

Room 123 West P.O. Box 8953 Madison, WI 53708-8953

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Representative Rob Swearingen

October 17, 2023 (608) 266-7141

Rep. Swearingen Honors Tanner Perry with "First Responder of the Year" Award

MADISON— State Representative Rob Swearingen (R-Rhinelander) presented Rhinelander Firefighter/Paramedic Tanner Perry with the 2023 "First Responder of the Year" award for the 34th Assembly District.

Tanner Perry began his career with the Rhinelander Fire Department as an intern in the summer of 2021, where he quickly transitioned into a full-time firefighter/EMT in January of 2022. Tanner quickly recognized the need for advanced skills to better serve the citizens of Rhinelander. As a result, he voluntarily enrolled in the Paramedic Program and diligently completed his coursework during his off-duty hours, graduating among the top of his class in January 2023

"Tanner has gone above and beyond to serve his community with professionalism, humility, and ambition. He sets an example for departments around the state, inspiring others to aim higher and achieve more for the betterment of our community," Rep. Swearingen said.

The "First Responder of the Year" award was created in 2019 to recognize the brave men and women who serve in our emergency services. State representatives from each legislative district seek nominations from their communities and select one individual who best exemplifies community service, selflessness, and dedication. Recipients receive a legislative citation recognizing their achievements and are honored in a public ceremony with other recipients from across the state on the Assembly floor.

Tanner was nominated by Rhinelander Fire Chief Brian Tonnancour.

"Tanner Perry is a consummate and dedicated professional in all areas of fire, rescue, and EMS. In his young career, he has already shown an extreme amount of calmness and confidence under stress," said Brian.

This year's ceremony hosted 98 "First Responder of the Year" honorees, all with stories of bravery, dedication, and service. These award recipients represent all types of first responders – firefighters, police officers, sheriff deputies, and EMTs.

###

Representative Swearingen represents the 34th Assembly District, which includes the Northwoods counties of Oneida and Vilas.