

Representative • 97<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

For Immediate Release Contact: Rep. Scott Allen March 28, 2023 (608) 237-9197

## **Rep Allen Releases Budget Motion Addressing Municipal Services Payments**

State Representative Scott Allen (R - Waukesha) sent a budget motion to the Joint Finance Committee that would require the state government to pay municipalities 100% of the agreed upon costs to provide police, fire, and waste services to state buildings.

"I would like to thank Mayor Shawn Reilly of Waukesha for bringing this issue to my attention," said Rep. Allen. "We as a state should fulfill our statutory commitment with municipalities. It is not right to require municipalities to provide service to the state and not reimburse them."

The Municipal Services Payments Program was created to aid in the reduction of local real property taxes by having the state pay the cost of municipality-provided services (fire, police, and trash/recycling) for state owned buildings. Under WI statute 70.119, the Legislature is meant to fund a specific appropriation for this purpose that will cover the agreed upon costs.

In 1980, state government provided 100% of the agreed upon costs, but since 1982, the state has underfunded this program and paid a proportionate rate. Up until 2008, that rate was still above 80%, but since then it has decreased to only 38% in 2022. The budget motion would change the statutory language to require the state to pay 100% of the agreed upon costs for services each year.

After learning of this issue, Rep. Allen's office circulated a letter to colleagues in districts that are significantly affected by this issue.

"I would like to thank Representatives Rozar and Tittl for signing on as co-sponsors of this budget motion," stated Rep. Allen. "Our first priority in budget spending must be to meet our obligations. That is responsible budgeting."

Municipalities across Wisconsin would see a roughly \$30 million per year increase in payments under the budget motion.

###

Rep. Scott Allen represents the City of Waukesha, the Villages of Dousman, North Prairie, and Waukesha, and the Towns of Genesee, Mukwonago, Ottawa, and Summit.