FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

December 7, 2016

For Further Information Contact: Speaker Robin Vos (608) 266-3387

Speaker Vos Announces Assembly Standing Committees, Chairs

Madison...Speaker Robin Vos (R-Rochester) would like to announce the Assembly standing committees as well as each corresponding chair and vice chair for the 2017-2018 legislative session. There are five new committees: Urban Revitalization; Science and Technology; Federalism and Interstate Relations; Government Accountability and Oversight; and Regulatory Licensing Reform. Urban Revitalization will have bipartisan chairs. The Interstate Relations Committee has expanded focus due to the potential of additional powers being given to the states from the unified federal government.

"These committees reflect the priorities of Assembly Republicans and address the most pressing needs of the state," said Speaker Vos. "We want to find real solutions to the problems facing Wisconsin families and their communities."

These appointments are a break from a long-standing Assembly practice of giving every returning majority member a chairmanship, excluding the members of the Joint Committee on Finance. Due to the historic GOP majority, that would mean a significantly larger number of committees than any session in the last 20 years.

"This change will allow for more robust policy discussions in committees," said Speaker Vos. "We want a more efficient committee process since that's where the majority of the legislative work is done."

The 103rd Wisconsin State Legislature begins on January 3, 2017 with the inauguration of members.

Committee	Chair	Vice Chair
Aging and Long Term Care	Rep. Tom Weatherston	Rep. Warren Petryk
Agriculture	Rep. Lee Nerison	Rep. Todd Novak
Campaigns and Elections	Rep. Kathy Bernier	Rep. Joe Sanfelippo
Children and Families	Rep. Joel Kitchens	Rep. Bob Gannon
Colleges and Universities	Rep. Dave Murphy	Rep. Travis Tranel
Constitution and Ethics	Rep. Scott Allen	Rep. Jeremy Thiesfeldt
Consumer Protection	Rep. Cindi Duchow	Rep. Paul Tittl
Corrections	Rep. Michael Schraa	Rep. Rob Hutton
Criminal Justice and Public Safety	Rep. John Spiros	Rep. Jesse Kremer
Education	Rep. Jeremy Thiesfeldt	Rep. Joel Kitchens
Energy and Utilities	Rep. Mike Kuglitsch	Rep. David Steffen

Environment and Forestry	Rep. Jeff Mursau	Rep. Scott Krug
Family Law	Pop Jossia Podriguaz	Pan Kathy Parniar
Family Law Federalism and Interstate Relations	Rep. Jessie Rodriguez	Rep. Kathy Bernier
Financial Institutions	Rep. Tyler Vorpagel	Rep. Michael Schraa
	Rep. Terry Katsma	Rep. Adam Jarchow
Government Accountability and Oversight	Rep. Rob Hutton	Rep. Janel Brandtjen
Health	Rep. Joe Sanfelippo	Rep. Samantha Kerkman
Housing	Rep. John Jagler	Rep. Scott Allen
Insurance	Rep. Kevin Petersen	Rep. Cindi Duchow
Jobs and the Economy	Rep. Adam Neylon	Rep. Ed Brooks
Judiciary	Rep. Jim Ott	Rep. Cody Horlacher
Labor	Rep. Bob Kulp	Rep. Mike Kuglitsch
Mental Health	Rep. Paul Tittl	Rep. John Jagler
Rural Development and Mining	Rep. Nancy VanderMeer	Rep. Jeff Mursau
Natural Resources and Sporting Heritage	Rep. Joel Kleefisch	Rep. Romaine Quinn
Public Benefit Reform	Rep. Scott Krug	Rep. Tyler Vorpagel
Regulatory Licensing Reform	Rep. Cody Horlacher	Rep. Joan Ballweg
Science and Technology	Rep. Romaine Quinn	Rep. Kevin Petersen
Small Business Development	Rep. Gary Tauchen	Rep. James Edming
State Affairs	Rep. Rob Swearingen	Rep. Gary Tauchen
Tourism	Rep. Travis Tranel	Rep. Rob Swearingen
Transportation	Rep. Keith Ripp	Rep. John Spiros
Local Government	Rep. Ed Brooks	Rep. Keith Ripp
Urban Revitalization	Rep. Bob Gannon	Rep. Jason Fields (D)
Veterans and Military Affairs	Rep. Ken Skowronski	Rep. Nancy VanderMeer
Ways and Means	Rep. John Macco	Rep. Terry Katsma
Workforce Development	Rep. Warren Petryk	Rep. Tom Weatherston
Joint Audit	Rep. Samantha Kerkman	Rep. John Macco
JCRAR	Rep. Joan Ballweg	Rep. Adam Neylon
JFC	Rep. John Nygren	Rep. Dale Kooyenga
Leg Council	Rep. Rob Brooks	
Tax Exemptions	Rep. Tyler August	
Retirement Systems	Rep. Todd Novak	
Information Policy and Technology	Rep. Dan Knodl	Rep. Andre Jacque
Review Committee on Criminal Penalties	Rep. Adam Jarchow	
Law Revision	Rep. Jim Ott	
Building Commission	Rep. Rob Swearingen	Rep. Terry Katsma