

## **WISCONSIN LEGISLATURE**

P.O. Box 7882 • Madison, WI 53707-7882

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
FOR MORE INFORMATION PLEASE CONTACT:
STATE SENATOR ALBERTA DARLING
STATE REPRESENTATIVE ROBIN VOS

October 5, 2011

608-266-5830 608-266-9171

## REP. VOS, SEN DARLING APPOINTMENT OF MICHAEL FALBO TO CHAIR UW-TASK FORCE

**MADISON...**Sen. Alberta Darling (R-River Hills) and Rep. Robin Vos (R-Rochester) have selected University of Wisconsin System Regent Michael J. Falbo to chair the Special Task Force on UW Restructuring and Operational Flexibilities. On Thursday, Senator Darling and Representative Vos issued the following statement on the appointment:

"Michael Falbo brings a wealth of knowledge and will be instrumental in guiding the future of the University of Wisconsin system. His outstanding background will be crucial to developing real solutions to the challenges the system faces."

Michael J. Falbo is a former chairman and chief executive officer of State Financial Services Corporation. The company was the fifth-largest bank holding company in Wisconsin and was acquired in 2005 by Associated Banc-Corp of Green Bay where Falbo took on the role of chairman of Associated Community Development, LLC. Falbo earned his bachelor's of science degree from UW-Parkside. He is also an alumnus of the Graduate School of Banking at UW-Madison. Falbo is a director for the Thurgood Marshall Scholarship Fund and on the advisory board for Alverno College School of Business. He is a veteran of the United States Army, Vietnam Medic Corps.

Falbo will serve as chair of the committee which also includes:

Representative Stephen Nass (R-Whitewater); Representative Pat Strachota (R-West Bend); Joe Alexander, former student member, UW System Board of Regents; Tim Higgins, former member, Wisconsin Alumni Association Board of Directors; Fred Mohs, former member, UW System Board of Regents; Richard Wells, Chancellor, UW-Oshkosh; Senator Sheila Harsdorf (R-River Falls); Joanne Brandes, member, Carroll University Board of Directors; Ray Cross, Chancellor, UW Colleges and Extension; Renee Ramirez, former chair, Wisconsin Alumni Association; Dennis Shields, Chancellor, UW-Platteville; Mark Tyler, President, Wisconsin Technical College Board; and Representative Steve Doyle (D-Onalaska).

###