Speaker Vos Announces Members of Adoption Task Force

May 29, 2019     

Speaker Robin Vos (R-Rochester) is announcing the members of the new Speaker’s Task Force on Adoption. The special bipartisan committee will focus on addressing the barriers facing biological and adoptive parents in the adoption process.

Task Force Chair: Rep. Barbara Dittrich (R-Oconomowoc)
Vice Chair: Rep. Lisa Subeck (D-Madison) 

Rep. Tyler August (R-Lake Geneva)
Rep. Jeffrey Mursau (R-Crivitz)
Rep. David Murphy (R-Greenville)
Rep. Bob Kulp (R-Stratford)
Rep. Patrick Snyder (R-Schofield)
Rep. Ron Tusler (R-Harrison)
Rep. Rob Stafsholt (R-New Richmond)
Rep. Jon Plumer (R-Lodi)
Rep. Timothy Ramthun (R-Campbellsport)

Rep. David Crowley (D-Milwaukee)
Rep. Dave Considine (D-Baraboo)
Rep. LaKeshia Myers (D-Milwaukee)
Rep. Robyn Vining (D-Wauwatosa)
Rep. Steve Doyle (D-Onalaska)

Legislators on the task force will examine the termination of parental rights; identify ways to shorten the timeline for adoptions; evaluate the costs of adoption and ways to reduce the amount; and increase awareness and resources pertaining to adoption.

The Speaker’s Task Force on Adoption will begin holding public hearings around the state beginning in June. Speaker Vos has formed nine bipartisan task forces in the Wisconsin State Assembly since 2013.