For Immediate Release                                                                                          For More Information, Contact:
October 10, 2019                                                                                                     Rep. Chris Taylor, 608-266-5342

Rep. Taylor Honors Chief Tracy Burrus as First Responder of the Year for the 76th Assembly District
Chief Burrus serves as Madison Fire Department’s Division Chief of Training and Investigation

MADISON — Today, as members of the Wisconsin State Assembly celebrated first responders from around the state, Representative Chris Taylor (D-Madison) presented Madison Fire Department Division Chief Tracy Burrus with the honor of First Responder of the Year for the 76th Assembly District. Chief Burrus has served the Madison area as a fire fighter and public servant since 2001, and has served a total of 24 years of her professional career as a fire fighter in the Midwest.

Rep. Taylor issued the following statement:

“I am privileged to be presenting the honor of First Responder of the year to my friend and neighbor, Chief Tracy Burrus. A true trailblazer and dedicated public servant, Chief Burrus has humbly risen through the ranks of the Madison Fire Department in her almost two decades there, serving as a Rapid Intervention Team member and on the Recruitment and Peer Suicide Prevention committees, among many other roles. Not only did we witness history in our community in 2014 when she became the first African-American woman to be promoted to Fire Lieutenant, but in 2016, we witnessed history yet again when she became the first African-American woman to be promoted to Chief Officer.”

“Chief Burrus has been a pillar of our community and is exactly the kind of public servant deserving of this honor. As an African-American woman and a proud gay woman, her leadership has forged an exemplary path to public service for young LGBTQ people of color, along with all members of our Madison community. With utmost admiration, I thank her for all of her contributions to the 76th Assembly District and all she has done to better our community.”