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State of Wisconsin

2017 - 2018 LEGISLATURE
LRB-5014/P2

MED:klm

PRELIMINARY DRAFT - NoT READY FOR INTRODUCTION

AN ACT to renumber and amend 448.665 and 449.06 (2m); to amend 441.16
(3) (d), 447.056 (1) (intro.) and 448.07 (1) (d); and Zo create 447.02 (2) (k), 448.13
(1) (a) 3., 448.13 (4), 448.20 (3) (c), 448.40 (2) (ck), 448.40 (2) (cm), 448.665 (1)
(b) and 449.06 (2m) (b) of the statutes; relating to: continuing education in
prescribing controlled substances for certain health care practitioners and

granting rule-making authority.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

This bill requires a physician, physician assistant, advanced practice nurse
prescriber, podiatrist, dentist, or optometrist who is authorized to prescribe
controlled substances, when renewing his or her license issued by the applicable
credentialing board, to submit proof of completion of continuing education
requirements promulgated by rule of the board regarding best practices in
prescribing controlled substances.

For further information see the state fiscal estimate, which will be printed as
an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:
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SECTION 1

SECTION 1. 441.16 (3) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:
441.16 (3) (d) Establishing procedures for maintaining a certificate to issue
prescription orders, including requirements for continuing education and a
requirement to complete the nursing workforce survey and submit the fee required

under s. 441.01 (7). The requirements established by the board under this paragraph

shall include continuing education requirements regarding best practices in

prescribing controlled substances, as defined in s. 961.01 (4), for any advanced

practice nurse who is authorized to dispense controlled substances under 21 USC

821 to 831, and the board shall specify a minimum number of hours of such

instruction that must be completed in each 2-vear period.

SECTION 2. 447.02 (2) (k) of the statutes is created to read:

447.02 (2) (k) Continuing education requirements for dentists under s. 447.056
regarding best practices in prescribing controlled substances, as defined in s. 961.01
(4). The board shall specify a minimum number of hours of such instruction that
must be completed in each 2-year period. Continuing education requirements
established in the rules promulgated under this paragraph shall apply only with
respect to a dentist who is authorized to dispense controlled substances under 21
USC 821 to 831.

SECTION 3. 447.056 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

447.056 (1) (intro.) Except as provided in subs. (2) to (4), a person is not eligible
for renewal of a license to practice dentistry, other than a permit issued under s.
447.02 (3), unless the person has taught, attended, or otherwise completed, during
the 2-year period immediately preceding the renewal date specified under s. 440.08
(2) (a), 30 credit hours of continuing education related to the practice of dentistry or

the practice of medicine, including not less than 25 credit hours of instruction in
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SECTION 3

clinical dentistry or clinical medicine and including the credit hours of instruction

regarding best practices in prescribing controlled substances that are required by
the board in rules promulgated under s. 447.02 (2) (k). Not more than 4 of the 30

hours may be from teaching. Continuing education does not satisfy the requirements
under this subsection unless the continuing education is one of the following:
SECTION 4. 448.07 (1) (d) of the statutes, as affected by 2013 Wisconsin Act 240,
is amended to read:
448.07 (1) (d) No registration may be permitted by the secretary of the board

in the case of any physician, physician assistant, or perfusionist who has failed to

meet the requirements of s. 448.13 or any person whose license or certificate has been
suspended or revoked and the registration of any such person shall be deemed
automatically annulled upon receipt by the secretary of the board of a verified report
of such suspension or revocation, subject to the person’s right of appeal. A person
whose license or certificate has been suspended or revoked and subsequently
restored shall be registered by the board upon tendering a verified report of such
restoration of the license or certificate, together with an application for registration
and the registration fee.

SECTION 5. 448.13 (1) (a) 3. of the statutes is created to read:

448.13 (1) (a) 3. If the physician is authorized to dispense controlled substances
under 21 USC 821 to 831, continuing education programs regarding best practices
in prescribing controlled substances, as defined in s. 961.01 (4).

SECTION 6. 448.13 (4) of the statutes is created to read:

448.13 (4) Each person who is licensed as a physician assistant and who is
authorized to dispense controlled substances under 21 USC 821 to 831 shall, in each

2nd year at the time of application for a certificate of registration under s. 448.07,
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SECTION 6
submit proof of completion of continuing education requirements promulgated by
rule by the board regarding best practices in prescribing controlled substances, as
defined in s. 961.01 (4).

SECTION 7. 448.20 (3) (c) of the statutes is created to read:

448.20 (3) (¢) Promulgating the rules establishing continuing education
requirements under s. 448.40 (2) (cm).

SECTION 8. 448.40 (2) (ck) of the statutes is created to read:

448.40 (2) (ck) Establishing continuing education requirements under s.
448.13 (1) (a) 3. regarding best practices in prescribing controlled substances, as
defined in s. 961.01 (4), for renewal of a license to practice medicine and surgery by
a physician authorized to dispense controlled substances under 21 USC 821 to 831.
The board shall specify a minimum number of hours of such instruction that must
be completed in each 2-year period.

SECTION 9. 448.40 (2) (cm) of the statutes is created to read:

448.40 (2) (cm) Establishing continuing education requirements under s.
448.13 (4) regarding best practices in prescribing controlled substances, as defined
in 8. 961.01 (4), for renewal of a physician assistant license by a physician assistant
authorized to dispense controlled substances under 21 USC 821 to 831. The board
shall specify a minimum number of hours of such instruction that must be completed
in each 2-year period. In promulgating rules under this paragraph, the board shall
consult with the council on physician assistants.

SECTION 10. 448.665 of the statutes is renumbered 448.665 (1) (intro.) and
amended to read:

448.665 (1) (intro.) The affiliated credentialing board shall promulgate rules

establishing requirements and procedures for licensees to complete continuing
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SECTION 10

education programs or courses of study in order to qualify for renewal of a license
granted under this subchapter. The rules promulgated under this section shall

require do all of the following:

(a) Require a licensee to complete at least 30 hours of continuing education
programs or courses of study within each 2-year period immediately preceding the
renewal date specified under s. 440.08 (2) (a).

(2) The affiliated credentialing board may waive all or part of these the
requirements for the completion of continuing education programs or courses of

study under sub. (1) if the affiliated credentialing board determines that prolonged

illness, disability, or other exceptional circumstances have prevented a licensee from
completing the requirements.

SECTION 11. 448.665 (1) (b) of the statutes is created to read:

448.665 (1) (b) Establish requirements for a licensee who is authorized to
dispense controlled substances under 21 USC 821 to 831 to complete continuing
education programs regarding best practices in prescribing controlled substances, as
defined in s. 961.01 (4). The affiliated credentialing board shall specify a minimum
number of hours of such instruction that must be completed in each 2-year period.

SECTION 12. 449.06 (2m) of the statutes is renumbered 449.06 (2m) (intro.) and
amended to read:

449.06 (2m) (intro.) The examining board shall promulgate rules requiring a
person who is issued a license to practice optometry to complete, during the 2-year
period immediately preceding the renewal date specified in s. 440.08 (2) (a), not less
than 30 hours of continuing education. The rules shall include requirements all of

the following:
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SECTION 12

(a) Requirements that apply only to optometrists who are allowed to use topical

ocular diagnostic pharmaceutical agents under s. 449.17 or who are allowed to use
therapeutic pharmaceutical agents or remove foreign bodies from an eye or from an
appendage to the eye under s. 449.18.

SECTION 13. 449.06 (2m) (b) of the statutes is created to read:

449.06 (2m) (b) Requirements for optometrists who are authorized to dispense
controlled substances under 21 USC 821 to 831 to complete continuing education
programs regarding best practices in prescribing controlled substances, as defined
in s. 961.01 (4). The examining board shall specify a minimum number of hours of
such instruction that must be completed in each 2-year period.

(END)



