Allen_EUpdateBanner2018.jpg

Get In Touch!

facebook.png yt.jpg home.jpg

Other Helpful Links:

In This Edition:

Safer at Home: key points...

Small Business Assistance: links and programs below...

Tax Deadline Extended: now July 15! 

Absentee Ballots: Vote by mail this April! 

Stay Connected: Explore ways to stay grounded and connected.

 

Safer at Home Executive Order

This morning, Department of Health Services Secretary-Designee Andrea Palm issued the “Safer at Home” order at the direction of Gov. Evers. You can and should read the complete 16-page order here.  While we are still analyzing it to determine its scope and try to minimize the impact to your family and places of business, here are a few things for you to know:

  • The Order begins at 8:00 a.m. on Wednesday, March 25th.
  • The Order ends at 8:00 a.m. on Friday, April 24th, or until a superseding order is issued.
  • Violation or obstruction of the order is punishable by up to 30 days imprisonment, or up to a $250 fine, or both.

For Individuals:

  • You do not need special permission to leave your home, and you can still go out for essential activities such as healthcare, getting groceries, or outdoor activity in a public or state park (page 7 & 8) You should still maintain the “social distance” of at least six feet.
    • However, playgrounds are closed (page 8).
  • You can still travel to care for elderly, minors, dependents, persons with disabilities, or other vulnerable persons (page 15). 
  • You can also help take care of others such as family, friends, or pet, even if they are in another household (page 8).
  • You can still travel to comply with a court order, such as transporting childen pursuant to a custody agreement (page 15).

For Businesses:

  • Essential businesses and Operations can continue to operate (Emergency Order #12, pages 9-13).  Employees can travel to and from those businesses.
  • For nonessential businesses, you can continue to perform minimum basic operations (Emergency Order #12, page 15). 

If after reading the order, you still have questions, please feel free to reach out to our office.  We’ll work with appropriate legislative resources to get you the best answer possible. Business owners and organizational leaders are encouraged to read the executive order carefully and consult with legal counsel for clarification if in doubt.

We’re here to serve you during good times and tough times—and we’re all in this together.


Allen_sig.png


Small Business Assistance
SBA-Small-Business-Admin-logo-e1584518541949.jpg

Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation (WEDC) 20/20 Program

The WEDC has announced a $5 million grant program to assist small businesses dealing with losses as a result of COVID-19.

The grants would be capped at $20k and targeted to businesses of no more than 20 employees. Find more information here


Federal Small Business Association (SBA)

Under the Economic Injury Disaster Loan (EIDL) program, businesses and non-profits may qualify for up to $2 million in loans to cover losses resulting from the pandemic. The interest rate on the loans is 3.75% for for-profit businesses and 2.75% for nonprofits. Participants may be able to extend payments for up to 30 years.

Businesses and non-profits can begin their loan applications at www.sba.gov/disaster. The Wisconsin Small Business Development (SBDC) Network and it partners are helping small businesses apply for federal disaster loans to mitigate the substantial economic injury as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Wisconsin SBDC, a resource partner of the SBA, has created a web page to help business owners understand the qualifications and application process. That web page is available here

The Wisconsin SBA and its other SBA resource partners – including SCORE and Veterans Business Outreach Center – are also working to assist their clients.

Additional business resources can be found on Wisconsin SBDC’s website https://wisconsinsbdc.org/covid-19/ and Institute for Business & Entrepreneurship’s website, www.business.wisconsin.edu/covid-19. The UW System is also sharing updates regularly at www.wisconsin.edu/coronavirus.

As part of the application process, businesses will be asked to supply the following information:   

  • Tax Information Authorization (IRS Form 4506T) for the applicant, principals and affiliates.
  • Complete copies of the most recent Federal Income Tax Return.
  • Schedule of Liabilities (SBA Form 2202).
  • Personal Financial Statement (SBA Form 413).
  • Profit and loss statements
  • Monthly sales figures (SBA Form 1368)

For more information, consult the FAQ sheet from SBA here, visit the SBA website at sba.gov, or visit the SBDC website at www.wisconsinsbdc.org/disasterloans.

 


Tax Deadlines Extended! 

download.jpg (1)

 

Both federal and Wisconsin income tax payment and return due dates are automatically extended to July 15, 2020. Wisconsin law will automatically extend time and waive interest and penalties for taxpayers due to a presidentially declared disaster.
Governor Tony Evers said, "this is just one more thing we can do for Wisconsinites during this challenging time. Our main goal is to assist our citizens in any way that we can."
• Tax filers do not have to file any extension forms to be eligible for this new due date.
• There is no limit on the amount of payment to be postponed, and there are no income exclusions.
• This applies to individuals, trusts, estates, partnerships, associations, companies or corporations.
• This relief is solely for income tax payments, estimated income tax payments and returns due April 15, 2020.
• There will be no interest or penalty for the period of April 15, 2020 to July 15, 2020.
• Interest, penalties, and underpayment interest for failure to make quarterly estimated tax payments with respect to such postponed federal income tax filings and payments will begin to accrue on July 16, 2020.

The Wisconsin Department of Revenue notes that most services are found online at www.revenue.wi.gov

Customer service phone numbers:

• Individuals: (608) 266-2486

• Businesses: (608) 266-2776

 


 Vote by mail this April! Request an Absentee Ballot today!

MyVote.png

 

The Wisconsin Election Commission is encouraging absentee voting due to COVID-19.  For more information, go to: https://elections.wi.gov/node/6719

There are several ways registered voters can request absentee ballots. If you have internet access, the easiest way is to sign up at MyVoteWisconsin, https://myvote.wi.gov.
 
Just look for the “Vote Absentee” button near the top of the page. On a mobile phone, use the menu button in the upper right corner of the website. There is a three-step process that starts with putting in your name and date of birth, followed by requesting your ballot. If you don’t already have a photo ID on file with your clerk’s office, you can upload a copy. Mobile phone users can take a picture and upload it to MyVote. Absentee ballot requests submitted this way go directly to your clerk’s office, and you can track your ballot by returning to the website. 
 
Voters can also request absentee ballots by mailing, emailing or faxing their municipal clerk’s office. You can find your clerk’s contact information on MyVote Wisconsin. These requests must be accompanied by a copy of your photo ID.  If you already have a photo ID on file from previous absentee requests under your current registration, you will not need to provide it again. 

Voters who are indefinitely confined - meaning they may have difficulty getting to the polls for reason of age, illness, infirmity, or disability are not required to provide a photo ID.  Voters in care facilities can have a representative of the facility confirm the resident's identity instead of providing a photo ID.  More information on photo ID and exemptions can be found at bringit.wi.gov


The deadline for online registration has been extended! You can now register or change your registration online until March 30!!!

The deadline for registered voters to request an absentee ballot by mail is April 2, 2020 - this is the last day a clerk can mail a ballot to you. However, the WEC urges voters not to wait, sign up for an absentee ballot as soon as possible! 

In person absentee ballot requests, voter registration or registration changes can be made at your local municipal clerk's office until April 3rd, 2020! Find your municipal clerk’s information by clicking here

For City of Waukesha residents:

Effective Tuesday, March 24 at noon, the City of Waukesha will offer in-person absentee voting by appointment only. This is to protect the public, poll workers, and City employees from further exposure to COVID-19. 

Appointments should only be scheduled when necessary by calling 262-524-3550. All City of Waukesha residents are asked to vote absentee by mail for the April 7th election. 


 

Support Each Other

community-copy.png

 Now more than ever, it is important to care for oneself and those around you. We encourage you to do these and stay grounded during this stressful time. 

-Contact family and/or friends - phone call, video call, or message

-Keep in contact with elderly neighbors. Ask if they need anything from the store. 

-Purchase only what is needed at the grocery store, so there will be more for everyone. 

-Take care of oneself, make time for a daily ritual that relaxes you - prayer, meditation, exercise, etc. 

-Stay up to date with the CDC, DHS and information from health professionals.