerless deer only hunt: One antlerless deer per unused

December 8 - 11 Antlerless Deer Carcass Tag which specifies being valid
statewide or in Herd Control and EAB units.

November 19 - 27

2011 Archery Deer Seasons—Herd Control Units
Season Harvest Limits

One buck per unused Archery Buck Carcass Tag
EXCEPT December 8-11. One antlerless deer per unused
September 17 - November 17 &  Archery Antlerless Deer Carcass Tag and one antlerless
November 19 - January 8,2012  deer per unused Antlerless Deer Carcass Tag which
specifies being valid statewide or in Herd Control and
EAB units.

Antlerless deer only hunt: One antlerless deer per unused
Archery Antlerless Deer Carcass Tag and one antlerless

December 8 - 11 deer per unused Antlerless Deer Carcass Tag which
specifies being valid statewide or in Herd Control and
EAB units.

2011 Muzzleloader Deer Seasons—Herd Control Units
Season Harvest Limits

One buck deer per unused Gun Buck Deer Carcass Tag
and one antlerless deer per unused Antlerless Deer Carcass
Tag which specifies being valid statewide or in Herd
Control and EAB units.

November 28 - December 7




Herd Control Units: continued  []

Metro Herd Control Units

Units 1M, 59M, 60M, 64M, and 77M are Metropolitan (Metro) Herd Control Units.
These metro units have longer seasons due to higher deer populations in and around
urban areas. Note: only shotguns, muzzleloaders, and handguns are allowed in units
59M, 60M, 64M, and 77M, whereas rifles, shotguns, muzzleloaders, and handguns are
allowed in unit 1M during firearm seasons. However, it is important to check with
local town officials to see if there are local ordinances prohibiting firearm use.

2011 Gun Deer Seasons—Metro Herd Control Units

Season Harvest Limits

October 8 - 9 Youth Gun Deer Hunt (see page 39)

One buck deer per unused Gun Buck Deer Carcass Tag

and one antlerless deer per unused Antlerless Deer Carcass

Tag which specifies being valid statewide or in Herd

Control and EAB units.

Antlerless deer only hunt: One Antlerless Deer per

December 8§ - 11 unused Antlerless Deer Carcass Tag which specifies being
valid statewide or in Herd Control and EAB units.

November 19 - December 7

2011 Archery Deer Seasons—Metro Herd Control Units
Season Harvest Limits

One buck per unused Archery Buck Deer Carcass Tag,
EXCEPT December 8-11. One antlerless deer per unused
September 17 - November 17 & Archery Antlerless Deer Carcass Tag and one antlerless
November 19 - January 31,2012 deer per unused Antlerless Deer Carcass Tag which
specifies being valid statewide or in Herd Control and
EAB units.

Antlerless deer only hunt: One antlerless deer per unused
Archery Antlerless Deer Carcass Tag and one antlerless

December 8 - 11 deer per unused Antlerless Deer Carcass Tag which
specifies being valid statewide or in Herd Control and
EAB units.

Hunters’ Code of Ethics

1. Respect Landowners
e Always know where you are hunting and gain permission before entering
private lands. Know how to use a map, compass, or GPS unit when needed.
e Be courteous, follow the landowner’s rules and treat their property with
respect.
2. Respect other Hunters
e Don’t interfere or disrupt the hunt of another. Treat other hunters in a manner
that you would expect to be treated.
3. Respect Non-Hunters
e Understand that not everyone supports hunting. While everyone is entitled to
their own view, positive hunting behavior will not turn someone who is neutral
toward hunting into someone who is opposed to it.
4. Respect Wildlife and other Natural Resources
e Follow all hunting laws and report observed violations to your local warden.




Chronic Wasting Disease Earn-A-Buck Units

Chronic Wasting Disease Earn-A-Buck Units are the non-shaded units with cross-hatches
on the Deer Management Unit map on pages 28-29. All non-state park units within the
CWD Management Zone (CWD-MZ) have unlimited Earn-A-Buck regulations except
during the Youth Gun Hunt when EAB doesn’t apply and during the Oct. and Dec.
antlerless-only deer seasons when EAB stickers may be earned but only antlerless deer
may be harvested. IMPORTANT NOTICE: the EAB requirement does not apply to
aperson's ONE Archery Buck Deer Carcass Tag or to a person's ONE Gun Buck Deer
Carcass Tag. EAB rules do apply to all other bucks harvested in the CWD-MZ. Additional
bucks harvested in the CWD zone and tagged with any other type of deer carcass tag
require that a Buck Authorization Sticker is attached to the tag OR an unregistered
antlerless deer tagged by the same hunter accompanies the tagged buck until both are
registered together. CWD units include the following: 54B-CWD, 70-CWD, 70A-CWD,
70B-CWD, 70E-CWD, 70G-CWD, 71-CWD, 73B-CWD, 73E-CWD, 75A-CWD,
75C-CWD, 75D-CWD, 76-CWD, 76A-CWD, 76M-CWD, 77A-CWD, 77B-CWD, and
77C-CWD. See page 46 for information on season dates within CWD-MZ state park
units (70C-CWD, 70D-CWD, 70F-CWD, 75B-CWD).
2011 Gun Deer Seasons—CWD Earn-A-Buck Units
Season Harvest Limits

October 8 - 9 Youth Gun Deer Hunt (see page 39)

Antlerless deer only hunt: One antlerless deer per unused antlerless
or CWD deer carcass tag.

October 13 - 16

One buck deer per unused Gun Buck Deer Carcass Tag (without EAB).
Also, one buck deer per unused antlerless or CWD deer carcass tag
provided a valid Buck Authorization Sticker is affixed to the back OR
an unregistered antlerless deer tagged by the same hunter accompanies
the buck deer until both are registered. Also, one antlerless deer per
additional unused antlerless or CWD deer carcass tag.

November 19 - 27 &
December 24 -
January 8, 2012

Antlerless deer only hunt: One antlerless deer per unused deer
carcass tag.

2011 Archery Deer Season—CWD Earn-A-Buck Units
Season Harvest Limits

December 8 - 11

One buck deer per unused Archery Buck Deer Carcass Tag (without

EAB). Also, one buck deer per unused antlerless or CWD deer

carcass tag provided a valid Buck Authorization Sticker is affixed
September 17 - to the back OR an unregistered antlerless deer tagged by the same
January 8, 2012 hunter accompanies the buck deer until both are registered, EXCEPT

October 13-16 and December 8-11 antlerless-only seasons (see below).

Also, one antlerless deer per unused antlerless or CWD deer carcass

tag.
October 13- 16 & Antlerless deer only hunt: One antlerless deer per unused antlerless
December 8 - 11 or CWD deer carcass tag.

2011 Muzzleloader Deer Season—CWD Earn-A-Buck Units
Season Harvest Limits

One buck deer per unused Gun Buck Deer Carcass Tag (without EAB).
Also, one buck deer per unused antlerless or CWD deer carcass tag
November 28 - provided a valid Buck Authorization Sticker is affixed to the back OR
December 7 an unregistered antlerless deer tagged by the same hunter accompanies
the buck deer until both are registered. Also, one antlerless deer per
unused antlerless or CWD deer carcass tag.




Licensing Requirements

Your backtag must be displayed where it can be clearly seen in the center of the
back of your outermost garment. Note: the backtag number must not be hidden by
a coat hood, displayed upside down, or be marked up in any manner.

A Gun Deer License is required to hunt deer with a firearm (including muzzleloaders).
An Archery License is required to hunt deer with a bow and arrow (or crossbow by
qualified individuals as described on page 18 under “Bows, arrows, and crossbows”).
It is illegal to allow someone else to use or carry your license, carcass tag, or Buck
Authorization Sticker, or for you to use or carry another person’s license, carcass
tag, or Buck Authorization Sticker when engaged in hunting.

No person younger than 10 years old may obtain a license which authorizes hunting;
10 and 11 year-olds and anyone born on or after January 1, 1973 who has not
completed Hunter Education may only hunt with a mentor. See page 12 for details.
To receive a duplicate license you must turn in all remaining parts of the lost license
to a license vendor (available from any license sales agent).

Resident and non-resident customers can purchase their hunting licenses and submit
their permit applications via the DNR website at dnr:wi.gov. Licenses will be delivered
by mail within 7 to 10 days. Licenses are also available at authorized license agents,
DNR Service Centers, or over the phone at 1-877-WI-LICENSE (1-877-945-4236).

License and Privilege Information

License Resident |Non- Resident
Conservation Patron $165 $600*
Conservation Patron Junior (12-17 year-olds) $75 $77*

Conservation Patron and Conservation Patron Junior Privileges
include: Small Game, Spring and Fall Turkey Licenses and Stamp,
Pheasant Stamp, Deer Firearm, Archery, General Fishing, Trapping
(proof of certification or exemption required), State Fishing

and Waterfowl Stamps, and most permit fees. DNR Magazine
subscription and vehicle admission to state parks and related areas
(including State Trail Pass) are included in the Conservation Patron
license, but not in the Conservation Patron Junior license.

Sports $60 $275*
Sports Junior (12-17 year-olds) $35 $36*

Sports and Sports Junior Privileges include: General Fishing,
Small Game, and Firearm Deer

Gun Deer** $24 $160

Archery** $24 $160*

Junior Gun Deer (12-17 year-olds)

Privileges include: Firearm Deer $20 o
Junior Archery (12-17 year-olds) $20 .
Privileges include: Small Game and Archery Deer

Antlerless Deer Carcass Tag

First Herd Control Antlerless Deer Carcass Tag

One free with license 30 $0
Additional Herd Control Antlerless Deer Carcass Tag $2 $2
Unit Specific Antlerless Deer Carcass Tag $12%* $20%**

10

*  Does not include hunting or trapping furbearing animals.

For 10 and 11 year-olds, the fee for an archery or gun deer license is $7 and the fee for a
unit specific antlerless deer carcass tag is $5.

Hx



Effective Dates

e All hunting licenses are effective immediately after purchase and with the opening
of the specific seasons. Gun and archery deer licenses may be purchased before and
during any open deer season. All licenses from the 2011 license year expire on March
31,2012

Resident Licenses

Wisconsin residency

e Aperson must have maintained a permanent residence in Wisconsin for 30 consecutive
days immediately before purchasing a license. Domiciliary intent is required.
Evidence of domiciliary intent includes where the person votes, pays personal
state income taxes, or obtains a driver’s license. Mere presence in the state for a
30-day period and/or ownership of property is not sufficient to establish residency.
Non-residents ages 10—17 who have a parent that is a Wisconsin resident may
purchase licenses at resident prices.

Non-resident students attending school in Wisconsin

e Full-time non-resident students in residence at any public or private Wisconsin
college, technical college, or university offering a degree OR foreign citizens residing
in the state and attending a Wisconsin high school or a university agricultural short
course may purchase gun deer, archery, small game, fishing, and sports licenses at
resident prices.

Armed Forces Members

Armed Forces members are entitled to the following:

e Exemption from Hunter Education requirements (see below).

e A U.S. Armed Forces member who exhibits proof that he or she is a Wisconsin
resident, or was a resident when he/she entered active service, may use a firearm
and his or her one Gun Buck Deer Carcass Tag to harvest one deer of either sex
from any Deer Management Unit (including CWD Earn-A-Buck Units) during any
firearm season (not including the 2-day youth deer hunt), including any antlerless-
only gun deer hunts established by the department, if he or she is:

1. in active service outside of Wisconsin with the U.S. Armed Forces or forces
incorporated in the U.S. Armed Forces, and

2. is on furlough or leave.

Those who meet the above criteria may also purchase one bonus antlerless deer

carcass tag in a unit with a quota, even if the unit is sold out.

e People meeting the following criteria may purchase any hunting, trapping, or fishing
license at the resident price:

1. Any non-resident active duty U.S. Armed Forces member or member of forces
incorporated in the U.S. Armed Forces who is stationed in Wisconsin or was a
resident when he/she entered active service.

2. A member of a Reserve unit located in Wisconsin, or a unit located outside of
Wisconsin if the person was a Wisconsin resident when they entered active service.

3. Anon-resident member of the Wisconsin National Guard.

Armed Forces members are not exempt from the need to purchase a valid deer hunting license.

Hunter Education Requirements

Persons born on or after January 1, 1973 must present their Wisconsin Hunter Education
certificate (or proof of a hunter safety course recognized by the Department from another
state, province, or country), a Wisconsin hunting license from a previous year, or proof of
successful completion of basic training in the U.S. Armed Forces, Reserves, or National
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Guard to purchase any hunting license. A certificate of successful completion of a Bow
Hunter Education course can be used to purchase an Archery License. If a person has not
completed hunter education, they may only obtain a license that requires hunting with a
mentor in compliance with the Hunting Mentorship Program rules (below). Contact the
DNR Call Center (see page 55) for course information or visit our web site at dnr.wi.gov.

First-time Hunter Education Graduate Privilege
e First time Hunter Education graduate special free antlerless deer tags are no longer
being issued. Instead, all youth ages 10-17 will now automatically be issued a free

Antlerless Deer Carcass Tag each year they purchase a gun deer license (see page

15, Antlerless Deer Carcass Tags for Youth Under Age 18, for more details). Hunters

18 and older who graduate from Hunter Education will no longer receive a free

Antlerless Deer Carcass Tag.

e All residents 10 years and older who graduate from a Wisconsin Hunter Education
course for the first time will continue to be entitled to the following:

— Certificates issued after January 1, 2011 will serve as your Small Game License
and are valid for hunting small game until March 31, 2012. You must carry your
Hunter Education Certificate with you while hunting if it is acting as your small
game hunting authorization.

— Exemption from the requirement to purchase the Pheasant and state Waterfowl
Stamps while the certificate is valid for small game hunting.

Note: the above does not exempt a person from the requirement to purchase goose

permits, a Federal Waterfowl Stamp (age 16 and over), or from becoming HIP

registered.

Hunting Mentorship Program

This program allows a person to obtain a hunting license and hunt without the need to first
take hunter education, provided the hunter and the mentor comply with the following:

Rules that apply to the hunter:

e Must be at least 10 years old.

e Must possess the appropriate hunting license, permits, stamps, and tags.

e Must hunt within arms reach of a mentor regardless of the age of the hunter or the
mentor.

e  Must comply with all other hunting laws, seasons, and bag limits.

Rules that apply to the mentor:

e Must be at least 18 years old.

e Must be a hunter education graduate unless born before January 1, 1973 or have
completed basic training with the Armed Forces.

e Must be the hunter’s parent or guardian, or have the permission of the hunter’s parent/
guardian before acting as a mentor for a person under 18.

e Must possess a current year’s Wisconsin hunting approval (type of hunting approval
does not matter, unless the mentor will also be attempting to harvest game).
Note: Certain exemptions apply if mentoring on a licensed bird or deer hunting
preserve or on land the mentor owns or occupies. Contact DNR for details.

e Only allowed to serve as a mentor for ONE hunter at a time if the hunter is either of
the following:

- agelOorll,or
- born on or after January 1, 1973 and has not yet taken Hunter Education.

Only ONE firearm, bow, or crossbow (if eligible for a crossbow permit) can be possessed

jointly between the hunter and the mentor if the hunter is either age 10 or 11, or was

born on or after January 1, 1973 and has not yet taken and passed hunter education.
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Note: 10 and 11 year-olds may only hunt under these mentorship rules, even if they
have already completed hunter education.

Adult Supervision Required

A parent or guardian (at least 18 years of age) must accompany hunters ages 12
and 13. Accompanied means within sight and voice contact without the aid of any
mechanical or electronic amplifying device other than a hearing aid. Persons under
the age of 12 may not hunt unless participating in a DNR Learn to Hunt event or
the Hunting Mentorship Program. Persons under age 18 may not possess firearms
for non-hunting purposes unless accompanied by an adult, except that persons age
14-17 who have completed Hunter Education can possess legal shotguns and rifles
without being accompanied by an adult

Disabled Hunters

A qualified disabled person may obtain a permit to hunt from a stationary vehicle and/
or use a crossbow. Class A and C disabled hunters are authorized to harvest one deer of
either sex with their one regular Gun Buck Deer Carcass tag during any gun deer season
except for the 2-day youth gun deer hunt unless they are age 10-15. This means that a
hunter with a Class A or Class C Disabled Permit may:

A. Fill their one regular Gun Buck Deer Carcass tag with:
1. an antlerless deer during any gun deer season (except for the 2-day youth hunt),
2. abuck during the October or December 4-day antlerless-only deer hunts, or
3. abuck in Chronic Wasting Disease Earn-A-Buck units without the need to tag

an antlerless deer first.

B. Fill their one Archery Buck Deer Carcass tag with a buck without the need to tag an
antlerless deer first when hunting in an Earn-A-Buck unit.

C. Fill their one archery Antlerless Deer Carcass Tag with an antlerless deer in any unit
statewide, including those 8 regular DMUs with a zero antlerless deer quota (i.e.,
buck-only). See page 15 for details on zero-quota units.

CWD Landowner Permits

For information about the CWD Landowner Permit Season, please see page 40.
Deer Tagging Instructions

1 You must validate the appropriate deer carcass tag by slitting the appropriate date
and time immediately upon killing and before field dressing or moving the deer.
Note: an antlerless deer is any deer that does not have an antler of 3 or more inches
in length. A buck deer is any deer with at least one antler 3 inches or longer.

2. Insert a string or similar fastener through the small hole in the middle of the tag
(note: a tab covers the hole) and attach it to the deer’s ear or antler. You will need to
provide your own string or similar fastener to attach the carcass tag to your deer.

3. After the deer has been tagged, it must be registered at an appropriate registration
station. Please see the section below on registration.

4. The carcass and registration tags must remain attached to the deer until butchering.
The person who killed, tagged, or obtained the deer shall retain all tags until the meat
is consumed.

Deer Registration

Deer must be kept intact, except for field dressing, skinning, and quartering* prior to
registration. The lower legs up to the tarsus joint (“ankle or hock™) on the hind legs and
up to the carpus joint (“wrist or knee”) on the front legs, may also be removed. If the
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skin or legs are removed prior to registration they must be kept with the carcass until
after the deer is registered.

* Hunters may divide a deer into as many as five pieces (provided the head remains
attached to one of the 5 parts of the carcass) prior to registration to facilitate removal
of the carcass from the field. The hide and lower legs, if removed, do not count as one
of the 5 parts. Prior to registration, only one deer that has been quartered may be stored
or transported at a time, but quartered deer can be transported with other intact deer.

In addition to the tagging requirements, all deer must be registered at a DNR Deer
Registration Station. Registration forms are available at deer registration stations.

Non-CWD Unit Deer Registration

o Deadline: All deer killed by firearm hunters (including during the muzzleloader
deer season) must be registered no later than 5:00 p.m. on the day after the close of
the season in which the deer was killed. All deer killed by archery hunters must
be registered no later than 5:00 p.m. on the third day after the deer was killed or by
5:00 p.m. on the day after the season closes, whichever occurs first.

e Location: All deer killed must be registered in the unit of kill or in an adjoining unit.

CWD Unit Deer Registration

e Deadline: All deer killed must be registered no later than 5:00 p.m. on the day
after harvest.

e Location: All deer killed in the CWD Management Zone must be registered within
the unit of kill or an adjacent unit of kill within the CWD Management Zone.

Collection of samples at time of registration

Any part of any deer may be collected or sampled by the Department for disease testing
purposes. If requested, you must allow the Department to collect a sample for disease
testing. Special arrangements can be made at the time of registration for deer that will
be prepared as a taxidermy mount. Failure to provide or allow a sample to be collected
may result in a fine.

Carcass Tags

While hunting, no person may possess a validated carcass tag (of any kind) unless it is
attached to a legally harvested deer. It is illegal to possess, move, or transport an untagged
deer. The proper carcass tag must be immediately validated and attached to the harvested deer.

Gun Buck Deer Carcass Tag

Valid in any Deer Management Unit (DMU) statewide during the appropriate gun deer
season (not valid Oct. 13-16 in CWD units or Dec. 8-11 statewide) for harvesting a
buck with a firearm including muzzleloaders (see pages 11 and 13 for Military and
Disabled hunter exceptions). In CWD Earn-A-Buck units, this tag can be used to tag
a buck without a Buck Authorization Sticker or the need to first tag an antlerless
deer. Additional bucks harvested in CWD units must be tagged with an unused deer
carcass tag that has a valid Buck Authorization Sticker affixed to the back OR must be
accompanied by an unregistered antlerless deer tagged by the same hunter until both
deer are registered.

Antlerless Deer Carcass Tags

Unit Specific—Unit specific Antlerless Deer Carcass Tags are only valid for tagging
one antlerless deer in the unit specified on the tag. This tag is not weapon-specific.
Unit specific antlerless tags for regular units* are $12.00 for residents and $20.00
for non-residents ($5 for youth ages 10 and 11) and can be purchased at any DNR
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license vendor, online at dnr.wi.gov, or by phone. For all regular DMUs, these tags
will be sold starting at noon on Saturday, August 20.
* 8 regular DMUs will not have unit specific antlerless tags available in 2011.
These units are: 3, 7, 29B, 34, 35, 39, 44, and 45.
Herd Control and Earn-A-Buck (EAB)-This Antlerless Deer Carcass Tag is only
valid for tagging one antlerless deer in Herd Control and CWD EAB units, and is
not valid for regular units or non-quota areas (see map on page 29). This tag is not
weapon-specific. One tag is issued free with each gun deer license to persons age 18
or older and with each archery license to each person age 10 or older (individuals
age 18 or older will receive two of these free antlerless tags if they purchase both the
Archery and Gun Deer License or a Conservation Patron License). Additional tags
are available for $2.00 each at any authorized license agent, online at dnrwi.gov, or
by phone.
Youth Under Age 18 — Youth ages 10-17 will be issued a statewide Antlerless Deer
Carcass Tag with their gun deer license. This tag is valid for tagging one antlerless
deer in any DMU statewide, including regular or buck only units, during any open
deer season with the appropriate gun or archery license and corresponding weapon
(firearm or archery).
Archery Buck Deer Carcass Tag
This tag is valid for one buck deer harvested with legal archery equipment in any unit
statewide during an open archery season (not valid October 13-16 in CWD units or
statewide December 8-11). In CWD Earn-A-Buck units, this tag can be used to tag a
buck without a Buck Authorization Sticker or the need to first tag an antlerless deer.
Additional bucks harvested in CWD units must be tagged with an unused deer carcass tag
with a valid Buck Authorization Sticker affixed to the back OR must be accompanied by
an unregistered antlerless deer tagged by the same hunter until both deer are registered.
When hunting outside of CWD units, the Archery Buck Deer Carcass Tag is the ONLY
archery tag valid for harvesting and tagging a buck with archery equipment. This tag is
weapon-specific and may not be filled with a deer killed with a firearm.

Archery Antlerless Carcass Tag

This carcass tag is valid for one antlerless deer harvested with legal archery equipment
only during an open archery season statewide except it is not valid in the following
units: 3, 7, 29B, 34, 35, 39, 44, and 45 (see page 13 for disabled hunter exception). One
of these tags is issued with each Archery Deer License or Patron License.

2011-12 & 2012-13 CWD Deer Carcass Tag

This carcass tag is valid only in CWD units during an open CWD deer season and can
be used to tag a deer of either sex. To be valid for a buck, a valid Buck Authorization
Sticker issued to the same hunter must be attached to the back of the CWD Deer Carcass
Tag unless a legally-harvested unregistered antlerless deer, tagged by the same hunter,
accompanies the buck deer until both are registered. This tag is not weapon-specific.
Hunters can obtain these tags free of charge (limit 4 per hunter per day) at deer registration
stations and participating license vendors located in the CWD Management Zone, as
well as at DNR Service Centers.

Tip: Hunters planning on hunting outside of the CWD Management Zone should save
the buck carcass tag issued with their license for use during those hunts, and should use
the free 2011-12 and 2012-13 CWD Deer Carcass Tags for hunting within the CWD
Management Zone if they have earned a buck. If CWD tags are used, then EAB rules
will apply.



EAB Units (CWD Units Only): Buck Authorization Stickers

Buck Authorization Stickers are used to validate the earner's Gun Antlerless Deer Carcass
Tag, Archery Antlerless Deer Carcass Tag, or 2011-12 and 2012-13 CWD Deer Carcass
Tags for a buck. It is not necessary to use a Buck Authorization Sticker to validate
a Gun Buck or Archery Buck Deer Carcass Tag in CWD units.

2010-2011 Earn-a-Buck This light blue Buck Authorization Sticker would have
Buck Authorization been earned during the 2010 deer hunting season by
St oo Bting Regulatonio openewon e | registering an antlerless deer in a CWD EAB unit or
by having registered a CWD-positive buck during the
DNR Customer & 2010 regular hunting season. If this sticker was not used
Pt iwctrpr st in 2010 to validate a buck carcass tag it is still valid for
__before gging  buck Novwalid ifnunben e shonged_| that hunter in the 2011 deer hunting season in a CWD
2011 Earn-a-Buck Unit Management Zone (CWD-MZ) unit.
_ Buck Authorization The 2011 Buck Authorization Sticker is purple and
Valid Sept 17, 2011 through March 31, 2013 R .
See Deer Hunting Regulations for open season dates can be earned durlng the 2011 deer huntlng season by
tagging and registering an antlerless deer in a CWD-
DNR Customer # MZ unit. The hunter will receive his/her sticker at the
T ey ——— registration station when registering an antlerless deer
before tagging a buck. Not valid if numbers are changed.

or by mail if the deer was harvested and registered
during the 2011 CWD Landowner Permit Season. This sticker can be used during the
2011 deer season in a CWD unit or, if not used in 2011, it can be used in an EAB unit
during the 2012 deer season. Be sure not to misplace it.

Replacement Buck Authorization Stickers will also be issued to any hunter who harvests
a buck that tests CWD-positive during the 2011 regular deer hunting season. The DNR
will mail a letter with a replacement 2011-2012 Buck Authorization Sticker attached
to a CWD-MZ Carcass Tag to hunters that harvest a CWD-positive buck. Hunters will
be allowed to keep the meat, antlers, hide, and any other parts of the CWD-positive
buck. If a hunter chooses to not keep any part of the CWD-positive buck, they are
reminded to properly dispose of the parts so they end up in a landfill. Removing CWD-
positive deer from the landscape is an important management tool and the DNR offers
these replacement Buck Authorization Stickers as a token of our appreciation for your
assistance in managing CWD.

Buck Authorization Sticker Frequently Asked Questions

Where is my buck authorization valid? In 2011, they are valid in any CWD
Management Zone (CWD-MZ) unit.

How many buck authorizations can I earn? During the 2011 season, a Buck
Authorization Sticker will be issued for each antlerless deer registered in any CWD-
MZ unit. The sticker must be attached to the back of an antlerless deer carcass tag or
CWD deer carcass tag to validate the tag to be used for a buck. Reminder: it is not
necessary to use a Buck Authorization Sticker to validate a Gun Buck or Archery Buck
Deer Carcass Tag in CWD units.

Is the buck authorization weapon or season specific? No. An antlerless deer harvested
with a gun or bow in a CWD-MZ unit will earn a Buck Authorization Sticker that can
be used on any valid antlerless deer carcass tag or CWD deer carcass tag (see pages
14-15) while hunting during a gun deer season with a gun deer license or during an
archery deer season with an archery license; however, it may not be used during any
antlerless-only season.
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Can I earn a buck for someone else? Buck authorizations are non-transferable. Only
those who tag and register an antlerless deer will be issued a Buck Authorization Sticker.
Group hunting is allowed to earn or harvest a buck during the gun season, but only the
person who tags and registers an antlerless deer will receive the Buck Authorization
Sticker. Only the person who has been issued a buck authorization may use it to tag a buck.
How do I prequalify for a buck for next year (2012)? During the regular 2011 deer
seasons, if you tag and register an antlerless deer in a CWD-MZ unit you will be issued,
at the time of registration, a Buck Authorization Sticker valid in any 2011 or 2012 EAB
unit. Additionally, you will be mailed a replacement Buck Authorization Sticker for any
CWD-positive buck you harvest.

Firearm and Bow Restrictions
Itis illegal to:

e possess or use any firearm for hunting if you are a felon or have been prohibited
from possessing a firearm under Wisconsin law. In Wisconsin, a firearm is any
weapon that uses gun powder, including black powder or black powder substitute
for muzzleloaders. A hunting license does not authorize the purchaser to possess a
firearm for hunting. Unless otherwise prohibited, a felon can generally hunt legally
with an air rifle for small game mammals (see 2011 Small Game Regulations) or
with a bow and arrow for small game, turkey, bear, and deer. Appropriate licenses
are required.

¢ hunt with a fully automatic firearm.

e possess or use while hunting any tracer or incendiary shells, cartridges, or ammunition.

e hunt with any means other than a gun discharged from the shoulder or a bow and
arrow. Handguns may be used as described under the “Handgun” section (page 18).
Crossbows may only be used as described under the “Bows, arrows, and crossbows”
section (page 18).

e shoot a firearm within 100 yards of a building devoted to human occupancy while
on lands you do not own (including public lands and public waters) without the
permission of the owner or occupant of that building.

e hunt deer with ammunition loaded with non-expanding type bullets.

e possess or control any shotshell loaded with a single slug or ball while hunting game
birds except during the gun season for deer.

e possess any firearm from 12:00 midnight—11:59 p.m. on November 18, 2011 unless
the firearm is unloaded and enclosed within a carrying case. Exceptions: target
shooting at established target ranges, target shooting on private lands by landowners
and immediate family members, waterfow] hunting during open season, hunting
game birds on licensed bird hunting preserves, and hunting turkeys and small game
in CWD Management Zone units.

Note: An established target range means an existing location that is set up for target
shooting with firearms as its major purpose.

e possess while hunting, shot or shotshells loaded with shot larger than No. BB from
June 1-Dec. 12 (unless legally engaged in waterfowl hunting or while hunting bobcat).
See Waterfowl Regulations for maximum shot sizes for waterfowl hunting.

¢ hunt deer with any ammunition loaded with shot other than a single slug or projectile.

Shotguns

e Must have an overall minimum length of 26" with an 18" minimum barrel length.

e Rifled shotgun barrels of at least 18” in length are considered to be shotguns for
the purpose of hunting deer if they fire a single projectile and are in the following
gauges: 10, 12, 16, 20, and 28.
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It is illegal to hunt deer with a .410 bore or less shotgun or handgun loaded with any
410 shotgun shell ammunition.
Buckshot is not legal to use or possess while hunting deer.

Rifles

Must have an overall minimum length of 26" with a 16" minimum barrel length.
Are legal for hunting deer in areas not restricted to shotguns, muzzleloaders, and
handguns only as indicated by the maps on page 19.

It is illegal to possess any rimfire rifle larger than .22 caliber or any center-fire rifle
.22 caliber or larger during any gun deer season in shotgun only areas unless it is
unloaded and enclosed within a carrying case. Note: Rifle-barreled shotguns and
muzzleloaders are not considered rifles for purpose of hunting deer.

It is illegal to hunt deer with any air rifle or rimfire rifle, or any center-fire rifle less
than .22 caliber.

Muzzleloaders

Muzzleloaders that are discharged from the shoulder must be at least .45 caliber if
smoothbore and .40 caliber or larger if the barrel is rifled, and must be loaded with
a single ball or slug to be legal for deer hunting. During the 10-day muzzleloader-
only season (Nov. 28-Dec. 7), muzzleloaders must have a solid threaded breech
plug making them capable of being loaded only from the muzzle. Telescopic sights
are legal to use on muzzleloaders during any firearm deer season. Note: Inline
muzzleloaders are legal to use during the 10-day muzzleloader hunt with black
powder or any black powder substitutes.

Muzzleloaders may be used statewide in all areas open to hunting deer with guns.
Muzzleloading handguns must be .44 caliber or larger with a minimum barrel length
of 7", measured from muzzle to breech face, and fire a single projectile weighing
138 grains or more to be legal for deer hunting.

Black powder revolvers are legal, but not for hunting deer during the 10-day
muzzleloader-only season because they are capable of being loaded by the cylinder
instead of the muzzle.

10-Day Muzzleloader-Only Deer Season

Telescopic sights on muzzleloaders are allowed during the 10-day muzzleloader-only
season.

A hunter, or at least one member of a group hunting party, must have a valid unused
deer carcass tag to participate in the muzzleloader-only season. See pages 11 and 13
for exemptions for qualified military personnel and disabled hunters.

Blaze orange clothing and ground blind display requirements apply (see page 22).
The 10-day muzzleloader-only season will be held statewide except in non-CWD
metro units and some state parks. See pages 42-46 for state park season information.

Handguns

To be legal for deer hunting, handguns must use center-fire cartridges of .22 caliber
or larger and have a 54" minimum barrel length measured from the firing pin to the
muzzle with the action closed.

You may not possess a concealed handgun.

Muzzleloading handguns, see “Muzzleloaders,” above.

It is illegal to hunt with a handgun if under age 18.

Bows, Arrows, and Crossbows
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If used while hunting deer, bows must have a draw weight of 30 pounds or greater,
and metal broadheads must be at least 7/8" wide and kept sharp.
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e Crossbows are only allowed for hunters age 65 or older and any disabled hunters
with a Class A, B crossbow, or C disabled permit or a crossbow permit. The crossbow
must have a minimum draw of 100 pounds, a working safety, and use at least 14-inch
long bolts or arrows equipped with broadheads. An archery license is required.

e Compound bows equipped with a drawlock mechanism that is capable of holding
the bow at full draw without the aid of a hunter are considered crossbows. These
are exempt from the 100-pound requirement but must meet the 30-pound minimum
draw weight.

e You may not possess, while hunting, any poison, drug, or explosive-tipped arrow.

Arms Transportation

e All fircarms must be unloaded and completely enclosed within carrying cases
designed to carry a firearm when in or on any vehicle, whether moving or stationary.
A holster is not a legal carrying case for a handgun in a vehicle unless it completely
encloses the handgun. All firearms must be unloaded when in or on any motor driven
boat while the motor is running.

Note: A firearm is considered unloaded if the shell or cartridge is removed from the

chamber, and any clip, magazine, or cylinder that is attached to the firearm is empty; the

cap is removed from a percussion muzzleloader; the flashpan of a flint lock muzzleloader
is cleaned of powder; or the powder and projectile is removed from the barrel of an
electronic ignition system muzzleloader.

e All bows and crossbows must be unstrung or enclosed within a case when in or
on a vehicle OR in or on any motor-driven boat while the motor is running. Some
exceptions apply for disabled hunters issued Class A or B disabled permits.

Hunting Incidents
Any person involved in an incident in which a person is injured by a projectile fired
from a firearm or an arrow fired from a bow or crossbow while hunting or trapping
must first render necessary assistance and then immediately report the incident to
the local warden, sheriff, or police. In addition, every person involved in a hunting
accident must render a written report to the DNR within 10 days.

General Deer Hunting Regulations

Dogs

e [t is illegal to hunt deer with dogs.

e Dogs are considered private property and are protected by law. Only Conservation
Wardens may kill dogs chasing deer. Owners may be held responsible for damage
caused by their dogs.

o A dog that is actively engaged in a legal hunting activity, including training, is not
considered to be running-at-large if the dog is monitored or supervised by a person,
and the dog is on land that is open to hunting or on land on which the person has
obtained permission to hunt or to train a dog.

Use of Devices

It is illegal to:

e hunt any animal with the aid of an aircraft.

o use while hunting any bow equipped with a draw-lock type mechanism that is capable
of holding a bow at full draw without the aid of the hunter. Note: For exceptions,
see "Bows, Arrows, and Crossbows" on page 18.

e use, or possess with the intent to use, laser sights while hunting except by Class C
visually handicapped permit holders.

e Note: Electronic calls and decoys are legal for hunting deer.
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Lead in Venison

Deer harvested with lead bullets have been shown to have tiny lead particles or
fragments remaining in the processed meat. These are often too small to be seen and
can disperse far from the wound channel. Although lead in venison does not rival
lead paint in older homes as a health risk for the public, the risk is not low enough
to ignore. Children under six and pregnant women are at the greatest risk from
lead exposure. The amount of lead found in a small percentage of venison samples
suggests that long term effects of lead consumption could occur in people who
regularly eat venison harvested with lead ammunition. However, there is currently
no known evidence linking human consumption of venison to lead poisoning.

The following measures can reduce your potential exposure to lead in venison:

e Consider alternative non-lead expanding ammunition such as copper or other
high-weight retention lead bullets, such as bonded bullets.

e Practice marksmanship and outdoor skills to get closer to your target, making
cleaner, lethal shots away from major muscle areas. Aim for the vitals behind the
shoulder or the neck. Don’t shoot at running deer.

¢ Avoid consuming internal organs as they can contain extra lead from heart-lung
shots.

e Process small batches so you can frequently check the grinder and remove lead
fragments.

e Remind your meat processor to not use deer meat with excessive shot damage.
Trim a generous distance away from the wound channel and discard any meat
that is bruised, discolored, or contains hair, dirt, bone fragments, or grass.

This is an important issue that will continue to be investigated.

For additional information:

e on the lead-in-venison issue: dnr.wi.gov, search for 'lead'.

e on lead poisoning: www.dhfs.wisconsin.gov.

e on deer processing: http.//datcp.wi.gov/uploads/Food/pdf/CommonSense.pdf.

e on where to find copper bullets and non-toxic ammunition for hunting: dnr.wi.gov;
search for 'copper bullets'.

Hunting Near Roadways
Highway means the entire width between the boundary lines of every public road, but
does notinclude private roads and driveways. Boundary
Roadway means the portion of the highway 3
which is improved or ordinarily used for Highway By } Roadway
vehicle travel, excluding the berm or shoulder. Ao

Public road means those roads shown on the
current official county highway map available
from the Department of Transportation for public use. It does not include private
roads or driveways.

Boundary

Itis illegal to:

1

. Hunt within 50 feet of the roadway’s center; or

2. Discharge a firearm, shoot an arrow from a bow, or a bolt from a crossbow:

a. from or across a highway, or
b. within 50 feet of the roadway’s center.

The above prohibition applies to all public roads (defined above). Certain exceptions
are allowed for Class A and B Disabled Permit holders. Call the DNR Call Center (see
page 55) for an explanation of these exceptions.
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Shining

It is illegal to:

e use, or possess with intent to use, a light, including vehicle headlights, for shining any
wild animal while hunting or in possession of a firearm, bow and arrow, or crossbow.
This includes laser sights on firearms, bows, and crossbows. Exceptions apply for
hunting certain small game; see 2011 Wisconsin Small Game Hunting Regulations.

e use, or possess with intent to use, a light, including vehicle headlights, for
shining wild animals between the hours of 10 p.m. and 7 a.m. from September
15 through December 31 whether or not a firearm or bow is in possession.
Note: Some areas may prohibit shining by local ordinance. Check with the local
Sheriff’s Department or township officials for local shining restrictions.

e shine at any time on federal refuges and Waterfowl Production Areas.

Blaze Orange Requirements

In any area of the state where a firearm deer season is open (including the regular

9-day hunt, muzzleloader season, October 8-9 Youth Hunt, October and December

4-day antlerless-only hunts, and CWD hunts), no person may hunt any game, except
waterfowl, unless at least 50% of the person’s outer clothing above the waist is colored
blaze orange. A hat or other head covering, if worn, must be at least 50% blaze orange.

Faded or stained blaze orange clothing is unsafe and may not meet law requirements.

Camo-blaze that is 50% blaze orange is legal, but is not as visible as solid blaze clothing.

100% solid blaze orange is recommended. Note: Blaze orange requirements do not

apply to those hunters participating in legal night hunting (e.g., raccoon) from %2 hour

after sunset to 2 hour before sunrise.

During any gun or muzzleloader deer season, ground blinds (except waterfowl blinds)
on DNR owned or managed lands must have a minimum of 144 square inches of solid
blaze orange material visible from all directions. Also, all unoccupied ground blinds
must have the owner’s customer ID number or name and address attached in a manner
that is legible and visible in a conspicuous location near the entrance. Ground blinds
must be removed daily at the end of hunting hours, except waterfowl blinds which
may be left up throughout the season but must be removed completely within seven
days after the season closes. Exceptions: these requirements do not apply to blinds
constructed entirely of dead vegetation found on the property, and which include no
man-made materials.

Ground Blind Frequently Asked Questions
Can I just hang a 12” x 12” blaze orange flag on the top of my blind?

No, because not all 144 square inches of the 12” x 12” blaze orange flag or piece of
material will be visible from all directions, 360 degrees around the blind, at all times.
Can I attach multiple small pieces of blaze orange on the outside of my blind if the
total area is equal to 144 square inches?

No, multiple small pieces of blaze orange are not legal because the requirement is that
when looking at the blind from any direction there must be at least one SOLID patch
(i.e. one piece) of blaze orange visible which is at least 144 square inches in size.
Can I just wrap a 144-inch long piece of blaze orange flagging tape that is 1 inch
wide around my blind?

No, because while a narrow strip of blaze orange may equal 144 square inches, if it is
wrapped around the blind and only about 25 % of the material is visible from each side
then the minimum requirement is not met.
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Can I use camo-blaze orange pattern?

No, camo-blaze orange does not meet the solid color requirement. Camo-blaze can be
used in addition to the minimum 144 square inches of solid blaze orange visible in all
directions, but not in place of it.

Group Deer Hunting Law

Group Hunting: It is illegal to kill game for another person EXCEPT that during a
deer firearm season only any member of a group deer hunting party may kill a deer
for another member of the party. Group hunting is not legal for archery deer hunting.
All participants must be licensed and each must possess a firearm, except that a mentor
and the person they are mentoring under the Hunting Mentorship Program may share
one firearm (see page 12 for Hunting Mentorship Program rules). Members of a group
deer hunting party should also agree in advance that a tag holder is willing to use their
tag on a deer killed by another member of the party.

The following conditions are established by law to ensure that hunters are actively participating
in the hunt, are in the field, and do not harvest more deer than the group has tags for:

1. A group deer hunting party must be 2 or more hunters who are hunting together
within sight or voice contact at all times. Temporary loss of voice or visual contact
for a reasonable time due to terrain or weather conditions is acceptable. Hunters may
not kill deer for persons who are not out in the field actively hunting with the party
or are at other locations apart from the area where the hunter killed the deer.

2. Group deer hunting is allowed to fill the free statewide Antlerless Deer Carcass Tag
issued to youth ages 10-17.

3. Hunters may not use cellular phones, special free radio communications, or other
mechanical or electronic amplifying devices (except hearing aids) to get someone to
tag a deer. It is legal to use electronic devices for reasons other than getting someone
to tag a deer.

4. The hunter for whom the deer is killed must possess a valid unused carcass tag for
the type of deer killed.

5. The hunter killing the deer may not leave the deer unattended until after the deer is
tagged and the tag is validated according to the deer carcass tagging instructions
(page 13). A hunter is attending a deer if the hunter can see the deer.

6. Convicted felons cannot participate in group deer hunting or allow use of their tag by
anyone else. Deer drivers are not required to possess firearms or hunting licenses.

7. Adults may not gun deer hunt during the October 8-9 youth gun deer hunt.

Transport, Possession, and Sale of Deer

Itis illegal to:

e sell, purchase, barter, or offer to sell, purchase, or barter any deer or deer part thereof
except the head, skin not in spotted coat, and antlers not in velvet of any deer lawfully
killed when these parts are separated from the rest of the carcass.

e possess in an EAB deer management unit or during an antlerless-only deer season,
prior to registration, a deer with antlers completely broken off which makes
determination of legality impossible.

e possess a deer carcass unless tagged and registered as required.
possess deer antlers in velvet, spotted hides, albino, or white deer, which are entirely
white except the hooves, tarsal glands, heads, and parts of the head, unless special
written authorization is obtained from the Department.

Note: Deer with antlers in velvet or in spotted coat may be harvested during the open
deer season, however, to keep the antlers or spotted hide the hunter must contact a
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warden within 7 days of tagging the deer and request written authorization to keep
the antlers or hide. The velvet antlers and spotted hide may not be sold or transferred
to another person. Albino and white deer may not be harvested without prior written
authorization from the DNR except that albino and white deer may be harvested and
possessed in the CWD Management Zone.

e transport another person’s unregistered deer unless accompanied by the person issued

the carcass tag. Once registered, anyone may transport the deer.
Note: Legally-possessed deer may be transported out-of-state by residents and non-
residents once the deer is registered. For transportation requirements in CWD units
and from other states, provinces, or countries, see ""Deer Carcass Transportation
Regulations in the United States and Canada'’ below.

Taking of Game

It is illegal to:

o take or possess any deer or wild animal which has been lawfully obtained by someone
else without having that person’s consent.

e not immediately kill all game taken and make it part of the daily bag.

e carelessly waste game. You must make every reasonable effort to retrieve all game
killed or crippled. Until such effort is made, such game shall be included in the daily
bag. This rule does not allow you to trespass without permission of the landowner
nor to shoot game beyond established shooting hours.

Vehicle-Killed Deer Tagging and Possession

o Contact your Sheriff’s Department before moving the deer to obtain a tag so that the
carcass, or part of the carcass, can be legally possessed.

e Any person may claim a deer that has been killed by a motor vehicle operated on a
highway. The driver of a vehicle that accidentally collides with and kills a deer has
first priority to the deer. If the driver does not want the deer, any other person who
arrives at the scene may request a tag for the carcass.

e See below for deer carcass transportation restrictions.

Note: It is illegal to use a vehicle-killed deer to obtain a Buck Authorization Sticker.

Taxidermists
These regulations are available at dnrwi.gov, search for 'taxidermy'.

Deer Carcass Transportation Regulations in the United States and Canada

Research indicates that intact carcasses and certain parts of cervids (deer, elk, and moose)
infected with CWD may be a source of disease spread. The infective agent (prion) is
concentrated in the brain, spinal cord, and lymph nodes. The intent of the following
regulations is to prevent the movement of brain, spinal cord, and lymphoid tissue in order
to minimize the risk of introducing CWD into an area where it does not currently exist.

It is illegal to:

e Transport whole wild deer carcasses and certain parts of those carcasses from the
CWD Management Zone (CWD-MZ) to areas outside of the CWD-MZ (see map on
page 25), UNLESS these parts are being transported to adjacent deer management
units or to a licensed taxidermist or licensed meat processor within 72 hours of the
deer being registered. This restriction applies to any deer management unit ending
in -CWD, such as 77C-CWD or 54B-CWD (see maps on pages 25 and 28-29).

e Transport carcasses or certain parts of wild cervids (deer, elk, and moose) from other
states or provinces that have CWD into any part of Wisconsin UNLESS they are taken
to a licensed meat processor or licensed taxidermist within 72 hours of entering the
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state. Hunters transporting whole carcasses or restricted parts of those cervids into
Wisconsin from other states or provinces must possess and exhibit to wardens, upon
request, documentation of what state or province the carcass was harvested in.
The following list specifies the only parts of wild deer harvested in the CWD-MZ
that may be transported beyond those deer management units adjacent to the
CWD-MZ. This list also applies to any wild deer, elk, or moose transported into
Wisconsin from other states and provinces that have CWD.

Meat that is cut and wrapped (either commercially or privately),

Quarters or other portions of meat to which no part of the spinal column is attached,
Meat that has been deboned,

Hides with no heads attached,

Finished taxidermy heads,

Antlers,

Clean skulls or skull plates with no lymphoid or brain tissue attached,

Upper canine teeth (also known as buglers, whistlers, or ivories), or

Whole carcasses that are delivered to a licensed meat processor or licensed taxidermist
within 72 hours of being registered or entering the state. The processor or taxidermist
must be told that the animal came from the CWD-MZ or a state with CWD, and they
must dispose of the brain, spinal column, and parts not exempt from the transportation
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restrictions in a landfill or rendering plant.
The movement of carcasses and parts of captive cervids is regulated by the USDA and
the Wisconsin Dept. of Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer Protection (DATCP). Please
contact DATCP (608-224-4872) with questions concerning these regulations.

Many states and provinces restrict the importation of cervid carcasses and it is
recommended that hunters check the regulations of their home state or province,
the state or province they will be hunting in, and the states or provinces they will be
traveling through. For more information, please visit the CWD Alliance webpage at:
www.cwd-info.org/.

The following Deer Management Units (DMUs) make up Wisconsin’s CWD
Management Zone from which deer carcass movement is restricted:

Affected DMUs include: 54B-CWD, 70-CWD, 70A-CWD, 70B-CWD, 70C-CWD,
70D-CWD, 70E-CWD, 70F-CWD, 70G-CWD, 71-CWD, 73B-CWD, 73E-CWD,
75A-CWD, 75B-CWD, 75C-CWD, 75D-CWD, 76-CWD, 76A-CWD, 76M-CWD,
77A-CWD, 77B-CWD, and 77C-CWD. See centerfold map on page 28 and 29.
These DMUs are located in the Counties of Adams, Crawford, Columbia, Dane, Dodge,
Grant, Green, lowa, Jefferson, Juneau, Kenosha, Lafayette, Marquette, Racine, Richland,
Rock, Sauk, Vernon, Walworth, and Waukesha.

Please note: All deer killed in the CWD Management Zone must be registered
within the unit of kill or an adjacent unit of kill within the CWD Management Zone.

Baiting and Feeding Deer

The following regulations pertaining to baiting and feeding are divided into two parts of
the state—those counties where baiting and feeding deer is prohibited, and those areas
where baiting and feeding of deer is allowed with a 2-gallon limit.

Counties where baiting is NOT allowed

Placing bait for hunting purposes is prohibited in the following counties: Adams,
Calumet, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Grant, Green, lowa, Jefferson, Juneau,
Kenosha, Lafayette, Manitowoc, Marathon, Marquette, Milwaukee, Portage, Racine,
Richland, Rock, Sauk, Sheboygan, Vernon, Walworth, Waukesha, Waushara, and Wood
Counties.

In these counties, no person may place, use, or hunt over bait or feed material for the
purpose of hunting deer. Note: It is not legal to feed deer, even for recreational viewing
purposes, in counties where baiting deer is prohibited.

Scents: Scent may be used for hunting deer statewide, but the scent may not be placed
or deposited in a manner that makes it accessible for consumption by deer, and scents
shall be removed daily at the end of hunting hours. However, two ounces or less of scent
may be placed, used, or deposited in any manner for hunting deer and do not need to
be removed daily at the end of hunting hours. For more information on recommended
uses of scents as they pertain to CWD, please visit our CWD webpages at dnr:wi.gov
and search for 'CWD".

Natural Vegetation and Plantings: You may hunt with the aid of material deposited by
natural vegetation or material found solely as a result of normal agricultural or gardening
practices, or with the aid of crops planted and left standing as wildlife food plots.

Counties where baiting deer is allowed

In the remainder of the state (except for U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service lands), baiting
for deer hunting purposes is allowed only under the following conditions:
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Amount: Each hunter may place up to 2 gallons of bait for each property under the

same ownership regardless of the size of the property. If the property is larger than 40

acres, then each hunter may place an additional 2 gallons of bait for each additional full

40 acres of contiguous land under the same ownership if the bait sites are at least 100

yards away from any other bait site (parcels of land that do not touch but are separated

only by a town, county, or state highway are considered contiguous).

Note: Bait may be spread out or divided into more than one pile as long as the total

amount of bait or feed material is not more than 2 gallons per 40 acres or less.

Placement: No person may:

e Place a baiting site closer than 100 yards from another baiting site.

e Hunt within 100 yards of more than 2 gallons of bait on the same parcel of land.

e Place a baiting site within 50 yards of any trail, road, or campsite used by the public,
or within 100 yards of a roadway having a posted speed limit of 45 mph or more.

Note: Removal of unlawfully placed bait or feed material does not preclude the
issuance of a citation for the original placement of the unlawful baiting or feeding
material.
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Baiting and Feeding Deer regulations continued on page 30.
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Baiting and Feeding Deer Regulations continued...

Timing: No person may:

e Place, use, or hunt over bait or feed for hunting purposes during the closed season for
hunting deer, but may start to place bait for deer hunting the day before the opening
day of the first deer hunting season, which is the archery season. This means the
24-hour period from 12:00 am to 11:59 pm on the day immediately before the
season.

e Hunt over bait or a feeding site that is in violation of these regulations unless the
area is completely free of bait or feed material for at least 10 consecutive days prior
to hunting, pursuing animals, or dog training.

Content: No person may place, use, or hunt over any bait or feed material that:

e contains any animal part or animal by-product. Note: Animal parts and by-products
include honey, bones, fish, meat, solid animal fat, animal carcasses, and parts of
animal carcasses, but do not include liquid scents.

e is contained in or deposited by a feeder that is designed to deposit or replenish feed
automatically, mechanically, or by gravity.

e contains or is contained within metal, paper, plastic, glass, wood, or other similar
processed materials. This does not apply to scent materials.

License: No person may use or hunt over bait or feed material placed for deer without

possessing an appropriate valid Archery or Gun Deer License and valid, unused carcass

tag.

Counties where feeding deer is allowed

In counties where it is legal to bait deer for hunting, it is also legal to feed deer for
recreational viewing. However, the following regulations apply:

e Each owner-occupied residence or business open to the public may place out no
more than 2 gallons of feed.

e The feed must be located within 50 yards of an owner-occupied residence or a
business open to the public.

e The feed may not be located within 100 yards of a roadway with a posted speed
limit of 45 mph or more.

e [t is illegal to use a feeder that replenishes or distributes food automatically,
mechanically, or by means of gravity (i.e. automated feeders).

e [tisillegal to place feed at a deer feeding site that the person knows is being used by
bear or elk. If the owner of the residence or business is notified by the Department or
otherwise becomes aware that bear or elk have been using a deer feeding site, then
the owner must discontinue feeding for a period of not less than 30 consecutive days.

Owner-occupied residence means a dwelling devoted to human occupancy that is used

as aresidence by the owner, members of the owner’s immediate family, or as a residence

by individuals as a rental property. When a residence is not being used as a residence
it is not legal to feed deer there.

Business open to the public means a business building that allows the general public to
enter and access the building.

Baiting and Feeding Frequently Asked Questions

What exactly is considered bait?

Bait is any material that is placed or used to attract wild animals, including scent
materials, salt, minerals, grains, etc. Water is not considered bait.

What is considered a scent material?

Scent is any material, except animal parts or by-products, used to attract wild animals
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solely by its odor.

Are there any restrictions on scent material?
The following rules apply statewide:

e Up to 2 ounces of scent (liquid or solid) may be placed or used in any manner (on
the ground, scrapes, branches, etc.)

e Any scent material over 2 ounces must not be accessible to deer and must be removed
daily at the end of hunting hours for deer.

e Honey and solid animal parts or animal by-products may not be used as scent.
For more information on recommended uses of scents as they pertain to CWD, please
visit our CWD webpages at dnr.wi.gov and search for 'CWD'.

In areas where deer baiting is not allowed, what can I use to attract deer closer

to my stand if I can’t use bait?

Use of the following is legal statewide:

e Decoys
Scents

e Naturally-occurring material (such as acorns), deposited by natural vegetation, that
is not collected and/or relocated in any manner.

e Crops planted and left standing as wildlife food plots.

e Material deposited solely as a result of normal agricultural or gardening practices
that is not collected and/or relocated for hunting or other purposes.

Can I still place out salt or mineral blocks or similar material?

In counties where baiting and feeding of deer is prohibited, no. These materials are
considered bait and are not legal. In the remainder of the state, you may only place
these materials during the open seasons for deer hunting, and they may not exceed the
2-gallon limit per hunter per 40 acres.

Can I use an automatic, mechanical, or gravity feeder to bait or feed deer?

No. It is not legal to use these types of feeders for baiting deer for hunting or for feeding
wild deer for viewing purposes.

Does the 2 gallons per 40 acres also apply to public land?

Yes. If a hunter wants to place more than 2 gallons of bait, or more than one bait site on
any public hunting land, then the hunter will need to make sure that each bait site does
not exceed 2 gallons. The hunter must also be sure not to place more than 2 gallons
for each 40 acres of public land that is contiguous, and that each site is more than 100
yards from any other bait site placed by them or another hunter.

What if my neighbor has a bait site on his property that is less than 100 yards from
my stand where I want to place a bait site?

The 100 yard rule does not apply to bait sites that are located on an adjacent property
which has a different owner. Where you place your bait site on your land is not affected
or restricted by where a neighbor places their bait site on their land.

If there are 4 members in my hunting party, can we each place 2 gallons of bait?

Yes, but each bait site must be at least 100 yards apart and the hunters may not hunt
within 100 yards of more than one site (or 2 gallons of bait) at a time. So, if more than
one hunter will be placing a bait site on the same property, the hunters may not hunt
from any location that allows them to use more than 2 gallons or be within 100 yards
of more than one bait site. Hunting halfway between 2 bait sites located less than 200
yards apart is not legal. Keeping all bait sites at least 200 yards apart will eliminate the
risk of violating the bait site distance restrictions.
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I have more than one stand on my 40 acres. Can I maintain a bait site at each
location for myself, or for other hunters?

Provided all of the bait sites combined do not contain more than 2 gallons total, yes;
however, no one, including family members, may place out another hunter’s bait and
their own if the total they place out is more than 2 gallons.

Can I hunt over someone else’s bait site? Can someone else hunt over my bait site?

Yes. If it is a legally placed bait site, there is no restriction on how many hunters can
use that one bait site. This applies to both public and private lands. Placing a bait site
out on public lands does not reserve that area for the exclusive use of the hunter who
places the bait.

If I own or hunt on a 50-acre or larger parcel, how many bait sites can I have?

Only 2 gallons may be placed by each hunter on any property less than 80 acres in
size. Each hunter may place up to 2 gallons of bait for each property under the same
ownership regardless of the size of the property. If the property is larger than 80 acres,
then each hunter may place an additional 2 gallons of bait for each additional full 40
acres of contiguous land under the same ownership if the bait sites are at least 100 yards
away from any other bait site.

Note:

1. Hunters that only plan to place one bait site for hunting purposes do not need to
worry about how many acres they own or have permission to hunt on.

2. Hunters that plan to place more than one bait site for hunting purposes will need to
be familiar with the location and boundaries of the property they will be hunting and
baiting.

If I only hunt deer during the firearm season and do not bow hunt, when can I

start baiting for deer?

Placement of bait for deer hunting can be done during any open season for deer hunting
as well as the day before the first season opens. So, the day before the archery deer
season opens is the first day you may begin to place out bait for deer, and all baiting for
deer must stop when all the deer seasons have closed for that area.

Can I place out more than 2 gallons of bait or place bait in an automatic feeder if
I hunt more than 100 yards from the bait site?

No, it is not only illegal to place out more than 2 gallons of bait or feed for deer, or to
place feed or bait in an automatic feeder, but it is also illegal to use more than 2 gallons
of bait, even if you stay over 100 yards from the illegal bait.

What is the penalty for illegal placement or use of bait material?

A bond amount for a citation issued for illegal bait or baiting is currently set at $343-
$745, depending on the amount of bait. The maximum penalty which can be imposed
by the court is $2,152 and loss of all hunting, trapping and fishing privileges for up to
3 years. The penalty for the illegal feeding of wildlife is $343.

For more information, including graphics of legal baiting and feeding activities,
go to dnr.wi.gov and search for 'deer baiting'.
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Chronic Wasting Disease Update

Wisconsin has intensively monitored chronic wasting disease (CWD) for nine years.
Between 2002 and March 2011, we tested over 166,000 free-ranging deer, of which
1,570 have tested positive for CWD. All of the positive cases have been found within
the current CWD Management Zone (CWD-MZ). Wisconsin has two separate cores
of disease infection, one in the southwest part of the state, one in the southeast. The
southeast CWD outbreak is contiguous with a CWD area in northern Illinois where 326
CWD positive deer have been found since 2002 (see map below).

Cumulative CWD Positive Locations of
Whitetailed Deer in Wisconsin and lllinois.

B CWD Cumulative Positive Locatior
—— County Boundary
CWD Management Zone

WISCONSIN
ILLINOIS

Map printed 6/10/11

* Wi locations as of 6/10/11.
lllinois locations as of 6/10/1

CWD Prevalence in Wisconsin

Since 2002, CWD prevalence within our western monitoring area has shown an overall
increasing trend in all sex and age classes. During the past nine years, the trend in
prevalence in adult males has risen from about 8 percent to over 16 percent and in adult
females from about 3 percent to approximately 7 percent. During that same time, the
prevalence trend in yearling males has increased from about 2 percent to about 6 percent
and in yearling females from less than 2 percent to about 4 percent. We continue to see
similar trends in the eastern monitoring area as well, albeit at lower prevalence levels.

We continue to find that disease prevalence is higher in males than in females and higher
in adults than in yearlings. It is important to keep in mind that annual prevalence estimates
are subject to sampling variation and that trends over time give us better information.
These annual monitoring data are important for Wisconsin’s understanding of CWD
distribution and prevalence.

2011 CWD Sampling in Wisconsin

We will continue to sample deer within the CWD-MZ, including both the southwestern
and southeastern core infection areas, to track changes in both CWD prevalence and
distribution. The exact locations of sampling within the CWD-MZ, as well as any possible
locations outside of the CWD-MZ will be available at registration and sampling stations,
and on our website, prior to the opening of the 2011 archery season.
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CWD in North America

Asof2011, 15 states and provinces have identified CWD within their free-ranging cervid
(deer, elk, moose) herds. In some of those 15, CWD has been detected in only a handful
of deer, while in others, vast geographic areas and large numbers of animals are affected.

In Colorado and Wyoming, states where CWD has infected wild deer for several
decades, recent studies have documented high prevalence rates (20-40%) and lower
survival of CWD-infected deer when compared to uninfected deer. In Wyoming, high
prevalence rates (~35%) have been identified across extensive geographic areas (>4,000
square miles). Researchers suggest that CWD may be limiting deer numbers in these
populations. Examining CWD in other states helps us anticipate the future impacts of
CWD in Wisconsin. This knowledge will assist us in making the best management
choices for our state.

Successfully managing CWD in Wisconsin will require a sustained effort over many
years, necessitating cooperation and communication among the DNR, hunters,
agricultural agencies, landowners, farmed-cervid producers, and the many citizens of
the state who benefit from a healthy deer herd. Although successful CWD management
is very challenging for everyone involved, the alternative of letting the disease spread
uncontrolled is much worse. Without a joint effort, I believe the long-term future of deer
hunting in Wisconsin could be in jeopardy. As we learn more about CWD, we will strive
to make the best decisions for the current and future benefit of both Wisconsin’s deer and
the people who value them. For information on our current plan for CWD in Wisconsin,
please see our recently adopted Response Plan at dnr:wi.gov; search for 'CWD plan'.

Thank you for your role in helping to manage CWD over the past nine years. Wisconsin
is very fortunate to have citizens with such a great conservation ethic and appreciation for
the natural world. Hunters are the cornerstone of conservation and wildlife management
and your help and assistance is greatly appreciated.

Davin Lopez
CWD Coordinator

Check your deer's CWD test results

Check the CWD result of your deer by searching for
'CWD results' on the DNR's website, dnrwi.gov

Why should people care about CWD?

CWD is an issue for the entire state, not just southern Wisconsin.

» Without appropriate management, CWD will spread across the state.

» Based on current knowledge, including information on disease progression from
western states where CWD has been present for a longer time, CWD poses a
significant threat to the long-term welfare of Wisconsin’s deer herd.

* A healthy deer herd is critical for the preservation of hunting traditions.
Wisconsin has nearly 700,000 deer hunters who have harvested an average of
440,000 deer annually during the past decade.

» Deer hunting contributes more than 7 million days of recreation every year.

* Deer hunting annually generates more than $500 million dollars in retail sales
and over $1 billion in total impact to the state’s economy.

» For a summary of CWD information including common misconceptions please
visit our website at dnr:wi.gov and search for 'CWD misconceptions'.
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Venison and CWD what Hunters Should Know
Information from the Wisconsin Division of Public Health

Chronic Wasting Disease is a fatal disease that affects the nervous system of deer,
elk, and moose. The disease is caused by an abnormal protein called a prion, which
can survive cooking temperatures. Prions concentrate in certain tissues, such as the
brain, spinal cord, lymph nodes, and spleen, and are present in lower concentrations
in other tissues, such as muscle. The U.S. Centers for Disease Control state that there
is currently no scientific evidence proving that CWD can cause disease in humans.
However, in the interest of safety, this organization advises that people not consume
meat from deer, elk, or moose which test positive for CWD.

In keeping with this recommendation, the Wisconsin Division of Public Health
recommends that venison from deer harvested inside the CWD Management
Zone not be consumed or distributed to others until CWD test results on the
source deer are known to be negative.

Venison from multiple deer should be kept separate and labeled before freezing. For
more information, call the WI Department of Health Services at (608) 267-9003 or
see http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/communicable/CWD/index.htm.

Safe Handling of Deer

General Precautions
Lymph nodes and other parts

shown here will be removed

e Do not eat the cyes, braln, during normal field dressing.

. . Removing fat, membranes and
Splnal COrd, Spleen, tOHSllS, Brain cords from meat will remove the
or lymph nodes of any deer. v ae T Evebals restorthelymphnodes

e Do not eat any part of a G Spinal cord
Lymph
deer that appears abnormal. R ) Ju amm -,
e Ifyour deer is sampled for 2 head [ Lo nodes near
X . XXX ':k igestive system
CWD testing, wait for test Tonsie ' < ,
results before eating the ) Spleen
\
meat. ‘
Hunters \
gymph r_lo_des
*  Wear rubber or latex nearjoints
gloves when field dressing
carcasses.

* Bone out the meat from
your animal.
* Remove all internal organs.

¢ Minimize the handling of
the brain, spinal cord, spleen, and lymph nodes.

* Do not use household knives or utensils.

¢ Use equipment dedicated to field dressing only.

¢ Thoroughly clean knives and equipment. Use a 50/50 solution of chlorine
bleach and water to soak all butchering tools for one hour and to wipe down all
countertops and work areas.

* Request that your animal be processed individually and not combined with
meat from other animals.

* Avoid use of saws. Do not cut through the spine or skull except to remove the
head. Use a knife designated only for this purpose.
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State-Owned and Managed Lands

This section refers to rules for all lands and property owned by or under control of the
DNR. This includes lands under easement to or leased by the DNR, but does not include
lands enrolled in Managed Forest Law or Forest Crop Law programs. See the section
on page 39 for rules regarding these properties.

It is illegal to:
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hike or snowshoe on designated cross-country ski trails when the trails are snow

covered.

hunt or possess a firearm or bow in a wildlife refuge or possess a firearm, air gun,

slingshot, or bow in a state park, state fish hatchery, or within 100 yards of a state

campground, picnic area, or within the exterior boundaries of a state recreational trail

(except as posted open to hunting) unless it is unloaded and enclosed within a carrying

case. A bow or crossbow may be unstrung or enclosed within a carrying case.

pursue, drive, or chase animals on lands that are closed to hunting.

use a ground blind during any open deer season or special deer hunt with firearms

unless a minimum of 144 square inches of solid blaze orange or florescent blaze

orange material is visible from all directions.*

Note: Blinds used for waterfowl] hunting are exempt from this rule.

build or use a ground blind or any elevated device unless it does not damage the

tree and is completely removed from the property each day at the close of hunting

hours.*

Note: Blinds used for waterfowl hunting do not need to be removed daily. See

waterfowl regulations for details.

leave a tree stand or ground blind unoccupied during legal hunting hours unless the

owner’s customer ID number or name and address have been attached in a manner

that is visible and legible to a person on the ground or near entrance of ground blind.*

* Except: Ground blinds constructed entirely of dead vegetation found on the
property do not need to be removed at the end of each day, do not need to display
blaze orange, and do not need to have name and address displayed.

damage trees. Cutting shooting lanes and use of screw-in tree-stands or steps are

considered damaging and are illegal.

possess any loaded or uncased firearm or air gun while within the exterior boundary

of state-owned lands posted with Department signs in Dane, Dodge, Fond du Lac,

Jefferson, Juneau, Kenosha, La Crosse, Milwaukee, Outagamie, Ozaukee, Racine,

Sauk, Sheboygan, Walworth, Washington, Waukesha, and Winnebago Counties or

on state forest lands in the Kettle Moraine or Point Beach State Forests, or State

Recreation Areas, except as follows:

1. while engaged in hunting in accordance with the open seasons listed on pages
6-9.

2. while shooting at an established target range (this is the only target shooting
permitted on these state lands).

3. while training or trialing dogs under department license within designated areas.

camp on any state lands except in designated campgrounds unless a special camp

registration permit is obtained from the DNR prior to setting up camp.

allow dogs to run on DNR lands from April 15 through July 31 unless the dog is on a

leash no longer than 8 feet. This rule does not apply to Class 1 field trial grounds, DNR

lands open to dog training, or training dogs to track bear after June 30. Also, there are

exceptions for the training and trialing of dogs on raccoon and rabbits with a training

license. See the Wisconsin Dog Training and Trialing Regulations (PUB-WM-444)



for more information, license requirements, and restrictions.

e operate any vehicle, including but not limited to snowmobiles, bicycles, trail bikes,
and all-terrain vehicles except where their use is authorized by posted notice or
permit. This prohibition does not apply to public roadways and trails held open to
the public for the type of vehicle being operated. Bicycles are permitted in all areas
of the northern state forests and the Turtle-Flambeau and Willow Flowage Scenic
Water Areas, except where posted against such use.

e operate motor vehicles, including ATVs and snowmobiles, except in areas posted
open to such use.

Finding Public Land Open to Hunting
The DNR website provides detailed information about public and public-access
lands in your area. Go to dnr.wi.gov and click on the hunting link. Look for the
‘Where to Hunt’ link under the “Plan Your Hunt’ subheading.

Federal Lands

Chequamegon-Nicolet National Forest information:
Headquarters Offices—Park Falls: 715-762-2461, TTY 715-762-5701 and
Rhinelander: 715-362-1300, TTY 715-362-1383.
Additional information and regulations may be found on the web at
www.fs.fed.us/r9/cnnf].

Notice: Contact the above offices for details about motorized access to these forest lands.

National Wildlife Refuge and Waterfowl Production Area Regulations

Portions of National Wildlife Refuges (NWR) and Waterfowl Production Areas (WPA)
are open to hunting and trapping in accordance with state and federal regulations. Federal
regulations will vary. In order to avoid violating federal regulations, contact the office
of the NWR or WPA you will be hunting to get regulations specific to that property.
Additional information can be found at midwest.fws.gov.

Whittlesey Creek NWR is open for archery hunting. For more information on
rules and season dates, please contact Whittlesey Creek at 715-685-2678 or by email:
whittleseycreek(@fws.gov.

The following is a partial list of general NWR and WPA regulations. Blaze orange on
ground blinds is currently not required, but it is recommended on these lands during
gun deer seasons.

It is illegal to:

e Possess any firearm, bow, or other weapons unless engaged in legal hunting.

e Possess lead shot. Note: only non-toxic shot may be possessed for hunting game
birds and animals, including wild turkey, on WPAs, Horicon NWR, Necedah NWR,
and Upper Mississippi River National Wildlife and Fish Refuges (UMRNWEFR). This
rule does not apply to hunting small game mammals or deer with rifles and shotguns
with a single projectile (slug).

e Leave spent shells on the ground. Spent shells are considered litter and must be
removed. The federal citation for littering is $125.00.

¢ Build or use a ground blind or any elevated device, unless it does not damage the tree
(i.e., no use of screws, nails, etc.) and it is completely removed from the property
each day at the close of hunting hours.

e Construct permanent blinds out of man-made materials. Note: portable blinds
constructed of man-made materials are allowed, but must be removed from the
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property each day at the close of hunting hours.

Possess alcoholic beverages while hunting.

Camp or use overnight, horseback ride, or build campfires on WPAs.

Shine wild animals at any time.

Baiting of any sort on Fish & Wildlife Service managed lands is not allowed.

Horicon NWR—Mayville; WI 920-387-2658

Fox River NWR—(Marquette County) contact the Horicon office at 920-387-2658
Necedah NWR—Necedah; WI 608-565-2551

Trempealeau NWR—Trempealeau, WI; 608-539-2311

Whittlesey Creek NWR—Ashland, WI; 715-685-2678

Upper Mississippi River National Wildlife and Fish Refuge (UMRNWFR)
Winona; MN 507-452-4232

Leopold Wetland Management District (WMD)—Portage, WI; 608-742-7100.
Contact this office for information regarding WPAs in the southeast.

St. Croix WMD—New Richmond, WI; 715-246-7784.
Contact this office for information regarding WPAs in the northwest.

Tribal Lands

Special rules apply on tribal lands in portions or all of Ashland, Bayfield, Forest, Iron,
Menominee, Oneida, Sawyer, and Vilas Counties. For more information, contact the
tribal chairpersons.

Private Lands and Landowner Information

License Requirements: A landowner is required to have a license to hunt deer.

Liability: Under sec. 895.52 of the Wisconsin Statutes, landowners are generally
immune from liability for injuries received by individuals recreating on their lands.
This law provides liability protection to landowners for injury or death of individuals
participating in outdoor recreation such as fishing, hunting, trapping, hiking, camping,
boating, and berry picking activities on their land. This immunity does not apply when
the landowner receives more than $2,000 a year in income from the recreation activity
or when the landowner acted maliciously with an intent to harm the recreator. There
is also an exception for social guests invited specifically for an occasion on residential
or platted property or property within 300 feet of a commercial building or structure.
Courts have consistently interpreted this statute to protect landowners in furtherance of
its purpose, which is to encourage landowners to allow others to recreate on their lands.

Trespassing: Landowners suspecting that individuals are trespassing on their property
should contact their local Sheriff’s Department or other local law enforcement
agency. Conservation Wardens do not have the authority to investigate trespassing
complaints. Any person convicted of trespassing is subject to a penalty of up to $1,397.50.
According to s. 943.13, of the Wisconsin Statutes, it is illegal to:

e enter land of another without the express or implied consent of the owner or occupant
of the land. This includes railroad tracks and their adjacent property.

e enter or remain on land after having been notified by the owner or occupant not to
enter or remain. A person has received notice from the owner or occupant if he or
she has been notified personally, either orally or in writing, or if the land is posted.
Remember: although hunters are required to make a reasonable effort to retrieve
game they have killed or injured, hunters may not trespass to retrieve such game,
even if the game was shot from outside the posted arca. Ask first for permission.
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Farmer Antlerless Deer Carcass Tags: Eligible resident farm owners can receive
one free Antlerless Deer Carcass Tag for each bonus Antlerless Deer Carcass Tag they
purchase beginning at noon on August 20 for units that have carcass tags available.
To qualify, a majority of the land on the farm must be used on a commercial basis and
for an agricultural purpose to provide income during the year that the permit is valid.
In addition, the farm must be located wholly or partially in the DMU for which the
landowner is requesting the free tag. If there are joint owners or vendee names under a
land contract, only one of the owners is eligible for the free Antlerless Deer Carcass Tag.

CWD Landowner Permits

For information about the CWD Landowner Permit Season, please see page 40.

Managed Forest Law and Forest Crop Law

This section refers to rules on private forest lands enrolled in either the Managed Forest
Law or Forest Crop Law programs.

Itis illegal to:

e build or use a ground blind or any elevated device unless it does not damage the
tree and is completely removed from the property each day at the close of hunting
hours.*

e damage trees. Note: Cutting shooting lanes and use of screw-in tree-stands or steps
are considered damaging and are illegal.*

e operate any vehicle, including but not limited to snowmobiles, bicycles, trail bikes,
and all-terrain vehicles except where their use is authorized by posted notice or
permit.*

*  This does not apply to the owners of lands enrolled in the program or those who
have the landowner’s authorization. Doing so without authorization would be
considered a trespassing violation.

Special Hunts

Many of the deadlines for special hunts occur prior to the publication of this pamphlet.
If you are interested in these hunts, please note the deadlines for 2012.

Two-day Youth Gun Deer Hunt — October 8 and 9

e Open only to persons 10—15 years of age (resident or non-resident) who possess a
gun deer license.

e FEarn-A-Buck (EAB) restrictions do not apply statewide during the October 8-9 Youth
Gun Deer Hunt, but youths may earn an EAB sticker for shooting an antlerless deer
during the two-day Youth Gun Deer Hunt in CWD EAB units.

e The bag limit is one buck with a Gun Buck Deer Carcass Tag plus one additional
antlerless deer per Antlerless Deer Carcass Tag valid for the Deer Management Unit
the youth is hunting.

e In CWD units, a youth may use the free CWD Deer Carcass Tag to harvest and tag
bucks or antlerless deer, but must follow EAB rules to use these tags to tag a buck.

e The youth may harvest a deer in any DMU statewide (including those portions west
of the Burlington Northern Santa Fe Railroad that are not posted closed to hunting)
except in state park and non-quota units.

e Allowable types of firearms are those authorized for the November gun deer season.

e Adults may not gun deer hunt during the two-day Youth Gun Deer Hunt, except for
adults who possess a valid disabled hunting permit and are hunting on a property
sponsored for a disabled deer hunt and hunters hunting on an agricultural
shooting permit.
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e Youth hunters must be accompanied* by a parent or guardian (at least 18 years
of age) even if the youth is 14 or 15 and holds a Hunter Education Certificate.
* Accompanied means within visual and voice contact without the aid of any
mechanical or electronic amplifying device other than a hearing aid.

e One adult may not accompany more than two youth hunters and all other hunting
regulations apply including blaze orange clothing requirements for all hunters,
except waterfowl hunters.

e Hunting mentorship rules apply to all youth ages 10-11, and to 12-15 year olds who
have not completed hunter education. See page 12 for more information on the
Hunting Mentorship Program.

CWD Management Zone Landowner Permit

e Landowners owning 5 or more contiguous acres in the CWD-MZ may hunt with a
landowner permit during the landowner season on their property.

e Hunters may hunt on these properties with the purchase of the Chronic Wasting
Disease (CWD) hunter permit and written authorization from the landowner.

e Both landowner and hunter permits can be purchased for $2 at any license sales
location beginning December 1, 2011.

e Owners of multiple separate parcels will only receive one permit per DNR Customer
Identification Number, and the permit will be valid on all of the parcels they own
within the CWD-MZ.

e Permits are valid beginning January 9, 2012 and will expire on March 31, 2012.

Educational Hunts:

¢ Buckhorn State Park and Wildlife Area: Deer hunting is offered to novice hunters
who complete a “Learn to Deer Hunt Workshop.” For applications and information
regarding dates and fees, write or call Buckhorn State Park at W8450 Buckhorn Park
Avenue, Necedah, WI 54646-7338; phone 608-565-2789. Applications for 2012 are
due July 15, 2012.

o Sandhill Outdoor Skills Center: Deer hunting is offered to youth and beginner
adults who complete a ““ Learn to Deer Hunt Workshop.” For dates and fees, write or
call the Center at Box 156, Babcock, W1 54413; phone 715-884-2437. Applications
for 2012 are due May 31, 2012.

Hunting on School Forest Land: A school board may decide to allow hunting for game

in its school forest consistent with the open and closed seasons for game on adjacent land.

Gun Deer Hunt for Hunters with Disabilities: Oct. 1-Oct. 9, 2011. Interested disabled
hunters who wish to participate in 2011 should contact the nearest DNR Service Center
or disabled deer hunt sponsor before September Ist. The disabled deer hunt is available
to disabled hunters who hold a Class A or C disabled permit, or to holders of a Class B
permit that is issued for longer than one year and which authorizes hunting or shooting
from a stationary vehicle. People who wish to sponsor a deer hunt in 2012 must submit
an application to their local wildlife manager by June 1, 2012. A list of sponsors for the
2011 gun deer hunt for hunters with disabilities can be found at dnr.wi.gov.

Badger Army Ammunition Plant: For hunting information send a self-addressed,
stamped envelope to: Hunting Program, Badger Army Ammunition Plant, 2 Badger
Road, Baraboo, WI 53910-5000.

Volk Field and Hardwood Range: For hunting information send a self-addressed,
stamped business envelope to: Attn: Natural Resources Management, Volk Field ANGB,
100 Independence Drive, Camp Douglas, WI 546218-5001. Hunting regulations are
revised annually.
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Fort McCoy Military Reservation: Hunting information can be found under Recreation
Opportunities at www.mccoy.army.mil or by calling the Permit Sales Office at 608-
388-3337.

Apostle Islands (Deer Management Unit 79): Permits are required to participate in
the Oct. 1-31 muzzleloader season and the Sept. 17-30 and Nov. 1-Jan. 8,2012 archery
season. Contact the Apostle Islands National Lakeshore for information on specific
island openings and closings, accessibility, and required permits and tagging options.
Madeline and Long Islands are open to regular statewide seasons.

Contact information:
Email: APIS resource_issues@nps.gov
Mail: Superintendent, Apostle Islands National Lakeshore,
415 Washington Avenue, Bayfield, WI 54814
Phone: 715-779-3397

Wisconsin Deer Donation 2011

Since the deer donation program began in 2000, hunters have donated nearly 77,000
deer which were processed into over 3.4 million pounds of ground venison. Hunters,
you can continue to help feed needy people throughout Wisconsin this fall by taking
four simple steps:

1. Field dress the deer and register it at a Wisconsin DNR registration station prior to
donating the deer.

2. Call first! Contact one of the participating processors before dropping the deer off
to verify the processor has space to accept your deer.

3. Drop deer off at a participating processor by February 1, 2012. Donate the entire deer
to receive the processing for free (head and or/antlers may be removed for mounting).

4. When dropping your deer off at a processor, please sign the simple log sheet indicating
your desire to donate the deer.

The 2011 deer donation program will begin accepting deer after August 1. Hunters may

make voluntary donations to help pay for the costs of deer processing when they buy

their hunting license. Since 2002, over 46,000 hunters have donated over $147,000 to

help pay for venison processing for food pantries. Last year hunters donated 3,606 deer.

Please visit our website at dnrwi.gov and search for 'deer donation' for updates on
participating processors.

Thank you for your interest and good luck hunting!

Ask First and Say Thanks!

Wisconsin landowners appreciate those people who ask permission to hunt and
say thanks afterward. This builds important landowner-hunter trust. Remember,
entering private lands without permission is illegal and creates a negative image
for all hunters.

41



e 09, jHEad Siesoe ‘ue onuo. Ied e
ss900¢e yIed yim Fey sseared \m .>oQ V/N V/N yred yym Sey sseored \w A % ! “o J ALL onl w .M—o Hoam
pasnun ‘prjea 1od 109p auQ 61 AN pasnun ‘prjeA 1od 109p auQ 61 AN P°H PUV-19140N

uwiad LT "AON [onuo) yred
ss000e yred ypm Sey sseored | © V/N V/N V/N V/N V9
pasnun ‘prpea 1ad 190p oUQ 61 AON PIoH a1els 1D YSIH

Jpiad 99, Jpmiad 553008 ‘ue 0nuo, Ted 9)e)S [oed
$s900® Ied yym Fey sseoreo In .>m V/N V/N yaed yum Sey sseoreo _ 8 A % I H“o 0 D69 Hed Mhmmwﬁmm
pasnun ‘prjea 1od 109p suQ o1 “ON pasnun ‘prjea 1od 109p suQ 61 AN PSH 1SUHIPH

Juad 5, muitad ssedoe yred aﬂ% momumv Juad ssoooe - o4 ol
ss9o0e y1ed ym ey sseoreo L ] a s Se) sseored pasnun u S yaed yum ey sseoreo 8 ) [ Iemn3ay Vs *Hed 1S

¢ —8C AON ¢ LT 'AON 8 —61 AON SpUnoIH [rounoy

pasnun ‘prea 10d 109p duQ pireA 10d 109p 2uQ 61 40N pasnun ‘pryea 10d 109p 2uQ
‘yurad ssaooe yred (uoseas ‘yurad ssoooe yred

ynm Sel sseore) 109q | unSioys) ynm e, sseore)) 109 § ‘uef [onu0) Jied dje1S

VIN VIN SSOIA[JUY pasnun ‘preA | /g "AON SSO[IA[JUY pasnun ‘prieA | —g "AON pPIoH vee puejs] Jounig
1od 109p ssopIopue AUQ | —g[ 'AON | J1od 199p ssa[IopIUE SUQ

IN)INIS
Hwry 3sdAley seq Jwry 3sdAley seq Jury )soAdey saeq uoseag jupn J1ed dje)S

JdAAVOTATZZNIN NAD AdHTHOUV

y1ed 21e)s & Ul SI[OIYDA [[e J0J pasrnbai st ssed 1o Joxons yied eIS V

(9€Tr-S6-LL8-1) ASNADIT-IM-LL8-1 18 duoyd £q 10 403 1M :4up Je SUIJUO “TOPUIA ISUIOI| AUk je paseyoind 9q ues sy ‘7z Isnsny uo Suruurdaq
pIos aq (s syuad Sururewal Auy ‘uoou je (g isn3ny ‘Aepinjeg uo JuriIels siseq PIAIOS ISIY ‘QUIOD JSIY B UO J[QB[IBAE dIB SHULIDJ SS90V NIed
'suoseds Jurmoroy oy} Surmnp Surzuny o3 Jorid WIS SS90V JIed €§ € UIeiqo sIy Jojuny yoed jey) annbai syred 9e1S Surmol[oy Y], ;S99 pajIury
SHWIT ISIAIBH pUB SUOSBIS SUpuUN Id( YIed Ael§

[\]
<



yurad ssaooe yred

LT "AON [onuo) Syied
V/N V/N s Se) sseored pasnun | V/N V/N VEL
pryea 1od 135p SUQ) 61 "AON ploH 9e1S SursnjeAp
Jruirad ssedoe
Juad ssoode yjred yym Jey . : . Ared
L 92 yaed yum Sey sseored 199p g ‘uef [onuo)
SSBOIEO IOJP SSO[I[JUE pasnun . V/N V/N . . VL 9)e1S UTBIUNOIA
‘pryea 1ad 100p ssopopue ougy | ©F AON SSOIopuE pasnun pieA | =61 “AON PoH 1ROPIIM
Pl 19d 199p ssopIopUE QUQ :
Jruad 50 muad ssodoe um omuo 124 olE
$so00e y1ed yym ey sseoreo \m ‘>M_ V/N V/IN yred yym Sey sseored _ 8 N % ! wo D daLs e w:om ! wm
pasnun ‘prjea 10d 109p 2uQ 61 AN pasnun ‘prjea 1od 109p 2uQ 61 20N PRH IO ard
Jpmed "AO onuo.
ssoooe syaed yym ey sseoreo Lt N MA V/N V/N V/N V/N I H“o D V19 | SHed 9ie)s jorod
pasnun ‘prjea 1ad 109p auQ 61 MON PPH
uwiad LT "AON [onuo) Yred
sso00e yred ypm Sey sseored |~ V/N V/N V/N V/N 008
pasnun ‘pryea 1od 109p ouQ 61 0N PRH SIS TInsuItad
e L "9 St [onu0) EITATS onﬂwﬁm\m
$SQ008 xwmm s Se) sseored e V/N V/N G4 98ed aag i o e aLL i .ﬁ.v -
pasnun ‘prjea 1ad 199p auQ :
e M0
Jmuzad ssedoe yred (uoseas
ym SeJ sseore) 109 | unSjoys) JIed 91e1S
VIN VN SSO[IO[)UY pasnun ‘prjea | /g AON VN VN T[Sy des BJOSSIA\ 9]
1od 100p sso[IOpUR QUQ | —G] 'AON
EX11VR) (RIS
JIwI ISaATeH sageq JIwI 3SaATe sageq JIwI 3saATe sajeq S jun Naed 9els

JAAVOTATZZOAN

NQD

AYIHOUV

43



(11-8 10qu299(]) Juny AJUO-SSO[IDIUE JOqUIAIA( Y} PUB (-8 10q010() PUSYIIM JUNY 0P YINOA SpImaje)s oyl SuLnp uodo oq [[Im BAIE SIY] 4

‘3e) sseoreo pasnun | (uosedg unFjoys) | ey sseoreo pasnun Bl — T A0 [onuo) S —
VN VIN ‘prea 19d 109p oUQ | L7 AON —6] AON | ‘PIfeA 1od 199p suQ 8 "Ue[—61 AN pIoH PHEd 9IS OtuuBOIIULY
*3e) sseored pasnun AON 61 “AO ‘) sseoreo pasnun UBF -1 Ao [onuo) R —
V/N VIN ‘piyea 1od 100p oUQ LT AN =61 "AON ‘piyea 1od 109p QUQ) 8 ‘Ue[ —6 'AON PIOH SIed AelS 9relsIaiu]
-3e) sseoreo pesnun 2o 2o ‘3e) sseoreo pesnun e o [onuo) yreq
VIN VIN ‘priea 10d 109p SUQ LTAON 61 "ON ‘priea 1od 109p SUQ 8 UL 61 "MON pIoH BILAIND R g R iidnihi 8
*3e) SseoIRd pasnun AON ¢ 1 “AD o Nred 91e)S
VN VN ‘pryea Jod 100p ouQ LTAON 6T AON VIN VIN ooy uosdwoy ], JouIoA0D)
*3e) sseoreo pasnun . . ‘3e) sseoreo pesnun . . [onuo) [re1], 9jels epredg
VIN VIN ‘pirea 1od 100p JuQ LTAON 61 "AON ‘prrea 1od 109p duQ 8 UE[ 61 ON pIoH —Ko1[q 2y} JO IopurewIay
VIN VIN ‘3e) sseored pasnun 17 AON—6] AON ‘) sseoIeo pasnun P [onuo) B— wMWhﬁwMM M.HMM
PpieA 10d 109p QU pIeA 1od 199p JuQ pIoH - %8.5 31 J0 UORIOg
: . : sayep [euonippe | . . o
Se) sseored pasnun L 99 Je) sseoreo pasnun 01 MOIad . 588 Se) sseored pasnun | § ‘UBf —G] ‘AON 29 [onuo) pue ‘D AMH JO YII0U ‘DAY
‘priea 1od 109p UQ | —8Z AON | ‘Prfea 1od 109p suQ m>o _\n * 20 ‘priea 1od 109p uQ | L] ‘AON —L] 3deg pIoH w61 JO 1589 JIed 2els
Le N 61 N uioyong jo uoniod
‘3] sseoIeO pasnun | § “UB[—G] AON % [onuo)
V/N VIN VIN V/N ‘prea 10d 100p 9UQ | L1 AON-LT 1doS PO JIed 91elS uroyong
Se) sseored pasnun L 99 *3e) sseored pasnun . . ‘) sseoreo pasnun | § ‘UB[ —G[ ‘AON %
‘priea 1od 109p UQ | —8Z AON | ‘prfea 19d 109p SUQ LTAON 61 "AON ‘priea 1od 109p UQ | L] AON —SI WO Te[5oy Hed s Ao St
EX1IVR) (R EIN
'y 3sosdey sareq jury jsoAley s9je(q 'y 3sosdey s9jeq uoseag yupn Ied 9je)§
JHAAVOTATZZAN NOD AHIHOUV

jred 03e1S B UL SO[OIYoA [[& 10J paxnbai st ssed 10 10)01S Jied 91e1S

V 'S)S010] pue ‘s[ren ‘syied o1e)s SUIMO[[0] ) Ul SUOSEIS JUIMO[[0] Y3 SuLmnp juny o} paxrnbal JLON SI HWIRJ SS90V JIed V SS9V PIJILISAIU()
<



Be) sseoreo pasnun | (uosea§ undjoys) | "Se) sseareo pasnun UBr T O [onuo) BT S1E1S IOARS AOITT
VIN VIN ‘pijea 1ad 109p ouQ | L7 ‘AON-6] ‘AON | ‘pIfea 1od 199p suQ 8 UE[-61 AN pIoH HEd SIS 19AR] MOTIEM
‘3e) sseored pasnun AON ¢ 1 “AD [onuo) yed
VIN VIN ‘piea 12d 109p 2uQ LTAON 6T “ON VIN VIN pIoH 9Je)S saun(y YSYAYM
*3e) sseored pasnun AON ¢ 1 “AD *3e) sseareo pasnun Bl — T O engs LB1T S1EI BIA00ST
V/N V/N ‘pifea 1od 105p oUQ LT AON =61 "AON piyeA 10d 105p UQ) 8 'uef — 6] "AON {UEE): | |2 SHES Bk,
*3e) sseareo pasnun L 93d ‘3e) sseored pasnun AON ¢ 1 “AD [onuo) B S1EIQ ayE] 1USIEL
‘priea 10d 109p ouQ | —87 AON | ‘pIeA Jod 109p 2uQ LTAON 6T “ON VIN VIN pIoH HEd 91718 ST IIIEDS
*8e) sseoreo pasnun L "9 *3e) sseoreo pasnun . . -8e) SSeoreo pasnun | g ‘Ue[ —6] AON % [onuo)
‘prrea 10d 19p ouQ | —87 AON | ‘PIeA Jod 199p QuQ LT AON 6T “ON ‘prrea 19d 19p aUQ | LT ‘AON —ST 190 pIoH *Hed 2IEIS PRSI 190
‘3e) sseared pasnun AON ¢ 1 “AD [onuo) BT B1E1S TUIOIEMELO
V/N V/N pryea 10d 108p SUQ LT AON —61 "AON V/N V/N PIOH 3Ied 2)elS 1Wojemeloq
‘8e) sseoreo pasnun L "9 ‘3e) sseored pasnun . . ‘8e) sseoreo pasnun . [onuo)
‘prrea 13d 19p aUQ | —87 AON | ‘PIeA Jod 199p SUQ LT AON6T “ON ‘prrea 13d 199p suQ g usL 61 “ON pIoH Hed 27 BodmaN
Se) sseoIeo pasnun AON ¢ 1 “AD [onuo) B S1E1Q Komar UOSIo
V/N V/N pryea 1od 105p oUQ LT AON —61 "AON V/N V/N PIOH }ed 9181 (1 UOS[oN
‘3] SseOIRO pasnun £ 99 ‘8®) sseoIed pasnun . . ‘3] SSOIRO pasnun | § “UB[ —G] ‘AON % [onuo)
‘priea 10d 109p ouQ) | —87 AON | ‘Prrea 10d 109p suQ LTAON =61 “AON ‘priea 10d 109p ouQ) | L] ‘AON —ST 100 pPI_H Hed oIS JNid [N
"UOSeas SIy)

"uoseas 10j parnbai 15910,
sIy) 10J paxmbar ST TR *3e) sseareo pasnun 8 "UB[ —6[ 'AON [onuo) 9)B)S QUIBIOIA
SI JIUWIDJ $SA0IY $S900Y VIN VIN ‘prrea 1d 109p ouQ | % L1 ‘AON—L]1doS pIoH ail omay Jo un

Jied “¢f 9Fed 999 Jied “¢p e MO
o3ed 298
INNIS
Iy jseadey sajeq jury jsosley s9je(q Hury 3sosdey saeq uoseag yupn HIed 9jel§
HIAVOTATZZAN NOD AHTHOUV

45



‘Se) SSBOIRD 109P (JA)) 10 SSIIO[IUE Pasnun [euonIppe

oo 1od 190p SSI[ID[IUL SUO ‘OS[Y "PAIA)ISISAT AIe [J0q [1HUN 103 yong pagTe) ay soruedwosor Jojuny dwes dy) Aq pagSe) J09p SSO[Io[IUE PAIS)SISAIUN UR YO OBq ) 0} PAXYJE SI IONS
uonezLoyINY yong pifeA & papiaoid Sey sseores 100p A 10 SSo[Io[juE pasnun yoed Jod 109p Jonq duo ‘os[y (gyH noyim) Se], sseore)) 109(] dong ung pasnun Jod 100p YN AUO :JON 44
*Se) sSBOILD 109p (JM D) 1O SSO[IO[JUE pasnun [euonIppe yoes Jod

109D SSAI9[JUE QUO ‘0S[Y "PAISIZal Ik Yjoq [run I9op yonq pasSe) oy soruedwoosse sopuny owes o) Aq pagSe) 10op SSOIO[IUE PaIdSISoIuN UL YO }oeq O} 0} POXIJE SI IONONS UONRZLIOYINY
yong prjeA e papiaoid Sey sseores 109p D) J0 SS[IA[IUE pasnun yoed 1ad 109p Jong ouo ‘0S| (g noyim) Sef, sseore)) 109( yong A1yory pasnun 1od 109p }onq AUo 0N 4

«A1dde suonen3ax . .
- 8 ‘ue(—J "9°d
A[uQ sSopIopUY 11-8 020 €V pajaun
A[uQ ssa[IopuUy 11-8 99
. SyIed e)S [[IH 19MO] pue
Adde £ 93
*k «+A1dde suonem3ar . «A1dde suonengax . . {(D0L) 28po 10uI2A0D)
Q7 —6] "AO 0q—LT 10
suonenzal gV PUWIUA | —8T AN | gy payumun LE6TAON avaponunun | £ TR0 “(@o.) punop anjg
(uoou Z7 e (uoou 1 e pud
A[uQ ssopIopuUy pus sinoy Sununy) A[uQ ssopIopuUy sinoy| Sununy))
91=€1 PO 91-€1 PO
J - e o0 «A1dde suonen3ox g ‘uer
U0 Ssarrepuy 1178 %°d gv4d panuwrun -1 "99d ‘SR 9)e)S 9NE S [lAed
pue (g .) 93eT QUOISMO[[oX
xxA1dde L ?d **Mﬂmmwwwmmmmwﬁ LT61 'AON AuQ ssapiopuy [1-8 92d mcookwwﬂwwv“w”ﬂ
suone[ngar gy paywrun —8C 'AON e “(10L) 3pug [eanyeN
(uoou g 3 «A1dde suonen3ox AUT IOHIN
AJuQ ssopopuy pua sinoy Sununy) : L "99(—61 "AON ‘pUNOIA Juow g
. dVvd panwiupn
91—€1 PO
JIUIY ISIATRH sajeq JIWI ISIATRH sayeq JIWI ISIATRH saeq yied
JHIAVOTATZZAN NOD AYIHOYUV
ANOZ INHIWNHOVNVIN AMD FHL NIHLIM SMAVd ALVLS

*paambal [[1S d.1e SIIIDS UOISSTWIPE I[IYIA
QU0Z D OU} UIIIM IOTAISS ISJUNOD JOJJO JBY) SA0UJO YN [[& PUB 90LJO Nied 91€)S oy Je ojqefieae are sdew pue syuwidd 930N g Sununy
109(7 YIed 1eiS e Surureiqo Isy ynoyym yred jeyy ur uosess Jununy 100p uodo oY) SuLIp Mo[oq PIISI] SHIed deIS 9y Ul 19dp juny Aewr uosiod oN

Supung 19 Yied AeIS U0Z AMD o
©



Your Investment in Wisconsin’s Wildlife 2009-2010

Tracking the Fish & Wildlife (F&W) Account
The $100 million Fish & Wildlife Account comes from the following sources:

F & W Account:

Sources of Revenue Percent (%) . "

Fishing and hunting licenses and stamps 67.7 $100 million S

Sport Fish Restoration federal aid 11.1 (21.1%) .'

Misc. grants, donations, and other sources 9.9 : i

Pittman Robertson federal wildlife aid 8.7 W 7
Wildlife damage surcharge 2.6

$474 million total

What did your money accomplish in 2009-2010? DNR costs FY 10

1. Managed and monitored wildlife populations: Working with stakeholders, wildlife
staff set harvest quotas, hunting rules, and regulations for several game species. We
compiled bird and mammal harvest and age data, waterfowl band returns, and license
surveys to assist in season framework and harvest quota development. We piloted
the first-ever national surveys for difficult-to-monitor birds including owls, nightjars,
marsh birds, and red-shouldered hawks. Research on sharp-tailed grouse populations
was begun. Deer population goals in 43 units were raised to help reach a statewide
overwinter goal of 800,000 deer. Prairie chickens from Minnesota were translocated to
Wisconsin to help improve population genetics. The Wisconsin Whitetails Initiative,
Wisconsin's largest investment in deer research, was launched. We helped to develop
the Mississippi Flyway Plan for managing eastern sandhill cranes. The number of
bear permits available increased to 8,910 following a bear population study.

2. Enhanced wildlife populations through habitat management: We worked to
maximize the Wild Turkey, Pheasant, and Waterfowl Stamp revenue for critical
habitat work. We partnered with other organizations to fund five Farm Bill biologists
to help private landowners benefit wildlife. Federal NAWCA grants for wetland
habitat conservation were also secured.

3. Customer Service: Operated a 15-hour-per-day customer call center seven days a
week that served over 380,000 customers. Provided multilingual communications
with customer service representatives speaking Hmong and Spanish. Maintained an
easy-to-use automated licensing system and a digital message service.

4. Law Enforcement: Processed over 6,000 hunting and fishing violations. We taught
more than 29,000 students in Hunter Education courses and sponsored 108 Learn
to Hunt events with over 1,345 participants. Efforts to increase hunting and fishing
community diversity through multicultural outreach were pursued.

5. Outreach and education: We developed an action plan to reduce lead impacts on
Wisconsin's wildlife. Participation in the National Archery in the Schools Program
has continued to climb, and more than 6,000 citizens participated in 98 hearings on
wildlife conservation regulations. The Trapper Education program, a joint effort with
the Wisconsin Trappers Association, taught 1,100 new trappers.

6. Improved access to wildlife on public and private lands: Over 18,210 acres of
land were purchased, of which 90% are open to hunting and fishing. Over 600,000
acres of land on 178 state wildlife areas were managed by the DNR.

7. Stocked wildlife for recreation: 51,000 pheasants were released by the DNR on 71
properties for public hunting.

8. Conducted Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) management: Provided free CWD
testing for 7,418 hunter-killed deer.
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Overview of Regulations in Spanish and Hmong

Bien venido al estado de Wisconsin. Wisconsin esta orgulloso de su historia en la proteccion,
conservacion y gozo de sus recursos naturales. Nos gustaria que todos tuvieran una experiencia
segura y agradable al aire libre. Parte de ser un buen ciudadano al aire libre es saber y seguir las
leyes y las regulaciones que gobiernan el uso de nuestros recursos naturales. En Wisconsin las
regulaciones de caza, pescas, y otras regulaciones pueden parecer complicadas al principio. Estas
regulaciones fueron disefiadas para alcanzar muchos propositos, incluyendo mejorar la seguridad,
proteger las especies contra sobre-cosecha, y buscar una distribucion justa de recursos entre todos.
Al tomar un poco de extra tiempo para aprender estas regulaciones, nosotros esperamos que usted
tenga una experiencia al aire libre més agradable y productiva. Aqui es lo que usted necesita saber:

Muchas actividades al aire libre son reguladas en Wisconsin:

o (Caza, pesca, captura, consumo o posesion de una criatura viva.
o Uso de barco, ATV, snowmobile, y arma de fuego.

Las regulaciones pueden requerir los siguientes de usted:

o Una licencia valida para la actividad y minima edad es requerida.

¢ limites en el numero de pescados o animales capturados en un periodo. Esto se llama bolsa
limite.

o Limites en el periodo, también llamado “temporada,” durante la cual usted puede cazar o
pescar.

o Limites en las especies que usted puede cazar o pescar. Muchas especies son protegidas y no
pueden ser tomadas.

o Limites en los métodos y las clases de equipo que usted puede utilizar para cazar o para pescar.

o Limites en la localizacion de donde usted puede cazar o pescar. Algunas tierras publicas estan
abiertas para la caza y la pesca. La mayoria de la tierra, sin embargo, son tierras privadas, y
usted necesita la aprobacion del duefio para estar en estas propiedades. Si usted esta en tierras
privadas sin la aprobacion del duefio, usted puede ser cargado con una violacion por traspaso.

Las regulaciones se publican cada aflo, y algunas regulaciones cambian del afio al afio. Para

informacion especifica sobre regulaciones, [el personal de habla hispana] [Hmong]-del servicio

al cliente estd disponible para asistirle al 1-888-WDNR INFO (1-888-936-7463), o usted puede

visitar los centros locales de servicio del DNR o visite nuestro sitio en la Net www.dnr.wi.gov

Se espera que haya cortesia entre los compaiieros ciudadanos que disfrutan estar al aire libre.
Buena etiqueta al aire libre incluye:

Saludos amistosos.

Respetando los limites de propiedades y recibiendo permiso para estar en estas propiedades.

No ensucie tierras publicas o privadas.

No caze ni pesque muy cerca de otros. Diferente gente tiene diferentes ideas sobre la cantidad
de espacio que se necesita entre ellos. Utilice comunicacion respetuosa para llegar a un acuerdo
sobre cudnto espacio es apropiado.

o Comparta los recursos con la gente. Las tierras publicas estan disponibles para todos.

La ley del hostigamiento al cazador protege a cazadores y a pescadores contra el maltrato de otros.
Si usted ha sido maltratado o acosado mientras que usted ha estado cazando o pescando, usted puede
llamar 1-800-TIP-WDNR para reportar un incidente o para pedir ayuda. Finalmente, le animamos
a que se haga un ciudadano activo en la continuacion de proteger nuestros recursos naturales.
Los clubes de deportes locales son la mejor manera de involucrarse. Entre en contacto con su
centro de servicio local del DNR para los lugares y los nombres de clubes y de acontecimientos.
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Lub xeev Wisconsin zoo siab tos txais sawvdaws. Wisconsin muaj ntau txoj cai txog
kev plob hav zoov, kev nuv ntses, thiab kev txuag peb lub xeev no. Wisconsin xav kom
sawvdaws to taub cov cai ua ntej sawvdaws mus plob hav zoov thiab nuv ntses thiaj li
tsis muaj teeb meem.

Hauv Wisconsin no, cov cai hais txog kev plob hav zoov thiab kev nuv ntses ntsiv ntau
thiab nyuaj heev. Tiamsis cov cai no yog tsim los mus pab kom tsis txhob muaj teeb
meem ntawd kev plob hav zoov, pab txuag txhua yam tsiaj, thiab txuag peb lub xeev.
Yog sawdaws siv sijhawm los kawm cov cai no, sawdaws yuav to taub thiab yuav tsis
muaj teeb meem dabsi.

Cov cai muaj raws li:

e Kev plob, kev nuv ntses, kev txhom, kev khaws los yog cia tsiaj muaj sia.
e Kev caij nkoj, caij ATV, snowmobile, thiab kev siv phom.

Cai muaj ntxiv raws li:

e Koj yuav tsum muaj license koj thiab li tau mus plob thiab nuv ntses, thiab koj yuav
tsum muaj hnub nyoog raws txoj cai.

e Muaj txoj cai kav tsiaj raws hnub rau kev nuv ntses thiab tua tsiaj, xws 1i ib hnub
koj yuav tau pes tsawg tus ntses thiab tsiaj.

e Mauj caij los yog season rau kev nuv ntses thiab kev plob.

e Muaj cai txwv txiav ib txhia tsiaj tua tsis tau. Cov fsiaj koj tua thiab yuav tsis tau no
vog tsiaj protected, caiv tsis pub tua.

e Mauj cai ghia txog phom thiab tag nrho khoom siv los mus tua tsiaj thiab nuv ntses.
Yam twg siv tau thiab tsis tau.

e Mauj cai ghia txog chaw plob. Wisconsin muaj public land los yog chaw sawvdaws
mus plob tau thiab nuv ntses. Tabsis, cov av ntau muaj tswv lwm, private property.
Ceev faj sawvdaws hla tsis tau mus rau cov av muaj tswv, yog leejtwg tsis hmloog
yuav raug plua, trespassing. Yog koj xav hla mus rau cov av muaj tswv, ua ntej koj
yuav hla ntawd koj yuav tau thov ntawv hla ntawd tus tswv ntawd.

Peb muaj cov phau ntawv cai no txhua xyoo rau sawvdaws. Tsis tas li ntawd ib txhia

cai hloov xyoo rau xyoo. Peb muaj hmoob txhais lus nyob hauv peb lub loom kam.

Thov hu rau 1-888-WDNR INFO thiab saib hauv dnr.wi.gov. Hu rau hauv peb cov DNR

Service Center los tau thiab.

Sawvdaws yuav tau paub ceev faj thiab ua raws li txoj cai. Thiab tau ua zoo rau txhua

tus raws li no:

Sib hu li phooj ywg.

Paub cai thiab tsis txhob hla mus rau cov av muaj tswv yog koj tsis lus tso cai.

Tsis txhob pov khib nyiab ghov twg thiab pov rau cov av muaj tswv.

Tsis txhob tua phom thaib nuv ntses ze ze lwm tus. Sawvdaws yuav tau paub cai

thiab sib tham kom to taub thiaj li tsis muaj teeb meem.

o Nkag siab thiab sawvdaws muaj cai ib yam nyob rau hauv cov public lands los yog
cov av DNR tso cai.

Peb muaj ib txog cai hu tias Hunter Harrassment law, txog cai no pab tag nrho cov mus

plob thiab nuv ntses. Lub sijhawm koj mus plob thiab nuv ntses yog muaj neeg tsim

teeb meem thiab ua phem rau koj, thov hu rau 1-800-TIP WDNR. Thaum kawg no, thov

caw sawvdaws pab txuag peb lub xeev Wisconsin thiab txhua yam tsiaj. Muaj sporting

clubs los yog tej pab neeg ghia txog kev txhuag peb lub lav no. Yog leejtwg xav paub

ntxiv thov hu tau rau peb cov DNR Service Center.
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Northern Area Deer Hunting Hours 2011-2012: Zone A

HOURS SHOWN ARE 30 MINUTES BEFORE SUNRISE AND 20 MINUTES AFTER SUNSET.

Sept. 2011 Oct. 2011 Nov. 2011 Dec. 2011 Jan. 2012 Feb. 2012 Mar. 2012
Date | AM. [ PM. | AM. | PM. | AM. | PM. | AM. [ PM. [ AM. | PM. | AM. | PM. | AM. | PM. | Date
1 541 | 748 | 618 | 6:51 | 7:00 | 5:57 | 6:40 | 428 | 7:01 | 436 | 6:42 | 5:16 | 5:58 | 5:58 1
2 | 542 | 747 | 619 | 6:49 | T:01 | 5:56 | 6:41 | 427 | 701 | 437 | 6:41 | 5:07 | 556 | 559 | 2
3 SA3 | TA4S | 6:21 | 6:47 | T:02 | 5:54 | 6:42 | 427 | T:01 | 4:38 | 6:40 | 5:19 | 5:54 | 6:00 3
4 | 545 | T43 | 622 | 6:45 | T:04 | 5:53 | 6:44 | 427 | 701 | 439 | 6:38 | 5:20 | 5:52 | 6:02 | 4
5 5:46 | T4l | 623 | 6:43 | T:05 | 5:52 | 6:45 | 427 | 7:01 | 440 | 6:37 | 5:22 | 5:50 | 6:03 5
6 | 547 | 739 | 624 | 6:41 | 6:07 | 450 | 6:46 | 426 | 7:01 | 441 | 6:36 | 523 | 5:49 | 6:05 | 6
7 S48 | 737 | 626 | 6:39 | 6:08 | 4:49 | 6:47 | 426 | 7:00 | 442 | 6:35 | 5:24 | 5:47 | 6:06 7
8 | 5:50 | 735 | 6:27 | 6:38 | 6:10 | 4:48 | 6:48 | 426 | 7:00 | 444 | 6:33 | 526 | 545 | 6:07 | 8
9 | 551 | 733 | 6:28 | 6:36 | 6:11 | 4:46 | 6:49 | 426 | T:00 | 445 | 6:32 | 5:27 | 543 | 6:09 | 9
10 | 5:52 | 7:31 | 6:30 | 6:34 | 6:12 | 445 | 6:50 | 4:26 | 7:00 | 4:46 | 6:30 | 5:29 | 5:41 | 6:10 | 10
1| 553 | 729 | 6:31 | 6:32 | 6:14 | 444 | 6:51 | 426 | 6:59 | 447 [ 6:29 | 5:30 | 6:39 | 7:11 | 11
12 | 5:54 [ 7:28 | 6:32 | 6:30 | 6:15 | 443 | 6:51 | 426 | 6:59 | 448 | 6:27 | 5:32 [ 6:37 [ 7:13 | 12
13 | 5:56 | 7:26 | 6:34 | 6:28 | 6:17 | 4:42 | 6:52 | 4:26 | 6:58 | 4:49 | 6:26 | 5:33 | 6:36 | 7:14 | 13
14 | 557 | 724 | 6:35 | 627 | 6:18 | 441 | 6:53 | 4:26 | 6:58 | 451 | 6:24 | 5:35 | 6:34 | T:15 | 14
15 | 5:58 | 7:22 | 6:36 | 6:25 | 6:19 | 4:40 | 6:54 | 4:26 | 6:57 | 452 | 623 | 5:36 | 6:32 | 7:17 | 15
16 | 5:59 | 7:20 | 6:38 | 6:23 | 6:21 | 439 | 6:55 | 427 | 6:57 | 453 | 621 | 5:38 | 6:30 | 7:18 | 16
17 | 601 | 7:18 | 6:39 | 6:21 | 6:22 | 438 | 6:55 | 4:27 | 6:56 | 4:55 | 6:20 | 5:39 | 6:28 | 7:19 | 17
18 | 6:02 | 7:16 | 6:40 | 6:20 | 6:23 | 437 | 6:56 | 427 | 6:55 | 4:56 | 6:18 | 5:41 | 6:26 | 7:21 | 18
19 | 603 | 7:14 | 6:42 | 6:18 | 6:25 | 436 | 6:57 | 428 | 6:55 | 457 | 6:17 | 5:42 | 6:24 | 7:22 | 19
20 | 6:04 | 712 | 6:43 | 6:16 | 6:26 | 435 | 6:57 | 428 | 6:54 | 459 | 6:15 | 543 | 622 | 723 | 20
21 | 6:06 | 7:10 | 6:44 | 6:14 | 6:28 | 434 | 6:58 | 429 | 6:53 | 5:00 | 6:13 | 5:45 | 620 | 725 | 21
22 | 6:07 | 7:08 | 6:46 | 6:13 | 6:29 | 433 | 6:58 | 429 | 6:52 | 5:01 | 6:12 | 5:46 | 6:18 | 726 | 22
23 | 6:08 | 7:06 | 6:47 | 611 | 6:30 | 432 | 6:59 | 430 | 651 | 5:03 | 6:10 | 5:48 | 6:17 | 727 | 23
24 | 6:09 [ 7:04 | 6:48 | 6:10 | 6:31 | 432 | 6:59 | 4:30 | 6:51 | 5:04 | 6:08 | 5:49 | 6:15 | 729 | 24
25 | Gl | 7:02 | 6:50 | 6:08 | 6:33 | 431 [ 6:59 | 4:31 | 6:50 | 5:06 | 6:07 | 5:51 | 6:13 | 7:30 | 25
20 | 6:12 | 7:00 | 6:51 | 6:06 | 6:34 | 4:30 | 7:00 | 4:32 | 6:49 | 5:07 | 6:05 | 552 | 611 | 7:31 | 26
27 | 6:13 | 6:58 | 6:53 | 6:05 | 6:35 | 4:30 | 7:00 | 4:32 | 6:48 | 5:08 | 6:03 | 5:53 | 6:09 | 7:33 | 27
28 | 6:14 | 657 | 6:54 | 6:03 | 6:37 | 429 | 7:00 | 4:33 | 6:47 | 5:10 | 6:01 | 5:55 | 6:07 | 7:34 | 28
29 | 6:16 | 6:55 | 6:55 | 6:02 | 6:38 | 429 | 7:01 | 434 | 6:46 | S5:11 | 6:00 | 5:56 | 6:05 | 7:35 | 29
30 | 617 | 6:53 | 6:57 | 6:00 [ 6:39 [ 428 [ 7:01 | 435 | 6:44 | 5:13 6:03 | 7:36 | 30
3 6:58 | 5:59 T:01 | 435 | 6:43 | 5:14 6:01 | 7:38 | 31
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Calculating Hunting Hours: Determine your location in the Northern Area and add

the minutes shown for the zone in which you are hunting to the opening and closing

times listed in the Northern Area Hunting Hours table (page 50).
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Southern Area Deer Hunting Hours 2011-2012: Zone A

HOURS SHOWN ARE 30 MINUTES BEFORE SUNRISE AND 20 MINUTES AFTER SUNSET.

Sept. 2011 Oct. 2011 Nov. 2011 Dec. 2011 Jan. 2012 Feb. 2012 Mar. 2012
Date | AM. | PM. | AM. | PM. | AM. | PM. [ AM. [ PM. | AM. | PM. | AM. | PM. | AM. [ PM. | Date
1 544 | 747 | 618 | 6:52 | 6:57 | 6:02 | 6:34 | 435 | 6:55 | 444 | 6:38 | 521 | 5:57 | 6:00 1
2 | 545 | 745 | 6:19 | 651 | 6:58 | 6:01 | 6:36 | 435 | 6:55 | 445 | 6:37 | 523 | 555 | 6:02 | 2
3 | 546 | 43 | 621 | 6:49 | 6:59 | 5:59 | 6:37 | 4:34 | 6:55 | 446 | 6:36 | 524 | 553 | 6:03 | 3
4 | 548 | T42 | 622 | 6:47 | T:00 | 5:58 | 6:38 | 4:34 | 6:55 | 447 | 6:35 | 525 | 5:52 | 6:04 | 4
5 549 | 740 | 6:23 | 6:45 | T:02 | 557 | 6:39 | 4:34 | 6:55 | 448 | 6:34 | 5:27 | 5:50 | 6:05 5
6 | 5:50 | 738 | 6:24 | 6:43 | 6:03 | 4:55 | 6:40 | 4:34 | 6:55 | 449 | 6:32 | 5:28 | 5:48 | 6:07 | 6
7 S:51 | 736 | 625 | 6:42 | 6:04 | 4:54 | 6:41 | 434 | 6:54 | 450 | 631 | 5:29 | 5:46 | 6:08 7
8 | 5:52 | 734 | 6:26 | 6:40 | 6:06 | 4:53 | 6:42 | 434 | 6:54 | 451 | 6:30 | 5:31 | 5:45 | 6:09 | 8
9 | 553 | 733 | 6:28 | 6:38 | 6:07 | 452 | 6:43 | 434 | 6:54 | 452 | 629 | 5:32 | 543 | 6:10 | 9
10 | 554 | 731 | 6:29 | 6:36 | 6:08 | 4:51 | 6:43 | 4:34 | 6:54 | 453 | 627 | 5:34 | 541 | 6:12 | 10
1| 555 [ 729 | 6:30 | 6:35 [ 6:10 [ 4:50 | 6:44 | 4:34 | 6:53 | 4:54 | 6:26 | 5:35 | 639 | 713 | 11
12 | 557 [ 727 | 6:31 | 6:33 | 6:11 | 449 | 6:45 | 434 | 6:53 | 455 | 6:25 | 5:36 | 6:38 | 7:14 | 12
13 | 558 | 725 | 6:32 | 6:31 | 6:12 | 448 | 6:46 | 4:34 | 6:53 | 457 | 623 | 5:38 | 6:36 | T:15 | 13
14 | 559 [ 723 | 6:34 | 6:30 [ 6:14 | 447 | 6:47 | 434 | 6:52 [ 4:58 | 6:22 | 5:39 [ 6:34 | 7:17 | 14
15 | 6:00 [ 7:22 | 6:35 | 6:28 | 6:15 | 4:46 | 6:48 | 4:34 | 6:52 | 459 | 6:20 | 5:40 | 6:32 | 7:A8 | 1S
16 | 6:01 [ 7:20 | 6:36 | 6:26 [ 6:16 [ 4:45 | 6:48 | 4:35 | 6:51 [ 5:00 [ 6:19 | 5:42 | 6:30 | 7:19 | 16
17 | 6:02 | 7:18 | 6:37 | 6:25 | 6:17 | 4:44 | 6:49 | 435 | 651 | 5:01 | 6:17 | 543 | 629 | 720 | 17
18 | 6:03 [ 7:16 | 6:39 | 6:23 [ 6:19 [ 4:43 | 6:50 | 4:35 [ 6:50 [ 5:03 | 6:16 | 5:44 | 6:27 | 7:21 | 18
19 | 6:04 | 7:14 | 6:40 | 6:21 | 6:20 | 4:42 | 6:50 | 4:36 | 6:50 | 5:04 | 6:14 | 5:46 | 6:25 | 723 | 19
20 | 6:06 | 7:12 | 6:41 | 6:20 | 6:21 | 441 | 651 | 436 | 6:49 | 5:05 | 6:13 | 5:47 | 6:23 | 724 | 20
21 | 6:07 | T:11 | 6:42 | 6:18 | 6:23 | 441 | 651 | 437 | 6:48 | 5:07 | 6:11 | 5:48 | 6:21 | 7:25 | 21
22 | 6:08 | 7:09 | 6:44 | 6:17 | 624 | 440 | 6:52 | 437 | 6:47 | 5:08 | 6:10 | 5:50 | 6:20 | 7:26 | 22
23 | 6:09 | 7:07 | 6:45 | 6:15 | 6:25 | 439 | 6:52 | 438 | 6:47 | 5:09 | 6:08 | 5:51 | 6:18 | 7:28 | 23
24 | 6:10 | 7:05 | 6:46 | 6:13 | 6:26 | 4:39 | 6:53 | 4:38 | 6:46 | 5:10 | 6:07 | 5:52 | 6:16 | 729 | 24
25 | 6:11 | 7:03 | 6:47 | 6:12 | 6:27 | 438 | 6:53 [ 439 | 6:45 | 5:12 | 6:05 | 5:54 | 6:14 | 7:30 | 25
20 | 6:12 | 7:01 | 6:49 | 6:10 | 6:29 | 437 | 6:53 | 439 | 6:44 | 5:13 | 6:03 | 5:55 | 6:12 | 7:31 | 26
27 | 6:14 | 7:00 | 6:50 | 6:09 [ 6:30 | 437 | 6:54 [ 440 | 6:43 | 5:14 | 6:02 | 5:56 | 6:11 [ 7:32 | 27
28 | 6:15 | 6:58 | 6:51 | 6:08 | 6:31 | 4:36 | 6:54 | 441 | 6:42 | 5:16 | 6:00 | 5:58 | 6:09 | 7:34 | 28
29 | 6:16 | 6:56 | 6:53 | 6:06 | 6:32 | 436 | 6:54 [ 442 | 6:41 | 5:07 | 5:58 | 5:59 | 6:07 [ 7:35 | 29
30 | 6:17 | 6:54 | 6:54 | 6:05 | 6:33 | 435 | 6:54 | 442 | 6:40 | 5:19 6:05 | 7:36 | 30
3 6:55 | 6:03 6:55 | 4:43 | 6:39 | 5:20 6:03 | 737 | 31
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Calculating Hunting Hours: Determine your location in the Southern Area and add
the minutes shown in the zone in which you are hunting to the opening and closing
times listed for the Southern Area Hunting Hours table (page 52).



Closed to coyote hunting
during gun deer and
muzzleloader seasons

Coyote Season is open all
year statewide, except in
northern Wisconsin where it
closes for the 19 day period
of the regular gun deer and
muzzleloader deer seasons,
as well as the Dec. 811 antlerless-only deer hunt. Coyote season is open during
the October 8-9 youth gun deer hunt.

County Boundary |

e~ R Jsamd
i

|
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e

Night Hunting: Coyote, fox, raccoon, and unprotected species may be hunted without
hunting hour restrictions except:

1.

During the bow deer seasons when hunting hours listed on pages 50-53 apply to
bow hunting all species.

. During the regular gun deer season from November 19—November 27 when normal

hunting hours apply to hunting all species.

Note: coyote, fox, and raccoon may be hunted at night during the muzzleloader
season, CWD deer gun seasons, youth hunt, and 4-day antlerless-only December
gun hunt.

Blaze orange requirements do not apply to those hunters participating in legal night
hunting from %2 hour after sunset to %2 hour before sunrise.

European wild hogs and Russian wild boars are not common nor are they native
to Wisconsin. These animals damage the environment, pose health risks to native
wildlife and domestic livestock, and have been known to out-compete native wildlife
for food and resources.

You may legally shoot a wild or feral hog year round if:

1. You are a landowner with or without a hunting license and you see a wild hog
on your property, or

2. You have a small game license, or

3. You have an archery license and are hunting with a bow, or

4. You have first contacted the DNR for verbal authorization and turn the hog over
to the DNR if you do not have a small game license.

While deer hunting this year, please help the DNR address this potentially harmful

non-native species. Please consider shooting any wild hogs you see while out in

the field this fall and report any sightings to the local Warden or wildlife manager.

Note: an unconfined hog in the wild may not be a wild hog. It is your responsibility

to know what you are shooting.
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Wildlife Violator Compact

e Wisconsin is a participating member of the Wildlife Violator Compact. The
Wildlife Violator Compact is an agreement between participating states that prohibits
a person who has had their hunting, fishing, or trapping privileges suspended in
one participating state from obtaining licenses or permits, or participating in those
activities in all participating states.

- If your hunting, trapping, or fishing privileges are suspended or revoked for a
fish or wildlife related violation by any of the member states after April 15, 2008,
you may not engage in those activities in Wisconsin or purchase any license,
permit, or tag that authorizes those activities in Wisconsin during the period of
the revocation or suspension.

- Ifapersonis cited for a wildlife violation in Wisconsin and fails to pay or appear
in court, Wisconsin will revoke all of that person's hunting, fishing, and trapping
privileges and will communicate that information to that person's home state and
other participating states. The participating states include: AK, AL, AZ, CA,
CO,FL,GA,IA, ID,IL, IN, KS, KY, LA, MD, MI, MN, MO, MS, MT, ND, NM,
NV, NY, OH, OK, OR, PA, SD, TN, TX, UT, WA, WI, WV, and WY. Additional
states may have joined the compact since the printing of this pamphlet.

Support Ethical Responsible Hunting * Report Violations

CALL: 1-800-TIP-WDNR (1-800-847-9367; toll free) or #367 from your cell phone
(free for U.S. Cellular customers). Note: this is NOT an information number. TEXT:
Text a tip to TIP-411 (847-411), only available from 7 am - 10 pm. Standard text rates
apply. EMAIL: le.hotline@wisconsin.gov

gy
“‘ "Hunt. For the latest news and research on
Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD), or informat

Harvest. on Wisconsin’s CWD Response Plan,
I'Ielll. please visit KnowCWD.com!

Questions?

Call the DNR Call Center toll-free at:
1-888-WDNR INFO (1-888-936-7463) « local 608-266-2621.
Staff are available 7 days a week from 7:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m.

Spanish and Hmong are spoken

dnr.wi.gov
E - E General mailing address:
. Department of Natural Resources
P.O. Box 7921, Madison, WI 53707
— 1
E Scan the QR Code (at left) with your Smartphone to access the DNR

Call Center phone number
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The content of this pamphlet was prepared by the Department of Natural Resources. Part
of the printing costs were generously paid for by these organizations and companies.

5705 Grant Creek Road
Missoula, Montana 59808
Rocky Y Mountain ™ | 800-CALL ELK

ELK FOUNDATION www.elkfoundation.org

()
MILLS

FLEET "I FARM.

Serving The Sportsman
For Over 50 Years!
P.O. Box 1199

. .,I Appleton, WI 54912-1199

w@ t ~ www.fleetfarm.com
FARM =F FLEET

Blains Farm & Fleet stores
P.O. Box 391

Janesville, WI 53547
www.farmandfleet.com

WHITETAILS

Whitetails Unlimited
National Headquarters

P.O. Box 720
Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235
920-743-6777

FIRST FOR HUNTERS
WISCONSIN CHAPTERS

Visit our webiste:
www.sciwi.org

The Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources provides equal opportunity in its employment,
programs, services, and functions under an Affirmative Action Plan. If you have any questions,
please write to Equal Opportunity Office, Department of the Interior, Washington, D.C. 20240.

The Department of Natural Resources is committed to serving people with
saneoon  disabilities. If you need this information in an alternative format, please call
raren T 608-266-8204.



