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April 29, 2004 
 
 
 
 
Senator Carol A. Roessler and 
Representative Suzanne Jeskewitz, Co-chairpersons 
Joint Legislative Audit Committee 
State Capitol 
Madison, Wisconsin 53702 
 
Dear Senator Roessler and Representative Jeskewitz: 
 
We have completed a best practices review of local government operations, as directed by 
s. 13.94(8), Wis. Stats. This report describes the extent to which local governments in Wisconsin 
have implemented user fees to fund the cost of providing services. 
 
Local governments have broad authority to implement user fees for the services they provide. 
In 2001, user fees totaled $2.6 billion and were 21.1 percent of local governments’ $12.5 billion in 
total revenue. 
 
The Blue-Ribbon Commission on State-Local Partnerships for the 21st Century, commonly 
known as the Kettl Commission, suggested that local governments can help control property 
taxes by charging users some fees for services. In responding to a survey we conducted, 
117 local governments indicated they imposed one or more new fees in the last three years, and 
95 local governments indicated they planned to implement new fees within the next three years. 
 
Survey respondents identified over 500 different types of user fees. Our report highlights best 
practices for local governments to consider when establishing the types and amounts of fees 
and when administering them. Detailed information on fee types and ranges is provided in the 
appendices. 
 
We appreciate the courtesy and cooperation extended to us by the Department of Revenue and 
the many Wisconsin local government officials who responded to our survey. 
 
Respectfully submitted, 
 
 
 
Janice Mueller 
State Auditor 
 
JM/DB/ss 

JANICE MUELLER
STATE AUDITOR

22 E. MIFFLIN ST., STE. 500
MADISON, WISCONSIN 53703

(608) 266-2818
FAX (608) 267-0410

Leg.Audit.Info@legis.state.wi.us
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Local governments have broad authority to implement user fees that 
reasonably cover the costs of their operations. User fees differ from 
taxes, which must be authorized by the State Legislature. Through a 
survey, we identified over 500 different user fees charged by local 
governments.  
 
Local governments’ total revenue from user fees was $2.6 billion in 
2001. That amount represented 21.1 percent of all local government 
revenue. In comparison, property tax revenue totaled $3.1 billion 
and represented 24.5 percent of all local government revenue. 
 
As directed by s. 13.94(8), Wis. Stats., we completed a best practices 
review that focused on the extent to which local governments rely 
on user fees to fulfill government functions. To complete this review 
we: 
 
" surveyed all counties and cities, as well as villages with 

populations greater than 2,500 and towns with populations 
greater than 5,000, to determine how user fees are established 
and collected and how they manage fee revenue; 
 

" analyzed data that 1,922 local governments provided to the 
Department of Revenue, to determine the extent to which user 
fees are relied on as a revenue source; 
 

" reviewed Wisconsin Statutes governing the type and amount of 
user fees; and 

Report Highlights # 

User fees make up a 
significant proportion of  

all revenue collected by 
local governments. 

 
User fees for similar 
services vary widely. 

 
We used a survey to  

identify over  
500 different user fees. 

 
We identified eight best 

practices for local 
governments to consider 

when establishing 
 user fees. 
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" analyzed fee schedules in order to determine both the types of 
fees imposed by local governments and the range of fees 
charged. 

 
User Fee Revenue 

We considered user fees in three categories: 
 
" fees that fund necessary services, such as for utilities; 

 
" fees that fund services that add to the quality of life, such as for 

parks and recreation; and 
 

" fees that fund regulatory and administrative processes, such as 
for licenses and permits. 

 
2001 was the most recent period for which data were available 
during the time of our review. In 2001, the $2.6 billion in user fees 
collected by local governments represented 21.1 percent of their 
revenue from all sources. Local governments’ total revenue from all 
sources was $12.5 billion in 2001 and is shown in Figure 1. 
 
 
 

Figure 1 
 

Total Revenue Collected by Local Governments 
2001 

 
 

Property Taxes
$3.1 billion

User Fees
$2.6 billion

Miscellaneous Revenue 
and Charges 
$2.5 billion

Intergovernmental 
Revenue 

and Charges
$4.3 billion

 
 
 
 
 
Cities had the highest percentage of revenue from user fees. In 2001, 
cities earned more of their revenue from user fees than from 
property taxes. Among all local governments, property taxes 
accounted for approximately one-quarter of total revenue. 
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Between 1997 and 2001, the percentage of revenue local 
governments received from user fees declined slightly, from 
21.4 percent to 21.1 percent. However, towns’ revenue from user 
fees increased by 38.9 percent, which was more than the increases 
for all other types of local government.  
 
Nearly one-half of county user fee revenue was earned by county-
operated nursing homes and human services departments. This is to 
be expected, given the types of services provided by counties. The 
largest source of city user fees was utilities, while the largest source 
of village user fees was sewage services. Licenses and permits 
accounted for the largest percentage of towns’ revenue from user 
fees. 
 
 

Variation in Fee Types 

Among the 500 types of fees we identified through a survey and 
discussions with local government officials were: 
 
" fees for utilities and necessary services; 

 
" charges for the use of government-owned facilities such as 

community centers, meeting spaces and park shelters; 
 

" fees for recreation activities; and  
 

" fees that individuals and businesses pay for licenses and 
permits. 

 
Approximately one-half of the 249 cities, counties, villages, and 
towns that responded to our survey indicated that they have set a 
total of 275 new fees over the course of the past three years. More 
than 38 percent of communities responding to our survey indicated 
that they plan to implement new fees in the next three years. 
 
 

Variation in Fee Amounts 

While 63.5 percent of local governments indicated that they review 
their fees annually, some do so less frequently. There is wide 
variation in fee amounts as well as in the types of fees charged by 
local governments.  
 
Although some user fees are set by statute, most are set by local 
governments. 2003 Wisconsin Act 134 provides that fees imposed by 
local governments, “shall bear a reasonable relationship to the 
service for which the fee is imposed.”  
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To assess the different amounts communities may charge for 
common services, we compared the cost of building permits for 
constructing an average sized single-family home. We found that 
among the five cities and six villages submitting information, the 
cost of building permits ranged from $494 to $2,560 for cities and 
from $818 to $4,714 for villages.  
 
Many communities charge developers fees to help fund new 
infrastructure costs associated with new subdivisions, such as costs 
for roads and sewers. Local governments can impose two types of 
fees for these costs: development fees and impact fees. Both are 
similar in intent. The fees developers can be assessed in exchange for 
land development permits have been upheld by the courts as a 
reasonable exercise of local government authority. Impact fees are 
similar to development fees but are restricted by state statutes for a 
limited number of infrastructure costs.  
 
 

Revenue Processing 

User fee management and collection practices vary, but nearly all 
local governments responding to our survey indicated that they 
offer both cash and check payment options. Fewer than one-half 
indicated that they offer on-line payment options, although we 
learned in a previous best practices review of local e-government 
services that this practice can lead to increased revenue collections.  
 
Some local governments take steps to develop secure fee collection 
practices. These include: 
 
" making daily deposits of cash and check payments;  

 
" having at least two individuals responsible for handling and 

depositing payments;  
 

" using software to record cash payments; and  
 

" conducting at least periodic audits of payments.  
 
In addition, some local governments have realized cost savings by 
using a private-sector service provider to collect and process fees.  
 
Other unique or innovative practices that have resulted in increased 
efficiency include using cash register software to link transactions 
with the municipal financial system, and using barcodes on utility 
bills and tax forms so that payments can be automatically entered 
into the local government’s computer system. A complete list of 
these innovative practices is included in the report.  
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Some local governments offer credit card payment as an option for 
user fee payments. The fees that credit card companies charge for 
these transactions vary by as much as 3 percent per charge. Many of 
the local governments pay these processing costs. Others pass the 
charge on to those who pay user fees with credit cards.  
 
 

Best Practices 

Our suggestions for establishing user fees and managing the 
revenue are that it is a best practice for local governments to: 
 
$ review all services, considering which could be reasonably 

funded through user fees (p. 22); 
 

$ regularly review the user fees charged (p. 26) ; 
 

$ determine both the direct and indirect costs associated with the 
service (p. 31); 
 

$ periodically review the actual costs for the regulation and 
inspection of construction and set building permit fees 
accordingly (p. 33); 
 

$ make a variety of user fee payment options available to users 
(p. 38); 
 

$ negotiate with credit card companies for low rates for credit card 
transaction fees (p. 40); 
 

$ when practical, ensure the security of fees and maximize interest 
earnings by making daily deposits for fee payments (p. 43) and 
 

$ develop measures to ensure the secure handling of cash 
payments and maintain separation of duties (p. 45). 

 
 

# # # #
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As directed by s. 13.94(8), Wis. Stats., the Legislative Audit Bureau 
conducts periodic reviews of local government operations to 
identify practices that can save money or provide for more effective 
delivery of government services. Best practices reviews seek to build 
upon successful local efforts by identifying and publicizing efficient 
approaches to providing government services. An advisory council, 
established to assist with the selection of review topics, is made up 
of five members who represent counties, cities, villages, and towns. 
Members are listed in Appendix 1. 
 
The subject of this review is the degree to which local governments 
in Wisconsin impose user fees to fund the cost of providing services 
or products. It includes information from our survey of all counties 
and cities, villages with a population greater than 2,500, and towns 
with a population greater than 5,000, as well as an analysis of data 
that 1,922 local governments provided to the Department of 
Revenue. It should be noted that 2001 data available from the 
Department of Revenue were the most recent detailed data available 
during the course of our review. Although these data may contain 
some reporting inconsistencies across communities, they represent 
the best source of information available for making broad 
comparisons among Wisconsin local governments. 
 
User fees are one of several means that Wisconsin counties, cities, 
villages, and towns use to finance the cost of public services. The 
Wisconsin Blue-Ribbon Commission on State-Local Partnerships for 
the 21st Century, more commonly known as the Kettl Commission, 
reported in January 2001 that “municipalities ought to be 

Introduction # 

User fees are one of 
several means available 
to local governments to 
finance public services. 

 Taxes and User Fees

 Defining User Fees
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encouraged to finance operations, where appropriate, from fee 
revenue rather than from property taxes or state aids.” On the other 
hand, the Commission also noted that “greater reliance on fees 
should not be used to increase local spending…” but that fee 
increases “should be matched, on a dollar-for-dollar basis, with 
decreases in local property tax levies.” 
 
 

Taxes and User Fees 

There are clear statutory and case law distinctions between a tax and 
a user fee. The primary difference is the source of the local unit of 
government’s power and purpose in imposing the charge. Courts 
have held that, in Wisconsin, a county or municipality (city, village, 
or town) may levy only those taxes that are authorized by the 
Legislature. As stated in State ex rel. Thomson v. Giessel (1953), and 
restated in Plymouth v. Elsner (1965), “The legislature has plenary 
power over the whole subject of taxation.” Appendix 2 includes the 
names and citations of the court cases noted in our report. 
 
Currently, the Legislature has authorized several optional local taxes 
for local governments: 
 
" a tax on real and some personal property; 

 
" a registration charge for certain motor vehicles, 

commonly known as the “wheel tax”; 
 

" a sales and use tax of 0.5 percent, which only 
counties can levy; 
 

" a municipal tax on establishments providing 
short-term lodging to the public, typically 
applicable to hotels, motels, and rooming houses 
and commonly known as the “room tax”; and 
 

" a “premier resort area tax,” whereby a county, 
city, village, or town that meets certain criteria 
may impose a 0.5 percent sales tax. 

 
In addition, certain special purpose districts have been given 
statutory authority to impose taxes other than the property tax. The 
City of Milwaukee, for example, has created a local exposition 
district that is authorized to impose a room tax, a food and beverage 
sales tax, and a car rental sales tax. Moreover, statutes provide for 
both a local professional baseball park district and a local 
professional football stadium district, which can levy sales and use 
taxes of up to 0.1 percent and 0.5 percent, respectively. Milwaukee, 
Ozaukee, Racine, Washington, and Waukesha counties make up the  
 

Only the Legislature can 
authorize a tax. 
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Local Professional Baseball Park District. The Green Bay/Brown 
County Local Professional Football Stadium District is located in 
Brown County. 
 
In contrast to taxing authority, the authority to impose fees is 
obtained by local governments under their general police power 
granted by the Wisconsin Constitution and Wisconsin Statutes. In 
the constitution and statutes, the concept of police power 
encompasses a broad array of governmental regulatory activities 
designed to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the general 
public. 
 
In addition, courts have articulated the distinction between a tax and 
a fee by differentiating according to the purpose for which the tax or 
fee is imposed. Taxes are typically a means to generate revenue for 
the community at large, while fees more often relate directly to 
payment for a service or product by a consumer of that service or 
product. For example, in State ex rel. Attorney General v. Wisconsin 
Constructors (1936), restated in Milwaukee v. Hoffmann (1965), the 
Wisconsin Supreme Court held that “the distinction between a 
demand of money under the police power and one made under the 
power to tax is … [that t]he one is made for regulation and the other 
for revenue.” Local governments have used their regulatory 
authority to enact a wide array of user fees. 
 
 

Defining User Fees 

User fees are generally authorized under the single broad concept of 
police power and a local government’s authority to regulate 
activities. For discussion purposes, it can be useful to group user 
fees into three categories: 
 
" Fees associated with services necessary for 

everyone in a community, such as utilities 
(electric, gas, sewer, and water), trash collection, 
and recycling. These are commonly established to 
fully recover the cost of the activity or service. 
The advantage of charging these costs as user 
fees, rather than as part of the property tax, is that 
the fees can be calculated based on usage, such as 
the amount of water used or the number of trash 
containers set out each week. 
 

" Fees associated with a broad array of public 
services that generally add to the quality of life in 
a community but that all residents do not require, 
such as fees for health services, parks and 
recreation, and public transportation. 
 

Local governments have 
the authority to  

impose fees. 

Taxes are imposed to 
earn revenue, while  

user fees are imposed to 
regulate activities  

and services. 
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" Fees associated with regulatory and 
administrative processes, such as professional, 
business-related, and personal licenses (which 
include, for example, bartender, pet, and marriage 
licenses); building permits; and fees paid by 
property developers. 

 
For the purpose of annual revenue reporting by local units of 
government, the Wisconsin Department of Revenue defines license 
and permit fees as “monies received from individuals for legal 
permission to perform certain acts or engage in certain businesses 
usually regulated by ordinances.” Counties and municipalities use 
this definition to record business and occupational licenses; building 
permits and inspection fees; zoning permits and fees; and other 
regulatory permits and fees, such as impact fees paid by developers. 
 
The Department of Revenue also records revenue from public 
charges for services, which includes charges to individuals or 
organizations for a broad array of services. This category includes 
fees for commonplace services, such as parking and mass transit 
fees, as well as very broad categories, such as revenues received by 
county-operated nursing homes and from public health activities. 
 
We included both license and permit fees and public charges for 
services in our definition of user fees. While user fees generally refer 
to payments received from individuals for a specific service, in some 
cases they may include payments from a third-party payer on behalf 
of the individual receiving the services, such as Medicare payments 
for a nursing home resident. In addition, while the Department of 
Revenue includes various court filing fees within its public charges 
for services category, it excludes court fines, forfeitures, and 
penalties. 
 
 

# # # #
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In 2001, counties and municipalities reported collecting more than 
$12.5 billion in revenue from all sources, as shown in Table 1. The 
largest revenue type, intergovernmental revenue and charges, 
includes shared revenue payments from the state, as well as 
highway aids. Miscellaneous revenue and charges include revenue 
from financing sources such as county sales tax, borrowed funds, 
and fines and forfeitures. Property tax revenue is shown separately 
in Table 1, as are user fees. As noted, “user fees” include both fees 
for licenses and permits and public charges for services. 
 
As shown in Table 2, local governments statewide reported 
collecting an average of $2,323 per person from all revenue sources 
in 2001. User fees represented 21.1 percent, or $490 of per capita 
revenue. In 2001, cities reported collecting the highest user fees 
among all types of local governments, and they raised more revenue 
from user fees than from property taxes. 
 

Reliance on User Fees # 

User fee revenue consists 
of revenue from licenses 

and permits and from 
public charges for 

services. 

 User Fee Revenue Analysis
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Table 1 

 
Local Government Revenue 

2001 
(In Millions) 

 
 

Type of Revenue Counties Cities Villages Towns Total 

      
Intergovernmental Revenue  
 and Charges $2,434.8 $1,455.9 $   185.6 $239.4 $  4,315.7 

General Property Taxes 1,313.9 1,224.1 272.8 268.1 3,078.9 

Miscellaneous Revenue and Charges1 784.1 1,235.7 312.5 173.0 2,505.3 

User Fees2 993.3 1,336.13 240.2 74.6 2,644.2 

Total Revenue $5,526.1 $5,251.83 $1,011.1 $755.1 $12,544.1 
 

1 Includes such financing sources as proceeds from long-term debt; tax revenue other than from property taxes; fines, forfeitures, and 
penalties; and other miscellaneous revenue collected by the local governments. 

2 Revenue from the Department of Revenue’s “Licenses and Permits” and “Public Charges for Services” categories. 
3 User fee revenue amounts were reduced by $104.0 million to reflect the amount the City of Green Bay collected in 2001 from ticket 

holders but transferred to the Green Bay/Brown County Local Professional Football Stadium District. This reduction is also reflected 
in the total revenue for cities. 

 
 Source: Department of Revenue 
 
 

 
 

 
Table 2 

 
Revenue per Capita 

2001 
 
 

Type of Revenue Statewide Counties Cities Villages Towns 

      
Intergovernmental Revenue  
 and Charges $   799 $   451 $   481 $   268 $142 
General Property Taxes 570 243 405 393 159 

Miscellaneous Revenue and Charges1 464 145 409 451 103 
User Fees2 490 184 442 346 44 

Total Revenue $2,323 $1,023 $1,737 $1,458 $448 

      
Per Capita Percentage of Revenue 
 from User Fees 21.1% 18.0% 25.4% 23.7% 9.9% 

 
1 Includes such financing sources as proceeds from long-term debt; tax revenue other than from property taxes; fines, forfeitures, 

and penalties; and other miscellaneous revenue collected by the local governments. 
2 Revenue from the Department of Revenue’s “Licenses and Permits” and “Public Charges for Services,” categories. 

 
 Source: Department of Revenue 
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As shown in Figure 2, the primary revenue source that local 
governments reported to the Department of Revenue for 2001 was 
intergovernmental revenue and charges, which totaled 34.4 percent 
of all revenue. Property tax revenue, which represented 24.5 percent 
of all revenue, was second. User fees, the revenue sources that were 
the focus of our analysis and include licenses and permits, as well as 
public charges for services, totaled 21.1 percent of all revenue. 
 
 

 
Figure 2 

 
Total Revenue Collected by Local Governments 

2001 
 
 

Property Taxes
24.5%

User Fees
21.1%

Miscellaneous Revenue 
and Charges 

20.0%
Intergovernmental 

Revenue 
and Charges

34.4%

 
 
 

 
 
Because Kettl Commission members and others believe that there is 
a connection between property taxes and user fees, and because 
revenue from property taxes is a significant source of all local 
government revenue, we reviewed the amount of property tax 
revenue reported by local governments in 1997 and 2001. As shown 
in Table 3, revenue from this source increased by 28.8 percent 
statewide from 1997 to 2001. Property taxes accounted for 
23.9 percent of total revenue in 1997, and 24.5 percent in 2001. 
 
 

For 2001, user fee 
revenue totaled 

21.1 percent of all 
revenue. 

Property tax revenue 
increased by 

28.8 percent from  
1997 to 2001. 
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Table 3 

 
Revenue from Property Taxes 

(In Millions) 
 
 

 1997 2001  

Type of Local 
Government Total Revenue 

Revenue 
from 

Property 
Tax 

Percentage of 
Revenue from 
Property Tax 

 
 
 

Total Revenue 

Revenue 
from 

Property Tax 

Percentage 
of Revenue 

from 
Property Tax 

Percentage 
Change in 

Property Tax 
Revenue  

1997-2001 

        
County $  4,509.0 $1,015.9 22.5% $5,526.1 $1,313.9 23.8% 29.3% 

City 4,165.9 978.1 23.5 5,251.8 1,224.1 23.3 25.2 

Village 767.2 201.6 26.3 1,011.1 272.8 27.0 35.3 

Town 566.9 195.7 34.5 755.1 268.1 35.5 37.0 

Statewide Total $10,009.0 $2,391.3 23.9 $12,544.1 $3,078.9 24.5 28.8 
 

 Source: Department of Revenue 
 
 

 
 
As shown in Table 4, user fees equaled 21.1 percent of all revenue 
collected in 2001, and total revenue from user fees increased by 
23.2 percent statewide from 1997 to 2001. User fee revenue also 
increased for each type of local government. However, the 
percentage of revenue that local governments received from user 
fees decreased slightly, from 21.4 percent in 1997 to 21.1 percent in 
2001. 
 

The amount of user fee 
revenue increased by 

23.2 percent from 1997 
to 2001. 



 

 

RELIANCE ON USER FEES # # # # 17

 
Table 4 

 
Revenue from User Fees 

(In Millions) 
 
 

 1997 2001  

Type of Local 
Government Total Revenue 

User Fee 
Revenue 

Percentage 
of Revenue 
from User 

Fees Total Revenue 
User Fee 
Revenue 

Percentage 
of Revenue 
from User 

Fees 

Percentage 
Change in 
User Fee 
Revenue  

1997-2001 

        
County $ 4,509.0 $   817.5 18.1% $  5,526.1 $   993.3 18.0% 21.5% 

City 4,165.9 1,086.8 26.1 5,251.81 1,336.11 25.4 22.9 

Village 767.2 187.8 24.5 1,011.1 240.2 23.8 27.9 

Town 566.9 53.7 9.5 755.1 74.6 9.9 38.9 

Statewide Total $10,009.0 $2,145.8 21.4 $12,544.1 $2,644.2 21.1 23.2 
 

1 In 2001, the total revenue and user fee revenue amounts for cities were reduced by $104.0 million to reflect the amount the City of Green 
Bay collected in 2001 from ticket holders but transferred to the Green Bay/Brown County Local Professional Football Stadium District. 
 

Source: Department of Revenue 
 
 

 
 

User Fee Revenue Analysis 

For each type of local government, we analyzed both the types and 
the amounts of user fees that made up the largest share of total user 
fee revenue. From 1997 to 2001, county user fee revenue increased 
from $817.5 million to $993.3 million, or by 21.5 percent. As would 
be expected, counties’ largest sources of user fees were county-
operated nursing homes and various human service activities. Jail 
fees, such as revenue from prisoners on work-release status, were 
$34.4 million, or 3.5 percent of all county user fees, which are shown 
in Table 5. 
 

From 1997 to 2001, 
county user fee revenue 

increased by 
21.5 percent. 
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Table 5 

 
Sources of County User Fee Revenue 

2001 
 
 

 
Source of User Fee Revenue Amount 

Percentage of 
Total User Fees 

   
Nursing Home $304,988,503 30.7% 

Human Services 122,840,494 12.4 

Airports 79,836,393 8.0 

Other Health Services 67,872,241 6.8 

Mental Health Services 53,730,901 5.4 

Mass Transit 41,884,296 4.2 

Solid Waste Disposal 38,013,519 3.8 

Jail Fees1 34,374,521 3.5 

Register of Deeds 28,106,259 2.8 

Court Fees and Costs 19,255,918 1.9 

General Government Fees2 17,238,390 1.8 

Parks 17,186,679 1.7 

General Hospital 16,467,180 1.7 

Museum3 15,649,080 1.6 

Licenses and Permits 15,350,001 1.6 

Forests4 14,290,378 1.4 

Zoological Parks 12,327,781 1.2 

Golf Course 10,431,289 1.1 

All Other User Fee Revenue5 83,497,840 8.4 

Total User Fee Revenue $ 993,341,663 100.0% 
 

1 Jail fees represent revenue from prisoners on work-release status and jail assessment fees. 
2 General government fees are defined by the Department of Revenue as fees and charges  

for services provided by departments such as the clerk, treasurer, coroner, and corporation counsel. 
3 The source of almost all revenue in this category was Milwaukee County Museum fees. 
4 Forest revenue includes fees and charges from the sale of wood products from county-owned 

forests, tree seedlings, tree inspections, and the rental of tree planting equipment. 
5 All other user fee revenue includes fees and charges from auditoriums and civic centers, ambulance services, 

parking, other culture and recreation, ice arenas, other transportation, other public charges, law enforcement, 
other public safety, probate fees, fairs and exhibits, other conservation, recycling, utilities, economic 
development, University of Wisconsin-Extension county agents, highway maintenance and construction, 
libraries, docks and harbors, county farms, public housing, public health services, state schools for individuals with 
visual or hearing impairments, fire protection, and weed and nuisance control. 

 
 Source: Department of Revenue 
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From 1997 to 2001, city user fee revenue increased from 
$1,086.8 million to $1,336.1 million, or by 22.9 percent. As shown in 
Table 6, cities’ major sources of user fee revenue were utilities, 
which accounted for 47.1 percent of all city fee revenue, and sewage 
services, which accounted for 23.7 percent. Fees for licenses and 
permits from individuals and businesses were the third-largest 
source of fee revenue for cities, at 4.9 percent of total fee revenue. 
 
 

 
Table 6 

 
Sources of City User Fee Revenue 

2001 
 
 

Source of User Fee Revenue Amount 
Percentage of 
Total User Fees 

   
Utilities $  629,417,141 47.1% 

Sewage Services 317,174,787 23.7 

Licenses and Permits 65,280,295 4.9 

Parking 52,279,918 3.9 

Solid Waste Disposal 44,964,647 3.4 

Ambulance Services 27,932,871 2.1 

Public Housing 21,920,351 1.6 

Other Culture and Recreation 18,925,271 1.4 

Mass Transit 15,053,764 1.1 

Auditorium and Civic Center1 13,039,019 1.0 

Refuse and Garbage Collection 11,353,107 0.9 

General Government Fees2 10,904,445 0.8 

All Other User Fee Revenue3 107,879,347 8.1 

Total User Fee Revenue $1,336,124,963 100.0% 
 

1 Auditorium and civic center revenue was reduced by $104.0 million to reflect the amount 
the City of Green Bay collected in 2001 from ticket holders but transferred to the  
Green Bay/Brown County Local Professional Football Stadium District. 

2 General government fees are defined by the Department of Revenue as fees and charges  
for services provided by departments such as the clerk, treasurer, and attorney. They also  
include liquor license publication fees. 

3 All other user fee revenue includes fees and charges from other public safety, other  
transportation, other health services, general hospitals, nursing homes, fire protection fees,  
economic development, law enforcement, recycling, cemeteries, docks and harbors, airport fees, 
other public charges, fairs and exhibits, community center services, parks, golf courses, ice arenas,  
swimming areas, municipally operated liquor stores, forests, weed and nuisance control, conservation, 
other sanitation, museums, human services, urban development, street lighting, new sidewalk construction, 
sidewalk replacement with street reconstruction, highway maintenance and construction, storm sewers, 
libraries, and cable television. 

 
 Source: Department of Revenue 
 
 

From 1997 to 2001, city 
user fee revenue 

increased by 
22.9 percent. 



 

 

20 # # # # RELIANCE ON USER FEES 

From 1997 to 2001, user fee revenue for villages increased from 
$187.8 million to $240.2 million, an increase of 27.9 percent. Sewage 
services and utility fees were villages’ largest sources of total fee 
revenue, and licenses and permits generated the third-largest 
amount. For towns, user fee revenue increased from $53.7 million to 
$74.6 million, or 38.9 percent, from 1997 to 2001. Fees from licenses 
and permits were the largest single fee source for towns. 
 
 

# # # #

From 1997 to 2001, user 
fee revenue increased by 
27.9 percent for villages 

and 38.9 percent 
 for towns. 
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Counties and municipalities determine the types of activities or 
services they charge for, and what amount to charge based on a 
variety of factors, including statutory directives and local use. To 
determine both the types and the amounts of fees charged by local 
governments, we surveyed 363 counties, cities, villages, and towns. 
We received responses from 249, or 68.6 percent, of the communities 
contacted. Towns had the highest response rate: 77.8 percent of the 
towns that received our survey responded to it. The response rate was 
75.0 percent for villages, 68.9 percent for cities, and 56.9 percent for 
counties. 
 
We reviewed statutory references to user fees, as well as 91 user fee 
schedules we received from local governments. We also conducted a 
review of building permits and of the impact fees paid by property 
developers. We found that both the types of user fees charged and fee 
amounts vary widely. Appendix 3 summarizes the user fees we 
identified from survey respondents’ fee schedules. Fee amounts are 
shown as a range, or as individual or multiple listings. 
 
 

Determining Which User Fees to Impose 

In most cases, local governments have the ability to determine 
whether to impose fees. In some instances, however, state statutes 
require that they establish certain fees. For example, statutes require a 
fee for a dog license, for pawnbrokers and secondhand dealers, and 
for certain types of liquor licenses. Counties are also required to 
charge for certain services provided by the Register of Deeds, such as 
document recording. In other instances, state agencies may require 

Establishing Types and Amounts of 
User Fees # 

We received survey 
responses from  

68.6 percent of the 
communities we 

contacted. 

State statutes require 
the establishment of 

some fees. 

Determining Which User Fees to Impose

 Establishing Appropriate User Fee Amounts

 Building Permits

 Development Fees and Impact Fees
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certain user fees. For example, the Department of Natural Resources 
requires, as a condition of awarding a loan to upgrade a sewage 
treatment plant, that user fees be imposed over the loan payback 
period, to ensure adequate funds are available for loan repayment 
and plant operating costs. 
 
According to our survey, a local decision to implement a user fee is 
most commonly made by a county or municipality’s governing body 
or by a department. For 97.2 percent of responding counties and 
municipalities, at least some fees are set by the governing body. In 
contrast, 20.9 percent of respondents indicated that some fees are set 
by a department, and 3.2 percent said that fees are set by some other 
method, such as state statute or the actual cost of materials. Survey 
respondents were asked to give more than one answer when 
applicable. 
 
There are several factors local governments should consider when 
deciding which user fees to charge. First, they should determine 
whether the service provided is a core service or whether it benefits a 
limited number of users. Examples of services that benefit only a 
limited number of users include copies of police reports, park shelter 
reservations, and swimming pools. The Kettl Commission stated that 
“user charges have proven effective in linking who pays with who 
benefits from many public programs.” 
 
A second consideration is whether it is practical to charge a user fee 
for an identified service. For example, while an entrance fee to a 
swimming pool is relatively easy to charge, charges for daily access to 
playgrounds and parks may be impractical and costly to administer. 
 
Third, local governments should also consider whether some core 
services can be linked directly to users and charged by volume. For 
example, communities have long charged homeowners for sewage 
and water services based on volume of use. In recent years, some 
communities have also begun charging for solid waste collection 
based on volume by selling stickers to be placed on trash bags or 
charging fees based on the volume of trash containers. 
 
$ Best Practice 
 
It is a best practice for local governments to inventory the services 
they provide and determine: 
 
" whether some services should be funded by users; 

 
" the administrative practicality of collecting any related user fees; 

and 
 

" whether user fees can be based on the level of use. 

For 97.2 percent of 
responding local 

governments, at least 
some user fees are set by 

the governing body. 



 

 

ESTABLISHING TYPES AND AMOUNTS OF USER FEES # # # # 23

As noted, Appendix 3 is a detailed summary of the fees from 91 fee 
schedules provided to us by local governments that impose over 
500 different types of fees. Table 7 lists the 27 most common fees we 
identified in the fee schedules. Most common among these are fees for 
licenses and permits, especially for the sale of alcohol and tobacco 
products; for photocopies; and for bicycle licenses. In addition, 
counties charge different types of fees, most of which are related to 
vital records, the Register of Deeds, and the Sheriff’s Department. 

 
 

Table 7 
 

Most Common Fee Types As Noted in Local Government Fee Schedules 
 
 

Fee Type Counties Cities Villages Towns 

(Number of Fee Schedules Received) (14) (40) (24) (13) 
     

Photocopies 10 20 9 5 

Maps 8 6 7 3 

Medical Examiner/Coroner Fees—Cremation 8    

Vital Records—Death Certificate 8    

Vital Records—Marriage License 8    

Medical Examiner/Coroner Fees—Disinterment 7    

Not-Sufficient-Funds Check Charges 5 12 6 4 

Register of Deeds Fees—Photographs 5    
Register of Deed Fees—Recorded Documents (Deeds, 
 Mortgages, Land Contracts, Certified Survey Maps, etc.) 5    
Sheriff’s Department—Civil Process Fees 5    

Sheriff’s Department—Huber Prisoner Board, per Day 5    

Sheriff’s Department—Jail Room and Board, per Day 5    

Sheriff’s Department—Sheriff Sale Fee 5    

Class A Liquor License  31 16 6 

Class B Fermented Malt Beverage License  31 17 7 

Class A Fermented Malt Beverage License  30 17 6 

Cigarette and Tobacco Products Retailer License  29 18 8 

Temporary Class B Malt/Wine License—Picnic  29 15 4 

Class B Liquor License  28 17 7 

Dog License—Spayed or Neutered  27 16 8 

Dog License—Not Spayed or Neutered  27 16 8 

Class C Wine License  25 11 3 

Wholesaler’s Malt Beverage License  24 13 2 

Bartender Operator’s License—One Year  22 14 7 

Provisional Bartender Operator’s License  21 12 6 

Bicycle License  19 13  

Publication Fee  12 11 5 
 

Local governments 
impose over 500 

different types of fees. 
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Based on our survey results, 47.0 percent of the 249 communities 
responding to our survey, or 117 local governments, set a total of 
275 new fees from 2001 to 2003. These fees are listed in Appendix 4. 
There is no apparent pattern in the types of new fees, suggesting that 
local governments are looking broadly at the array of services they 
provide in order to identify new areas in which fees can be charged. 
As shown in Table 8, the most common new fees are impact fees, park 
and park shelter reservation fees, and boat launch fees. Additional 
fees include those for cellular tower licenses; pet shops, kennels, and 
grooming licenses; tree branch clipping; and holding a parade or a 
procession. 
 
 

 
Table 8 

 
Most Common New Fees Implemented from 2001 to 2003 

as Noted in Local Government Survey Responses 
 
 

Fee Type Counties Cities Villages Towns 

     
Daily Inmate Jail Fee for Room and Board 3    

First Day Inmate Jail Fee for Room and Board 2    

Cremation Fee 2    

Internet Access to Property Tax Information 2    

Nonmetallic Mining Fee 2    

Impact Fee  6 3  

Park/Park Shelter Reservation Fee  6   

Boat Launch Fee  5 2  

Stormwater Management Fee  5   

Sewer Connection Fee  4   

Weights and Measures License Fee  4   

Garbage and Recycling   2 2 

Development Fee   2  
 
 

 
 
Not only have local governments imposed new fees during the last 
three years, 38.2 percent of the 249 local governments responding to 
a survey question indicated they plan to set new fees within the next 
three years, as shown in Table 9. Appendix 5 lists the types of new 
fees communities are considering implementing. The most common 
include fees for stormwater utilities and for garbage and refuse 
collections, as well as impact fees. Moreover, several communities 
are considering weights and measures fees for the regulation of 
scales and the calibration of fuel pumps, and a fire protection or 
inspection fee. 

38.2 percent of 
respondents indicate 
they plan to set new  
fees within the next 

three years. 
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Table 9 

 
Considering New Fees within the Next Three Years 

 
 

Type of Local 
Government 

Plans to Set  
New Fees Percentage1 Undecided Percentage1 

No New Fees  
Anticipated Percentage1 

       
Counties 11 26.8% 5 12.2% 25 61.0% 

Cities 51 38.9 19 14.5 61 46.6 

Villages 23 54.8 2 4.8 17 40.4 

Towns 10 28.6 4 11.4 21 60.0 

Total 95 38.2 30 12.0 124 49.8 
 

1 Percentage of survey respondents. 
 
 

 
 
Our survey asked local governments to note any fees they 
considered different or unique. City of Green Bay staff indicated that 
individuals or groups that rent and pay a fee for the shelters at Bay 
Beach Amusement Park and wish to serve food and beverages are 
required to purchase these items from the city-run concessions. 
Barron, Brown, Grant, and Shawano counties indicated they charge 
for on-line access to property information. Other fees listed by local 
governments as different or unique include: 
 
 a fee for the salting of private streets; 

 
 an animal trapping fee; 

 
 a fee to register a dangerous dog or other vicious 

animal; and 
 

 a pet fancier license, typically issued to owners of 
more than two animals of the same species. 

 
While few local governments—12.4 percent of those responding to 
our survey—have ordinances that require a periodic review of user 
fees, the vast majority of survey respondents indicated that fees are 
reviewed annually. Table 10 shows that 158 local governments, or 
63.5 percent of respondents, review their fees on an annual basis to 
assess relevance and the amount charged. A review of user fees 
allows a local government to systematically evaluate the activities 
and services it provides and determine whether it wishes to 
continue the existing fee for these activities and services or to 
establish new fees.  

63.5 percent of survey 
respondents evaluate 
their user fees on an 

annual basis. 
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Table 10 

 
Frequency of Local Government Fee Review1 

 
 

Twice Yearly Annually Biennially Other Type of Local 
Government Number Percentage2 Number Percentage2 Number Percentage2 Number Percentage2 

         
Counties  0.0% 29 70.7% 1 2.4% 9 22.0% 

Cities  0.0 85 64.9 12 9.2 37 28.2 

Villages 1 2.4 29 69.0 4 9.5 5 11.9 

Towns  0.0 15 42.9 4 11.4 17 48.6 

Totals 1 0.4 158 63.5 21 8.4 683 27.3 
 

1 Respondents could check as many answers as applicable. 
2 Percentage of survey respondents. 
3 Most of the communities that gave a response of “other” also indicated that they review fees “as needed.” 

 
 

 
 
During our site visits to 24 communities, we learned that many 
consult with surrounding local governments to determine what fees 
are charged. Another way in which information is shared among 
local governments is through a municipal clerks’ network. 
Additionally, counties and municipalities can put their fee schedules 
on their Web sites, an action that provides information to residents 
and assists other communities seeking information about types of 
fees charged. 
 
Because the costs of providing services change, especially as salaries 
and other costs increase, it is a best practice for local governments to 
regularly review the fees they charge. Without a regular review, a 
community may not be meeting a goal of full cost recovery for 
particular services. Combining this review with the budget process 
allows local governments to better estimate revenue from the fees 
charged and to incorporate this estimate in overall budget 
development. 
 
$ Best Practice 
 
It is a best practice for local governments to regularly review the fees 
they charge. 
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Establishing Appropriate User Fee Amounts 

In most cases, local governments can impose fees at levels that 
reflect the cost of regulation. In some limited instances, however, 
state statutes establish minimum or maximum fee amounts, or a 
range of allowable fees. For example: 
 
" Section 765.15, Wis. Stats., provides that the 

county clerk shall receive a fee of $49.50 for each 
marriage license granted, of which $24.50 shall 
remain with the county and $25 shall be paid to 
the state treasury. This section also allows a 
county to increase the fee by any amount and to 
retain this extra amount. 
 

" Section 59.43(2), Wis. Stats., provides that general 
document recording fees in the office of the 
Register of Deeds shall be $11 for the first page 
and $2 for each additional page. 
 

" Section 66.0435(3), Wis. Stats., provides that a 
person licensed to operate and maintain a mobile 
home park in a municipality shall pay an annual 
license fee of not less than $25 nor more than $100 
for each 50 spaces, or fraction thereof. 
 

" Section 125.51(2)(d), Wis. Stats., provides that 
while the annual fee for a Class A license for retail 
sales of liquor shall be determined by the 
municipality’s governing body, the minimum fee 
is $50 and the maximum fee is $500. 

 
When a local government has discretion to set a fee amount, the 
amount can be determined in two ways: 
 
" full cost reimbursement: for example, 

communities can estimate the full cost of 
maintenance and upkeep of a golf course or a 
parking ramp or of issuing permits for a garage 
sale or a block party, and set fees based on those 
costs; or 
 

" partial cost reimbursement: communities can 
decide that activities and services, such as the use 
of municipal swimming pools, soccer and 
ballpark fields, or cross-country ski trails should 
be, in part, supported by the local government’s 
general fund, but that users of these activities or 

Some user fee amounts 
are set by state statutes. 

A local government has 
discretion to set some 

user fee amounts at 
different levels. 
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services should also pay a charge. Communities 
then set the fee at a level lower than the full cost. 
The City of Green Bay has, for example, decided 
to charge $35 for a yard waste sticker, although 
staff estimate that it costs $60 to issue the sticker 
and pick up the waste. 

 
Courts have stated that fee amounts must bear a reasonable 
relationship to the expenses incurred by the local government for 
regulating an activity or service. For example, a license or permit fee 
enacted by a county or municipality “may not unreasonably exceed 
the cost of administration.” Sluggy’s Lake Front Inn, Inc. v. Town of 
Delavan (Ct. of Appeals, 1985). In City of Milwaukee v. Milwaukee 
Suburban Transport Corporation, (1959), the court held that “fees 
should bear a relation to … the expenses suffered and the services 
rendered.” In addition, 2003 Wisconsin Act 134 provides that fees 
imposed by a county or municipality “shall bear a reasonable 
relationship to the service for which the fee is imposed.” 
 
Our review of fee schedules indicates that local governments charge 
a wide range of fee amounts for similar services. As noted, 
Appendix 3 provides information on the fee amounts noted on local 
government fee schedules. Table 11 shows the range of fee amounts 
for the most common services. For the same type of fee, these 
amounts vary widely within both a single type of local government 
and among the different types of local governments. For example: 
 
" fees for maps range from $0.25 to $35 for cities; 

$0.25 to $50 for counties; $1 to $15 for villages; 
and $2 to $20 for towns; 
 

" fees for a Class B liquor license, which statutes 
allow to be as low as $50 and as high as $500, 
range from $75 to $500 for towns; $150 to $500 for 
villages; and $175 to $500 for cities; and 
 

" photocopy fees for government documents range 
from $0.10 to $0.25 per page within towns; $0.10 
to $2 within cities; $0.15 to $4 within counties; and 
$0.25 to $0.50 within villages. 

 

A user fee amount may 
not unreasonably exceed 

the cost of a service 
 or activity. 

There is a wide range 
 of fee amounts for 

similar services. 
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Table 11 

 
Most Common Fee Types and Fee Amount Ranges 

as Noted in Local Government Fee Schedules 
 
 

Fee Type Fee Amount Range 

  
Photocopies $0.10-$4 

Maps $0.25-$50 or varies 

Medical Examiner/Coroner Fees—Cremation $50-$150 

Medical Examiner/Coroner Fees—Disinterment $25-$75 

Vital Records—Death Certificate $7-$50 

Vital Records—Marriage License $45-$90 

Not-Sufficient-Funds Check Charges $10-$40 

Register of Deeds Fees—Photographs $0.50-$10 

Register of Deed Fees—Recorded Documents (Deeds, Mortgages,  
 Land Contracts, Certified Survey Maps, etc.) $4-$50 

Sheriff’s Department—Civil Process Fees $20-$47 or varies 

Sheriff’s Department—Huber Prisoner Board, per Day $12.50-$22 

Sheriff’s Department—Jail Room and Board, per Day $10-$75 

Sheriff’s Department—Sheriff Sale Fee $75-$150 

Cigarette and Tobacco Products Retailer License $5-$100 

Class A Liquor License $75-$500 

Class A Fermented Malt Beverage License $10-$350 

Class B Liquor License $75-$500 

Class B Fermented Malt Beverage License $25-$100 

Temporary Class B Malt/Wine License—Picnic $5-$10 

Class C Wine License $25-$100 

Wholesaler’s Malt Beverage License $10-$25 

Bartender Operator’s License—One Year $10-$50 

Provisional Bartender Operator’s License $3-$15 

Dog License—Spayed or Neutered $3-$15 

Dog License—Not Spayed or Neutered $8-$30 

Bicycle License1 $1-$10 

Publication Fee $5-$30 or cost 

 
1 Bicycle licenses may be issued for one or several years, or for the lifetime of the bicycle. 
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Some local governments charge residents different fee amounts than 
they charge nonresidents for boat launch, golf course, swimming 
pool, and baseball and softball league, and similar fees. They may 
also charge nonprofit and for-profit organizations different amounts 
for park shelter rental fees and civic or community center fees. 
 
Forty local governments, or 16.1 percent of those responding to our 
survey, indicated that they had increased user fee revenue in 2002. 
Many of the local governments attributed the revenue increase to an 
increase in development, which led to increases in revenue from 
both building permits and impact fees. Others indicated that 
Register of Deeds’ filing fee revenue increased because homeowners 
were refinancing their homes as a result of low mortgage interest 
rates. 
 
A total of 76 local governments responding to our survey, or 
30.5 percent, indicated they increased some fee amounts by 
30 percent or more from 2001 to 2003. Appendix 6 shows the types 
of fees local governments increased by 30 percent or more. As 
shown in Table 12, the most common fee increases were for building 
and zoning permits.  
 
 

 
Table 12 

 
Most Common Fees Increased by 30 Percent or More from 2001 to 20031 

 
 

Fee Type 
Number of Local Governments Increasing 

Fee Amounts 

  
Building and Zoning Permits 19 

Cigarette and Tobacco Products Retailer License 17 

Liquor Licenses 17 

Not-Sufficient-Funds Check Charges 3 

 
1 Information based on 76 survey responses. 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

30.5 percent of 
respondents indicated 
they increased fees by 
30 percent or more in 

recent years. 
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When local governments seek to set appropriate user fee amounts, it 
is important to first determine the direct and indirect costs 
associated with providing a service. In calculating direct costs, local 
governments should include costs for staff salaries and benefits, 
supplies and materials, capital facilities and equipment, depreciation 
in equipment value, and any other costs attributable to the 
production and delivery of a service. Equipment and facility costs 
may include cash purchases, debt service costs, or maintenance 
costs. Indirect costs support the efforts of providing services but 
cannot be attributed to the provision of a particular service. For 
example, indirect costs may include a portion of management and 
administrative costs for personnel to administer or provide services. 
 
$ Best Practice 
 
It is a best practice for local governments to determine the direct 
and indirect costs associated with providing a service. 
 
Only when the full costs of providing a service are calculated can a 
local government determine whether it wishes to support that 
service in full, or in part, with fees. Because the costs of providing a 
service may vary from year to year, user fee levels should be 
reviewed annually and, if needed, revised to reflect changes in costs. 
If the cost of providing a service increases during the year but the 
fee is not adjusted, the cost of providing this service is shifted to the 
property tax or to another revenue source. Moreover, if necessary 
fee increases are not made gradually, larger one-time increases may 
eventually be needed. 
 
 

Building Permits 

Because charging fees for building permits is relatively common, we 
analyzed building permit fees to determine the range of approaches 
used by local governments, as well as the amounts charged. 
Building permit revenue totaled $51.2 million of all user fee revenue 
for local governments in 2001, or 1.9 percent, including: 
 
" 0.5 percent of total user fee revenue for counties; 

 
" 2.2 percent for cities; 

 
" 3.4 percent for villages; and 

 
" 12.0 percent for towns. 
 

Determining full costs 
helps a local government 

appropriately set  
user fees. 
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Our analysis of building permit fee schedules showed that, as with 
other user fees, there are several different types of permits issued, 
and fees are set at various levels. 
 
Section 101.65, Wis. Stats., provides that, with certain exemptions for 
municipalities with populations of 2,500 or less, counties and 
municipalities may, by ordinance, establish and collect fees to defray 
the cost of regulating construction and inspection of new one- and 
two-family dwellings. There are no required building permit types 
prescribed by state statutes, nor are there any specific fee amounts. 
Local governments have, therefore, broad authority to establish both 
the type of building permits they issue and the amounts. For 
example, some local governments issue a single building permit that 
allows for both the construction of a building and for the electrical, 
plumbing, heating, ventilation, and air conditioning work 
completed within it. Other local governments issue separate permits 
for each of these activities. Some communities charge a separate 
sanitary sewer connection permit fee, while others do not. In 
addition, while some building permit fees are based on square 
footage, others are based on flat rates and still others on the value of 
the new construction. 
 
We compared the cost of building permits required to construct a 
new single-family home in 11 communities we visited that provided 
this information. Table 13 shows building permit fees for the 
average new home in Wisconsin, based on size (2,009 square feet) 
and value ($170,000) information reported by the Wisconsin 
Department of Commerce for fiscal year 2002-03. These fees ranged 
from $494 to $4,714 for the five cities and six villages we visited. 
Most often, the largest differences resulted from varying sewer 
connection fees, which represented 73.2 percent of the Village of 
Hartland’s and 92.4 percent of the Village of Egg Harbor’s building 
permit fees. 
 

Local governments 
establish a variety of 

types of building 
permits and fee 

amounts. 

Building permit fees in 
our sample ranged from 

$494 to $4,714. 
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Table 13 

 
Cost of Required Building Permits to Construct 

an Average-Sized, Single-Family Home in Wisconsin 
2003 

 
 

Community Fee Amount 

  
Cities  

Wisconsin Dells $2,560 

Delafield 928 

Madison 707 

Green Bay 560 

Algoma 494 

  

Average City Fee $1,050 

  

Villages  

Hartland $4,714 

Egg Harbor 4,659 

Random Lake 2,136 

Butler 1,199 

Rosendale 1,150 

Newburg 818 

  

Average Village Fee $2,446 
 
 

 
 
While both the single-permit approach and the multiple-permit 
approach have advantages and disadvantages in terms of 
administrative ease, it is necessary in all cases for a local government 
to determine the actual costs of regulating and inspecting 
construction projects. The local government must then determine 
whether to charge the full cost or less than full cost. A periodic 
analysis of these costs would allow a community to determine 
whether it is taking into account any changes to the types of costs it 
incurs, as well as whether the fee amount is appropriate. 
 
$ Best Practice 
 
It is a best practice for local governments to periodically review 
actual costs for the regulation and inspection of construction, and 
whether to charge the full cost or less than full cost for this service. 
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Development Fees and Impact Fees 

When land is developed for residential or other purposes, there is 
typically a need for transportation, water, sewage, stormwater, 
police, and fire facilities, as well as for parks and other public 
buildings. Local governments typically charge fees to developers to 
help pay for such infrastructure costs. Two types of fees can be 
levied: development fees and impact fees. While both fees are 
similar in intent, the use of impact fees is restricted by a number of 
statutory requirements. In contrast, local governments have broad 
authority to impose development fees. These fees can be imposed to 
pay for the construction of new facilities in exchange for land 
development permits. In some cases, development fees can also 
consist of land set aside by the developer in new subdivisions for 
public purposes. Development fees and land set asides have been 
upheld by courts as a “reasonable exercise of police power” in Black 
v. City of Waukesha, (1985 Ct. of Appeals). 
 
1993 Wisconsin Act 305 created impact fees, which are one-time 
payments by property developers for municipal improvements 
necessitated by new development. Impact fees are defined in 
s. 66.0617(1)(c), Wis. Stats., as “cash contributions, contributions of 
land or interests in land or other items of value that are imposed on 
a developer.” In exchange for local government approval to develop 
land, developers agree to pay for all or part of the capital costs 
needed by and attributable to the new development, and that are 
based on the size or magnitude of the development being proposed. 
The types of facilities that can be funded with these fees are limited 
by statutes to: 
 
" traffic signals, highways, and certain other 

municipal transportation facilities; 
 

" sewage and stormwater treatment facilities; 
 

" water pumping, storing, and distribution 
facilities; 
 

" solid waste and recycling facilities; 
 

" fire protection and law enforcement facilities; 
 

" emergency medical facilities; 
 

" park, playground, and other recreational facilities; 
and 
 

" libraries. 

Local governments can 
require developers to 

pay fees or set aside land 
for public purposes. 

Impact fees provide  
local governments with 

money or land for  
public facilities. 
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Statutes prohibit counties, but not other local governments, from 
imposing impact fees to recover costs related to transportation 
projects. 
 
Statutes further provide that impact fees must meet several 
standards, including that they: 
 
" bear a rational relationship to the need for new, 

expanded, or improved public facilities required 
to serve land development; 
 

" not exceed the proportionate share of the capital 
costs required to serve land development; and 
 

" be based upon actual capital costs or reasonable 
estimates of capital costs for new, expanded, or 
improved public facilities. 

 
The limited use of impact fees by local governments responding to 
our survey may suggest that development fees—rather than impact 
fees—are being used to obtain land or funds for new public facilities. 
As shown in Table 14, 49 communities, or 19.7 percent of all 
communities that responded to our survey, indicated they impose 
impact fees. No counties indicated they impose an impact fee, but 
that is not unexpected since counties are not typically responsible 
for the activities for which impact fees can be imposed. Three cities, 
four villages, and two towns that responded to our survey indicated 
that they were considering imposing impact fees. 
 
 

 
Table 14 

 
Wisconsin Counties and Municipalities with Impact Fees 

2003 
 
 

Type of Local Government Impose Impact Fees Respondents1
 

   
Counties 0 0.0% 

Cities 23 17.6 

Villages 15 35.7 

Towns 11 31.4 

Total 49 19.7 
 

1 Percentage of survey respondents. 
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As shown in Table 15, the most common uses of impact fees were 
for parks and recreational facilities, and for sewage, storm, and 
surface water facilities. 
 
 

 
Table 15 

 
Number of Local Governments Implementing Impact Fees1 

 
 

Type of Impact Fee Cities Villages Towns Total 

     
Parks and Recreational Facilities 12 11 7 30 

Sewage, Storm, and Surface Water Facilities 7 8 2 17 

Library Facilities 4 6  10 

Fire Protection 3 4 2 9 

Law Enforcement Facilities 4 3 2 9 

Public Buildings, Streets, Public Works 1 2 1 4 

Transportation 1  2 3 

Recycling Facilities 1   1 

 
1 Based on responses to our survey. 
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Our survey of county and municipal governments also inquired 
about how fee payments are processed and revenue is managed. 
While many respondents identified common methods, several 
identified practices and techniques they considered innovative. We 
cite best practices that could help local governments ensure that 
revenue is properly processed and managed. 
 
 

Fee Payment Processes 

As shown in Table 16, nearly all of the local governments that 
responded to our survey offer cash and check payment options. In-
person and on-line credit card purchases and electronic fund 
transfers are payment methods readily available for non-
governmental transactions, but fewer than half of our survey 
respondents offered these payment options. Some communities that 
offer electronic payment options restrict them to a single type of fee. 
For example, the City of Port Washington and the Village of Cross 
Plains allow only sewer and water bills to be paid on-line. While a 
number of respondents indicated they restrict credit card payments 
to a single or only a few services, the variety of fees that were 
identified as paid by credit card was broad. These fees included 
taxes, municipal court fees, traffic citations and other police 
department charges, fees for recreational and park programs, 
marina-related expenses, and airport fuel sales. 
 

Administration of User Fees # 

Cash and check 
payments are 

 the most common 
 fee payment options. 

 Fee Payment Processes

 Fee Revenue Management
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Table 16 

 
Fee Payment Options Offered by Local Governments1 

 
 

Counties Cities Villages Towns 

Payment Type Number Percentage2 Number Percentage2 Number Percentage2 Number Percentage2 

         
Cash 41 100.0% 130 99.2% 42 100.0% 34 97.1% 

Check 41 100.0 131 100.0 41 97.6 35 100.0 

Credit Card 17 41.5 25 19.1 8 19.0 2 5.7 
Electronic Fund 
 Transfers 8 19.5 14 10.7 2 4.8 1 2.9 

On-line Payments 5 12.2 6 4.6 4 9.5 2 5.7 

 
1 Respondents could check as many answers as applicable. 
2 Percentage of survey respondents. 

 
 
 
Offering a variety of payment options provides flexibility and 
convenience to payers of user fees and may increase a local 
government’s ability to collect revenue. In our 2001 best practices 
review of local e-government services, we noted that in some 
communities, the availability of on-line payment capability resulted 
in payments the community did not expect to receive. For example, 
City of Madison officials pointed out that the ability to pay parking 
tickets on-line resulted in increased collections from individuals 
who lived outside the city. 
 
$ Best Practice 
 
It is a best practice to make a variety of payment options available to 
users. 
 
A possible barrier for local governments to offer a credit card 
payment option is the fees charged by credit card companies. As 
shown in Table 17, 32 of the 52 local governments that indicated that 
they accept credit card payments, or 61.5 percent, said they absorb 
the credit card fees. The remaining 20 local governments, or 
38.5 percent, said the individual or business pays the credit card fee. 
 

Offering a variety of 
payment options may 
increase fee payments 

received. 

61.5 percent of  
local governments that 

accept credit card 
payments also pay the 

credit card fee. 
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Table 17 

 
Entity Paying Credit Card Fee 

 
 

Accepts Payment by 
Credit Card 

Local Government Pays 
the Credit Card Fee 

Individual/Business Pays 
the Credit Card Fee 

 
Type of Local 
Government Number Number Percentage1 Number Percentage1 
      
Counties 17 7 41.2% 10 58.8% 

Cities 25 20 80.0 5 20.0 

Villages 8 4 50.0 4 50.0 

Towns 2 1 50.0 1 50.0 

Total 52 32 61.5 20 38.5 
 

1 Percentage of survey respondents that accept credit cards. 
 
 

 
 
Another way in which local governments can offer a credit card 
payment option is by working with a national vendor. As noted in 
our 2001 best practices review of e-government services, local 
governments contracted with at least one national vendor to accept 
credit card payments for property taxes. A processing fee, which 
also includes a credit card fee, is added to the user fee amount. 
Several local governments in Wisconsin have contracted with the 
vendor to process payments for several types of fees, including 
recreation fees, traffic citations, public library fees and fines, and 
fees for large appliance pick-up. 
 
As shown in Table 18, the credit card fees local governments pay to 
credit card companies vary widely, from 1.0 percent to 3.9 percent. 
The variation demonstrates that, for the same credit card, some local 
governments have been able to negotiate lower rates than others 
have. In addition, three cities indicated some variation from these 
percentage rates: 
 
" the City of Milwaukee pays $0.18 per transaction, 

regardless of the dollar value of the transaction; 
 

" the City of Watertown pays 1.6 percent of the 
value of the transaction plus $0.10 per transaction 
for MasterCard™ payments, and 1.5 percent of 
the value plus $0.12 per transaction for Visa™ 
payments; and 
 

Local governments can 
work with national 

vendors to offer the 
option of payment by 

credit card. 

Some local governments 
have successfully 

negotiated low credit 
card fees. 
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" the City of Madison pays 2.04 percent of the value 
plus $0.21 per transaction for both MasterCard™ 
and Visa™ if the payment is made on-line, and 
1.57 percent of the value plus $0.21 per 
transaction for MasterCard™ and Visa™ if a card 
is physically present when the payment is made. 

 
$ Best Practice 
 
It is a best practice for local governments to negotiate the lowest 
possible service charges with credit card companies. 
 
City of Madison officials told us that credit card companies believe 
payments made in person, where the credit card is physically 
presented to a local government employee, are more secure than 
those made on-line. This could account for some of the difference in 
percentages for different payment types. 
 
 

 
Table 18 

 
Percentage Fee Local Governments Pay to Credit Card Companies 

 
 

 MasterCard™ Visa™ American Express™ Discover Card™ 

     

Fee Range 1.0% to 3.9% 1.43% to 3.9% 2.25% to 3.0% 1.6% to 3.0% 
 
 

 
 

Fee Revenue Management 

Fee revenue management is important to ensure that funds from 
user fees are accounted for properly. Therefore, in addition to 
determining how fees are set and payments are made, we asked 
local governments about who collects fees, the frequency of 
deposits, and how security issues are addressed when handling fees. 
We also asked local governments to identify revenue management 
practices they consider to be innovative or unique. 
 
 
Collection Practices 
 
As shown in Table 19, while most local governments handle the 
collection of all fee revenue themselves, 16.9 percent of those 
communities responding to our survey said that they also contract 
with service providers to collect and record some payments. A 
service provider may be a local bank that collects and processes a 

16.9 percent of 
respondents contract 

with a service provider 
to collect and record 

some user fee payments. 
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local government’s utility payments; the Automated Clearing House 
(ACH) network, which is an electronic funds transfer system; or a 
local utility that collects all recycling, garbage, and landfill fees on 
behalf of the local government. 
 
 

 
Table 19 

 
Collector and Recorder of User Fee Payments1 

 
 

Local Government Only 
Both Local Government 

and Service Provider Type of Local 
Government Number Percentage2 Number Percentage2 

     
Counties 37 90.2% 4 9.8% 

Cities 108 82.4 23 17.6 

Villages 31 73.8 11 26.2 

Towns 31 88.6 4 11.4 

Total 207 83.1 42 16.9 
 

1 Respondents could check as many answers as applicable, and no local government  
uses a service provider exclusively to collect and record user fee payments. 

2 Percentage of survey respondents. 
 
 

 
 
Of the 42 local governments that indicated they contract with a 
private-sector service provider, 76.2 percent, or 32 local 
governments, indicated that their service provider collects and 
records check payments. In addition, service providers collect and 
record cash payments for 25 local governments, credit card 
payments for 11 local governments, and on-line payments for 8 local 
governments. Our survey allowed local governments to choose 
more than one payment type. 
 
When asked to estimate the cost savings they incurred in 2002 as a 
result of using a service provider, 11 local governments said that 
although they believed there were cost savings, the amount could 
not be estimated. Six other local governments estimated their cost 
savings ranged from $2,000 to $36,000, as shown in Table 20. Most of 
the cost savings resulted from the local government’s ability to 
reduce staff positions for handling payments. 
 

Six local governments 
estimate they saved 
between $2,000 and 

$36,000 by working with 
service providers. 
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Table 20 

 
Estimated Cost Savings through the Use of a Service Provider in 20021 

 
 

Cities Cost Savings Villages Cost Savings 
    

Delafield $5,000-$15,000 Grafton $2,000 

Janesville 8,000 Greendale 2,500 

Waukesha 15,000   

Wausau 36,000   
 

1 A number of survey respondents indicated cost savings exist but could not be estimated. 
 
 

 
 
Three cities—Delafield, Janesville, and Waukesha—estimated that in 
2002, their cost savings from using a service provider to handle 
ambulance billing services ranged from $5,000 to $15,000. Again, the 
estimates were based on a decrease in city staff time to handle the 
billing.  
 
The Village of Grafton works with area banks to collect first 
installments of tax payments. The village finance director estimated 
that in 2002, the village saved $2,000 as a result. The estimate is 
based on the value of time village staff would have needed to 
process the payments. 
 
The City of Wausau has a lock box in a retail establishment for 
utility payments. This resulted in an estimated savings to the city of 
$36,000 in 2002. The city finance director said that when the lock box 
system was implemented, two positions—one seasonal and one full-
time—were eliminated. Similarly, the Village of Greendale used a 
bank lock box for tax payments and estimated its 2002 cost savings 
to be $2,500. After the implementation of the lock box system, less 
local government staff time was needed to process payments. 
 
 
Depositing Payments 
 
Depositing user fee revenue on a daily basis is one way to ensure 
proper handling of fee collections, so that checks are not misplaced 
and cash is not lost or stolen. In addition, frequent deposits can 
increase the amount of interest earned in a local government’s 
account. As shown in Table 21, the majority of survey respondents, 
63.1 percent, deposit their fee payments on a daily basis. 
 

63.1 percent of local 
governments deposit 

user fee payments on a 
daily basis. 
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Table 21 

 
Frequency of Fee Payment Deposits1 

 
 

Daily Weekly Monthly Other Type of Local 
Government Number Percentage2 Number Percentage2 Number Percentage2 Number Percentage2 

         
Counties 30 73.2% 15 36.6% 4 9.8% 2 4.9% 

Cities 88 67.2 33 25.2 2 1.5 15 11.5 

Villages 32 76.2 9 21.4 0 0.0 5 11.9 

Towns 7 20.0 19 54.3 0 0.0 9 25.7 

Total 157 63.1 76 30.5 6 2.4 31 12.4 
 

1 Respondents could check as many answers as applicable. 
2 Percentage of survey respondents. 

 
 
 
On the other hand, 30.5 percent of respondents indicated that fee 
payments are deposited weekly, and 2.4 percent indicated fee 
payments are deposited monthly. However, since respondents could 
check all applicable categories, some respondents who indicated 
they deposit fees on a weekly or monthly basis may also deposit fees 
on a daily basis. This is especially understandable for those local 
governments in which multiple units or departments are 
independently receiving fees. However, even though there may be 
adequate rationale in some cases for deposits to be made with 
varying frequencies, when practical, it is a best practice to deposit 
fee payments on a daily basis to ensure the security of the fees 
collected, as well as to maximize interest earnings. 
 
$ Best Practice 
 
To ensure the security of fees collected and to maximize interest 
earnings, it is a best practice to deposit fee payments on a daily basis 
when practical. 
 
 
Cash Payment Security 
 
As shown in Table 22, most communities have developed methods 
to ensure the secure handling of cash payments. For example, 
85.9 percent of survey respondents developed adequate methods for 
issuing receipts. These include the use of cash registers, 
computerized receipting, meters, or pre-numbered cash receipt 
forms. Fewer communities have developed adequate separation of 
duties and procedures. Just over one-half (53.0 percent) of the local 

Most local governments 
have developed security 

measures for cash 
payments. 
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governments responding to our survey indicated that someone 
other than the cashier reconciles the cash register tape, meter tape, 
or the cash receipt forms. In order to ensure accuracy and 
accountability in the receipt of cash payments for user fees, local 
governments should maintain a separation of duties that involves at 
least two different individuals in the collection and receipting of 
cash. 
 
 

 
Table 22 

 
Methods Used to Ensure Proper Collection and Recording of User Fee Payments1 

 
 

Payments Controlled by 
Registers, Meters, Etc. 

Someone Other than 
Cashier Reconciles Other Type of Local 

Government Number Percentage2 Number Percentage2 Number Percentage2 

       
Counties 33 80.5% 25 61.0% 3 7.3% 

Cities 114 87.0 63 48.1 8 6.1 

Villages 38 90.5 28 66.7 3 7.1 

Towns 29 82.9 16 45.7 4 11.4 

Total 214 85.9 132 53.0 18 7.2 

 
1 Respondents could check as many answers as applicable. 
2 Percentage of survey respondents. 

 
 

 
 
Several communities commented that they have implemented 
additional controls for the oversight of cash fee payments: 
 
" When the City of West Bend receives cash 

payments, at least two different people, such as a 
teller and an account supervisor, will count and 
verify the payments before a deposit is authorized 
by the finance department. 
 

" The Town of Onalaska ensures that its cash fee 
payments are collected and processed properly by 
entering cash payments into a commercially 
available off-the-shelf software program that was 
designed to simplify the collection and recording 
of cash, as well as to provide a transaction history  
and audit trail. A different town employee then 
verifies the documentation and the amount, and 
makes the deposit. 
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" The City of Janesville conducts periodic audits of 
all fee payments. 
 

" The villages of Egg Harbor and West Salem 
conduct annual audits of all fee payments. 

 
$ Best Practice 
 
It is a best practice for local governments to develop measures to 
ensure the secure handling of cash payments and maintain 
separation of duties. 
 
 
Check Payment Security 
 
All local governments responding to our survey indicated that some 
sort of control is in place for fee payments made by check. As shown 
in Table 23, 71.5 percent of survey respondents specified that they 
immediately and restrictively endorse checks, and 87.1 percent said 
that checks are made payable to the local unit of government, not to 
cash. Seven communities reported additional controls for ensuring 
security in handling payments made by check. For example, Clark 
County requires that a check be written for the exact amount, and 
the City of Merrill receipts all of its check payments through an 
accounting system/cash register. 
 
 

 
Table 23 

 
Local Government Controls for Payments by Check1 

 
 

Check Immediately 
Restrictively Endorsed 

Check Written Out to 
Local Governmental Unit Other Type of Local 

Government Number Percentage2 Number Percentage2 Number Percentage2

       
Counties 35 85.4% 32 78.0% 2 4.9% 

Cities 99 75.6 114 87.0 4 3.1 

Villages 29 69.0 39 92.9 1 2.4 

Towns 15 42.9 32 91.4 0 0.0 

Total 178 71.5 217 87.1 7 2.8 
 

1 Respondents could check as many answers as applicable. 
2 Percentage of survey respondents. 

 
 

 
 

A large majority of local 
governments have 

adopted security 
measures for check 

payments. 
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Additional Fee Collection or Management Practices 
 
Finally, 17 counties and municipalities responding to our survey 
believe they have unique, innovative, or particularly effective fee 
collection or management practices. For example: 
 
� The City of Sun Prairie uses cash register software that links to 

the city’s financial software. The system saves about a half-hour 
of time per day for the account clerk. 
 

� The Village of Hartland prints a scannable barcode on its utility 
and tax bills to reduce data entry errors, create a clean record of 
transactions, and save staff time that had been spent entering 
data into a computer system. 
 

� The City of Wisconsin Dells has provided residents with a 
nighttime depository box so that payments can be made at any 
time. 
 

� Town of Manitowoc staff use an off-the-shelf accounting 
software program that runs on a personal computer, helps to 
organize financial information, and can be used to create 
automated cash sales receipts; invoices; and bill-paying, 
inventory, and payroll systems reports. 

 
Appendix 7 includes other examples from counties and 
municipalities that responded to our survey and indicated they had 
unique, innovative, or particularly effective fee collection or 
management practices in place. 
 
 

� � � �

Some local governments 
have noted unique or 

innovative fee collection or 
management practices. 
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Best Practices Local Government Advisory Council 

 
 
Daniel Elsass, Local Government Center 
 University of Wisconsin-Extension 
 (Originally appointed as City Administrator, City of Baraboo) 
 
Edward Huck, Executive Director 
 Wisconsin Alliance of Cities 
 
Craig Knutson, County Administrator 
 Rock County 
 
Mort McBain, County Administrator 
 Marathon County 
 
Vacant 
 Appointee of Wisconsin Towns Association 
 





Appendix 2 
 

Court Cases and Citations 
 
 
State ex rel. Attorney General v. Wisconsin Constructors (1936), 222 Wis. 279, 289; 268 N.W. 238, 241 
 
State ex rel. Thomson v. Giessel (1953), 265 Wis. 207, 213; 60 N.W. 2d 763, 766 
 
City of Milwaukee v. Milwaukee Suburban Transport Corporation, (1959) 6 Wis. 2d 299, 308; 96 
N.W. 2d 584, 590 
 
Plymouth v. Elsner (1965), 28 Wis. 2d 102, 106; 135 N.W. 2d 799, 801 
 
Milwaukee v. Hoffmann (1965), 29 Wis. 2d 193, 199; 138 N.W. 2d 223, 226 
 
Sluggy’s Lake Front Inn, Inc. v. Town of Delavan (Ct. of Appeals, 1985), 125 Wis. 2d 199, 201; 372 
N.W. 2d 174, 175 
 
Black v. City of Waukesha, (1985 Ct. of Appeals), 125 Wis. 2d 254, 255; 371 N.W. 2d 389, 390  
 
 
 
 
 





Appendix 3 
 

Examples of Fees Assessed by Various Local Governments 
 
 
We received a total of 91 fee schedules, listing over 500 different fees, from 14 counties, 40 cities, 
24 villages, and 13 towns. The data in this appendix include at least one response from each of the 
local governments listed below. However, no local government assessed every fee or fee type. 
 
When more than one local government reported a fee, this appendix either lists each individual fee 
that was reported, or shows the amounts as a range. 
 

 Individual fees in each listing are separated by semicolons(;). For example: 
$0.08/gallon; cost + $0.20 

 
 Ranges appear as follows:  

$1.25-$2.50 
 

In instances where only one fee amount is listed, either only one local government responded, or 
several local governments reported the same amount. 
 
Statutes limit the fee amounts that can be assessed for some types of fees. They may set minimum 
or maximum fee amounts, or both minimum and maximum fee amounts may be limited by 
statutes. Fee amounts that are limited by statutes are shaded in this appendix. 
 
While user fees are generally payments received from individuals for a specific service, in some 
cases they may include payments from a third party payer on behalf of the individual receiving the 
services, such as Medicare payments for a nursing home resident. 
 
 
Local Governments that Provided Fee Schedules 

Counties: 
 Barron, Brown, Columbia, Dunn, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Manitowoc, Milwaukee, 
 Outagamie, Racine, Rock, Shawano, Sheboygan, Walworth 
 
Cities: 
 Antigo, Appleton, Augusta, Baraboo, Beaver Dam, Boscobel, Brodhead, Brookfield, 
 Burlington, Cedarburg, Cornell, Delafield, Edgerton, Fennimore, Fitchburg, Fort Atkinson, 
 Green Bay, Juneau, Ladysmith, Lake Mills, Lodi, Loyal, Madison, Mayville, Menomonie, 
 Milwaukee, New Richmond, Oak Creek, Omro, Oshkosh, Prescott, Rice Lake, Ripon, 
 River Falls, Seymour, Sheboygan Falls, Wauwatosa, West Allis, Whitewater, Wisconsin Dells 
 
Villages: 
 Allouez, Butler, Egg Harbor, Ellsworth, Elm Grove, Grafton, Hales Corners, Hartland, 
 Holmen, Marshall, Menomonee Falls, Mukwonago, Newburg, Pewaukee, Prairie du Sac, 
 Random Lake, Rosendale, Rothschild, Saukville, Shorewood, Slinger, Union Grove, 
 Waunakee, Whitefish Bay 
 
Towns: 
 Beloit, Burlington, Dunn, Grand Chute, Harrison, Menasha, Mount Pleasant, Onalaska, 
 Richfield, Summit, Vernon, Washington, Waukesha 



Fee Type
Amounts Assessed by 

Counties
Amounts Assessed by 

Cities
Amounts Assessed by 

Villages
Amounts Assessed by 

Towns

Access to public records - cost of locating records
$10; by hourly rate+30%;

actual cost
Adult employees $40-$50 $50
Adult entertainment/adult-oriented establishment: $250-$15,000 $250-$600 $250
  Renewal $1,000
  Permit fee $50
  Transfer fee $100
Adult entertainment - Escort service $100-$1,600
  Renewal $1,000
Adult entertainment - Exotic dance studio $1,600
  Renewal $1,000
Adult entertainment - Sexually oriented 
  business permit $500
Adult entertainers $250-$500
Air and subterranean space $150
Airports:

  Advertising space, per square foot $3.97-$4.65
  Annual land lease, per sq. ft. $0.10
  Fuel flowage (gas charge) $0.08/gallon; cost+$0.20 $0.05
  Fuel sales 10 percent gross
  Hangar rent, per month: $169-$207 $30-$32
    Executive hangar rent, per month $62
  Landing fee: varies
    Annual 80 percent gross
    Per day, blimp $20.75
    Per landing, minimum $7.75
    Per 1,000 lb. $0.8405-$1.0506
  Meeting room rental, 1/2 day $25
  Mobile home rent, per month $275
  Parking:
    Long-term daily maximum $5.25
    Long-term weekly maximum $27
    Short-term daily maximum $8.50
  Tie-downs:

Aircraft overnight parking (tie-down), per night $3
    Single engine, daily $6
    Single engine, monthly $60
    Twin engine, daily $10
    Twin engine, monthly $100
  Towing cost
Alarm installers $25

 3-2



Fee Type
Amounts Assessed by 

Counties
Amounts Assessed by 

Cities
Amounts Assessed by 

Villages
Amounts Assessed by 

Towns

Alarm system permit, private/commercial $15 $10-$60 $10-$65 $25
Amusement center/arcade license: $10-$300 $20-$500
  Fee per day or each additional day $5
  Transfer fee $25
Amusement device license, per device: $5-$30 $10-$50 $20
  Minimum fee $25
  Sidewalk coin-operated vending machines $25
Amusement distributor $400
Amusement park license $50 $250
Amusements and shows, per day $50
Animals

  Animal trapping:
    Disposal fee, per animal $15
    Traps on loan, per trap $15
  Cat license:
    Spayed or neutered $2-$15 $4-$10 $7
    Unneutered or unspayed $5-$20 $9-$30 $12
  Dangerous dog/vicious animal registration $50 $15
  Dog adoption $10
  Dog license:
    Duplicate license $0.50-$2
    Extra pet $10
    Spayed or neutered $3-$15 $4-$15 $3-$10
    Unneutered or unspayed $8-$20 $9-$30 $8-$20
  Kennel license: $35-$450 $30-$500 $35-$100
    Additional fee for each dog over 12 $3-$20 $3-$10 $3
  Pet exercise area $2
  Pet fancier $10-$20 $10
  Pet shop $50
  Saddle horse license: $75
    Per horse $10
  Vietnamese potbellied pig license $10-$20
Animal warden inspection $40
Arcade operator $27
Auctions and flea markets $25-$150
Awnings, canopies, marquee inspection $25
Bandshell rental (6 hours):

  Backstage and dressing rooms $400
  Stage $400
Barricade rental, per day, per barricade $1
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Fee Type
Amounts Assessed by 

Counties
Amounts Assessed by 

Cities
Amounts Assessed by 

Villages
Amounts Assessed by 

Towns

Basketball hoop permits $30
Beaches:

  Daily - 6-12 years of age $1
  Daily - 12 years and over, residents $2
  Daily - 12 years and over, nonresidents $3
  Season pass - residents, single $15
  Season pass - residents, family $20
  Season pass - nonresidents, single $25
  Season pass - nonresidents, family $30
Bed and Breakfast, local fee $50
Bicycle license: $1-$8 $1-$10
  Replacement of lost bicycle registration $0.50-$1 $0.50-$1
Billiard hall license $25-$100
Block party permit $25
Boat landing:

  Annual resident $8-$260
  Annual nonresident $20-$600
  Daily $3
Boat launches:

  Annual resident $6-$35 $20
  Annual nonresident $16-$35 $25
  Commercial $250-$500 $200
  Daily $3-$12 $2-$13 $5
    Daily, resident $10
    Daily, nonresident $7-$10
  Seasonal $30-$120 $50
Boat lift season rental $675
Boat mooring:

  Resident $41-$350
  Nonresident $62-$515
  Minimum mooring fee per season $500
  Per foot, boat length, per season $30
Boathouse rental (summer - May 1-Oct. 15):

  Outside rack storage, resident $72
  Outside rack storage, nonresident $93
Boating - marina slip:

  Resident $1,260-$4,675
  Nonresident $1,335-$4,940
  Transient - daily: $26.25
    Additional fee for each foot over 25 feet $2.10
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Fee Type
Amounts Assessed by 

Counties
Amounts Assessed by 

Cities
Amounts Assessed by 

Villages
Amounts Assessed by 

Towns

    Fee per hour after 2 hours $2
    Minimum charge $20
    Per foot, per night $1.35
Boating - seasonal dockage:

  40' long slips $2,650
  36' long slips $2,400
  30' long slips $2,000
  Broadside dockage: 
    Selected slips, per foot $54
    Selected broadside spaces $2,650
   Non-property owners - additional charge $0.10
Botanical gardens:

  Equipment rental - TV/VCR, overhead projector $25
  Group meeting rooms $150-$450
  Photograph fees $25-$350
  Weddings $350-$600
Bowling alley: $100
  Per alley $2.50-$30 $6-$10
Burning permit $5-$125 $8-$10 $3
Buses $25
Bus fares:  

  Adult fare $1.50
  Adult pass (10) $12
  Bus service on Fridays - per ride $0.75
  Children/seniors/handicapped, half fare $0.75
  Children/seniors/handicapped, pass (10) $7.50
  Commuter value pass $117
  Flyers ticket (10) $15
  Freeway flyers Applicable fare+$0.30
  Mass transit, adults $0.70-$20
  Mass transit, youth/seniors $0.40-$15
  Student ticket (10) $10
  Student weekly pass $10-$10.50
  Students with permit $1.10
  University pass $35
Cabaret license:

  Daily $25
  Per occasion $30-$40
  Per year $105-$250 $300-$305
  Transfer $25
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Campground license $10-$30
Camping - per night: $10-$40
  3 weekdays $20-$28
  Per week $50-$70
  Dump station $2-$6 $15
  Firewood $3-$5
  Group camping fees:
    Barn, weekend use $31-$37
    Barn, day use $13-$16
    Shelter site - weekend $20
    Tent site, 3 tents/night $15
      Additional tents/night $2.50
    Tent site, day use only $10
  Ice $2-$4
  Laundry, per load $0.25-$0.75
  Reservation fees $5
  Tent permit $10-$35
Cemetery - grave marker permits $15-$20
Cemetery - grave opening fees $100-$895
Cemetery - grave - perpetual care $75-$225 $250
Cemetery - grave spaces $75-$570
Cemetery lot $250 $500
Center rental - lounge area $25-$75
Center rental - lounge area and kitchen $100
See also Civic Center, Community Center, Facility Rental, Meeting Space, Museum Meeting Rooms, and Receptions
Certification (background check, notarized letter) $10
Child care certifications $25-$50
Child with disabilities education board:

  Classroom rental per day $15
  Gym/lunchroom rental per hour $15-$35
  Kitchen rental - per hour $20
  Lunch $1.25-$2.25
  Pool rental per hour $30-$45
  Student activities $6
  Student snacks/milk $4
  Student swimming $4
  Student transportation/field trip $6
Christmas tree sales $25; $150+$500 bond $55
Cigarette license $5-$100 $5-$100 $5-$100
Circus or caravan license $25-$1,500
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Civic center

  Nonprofit - auditorium, hourly $5
  Nonprofit - auditorium, minimum $10
  For-profit - auditorium, hourly $15
  Nonprofit - gym, hourly $7.50
  Nonprofit - gym, minimum $15
  For-profit - gym, hourly $15
  Nonprofit - large room or kitchen, hourly $5
  Nonprofit - large room or kitchen, minimum $10
  For-profit - large room or kitchen, hourly $10
  For-profit - large room or kitchen, minimum $20
  Nonprofit - small room, hourly $3
  Nonprofit - small room, minimum $6
  For-profit - small room, hourly $5
  For-profit - small room, minimum $10
  Nonprofit - TV/VCR (4 hrs.) $5
  For-profit - TV/VCR (4 hrs.) $10
  Afternoon performance - nonprofit $105-$2,300
  Afternoon performance - commercial $200-$4,500
  Afternoon performance with 517 capacity - nonprofit $527
  Banquet rate (8 hrs including setup) - nonprofit $250-$500
  Banquet rate (8 hrs including setup) - commercial $400-$750
  Daily Minimum - no performance - nonprofit $200-$450
  Daily Minimum - no performance - commercial $350-$700
  Discount for additional same day performance - nonprofit 40%
  Discount for additional same day performance - 
    commercial 20%
  Evening performance - nonprofit $120-$2,700
  Evening performance - commercial $200-$4,500
  Evening performance with 517 capacity - nonprofit $620
  Floor rent per square foot $4.87-$7.73
  4 Hour Tech or rehearsal - nonprofit $60-$1,350
  4 Hour Tech or rehearsal - commercial $100-$2,250
  8 Hour Tech or rehearsal - nonprofit $120-$310
  8 Hour Tech or rehearsal - commercial $200-$520
  Full day occupancy - no performance - nonprofit $420-$2,700
  Full day occupancy - no performance - commercial $700-$4,450
  Meeting rate (4 hrs including setup) - nonprofit $250-$500
  Meeting rate (4 hrs including setup) - commercial $400-$750
  Morning performance - nonprofit $90-$2,025
  Morning performance - commercial $200-$4,500
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  Morning performance with stage clear by 1 p.m. - 
    commercial $1,250-$3,500
  Morning performance with 517 capacity - nonprofit $465
See also Center Rental, Community Center, Facility Rental, Meeting Space, Museum Meeting Rooms, and Receptions
Coins, valuable metals, precious stones dealer $25-$50
Community center: $75
  Nonprofit non-community groups $5
    Minimum charge $15
  For-profit village community group $10
    Minimum charge $20
  For-profit non-community group $25
    Minimum charge $50
  Private party; village sponsored $10
    Minimum charge $15
  Private party; nonresident sponsored $10
    Minimum charge $25
  Resident - weekday $50
  Resident - weekend $110
  Nonresident - weekday $75
  Nonresident - weekend $200
  Use of kitchen facilities $5
See also Center Rental, Civic Center, Facility Rental, Meeting Space, Museum Meeting Rooms, and Receptions
Comprehensive and agriculture preservation 
  plans $40
Concession permit:

  Per day $15
  Per season $25-$45
Concrete, ground, asphalt - 1 cubic yard or less $15
    1-3 cubic yards $35
    Each additional cubic yard $17.50
  Owner drop-off, each cubic yard over 1 $5
  Special collection by request, 30 yards maximum
Concrete - per ton $5
Council on Aging:

  Meals donation, per meal $2.50-$2.65
  Mini-bus serving elderly and disabled, per 20 rides $15
  Senior express ability bus for elderly and disabled $4-$6
  Special transit co-pay, per mile $0.20
  Special transit co-pay, per ride $2
  Taxi rides for elderly and disabled, per ride $1.50
Criminal history check $10
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Cross country ski trail pass:

  Annual $25-$45 $15
  Daily $2-$4 $2
  Group, per day $250
Customer service search, per search $5-$20
Customer service travel, per site $60
Dancehall license: $5-$55 $25-$100
  Class "A" $25-$150
  Class "B" $15-$125
  Class "C" $10-$25
  "Special permit" or per event $1-$25
Dancehall rental $230-$385
Dances $5-$100
  Dances, tavern $25-$75 $150
Day care license $10-$25
Domestic partnership license $25
Domestic violence program fee $50
Dry cleaning, per machine $40
Dynamite $300
Election results: 

  Ballots and election programming: $75; actual cost; varies
    Copies of statutes, per copy $2
  Electronic copying, per disk $1-$50 $5-$25 $25
  Electronic media $10-$35

  Labels
$20-$125; $0.50/page;

$0.04/label

  Mailing list
$0.01-$0.02 ea; 

$15 per thousand
  Magnetic tape $25
  Paper copies, per page $0.25 $0.25/page; $25 total
  Poll list: $4-$5 $50-$100
    Absentee voter list on disk $10
    Absentee voter list by e-mail $5
    First page $0.25-$0.35
    Each additional page $0.15-$0.25
    Poll list by e-mail $15-$20
Emergency medical services:

  Additional charges:
    Defibrillator $100
    General supplies $40 $40
    Oxygen $60 $60
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    Per mile $8 $6.33-$8 $8
    Vehicle extraction $300

Advanced life support - treatment and transport - 
  resident $300-$400
Advanced life support - treatment and transport -
   nonresident  $400-$500
Advanced life support - treatment and transport, 
  community health facility $600-$650

  Ambulance calls:
    Resident $125-$650 $240-$300 $225
    Nonresident $125-$750 $300-$350 $450
  Ambulance conveyance $550 $175
  Basic/advanced life support - treatment only - 
    resident $150-$225
  Basic/advanced life support - treatment only - 
    nonresident $200-$350
  Basic/advanced life support - treatment only, 
    commercial health facility $300-$400
  Evaluation - resident $75
  Evaluation - nonresident $125
  Evaluation, commercial health facility $225
  Interfacility - resident $500
  Interfacility - nonresident $600
  Interfacility, commercial health facility $750
  Non-transport ambulance service $75
Entertainment club $200
Entertainment, per day $100
Environmental health inspector reinspection fees:

  Renewal application fee $10
  Second reinspection $35
  Third and subsequent reinspection $55
Equipment use:

  Chair per day $1-$1.55
  Table per day $4-$11.50
Equipment rental:

  Chain saw (per hour + labor charge) $10-$25.65
  End loader; operator and equipment, per hour $80
  Forklift; per hour $20-$30
  Grader; per hour $53.50-$55
  Jetter/vac; operator and equipment, per hour $150
  Mower/tractor; operator and equipment, per hour $70
  Pickups; per hour $15-$28.25
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  Portable generator; per hour $10-$25
  Street sweeper; operator and equipment, per hour $90
Erecting banners $125
Erecting tents $125
Exhibition - per day $100
Explosive transportation permit $25
Facility rental: $90-$250
    Courthouse use $100-$500
    Hall $130-$255
    Per square foot $11.84-$13
See also Center Rental, Civic Center, Community Center, Meeting Space, Museum Meeting Rooms, and Receptions
Fairgrounds:
  Chair rental $0.50
  Exhibition building $275-$500
  4-H fairgrounds, per day $185-$225
  Grounds $130-$350
  Horse ring $50
  Livestock barns $150
  Parking $0.50-$2
  Rifle range, per gun $4
  Storage, per season $20-$370
  Table rental $5
False alarms:

  Burglary alarms:
    Third and fourth false alarms $10
    Fifth and subsequent false alarms $20
  Commercial false alarm fee $100
  Residential false alarm - second and subsequent 
    alarms $50
  Response by fire department:
    First through third false alarm per location $25-$300 base wage+$100 per hour

    Fourth through seventh false alarm per location $25-$300
$50-$200; base wage+$100/hr;

actual cost

    Eighth and subsequent false alarm per location $50-$300
$75-$300; base wage+$100/hr;

actual cost
  Response by police department:

    First through third false alarm per location $25-$100
$25; base wage+

$50 per hour

    Fourth through eighth false alarm per location $25-$200
$25-$150; base wage+

$50/hour

    Ninth and subsequent false alarm per location $50-$200
$50-$200; base wage+

$50/hour
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Farmer's market $3-$60
Filming permit $20
Fingerprinting $5-$20 $5-$12
Fire calls on highway $500
Fire department CPR classes - certification $15-$25
Fire department CPR classes - recertification $13-$20
Fire department daily equipment rental:

  Gate valve $50
  Hose $25-$75
  Hydrant wrench/reducer $25
Fire department hourly equipment rental:

  Aerial apparatus $300
  Brush unit, support and command vehicles $50
  Engines $200
  Mini pumper $100
  Rescue $150
  Tankers $100
Fire department inspections: $50-$100 $75
  Alarm system/sprinkler flow check $25 $50-$250
  Churches and schools, per unit $12-$600
  Commercial, per unit $7-$360
  High life safety facilities - per square foot $78.10-$576.40
  Industrial, per unit $36-$480
  Liquid storage tank plan review/inspections $25-$150
  Other buildings subject to WI Commercial Building 
    Code; per sq. ft. $41.80-$288.20
  Residential (structures with 3 or more units), per unit $6
Fire department other costs:

  Disposable items (oil dry, absorbent pillows, etc.) replacement costs
  Extrication equipment (all), per hour $50
  Fire hose connections $15
  Fire pumps and related equipment $50-$250
  Modifications to existing systems:
    Per sprinkler head $20
    Maximum fee $250
    Standpipe systems $50-$250
    Spraying or dipping $50
  Tools and other equipment (damaged only) replacement costs
Fire department vehicle accident response $500
Fireworks permit $10-$250 $3-$100; indemnity bond $25
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Fitness room:

  Daily - resident $3
  Daily - nonresident $5
  Daily - high school and senior resident $2
  Daily - high school and senior nonresident $3
  1 month - resident $15
  1 month - nonresident $22.50
  1 month - high school and senior resident $10
  1 month - high school and senior nonresident $15
  6 months - resident $60
  6 months - nonresident $90
  6 months - high school and senior resident $40
  6 months - high school and senior nonresident $60
Flammable liquids, per tank $45-$90
Food - gross annual food sales:

  Less than $20,000 $25
  $20,001-1,000,000 $50-$175
  More than $1,000,000 $200
  Restaurant fee:
    Less than $10,000 $65
    $10,001-1,000,000 $100-$325
    More than $1,000,000 $400
Food dealer's license based on premise's size:

  Less than 1,000 sq. ft. $50
  1,000 sq. ft. - 2,000 sq. ft. $65
  2,001 sq. ft. - 4,000 sq. ft. $75
  4,001 sq. ft. - 6,000 sq. ft. $85
  6,001 sq. ft. - 10,000 sq. ft. $95
  10,001 sq. ft. - 15,000 sq. ft. $105
  Greater than 15,001 sq. ft. $125
Food establishment license $100-$400
Food vendor permit fees:

  Carried containers - per container $45
  Pushed, pedaled, pulled vehicles, or motorized - 
     per vehicle $30-$65
Frequently requested documents:

  Assessment roll $100
  Assessment status reports $20-$25
  Ad hoc public facilities report: $21
    Fee to mail $2.20
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  Budget $20-$25 $15
  Building code, uniform and two-family $10
  Certified copies of documents $3
  Color copies $1-$3
  Copy of audio/VCR tape $5-$20; actual cost $6-$10; actual cost $5-$15

  Copies of accident reports, per page $0.25-$4
$0.50-$3; $2+$0.25/page

after 4 pages
  Copies of incident reports, per page $0.25-$6
  County/common council weekly packets - annual 
    subscription: $100-$200 $10-$40
    Per mailing fee $2
  Development ordinance: $45
    Fee to mail $1-$3.20
  Directories 2.50-$3 $2 $12-$15
    Annual update - per page $0.50
  Disks $4

 Fax, incoming and outgoing $0.50-$3
$0.25-$5; $2+long distance

charge $0.10
  Fax, tax and survey maps $10
  Fire prevention code $10
  Local government meeting subscription - agenda $18 $15-$30 $20
  Local government meeting subscription - minutes $0.25-$50 $20-$30
  Land division ordinance $7.50-$8 $15
  Land use plan: $20
    Fee to mail $2.97
  Large building plans: $10
    Additional charge per page $7
  Maps/photos: $0.25-$25; varies $2-$20
    Address maps $0.50-$6
    Aerial photos, base maps $0.25-$10
    Census maps $2-$8
    Custom products (mapping and digital data) $1-$50
    District maps $5-$8
    Engineering department system maps $2.50-$5.50
    Geographic information systems maps $5 $0.25-$35 $1.50-$13
    Larger map charges $2.50
    Municipal street maps $2-$8 $1-$5
    Parcel maps $2

    Photographs:
$4.40-$7; cost+

$10 handling $1.50-$3.50
      Other reproductions or photography $0.25; actual cost
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    Topographic maps $4-$20 $10
    Voting map $10
    Wetland map $4
    Zoning map $2-$12 $2-$10 $3-$15
  Master plan $1-$11.50 $5-$15
  Master plan summary $5
  Municipal code/county code books: $3-$50 $35-$250 $3-$75 $20-$300
    On diskette or CD, one-time fee $100
    Annual updates $25 $25
    Individual chapter $25
    Single pages $0.30-$0.50
    Paper copy - first 25 pages $0.25
      After 25 pages $0.10
  Municipal drawings (sewer/water plats) $5
  Open records request, per copy $0.25
  Photocopies $0.15-$4 $0.10-$2 $0.25-$0.50 $0.10-$0.25
    Hand-delivered $0.25
    Mailed $0.50
    Employee $0.05
    Non-employee $0.10
    More than 15 pages, clerical time to photocopy, 
      per hour $10
  Police report - copy fees $0.50-$3 $2
  Reports/documents, first page $0.35; actual cost
    Each additional page $0.15
  Police squad videotape copy $30
  Print-outs: $1
    Mailed $1.50
  Real estate records:
    Document copy, owner $5
    Document copy, third parties $25
    Property status reports $25
    Statement of real property status $25-$35
      Statement of real property status, billed $26.25
  Sign ordinance $5
  Tax bill $1-$1.50
  Tax roll $100-$150
  Tax roll - electronic $20
  Zoning code: $15-$60 $8-$35 $25-$30
    Per chapter $6
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Garage sales (after 3 per year), per event $25
Garbage and recycling:

  Appliance tags - curbside pickup:
    Freon $15
    Non-freon $10
  Appliance site drop-off:
    Freon $15-$20
    Non-freon $10-$18
  Appliance sticker $30
  Brush collection, per half hour $50
  Brush disposal, curbside pickup $15-$30
  Collection of refuse bags $3
  Commercial garbage $40
  Demolition material to landfill:
    Pickup load $15
    Truck load $50
  Dumping/disposal permit $150-$500
  Disposal fees:
    Automobile $5
    Car with trailer $10
    Dump trucks, moving vans, and multi-axle vehicles $40
    Karts - additional - annual charge $72
    Van, pickup truck, SUV $10
    Van, pickup truck, SUV with trailer $15
    Special pickup: 1/4 hour and 500 lbs. $40
      Each additional 1/4 hour $20
      Over 500 lbs. (non-recyclable), per lb. $0.04
      Tires $1-$5 $2
  Dump opening permit $20
  Dumpster permit $25
  Garbage bags $1
  Garbage haulers: $300 $25-$50 $200
    Additional vehicle $5
    4-6 yard dumpster $50-$70
    Extra weekly pickup $55
  Grass clippings, per bag $1
  Recycling bin $6-$7 $5
  Recycling fees $35-$55
  Recycling hauler license $50
  Refuse collector $50-$100
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  Refuse containers $9 $55
    1 – 35 gallon $0.50 credit/week
    1 – 60 gallon container $0
    1 – 90 gallon container $1 per week
    2 – 60 gallon containers $2 per week
    1 – 60 and 1 – 90 gallon container $3 per week
    2 – 90 gallon containers $4 per week
  Refuse stickers: $1.05
    8 gallons or less $0.60
    9-35 gallons $1-$2.50
    Trash compactor bag $5
    Trash bags - case of 100 $14
    Trash bags - roll of 10 $1.50
    6-15 extra bags or boxes $17
    15 or more extra bags or boxes $33
    Leaf bags $1.75-$4
  Refuse dumping permit fee $2
  Spring cleanup charges - per cubic yard $15
Garden plot rental $25
Gazebo rental:

  Up to 150 persons $105
Geographic Information Systems services:

  Custom land records file, per hour $59.42
  Digital orthophotos (geographically correct digital images) $24-$75
  Digital topographic map $5
  Elevation contours $24
  Floodplains $5
  Soils $5
Golf - annual passes:

  Resident unlimited $735
  Nonresident unlimited $903
  9-hole, weekdays $8.25-$41.75
  18-hole, weekdays $11.75-$73
  9-hole, weekends and holidays $14.25-$45.75
  18-hole, weekends and holidays $19-$79.50
  9-hole, anytime $4.50-$8.75
  18-hole, anytime $6.50-$11
  Adult - season pass $874-$1,092
  Junior - season pass $250-$819
  Adult - nonresident - season pass $1,701-$1,806
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  Junior - nonresident - season pass $546-$1,533
  Daily $7.50-$26
  Gift packs $8.50-$26
  Reservation $2-$10
  High school rates $10.75-$19.50
  Locker rental - per round $25
  Meeting room rental - per day $50
Grooming shop $50
Gun or weapon $100
Gun range $50
Hanging sign over sidewalk $2
Health department fees:

  Assessment $125-$200
  Blood lead testing $5
  Campground license $145-$265, varies
  Child/juvenile problems exam, per hour $170
  Cholesterol screening $15
  Counseling, per hour $22.75-$103
  Custody study $300
  Farmers market inspection fee $15
  Fluoride drops and tablets, per bottle $1-$1.25
  Food/restaurant:
    Mobile food preparation on-site license $222
    Pre-inspection fee $75-$200
    Pre-sale inspection $50
    Restaurant: $360
      Temporary $25-$110, varies
        Per 3 days $65
        Each additional day $5
      Prepackaged food only $92, varies
      Food preparation on site $55-$575, varies
    Satellite food preparation area license: $45
      Retail food license $96-$875
    School limited food service inspection $69
    School food preparation on site inspection $159
    Soft drink stand, frozen confection license $89
    Tavern license $89
  Friendly visitor, per hour $3
  Grocery store varies
  Health officer inspection fee $75
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  HIV testing $15
  Home care:
    Community options program, per assessment $50
    Home health aide, per hour $40
    Personal care worker, per hour $22
    Registered nurse, per visit $150
    Therapy - P.T./O.T. speech, per visit $95
  Hotel/motel license: $82-$485
    First unit $5
    Each additional unit $2.50
    Vending permit $25
  Mobile home park license $127-$415; varies
  Over 60 preventive health assessment program $20
  Paternity testing, per test $12
  Peer counseling, per hour $3
  Physicals $10
  Psychiatrist, per hour $54-$209
  Psychologist, per hour $42-$145
  Recreational educational camp license $147-$200
  Registered nurse $37.50-$40
  Reinspection/special inspection $75-$110
  School inspection $75-$325
  Sexually transmitted disease clinic, per visit $40
  Supervised visitation, per hour $18
  Swimming pool/beaches license $150-$348
  Tattoo or body piercing establishment: $100-$147 $150 $100-$150
    Combination tattoo and body piercing establishment $181-$222
    Ear piercing establishment $100
    One-time pre-inspection fee $100
    Tattoo/body piercing operator $50-$75 $50
    Temporary tattoo and/or body piercing booth $32-$63
  Tourist rooming house $85-$89
  Transportation - medical, per ride $3-$30
  Transportation - medical, per mile $1.18
  Transportation - senior center, per ride $3
  Transportation - shopping/nutrition, per ride $3
  Transportation - W-2, per mile $1.30
  Tuberculosis skin tests $5-$21
  Vaccines/immunizations $2-$90 $5-$30 $5-$100
  Vending machine $4-$4.25
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  Water tests $17
Highway department:

  Highway access permit $50-$100
  Pavement open cut permit fee $500
  Use of right-of-way permit fee $50
Holding tank permit $25
Horse carriage license: $25-$500
  Horse-drawn vehicle drivers $25
  Horse stable inspections $100
Horse trails, daily: $3
  Seasonal $15
Hotel/Motel license: $2-$1,600
  Renewal $1,000
Household debris:

  Under 4 cubic yards $15
  4-8 cubic yards $20-$25
  Each additional cubic yard $5/yd+$25
Hunting permit $5
Hydrant permit service charge: $25 $25-$50
  Additional fee per 1,000 gallons water $2.55
Ice arena fees:

  High school games $410
  Public skating $1-$7.50
  Skate rental $2
Indoor car exhibit, per vehicle $25
Industrial revenue bond application for 
  initial/final resolution $500
Instrumental music license $120
Instrumental music permit, per day $15
Jukebox, karaoke machine, per machine $15 $50
Junk collector $3-$125
Junk and salvage dealers: $15-$1,000 $250 $100
  Each additional vehicle $10
Junked vehicle storage/ junkyard $10-$500 $10-$200
Salvage business license $200
Land conservation:

  Administrative service fee $56
  Animal waste management construction permit $60-$200
  Animal waste storage facility permits $100-$3,000; $1,000 per unit
  Animal waste storage ordinance-nutrient management
    plan review $125
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  Alternations without additional livestock permit $100
  Federal program service fee 15 percent of total cost
  Feed lot permit $100

  Tree and tree program materials sales
35% markup; 

determined annually
Landfill permits: $300
  Excavating and/or landfill license $1,000
Large public gathering permits: $100 $100 $100
  250-1,000 $1,000
  1,001-2,500 $1,500
  Over 2,500 $2,000
Lawn - natural lawn management plan permit $25-$50 $25
Lawn mowing $20-$75
Legal paper service fees $8-$25 $25-$30
Library:

  Book rental, per week $1.50
  Computer/microfilm printing $0.10
  Copies $0.25 $0.15
  Faxing/phone service: $1-$4 $0.05-$4
    Each additional page $1
  Meeting room rental $30-$300
  Non-county resident yearly fee $40
  Overhead projector rental $1.50
  Piano tuning $35 + room rental
  Printing, per page $0.10-$0.20
  Room usage $20-$60
Life safety permit $10
Liquor licenses:

  Change in agent $10 $10
  Class A fermented malt beverage license $10-$350 $10-$250 $25-$300
  Class B fermented malt beverage license $100 $50-$100 $25-$100
  Temporary Class B malt/wine license (picnic) $5-$10 $5-$10 $10
  Wholesalers malt beverage license $10-$25 $25 $25
  Class C wine license $50-$100 $25-$100 $100
  Class A liquor license $125-$500 $150-$500 $75-$400
  Class B liquor license $175-$500 $150-$500 $75-$500
  Class A combination $200-$450
  Class B combination (tavern) $350-$600 $250-$500
  Class B restaurant $75
  Class B liquor license if bonafide club $10-$250
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Fee Type
Amounts Assessed by 

Counties
Amounts Assessed by 

Cities
Amounts Assessed by 

Villages
Amounts Assessed by 

Towns

  Copy and mailing or faxing Class A and B license list $3
  Investigative fee each license $5
  Manager's license $25
  Non-intoxicating:
    Dispensed $15
    Vending $5
  Non-intoxicating beverage license $10
  Operator's license (bartender), one year: $12.50-$40 $12-$50 $10-$50
    Renewal $10-$30 $15-$20 $4-$20
  Operator's license (bartender), two years $20-$75 $20-$75 $30
  Operator's license, duplicate $10
  Operator's license, reissuance of duplicate $1-$15 $2
  Permit for beer gardens and outdoor activities $20-$115
  Pharmacists and medicinal alcohol permit $10

  Provisional operator's license $3-$15 $15 $5-$15
  Provisional retail license, 60 days $15 $15
  Publication fees for licenses/permits $5-$30 $12-$20; cost $5-$25
  Reserve Class B liquor license (initial license) $10,000 $10,000 $10,000
  Reserve Class B liquor license renewal $275-$500 $500 $400
  Tavern operator $70
  Tavern outdoor party/event $50
  Temporary operator's license $2-$25 $5-$25
  Transfer to another premise $10-$20 $10-$100 $50
  Unenclosed premise fee $50
Livestock/poultry, per animal $2.50
Lodging permit application $2
Loudspeaker permit $25
Mall vendor - craft, annual: $375
  Monthly $75
Massage parlor license $200 $50-$302.50 $150-$250 $150
Massage parlor practitioner license $50 $10-$50 $25 $50
Medical examiner/coroner:

  Annual conference registration fee $185
  Autopsy $25-$1,750

  Autopsy report
$0.50-$1 per page,

$50 per report
  Certification $75
  Cremation $50-$150
  Death report $0.50
  Disinterment $25-$75
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Fee Type
Amounts Assessed by 

Counties
Amounts Assessed by 

Cities
Amounts Assessed by 

Villages
Amounts Assessed by 

Towns

  Duplicate microscopic slide $10
  External examination $200
  Expert testimony, per hour $200-$300
  Investigation report, per page $1
  Laboratory report $15
  Medical examiner's report $20
  Morgue fee, per day $10-$30
  Photo duplicates $3-$3.50
  Tissue room rental $1,000
  Toxicology report $0.50
Medical records fees, per page $7.50
Meeting space - for-profit groups/organizations $20-$653
Meeting space - nonprofit groups/organizations $10-$225
See also Center Rental, Civic Center, Community Center, Facility Rental, Museum Meeting Rooms
Mental health center:

  Inpatient, per day $575-$675
  Intensive care, per shift $170
  Mental health community service program contract, 
    per hour $33
  Mental health non-community service program 
    injections $10
  Nursing home, per day $154-$262
  Outpatient, per hour $80.30-$320
  Outpatient, per day $500
  Professional component, per hour $160
  Shelter care, per day $97
Milk license $25 $5-$40
Mobile home inspection, per unit $2-$5
Mobile home park: $120 $75-$500 $100-$350
  Transfer fee $10 $10
Mothballing of historic structure $25
Mountain bike trails, daily $3
Mountain bike trails, seasonal $15
Museum:

  Board room $75-$125
  Educational fees - school trip,  per bus $35
  Exhibit script use negotiated
  Exhibit prop rental negotiated
  Exhibition $300
  Gallery rental $200-$500
  Grounds fee $300
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Fee Type
Amounts Assessed by 

Counties
Amounts Assessed by 

Cities
Amounts Assessed by 

Villages
Amounts Assessed by 

Towns

  Kitchen  $50-$100
  Lobby rental, evening $200
  Maintenance, per hour contract rate
  Meeting rooms $65-$130
See also Center Rental, Civic Center, Community Center, Facility Rental, Meeting Space, and Receptions
  Photography fees:
    Billboard $450
    Black & white prints $7.50-$60
    Licensing fees for moving images, non-broadcast $2-$8
    Licensing fees for moving images, broadcast $3-$20
    Original photography requiring special handling $30
    Poster $150
    Prints $2-$25
    Scanning image $1-$20
    Slides, 35 mm $4.25-$6
    Transfer to 3D object $150
    Videotaping image $7.50-$30
  Research and/or consultation fee, per hour $35
  Security/utilities, per hour $35
  Technician - equipment operator, per hour contract rate
  Theater rental $75-$125
Music device license $5-$10
New tenant/change of use (business only) $20
Newsbox inspection $15
Newsbox removal $25
Newspaper vending machines $50
No Parking signs, usage fee $10
Nonmetallic mining permit: $50-$75
  Quarries - Blasting $10-$100
Not-sufficient-funds check charges $15-$35 $10-$40 $15-$30 $15-$25
Nuisance type business permit $100
Package goods $70
Park concession stand use $30-$100
Park entrance fees:

  Single entrance per person $0.75
  20 entrances per person $12
Park reservation permit $475 $20-$25
Park shelter and pavilion rental $5-$225 $25-$50
  Community pavilion, any day - residents $60-$200
  Community pavilion, any day - nonresidents $60-$400
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Fee Type
Amounts Assessed by 

Counties
Amounts Assessed by 

Cities
Amounts Assessed by 

Villages
Amounts Assessed by 

Towns

  Companies - city $40-$50
  Companies - non-city $80-$100
  Organizations - city $30-$40
  Organizations - non-city $60-$80
  Park band stand rental, weekdays - residents $20
  Park band stand rental, weekdays - nonresidents $40
  Park band stand rental, weekends - residents $25
  Park band stand rental, weekends - nonresidents $50
  Park vending permits:
    Daily $35
    Annual - nonprofit group $110
    Annual - for-profit group $540
  Picnic table reservation $2
  Shelter rental waste removal $10-$100
  Vending, per canned beverage $1
  Weddings $200
  Weekdays - residents $20-$230; varies $15-$155 $30-$50
  Weekdays - nonresidents $20-$230; varies $25-$310 $40-$100
  Weekends and holidays - residents $20-$155 $30-$50
  Weekends and holidays - nonresidents $30-$310 $40-$100
  Weekly $35-$40
  Youth organization $20
Parking permits: $10
  Annual $200
  Car and trailer parking:
    Daily trailer parking $15
    Seasonal daytime trailer parking $100
  Contractor parking permit $10
  Heavy vehicle parking permit $50
  Meter alternative, per quarter $30
  Meter bags (reserved spot/per day) $6
  Monthly $7-$30 $15-$35
  Night parking permit $1.50-$44
  Nonresident parking in park $3
  Overnight parking calls $1
  Overnight, per month $14
  Parking lot, per day $2,476
  1/2 parking lot, per day $1,238
  Parking stickers for residential areas, 2 year $5
  Private commercial parking lot license $25
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Amounts Assessed by 
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Amounts Assessed by 
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Towns

  Quarterly $19-$40
  Replacement permits $3
  Seasonal $15-$90
  Semi-tractor parking permit $25 $10-$35
  Special parking privilege permit, per quarter $22.50
  Street parking stall, annual $36
  Street parking stall, per day $1
Permit search, appraisal or history of building $17
Phonograph distributor $250
Phonograph tag $20
Pool and billiard hall license $400
Pool table license (each) $5-$30 $10-$50
Portable amusement rides $900
Port and solid waste:

  Brokerage fee 20 percent of market
  Commercial terminal operator, per cubic yard $8.26
  Harbor tonnage assessment, per metric ton $0.025-$0.050
  Household hazardous waste, per pound $1
  Landfill:
    Asbestos, per ton $21
    County landfill, per ton $15.51-$20.42
    Foundry sand, per ton $6
    Large appliances $15
    Petroleum contaminated soil, per ton $21
    Recycling, per ton $10.15
      Separated-glass/steel, cans, bottles, per ton $5.80-$20.30
    Transfer station fee, per ton $6.15
    Waste tire rate, per ton $125
  Lease property rental fee, per month $300-$1,500
  Out-of-county, per cubic yard $12
  Private dredge disposal rate, per cubic yard $10
  Program fee, per pound $0.43
  Refused material handling fee-in-county, per ton $51
  Tipping fee, per ton $33
  Truck scale weigh $30
  U.S. Corp of Engineers, per cubic yard $6.26
Precious metal and gem dealer $40-$150
Premises license $15
Processions, parades, runs, walks, etc. $5-$125 $25-$100; $10+costs
Property tax and special assessment search $20-$25
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Amounts Assessed by 

Counties
Amounts Assessed by 

Cities
Amounts Assessed by 

Villages
Amounts Assessed by 

Towns

Public entertainment: $40-$500
  Carnival, festival, or street fair $25-$100
  Circus shows and performances, per day: $15-$25 $100
    Per 5 rides/stands $100
    Each additional ride/stand $10
  Motion picture theaters: $0.75-$1,600
    Motion picture theater renewal $1,000
  Park rent - circuses, carnivals, entertain, per day $15-$400
Public hearing $175 $125
Racing cars, go-karts, and similar vehicles $100,000 bond
Real estate queries, per minute: $5
    Additional fee, per page $0.10
    Rush request $15
    Standard inquiry $10
Receptions, celebrations, dinners (rental of space) $50
See also Center Rental, Civic Center, Community Center, Facility Rental, Meeting Space, and Museum Meeting Rooms
Record applications for property transfer
  to joint tenant $20-$30
Recording fees: $11-$15
  Each additional page $2
Record retrieval $1-$15
Register of deeds fees:

  CD Rom-Real estate records, monthly $500
  CD Rom-Replacement copies $10
  CDs-copies $15; $500 per month
  Certification filings/recording fees $1
  Certification sheriff sale $11
  Certified surveys, executions, change of name $11
    Each additional page $2
  Computer indexes - per page $0.50
    Audio tapes $10
    Census records $1
  Copies of recorded or filed documents:
    First page $2
    Each additional page $1
    Certification fee $1
  Corporate name $11
  Execution $11
  Fax charges, per page $0.50+$1 handling; $1-$3.50
  General recording fees $11; varies
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Amounts Assessed by 

Cities
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Towns

  Guardianship $11
  Identification cards $9
  Lamination cards $0.50
  Land information: $2
    Additional fee per page $1
    Initial hook-up fee $5,000
    Digital data
    Countywide $31.50-$115.50
    Community $1.50-$5.50
  Land records Internet access charge: $75
    Legal description/tax maps $1
    On-line access to real estate records, first user: $400
      Each additional user at same address $125
    Per minute $0.10-$0.20
    Per document $1
    Real estate: $2-$11
      Each additional page $1-$2
      Self service, per page $0.25-$1.25
    Screen print (non-image) $0.35-$2
    Unlimited access per month $500
  Lis Pendens (pending lawsuit) $11
    Additional pages $2
  Mortgage report, annual subscription $60
  Notary fees $0.50
  Plats:
    Subdivision, cemetery, and condominium plats $50
    Transportation plats each sheet $25
    Copies of plats: $4.50
      First page $25
      Each additional page $2
  Other service fee (vital statistics check) $7-$9
  Photographs $0.50-$10
  Real estate search $5
  Real estate tax and assessment tapes $100
  Real estate transfer fees per $100 $0.30
  Recorded documents (deeds, mortgages, contracts, etc.): $4-$50
    Each additional page $2-$12
    With diskette $35-$75
  Release of tax lien $10; $3 per $1,000 value
  Special computer programs cost
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  Tax lien searches/copies $2
    Each additional page, additional certification fee $1
  Tax listing fees $1.20
  Vacations and plats $11
  Video tapes $20
  Vital statistics court order $11
  Vital statistics duplicate copies $3
  Uniform Commercial Code documents: $2-$11; varies
    Each additional page $1-$2
Requests requiring more than 1/2 hour to research, 
  hourly rate $5.25-$17.59; actual cost $10-$20
Residential Property Record Card $5
Restaurants (see also Health department):

  Sidewalk café $170
Revolving loan initiation fee $400+$2 per $1,000
Roller skating rink license $25-$50
Rooming house permit fee: $5
  Additional fee for each dwelling/rooming unit $2
Quarries, gravel pits, sand pits:

  Owner's permit $400
  Operator's permit $400
Salting private streets:

  Per hour $55
  Material cost+$5/ton
Satellite dish over 18 inches in diameter $30
Senior center rental fees:

  Community service groups $25
  Meeting room $20-$100
Sheriff's department fees:

  Accident report: $2-$3
    Per page $0.25
  Civil process fees $20-$47; varies
  Civil warrant fee $20-$50
  DNA testing varies
  Electronic monitoring installation fee $25-$40
  False alarm fees:
    1st and 2nd alarm $10-$20
    3rd through 5th alarm $20-$50
    6th through 10th alarm $20-$50
    11th through 19th alarm $20-$100
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    20 or more alarms $20-$200
  Fax charges; per page $1-$3
  Fingerprinting $10-$20; varies
  Home detention - electronic monitor, per day $15-$17
  Huber prisoner board, per day $12.50-$22
  Huber set-up fee, out of county $25
  Inmate boot - per month $75
  Investigation report, per page $1
  Jail booking/processing fee $25-$30
  Jail lock-up daily inmate fee $20
  Jail medical lab work $5
  Jail medical visits $5-$25; cost
  Jail outside medical referral $10
  Jail prescription medicine $3
  Jail rescue call $10
  Jail room and board, per day $10-$75
  Juvenile detention board - out of county, per day $140
  Personal property - possession and storage $5-$10; cost
  Photocopies, report copies, certificate reprints $0.50-$1
    Each additional page $0.25
  Range use:
    Per day $100
    Per year $500
    Out of county $1,000
  Service revenue (escort fees, etc.): $40-$60; varies
    Each additional hour per car $40
  Sheriff sale fee $75-$150
  Special enforcement, per hour $35
  Storage and towing $25-$75
  Teen court program participation fee, per participant $10
  VIP program participation fee, per participant $25
Shooting gallery license/target range $25 $10
Slaughterhouse license $25
Snow removal hazard charge $75

Snow and ice removal, per hour $50-$103; $1 per foot
$35-$55; wage+equipment

charge $25
  Materials cost+10%; time and materials
Soda license $5 $5 $5
Sound permit $50
Special assessment letters for real estate transfer: $3-$50 $20-$35 $20-$25

 3-30



Fee Type
Amounts Assessed by 

Counties
Amounts Assessed by 

Cities
Amounts Assessed by 

Villages
Amounts Assessed by 

Towns

   Rush charge $25-$50 $40
Special bike race permit $40
Special events: $275-$1,300 $10-$300 $15-$25 $10
  Additional day $70-$325
  Coverage $5; current wages/benefits
  Parking permit $100
  Sales permit $10-$25
  Vendor $6 $10 
Special meetings $25-$350 $100-$250
Sports/recreation, sports and equipment:

  Athletic events $25-$100
  Ball field rental - residents $10 $7-$250 $5
  Ball field rental - nonresidents $10 $7-$250 $10-$15
    Practice, per hour without lights $4
    Light fee, per hour $14
    Tournament $50-$100 $300
  Ball diamond:
    Per hour $10
    Per field, per day $50-$90
    Weekend rental:
      1 diamond $230
      2 diamonds $345
      3 diamonds $460
      Raindate reserve non-refundable fee $115
    Per field, per season $100
    Operator charge $10/hour+FICA costs
    Maintenance $20/dragging/diamond
  Open gym daily $2
  Open gym annual pass $25
  Scuba diving, per diver $4.50-$6
  Soccer/football permit $10
  Softball team league registration $285
  Tennis court reservation fees, per hour $4 $4
  Tournament fees:
    Advertising per hour or per day $200
    Ball field per day $105-$210
    Basketball court per day $30-$60
    Equipment - park bench $5-$10
    Equipment - picnic table $10-$20
    Equipment - recreation $10-$20
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    Photography - commercial $30
    Tennis court per day $30-$60
    Volleyball court per day $30-$60
  Volleyball court reservation - practice, per hour $4 $5
  Volleyball facility, per day $25
  Volleyball facility operator charge $10/hour+FICA costs
Sports/recreation, community recreation fees:

  Daily admission rates $1-$7
  I.D. cards, family - resident $10
  I.D. cards, family - nonresident $20
  Recreation program nonresident fee $10-$50
  Recreation program per person/per program $10-$30
  Recreation traveling team $25
  Recreation traveling team - nonresident $35
Sports/recreation, swimming pool fees:

  Admission:
    Daily admission - resident $1-$3 $2.50
    Daily admission - nonresident $1-$3 $5
    Resident family $125
    Nonresident family $250
    Resident individual $50
    Nonresident individual $100
    Resident (season) $15-$115
    Nonresident (season) $20-$115
    Reduced daily fees after 4:00 p.m. - resident $1.25
    Reduced daily fees after 4:00 p.m. - nonresident $2.50
    65 and older nonresident $2.50
    3 and under $1
  Lap swim $1.50
  Lessons - resident $15
  Lessons - nonresident $30
  Public swimming pool - each pool or whirlpool $130
  Public swimming pool license $200
  Swim team - resident $25
  Swim team - nonresident $50
  Swimming pool rental $225
  Water aerobics $1.50
Statistical books $5
Storage-permanent above-ground and petrol tanks:

  Application and site plan review $25
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  Inspection fee $50
Street use permit $10-$50 $10-$30; indemnity bond $10
Tavern entertainment $1,200 $300
Tax amounts by mortgage companies, per parcel $1.25-$10 $2
Tax bill, per page $10
Tax exempt reports, biannual, per parcel $10-$25
Taxicab license:  $25-$500
  Per cab $10-$50
  Minimum, for two or fewer vehicles $25
  Each additional cab $7.50-$10 $10-$25
  Taxicab drivers $10-$35 $2-$50
  Taxicab operator $200
  Taxicab inspection $75
  Taxicab decal $25
Teenage club license (See also Youth) $175
Telephone charges (local only) $0.35
Temporary vehicle license plate $5
  Vehicle license plate renewal $5
Theater license $250
Title company request for information $15-$30
Title searches $3-$20
Towing $25 $72
Towing vehicles - police department $25+cost
Town hall: $35
  Lower level - resident $75
  Lower level - nonresident $150
  Upper level-resident $75
  Upper level - nonresident $150
  Kitchen - resident $25
  Kitchen - nonresident $50
Transcripts (per page) $15
Transient photographer (per day) $10
Trap shoot license $10 $50
Treasurer department/data processing fees:

  Certified copies, delinquent tax search, per parcel $1-$2; varies
  Certificates $1
  Custom programming, per hour $60
  Delinquent tax report $20-$75
  Mill rate sheets: $1
    Mailed $1.50
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  Mortgage records tax collection services
$50-$100; $0.50-$0.65

per parcel
  Other land records reports $20
  Personal property processing, per parcel $1
  Plat book $20-$25
  Nontaxable plat book $18.96
  Searches $0.50
  Special reports (includes up to five pages): $20; varies
    Additional fee per page $0.25
  Special sale list $2
  Tax bill: $0.35-$5
    Faxed copy $5.50
  Tax certification $2
  Tax collection service for municipalities, per parcel $0.65
  Tax foreclosures - prorated costs, per parcel $100
  Tax payment printscreen $0.50-$1
  Tax record copy from microfiche $5
  Tax search, per parcel $0.50-$0.75
  Tax search, per hour $15
  Tax statement (for title searches) $1
Tree cutting permits $80
Tree removal and planting $1-$10; $20+cost of tree $60
Tree trimmers $25
Underground sprinkler installers $25
Used car dealer $100-$200 $105
Vehicle I.D. $5
Vehicle lockouts $10
Vehicle storage $5-$10
Vending box permit $25-$30
Vending machine license $5-$25
Vendor licenses:

  Distributor license $75
  Itinerant vendor $15
  Merchandise vendor $500 $30
  Merchandising: $5
    Display merchandising $10
  Merchant:
    Annually $30-$500
    Direct seller: $5-$100 $25-$75 $20-$25
      Renewal $22.50
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    Investigative fee, each license $5
    Monthly $20-$150
    Permanent $60
    Registration fee: $10-$75
      Additional fee per day $5-$10
    Transient $10-$250 $25
    Weekly $10-$50
  Pawnbroker's license $150-$210; $25+bond $210-$225
  Peddler's license: $10-$75
    Primary individual - 1st month $30
    Each additional worker $2-$5
    Daily $13-$17.50 $5-$20
    Weekly $10-$30
    Monthly $38 $10-$50
    Annually $10-$100 $100-$200
    90-day $50
    Record check $5
  Produce vendor - private property $10
  Produce vendor - public property $50
  Secondhand article dealer license $27.50-$62.50 $27.50-$35
  Secondhand jewelry dealer license $30-$62.50 $30-$50
  Secondhand dealer (mall or flea market license) $100-$165 $165-$175
  Secondhand store $75
  Sell, exchange, barter cigarette papers $25
  Temporary retailer permit $30
  Vendor vehicle permit $15-$25
Video store $1,000-$1,600
Video/coin machine permit $10-$15 $5-$10
Video distributor $100
Vital records: varies
  Birth certificate: $12
    Each additional copy $3
  Death certificate: $7-$50
    Each additional copy $2-$3
  Marriage ceremonies $75
  Marriage certificate: $7
    Each additional copy $2-$3
  Marriage license: $45-$90
    License remake $15
  Vital records check $9
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  Waivers $10
Voting certificate $2
Water meter removal and reinstallation $25

Weed removal, per hour $60-$108 $25-$200; time and materials $25-$125
Weights and measures license $10-$25 $25
Wood chips $10
Work permit $5
Youth amusement enterprise (See also Teenage club 
  license) $75
Youth amusement supervisor (See also Teenage club 
  license $7
Zoo:

  Admission $2-$12
  Adopt-an-animal program $25-$1,000
  Animal feed, per portion $0.25
  Corporate membership $1,000-$5,000
  Educational classes, per student $10
  Educational program-animal encounter/contact station $20
  Scout group badge programs, per student $1
  Self-guided materials $3
  Stroller rentals $2
  Travel tours $4
  Zoomobile, per hour $150
  Zoomobile mileage, per mile $1
  Zoo membership $45-$60

  Zoo rental
$1,000-$1,200+$2 

per person
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Appendix 4 
 

New Fees Set within the Last Three Years, Fee Amount,  
and Frequency Paid 

 
 

Type of Local 
Government Fee Type Fee Amount Frequency Paid

   

Counties   

Ashland Daily Inmate Housing 

$10.00 
(first day) 

$5.00 
(thereafter) Daily 

Barron Internet Access to Tax Information $400.00 Annually

 Gravel Pit Reclamation Depends on Acres, etc. 

Clark Register of Deeds Technology Fee $1.00 Per Document

Columbia Morgue Fees $25.00 Daily—When Applicable 

 Death Certificate $50.00 When Applicable

 Warrant Pickup Charge $50.00 When Applicable

Dodge Cremation Authorization $300.00 As Needed

 Death Certificate $25.00 As Needed

 Building Number $20.00 As Needed

Eau Claire Serving Warrants $50.00 Per Service Rendered

 Telecom Towers $270.00 At Request to Construct

 Boat Launch 
$3.00 

$20.00 
Daily

Annually

 Deferred Prosecution $150.00 Per Participant

 Sheriff Real Estate Sale $150.00 Each Request

 Not-Sufficient-Funds Check Charges 20% Bad Check Surcharge Each Incident

 Community Service Project Fee $0.75 
Per Hour—Upfront

 per Client 

Fond du Lac Foreclosure $25.00 Annually

Grant Web Site for Tax Parcels $200.00 Annually

Kenosha Set-Up Accounts Recreation $25.00 One Time

 Late Fee $5.00 Monthly

 Expedite Vital Records $10.00 Upon Request

Langlade Fairgrounds Varies As Used

 Forestry Varies As Used

 Campgrounds $10.00 As Used

Lincoln Nonmetallic Mining $300.00+$50 per acre As Needed

 Electronic Access Fee $1.00 
Per Document, as 

Needed

Manitowoc Nonmetallic Mining Reclamation Fee $75.00 Per Acre, Annually 

   



4-2 

Type of Local 
Government Fee Type Fee Amount Frequency Paid

   

Rock Septic Systems Varies Varies

Shawano Probate Booklet $10.00 As Needed

 Jail Health Nurse $35.00 Per Hour, as Needed

 School Health Nursing Services $4.50 Per Student, as Needed

 Flu Vaccinations $15.00 As Needed

 TB Skin Tests $5.00 As Needed

 Medicaid Daily Rate Varies Monthly

 Private Pay Daily Rate $125.00 per day Monthly

Sheboygan Hotel/Restaurant Inspection $100.00–$250.00 Annually

 Child Care Certification Fee $100.00 Annually

 Photocopies $0.25 As Provided

 Discharge Permits $500.00 As Provided

 Runway De-Icing Fee $0.005 
Per Gallon of
 Jet Fuel Sold

 Directory of Officials $2.00 As Sold

 Stewardship Fee $200.00 
As Parkland Fees Are 
Paid for Platted Lots

Vernon Video Reproduction $20.00 As Needed

 Cassette Tape Reproduction $10.00 As Needed

 Fingerprinting $5.00 As Needed

Washburn Daily Jail Fee 
$25.00 
$5.00 

Day 1
Per Day Before Release

 Electronic Monitor Set-Up Fee $25.00 Before Release

 Warrant Fee $50.00 Monthly

 Juvenile Detention Costs $70.00 Monthly

Waukesha Cellular Tower Licenses Individual Negotiation 

 Parking at Expo Center  For Events

 Inmate Medical Co-Pay  

 
Zoning Fee to Public for Municipalities 
Utilizing County Planning Department  

 Fee to Municipalities for Yard Waste  

Waupaca Cremation Fee $75.00 Daily by Undertakers

 Geographic Information Systems Fee For Time and Material Daily, Special Requests

 Surveyor’s Fee For Time and Material Daily, Special Requests

 Teen Court Fee $15.00 Weekly

 Daily Fees—Jail $10.00 Daily if Collectible

 Booking Fees—Jail $25.00 Daily if Collectible

Waushara Park Dedication Varies 
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Type of Local 
Government Fee Type Fee Amount Frequency Paid

   

Cities   

Augusta Soda License $5.00 Annually

 Conditional Use Permit $100.00 As Needed

 Rezoning Permit $100.00 As Needed

Beaver Dam Assessment Letter $10.00 Each Letter Request 

 Boat Launch Fees 
$3.00 

$20.00–$30.00 
Daily/Per Launch

Annually/Per Season

Berlin Fingerprinting Fee—Resident $10.00 As Needed

 Fingerprinting Fee—Nonresident $20.00 As Needed

 Animal Pound Fees $5.00 Daily

Boscobel Location of Property Irons 

$25.00 
$50.00 

 

Minimum
Per Hour, as Needed—

Each Use

Brillion Refuse Collection Fee $100.00 
Annually (Fee 
Approximate)

 Fire Hydrant Protection $15.65–$2,500 
Quarterly—Based on 

Meter Size

Brodhead Sewer Hook-Up Fee $1,920.00 

When 
Building/Connection 

Permit Issued

Brookfield Fees for Planning and Development Review  As Needed

Cedarburg Impact Fee—Library 

$540.40 
$316.79 

 
 
 

Single-Family
Multifamily

With Each Developer’s 
Agreement or Building 

Permit

 Impact Fee—Police $1.63 Per $1,000 Value

 Impact Fee—Park 
$1,305.83 

$765.48 
Single-Family

Multifamily

 Sewer Connection 
$660.00 

$390.00–$470.00 
Single-Family

Multifamily/2-Family

Colby Fax $1.00 Each Page

 Curb Opening $25.00 Per Permit

Cudahy Storm Water $4.10 
3 Times a Year per 

District

 Sidewalk   
On Tax Roll (Per Cubic 

Foot)

Delafield Impact Fees  
When Building Permit 

Issued

 Street Opening Permits $75.00 Weekly

 Erosion Control  5-12 Times a Year

 Fire Protection/Sprinklers  5-12 Times a Year

 Temporary Sign $100.00 12 Times a Year

Durand Fire Call Charges $500.00 
When Service Provided 

(Fee Amount Is Average)

Elkhorn Fireworks Permit $50.00 Annually

Evansville Sewer Hook-Up Fee $1,000.00 
When Building 

Permit Issued
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Type of Local 
Government Fee Type Fee Amount Frequency Paid

   

Fennimore Cut Driveway Opening $2.50 
Per Front Foot, 

as Needed

Fountain City Boat Launch Fees 
$3.00 

$30.00 
Daily 

Annually

Green Bay Vacation of Streets $200.00 As Requested

Green Lake Park Reservation 
$25.00 + Cleanup Cost if 

Necessary As Requested

Greenwood Lot Lines $15.00 When Performed

Janesville Real Estate Search Fee $15.00 Monthly

 Right of Way Excavation $50.00 As Needed

 Special Assessment Splits $300.00 As Needed

 Traffic Research $150.00 As Needed

Juneau Copies $0.25 Per Sheet

 Faxes 
$0.15 
$0.05 

Per Sheet Sent 
per Sheet Received

 Utility Customer List $25.00 As Requested

 Utility Customer Labels $30.00 As Service Is Requested

 Dog/Cat Licensing $10.00 

 Not-Sufficient-Funds Check Charges $25.00 

Lodi Preliminary Plat Review $200.00 + $40.00 per Lot As Needed 

 Final Plat Review $150.00 + $40.00 per Lot As Needed

Manawa Building Permits $300.00 

Whenever Any New 
Construction (Fee for 

New Home)

Mayville Water Impact Fee  

Paid With Initial Building 
Permit; Based on 
Connection Size

 Parking Permits 
$25.00 
$10.00 

Quarterly 
Monthly

Menasha Recreational Fire Permit $25.00 As Needed

Menomonie Parkland Fees $400.00 
1 Time per 

Residential Lot

 Park Shelters $10.00-$50.00 Per Use

 Rental Property Inspections $10.00 Per Unit Annually

 Fireworks $25.00 Annually

 Pet Shop/Kennel/Grooming $50.00 Annually

 Amplified Music $10.00 Per Event

Mequon Where Staff Time Is Involved—Various  

Merrill Vehicle Registration $7.00 
Per New Vehicle 

Registration

 Vehicle Registration Renewal  $3.00 Per Renewal

Milton Weights and Measures $10.00 + Actual Cost Annually

Milwaukee Snow and Ice Fee $0.2736 Quarterly, per Foot

 Permit Processing Fee $3.00 
Per Permit; When Permit 

Applied For
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Type of Local 
Government Fee Type Fee Amount Frequency Paid

   

Mondovi Camping Fee $10.00 

Whenever Someone 
Camps at City Park; 

Fee per Night

New Lisbon Large Item Pick-Up $5.00–$25.00 As Needed 

 Police Reports $2.00 As Needed

 Photocopying $0.10 As Needed

 Conditional Use $250.00 As Needed

Niagara Park Facility Rental $10.00–$50.00 As Used

Oak Creek Stormwater Management Varies Annually

 Engineering Services—Developers Varies As Needed

 Commercial Fire Inspection Fee Varies 
As Needed, 

2 Times per Year

 Building Plan Review Varies As Needed

Omro Boat Launch 
$4.00 

$15.00 
Daily

Annually Resident

 Boat Mooring $8.00–$15.00 Nightly

Oshkosh Boat Launch $3.00 Daily; Per Usage

Pittsville Use of Park $35.00 Per Day

Plymouth Not-Sufficient-Funds Check Charges $30.00 Per Check, as Needed

 
Tax Amount Requests from Mortgage 
Companies 

$1.00 or 
$10.00 

Each, as Needed 
or Minimum

Portage Stormwater Management Permit Fee  
Prairie du 
Chien Shelter Reservation 

$25.00 
$35.00 

Daily (Resident)
Daily (Nonresident)

 City Hall Rooms $50.00 Per Day

 Boat Launch Fee 

$5.00 
$10.00 
$20.00 

Daily
Annually Resident

Annually Nonresident

Prescott Impact Fees  

Rice Lake Weights and Measures License $25.00 Annually

 Weights and Measures Assessment Based on Contract Annually

 Tax Exempt Reports $10.00 Every 2 Years

Ripon Cigarette License Fee $100.00 Annually

River Falls Impact Fees  Plat Approval

 Annexation Fees $200.00 + Review Fee 
Upon Submittal of 

Petition

 Weights and Measures $25.00 + Cost of Inspection Annually

 Fire Department Response $200.00 Per Vehicle, per Accident

 Stormwater Management Fee $40.00 Per Acre, as Needed

 Escort Fee—Structure Moving $250.00 As Needed

Schofield Fee For Copies $0.25 Per Copy, as Required

Seymour Park Fee $150.00 When New Home Built
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Type of Local 
Government Fee Type Fee Amount Frequency Paid

   
Sheboygan 
Falls Special Assessment Letters $10.00 Monthly

 Pump Station Connection Fee $1,000.00 As Needed

Sun Prairie Stormwater Utility Fee/Single Family $5.00 Monthly 

 Stormwater Utility Fee/Business 
Based on Number of 

Equivalent Runoff Units 

Thorp Cat Licenses $8.00–$10.00 Annually

 Park Reservations $10.00 As Made

 Tree Branch Clipping $25.00 Per Hour, as Needed

Tomahawk Nonprofit Garbage $45.00 Quarterly

Watertown Cat License $5.00–$10.00 Annually

 Sewer Connection Fee $2,900.00–$238,000 Time of Building Permit

 Water Impact Fee $1,010.00–$80,839 Time of Building Permit

Waupaca Weights and Measures $12.50 Annually, per Device

 Background Checks $5.00 Daily

 Alarm System $15.00 Daily

Wausau Various Fire Inspections Varies 

Whitehall Park Shelter Reservation $20.00 Each Reservation

   

Villages   

Ashwaubenon Fire Inspection—Reinspection fees $40.00 After Violation

 Rubbish Pickup $25.00–$100.00 When Used

 Street Tree Planting $120.00 
When Planted; Fee 
Amount Is Average

Brown Deer Recycling $32.50 Annually

 Public Fire Protection  

Quarterly; Variance 
Based on Assessed 

Improvement Value

Cottage Grove Not-Sufficient-Funds Check Charges $25.00 

 Sign Permits $50.00 

Cross Plains Special Assessment Checks $25.00 Per Request

Ellsworth Water Impact Fee $2,200.00 With Building Permit

 Police Impact Fee $180.00 With Building Permit

 Library Impact Fee $300.00 With Building Permit

 Green Space Fee $1,000.00 With Building Permit

Elm Grove Building Board Review Fee $25.00 When Applying

 EMS—Mileage $8.00 Per Mile; Per Run

 EMS—Supplies $40.00 Per Run

 EMS—Oxygen $60.00 Per Run

 Plan Commission Review Fee $25.00 When Applying

 Code of Conduct Sign $40.00 When Applying
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Type of Local 
Government Fee Type Fee Amount Frequency Paid

   

Germantown Water Connection Fee $428.87 
When Existing Structure 

Hooks into Water System

 Land Use Plan 

$2.50 
$10.00 
$25.00 

When Purchased, 
per Map

Black and White
Color

 Cat License $6.00–$11.00 

Greendale Curbside Yard Waste Pick-Up $20.04 
Annual Tax Roll 
Special Charge

Hartland Impact Fees  

 Building Permits  

 Geographic Information Systems Maps 
Amounts Vary 

 Depending on Size 

 Municipal Building Fees Varies 

Howard Weights and Measures 
Fee Amount Varies Based on 

Number of Devices Annually

Kewaskum Certified Survey Map Review $100.00 + $20.00 per Lot 

 Conceptual Plan Review $100.00–$150.00 

 Preliminary Plat Review $250.00 + $5.00 per Lot 

 Final Plat Review $250.00 + $5.00 per Lot 

 Developer Agreement $220.00 

Marshall Special Assessment Title Searches $15.00 As Needed

 Stormwater Erosion Control Permit 
Fee Amount Varies; 

Generally over $1,000 As Needed

Mukwonago Conceptual Site Plan Review $135.00 One Time

 
Resubmittal of Certified Survey Map, 
Preliminary or Final Plats $185.00 Each Submittal

Paddock Lake 
 
Boat Launch 

$2.00 
$10.00 

Every Time Park
Annually

Pewaukee Plan Commission Application Fees Assorted As Needed

 
Assorted Permit and License Fees; i.e.  
Soda License $5.00–$10.00 Annually

Pleasant Prairie Building Permits Varies When Permit Issued

 Rescue Varies Daily

 Membership (Recreation Center) Varies Monthly or Annually

 Recreation Center Programs Varies 

Plover Room Rental Fees $50.00 Average Per Occurrence/Daily 

Prairie du Sac Subscriber Fee to Mail Committee Agenda $40.00 Annually

Rothschild Boat Launch 
$2.00 

$15.00 
Daily

Season

 Erosion Control Stormwater $500.00 As Needed

 Site Plan Fee $500.00 

As Needed for 
Commercial, Industrial, or 

Multifamily Under 5,000 
Square Feet
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Type of Local 
Government Fee Type Fee Amount Frequency Paid

   

 Site Plan Fee $1,000.00 

As Needed for 
Commercial, Industrial, or 

Multifamily over 5,000 
Square Feet

 Platting Review Fees  As Billed to Developer

 Engineering and Legal Fees  As Billed to Developer

Saukville Driveway Permit $20.00 As Needed

 Burning Permit $15.00 As Needed

Shorewood Notary $0.50 As Needed

 Day Parking $5.00 Annually

Slinger Fireworks $3.00 As Needed

 Extra Territorial Land Divisions $15.50 As Needed

Wales Bartender $20.00 Annually

Waterford Fire and Rescue Impact Fee  
West 
Milwaukee Sewer Charge Varies Quarterly

 Storm Sewer Charge Varies Quarterly

West Salem Parade/Procession $25.00 As Applied For

 Hotel/Motel Tax $5.00 Annually

 Boulevard Trees $5.00 As Applied For

 Developer Fees Based on Developer As Applied For

Whitefish Bay False Alarm $150.00 As Billed

 Permits—Building, Electric, etc.  $40.00 minimum Daily

   

Towns   

Cedarburg Metal Pick-Up Fee $25.00 As Needed

 Permit to Work Within Town Right of Way $35.00 As Needed

 Restoration Deposit Fee $200.00 As Needed

Dunn Conditional Use Permit Review Fee $150.00 As Needed

 Driveway Permit—Residential $100.00 As Needed

 Driveway Permit—Farm Access $20.00 As Needed

 Land Division—Certified Survey Map $150.00 As Needed

 Rezone Review Fee $175.00 As Needed

 Tower Siting Review Fee $150.00 As Needed

 Special Assessment/Charge Search Fee $20.00 As Needed

Freedom Right-of-Way Permits $25.00 As Needed

 Zoning Permits $75.00–$150.00 As Needed

 Certified Survey Map Review $75.00 As Needed
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Government Fee Type Fee Amount Frequency Paid

   

Grand Chute Wetland Delineation $1,000.00–$5,000.00 

Based on Delineator 
Quote on Request 

per Project

 Stormwater Inspection $600.00 
Per New Project (Less 

Than 20,000 Square Feet)

Harrison Copies $0.15 Upon Request, per Page

 Sign Application Fee 
$25.00 + $0.15 per 

Square Foot 
When Application 

Submitted

Lafayette Green Space Fee $100.00 As Needed, per Lot

Madison Menu Billing for Ambulance Varies Fee Amount

Minocqua Building Inspection $500.00–$600.00 When Applied For

Mount Pleasant Licenses (All) Varies Annually

 Zoning (All) Varies As Needed

 Room Tax 6% Gross Receipts Monthly

Mukwonago Impact Fee for Police and Fire $521.00 When Lot Created

 Application for Residential Permit $100.00 
When Subdivision 

Created

 Application for Allotment $100.00 
When Subdivision 

Created

Oconomowoc Sewer User Fee $147.00 Quarterly

Onalaska Park Shelter Rental $50.00 As Rented

 Garbage Bags $1.00 As Needed/Purchased

Summit Road Opening Fee $25.00 3 Times per Week

Vernon Facility Usage $25.00 One Time (+$75 Deposit)

Waukesha Purchase Recycle Bin $5.00 When Purchased

 Rubbish Removal $141.63 Annually

Windsor Room Tax 3% of Room Rate Quarterly
 
 





Appendix 5 
 

Fees that Communities May Implement within the Next Three Years 
 
 

Type of Fee County City Village Town 

     

Annual License Fees  Burlington Pewaukee  

Assessment Letter Fee  Marion   

Assessment Searches   Waunakee  

Board of Public Works Permit Fees  Monroe   

Board Packet Subscription   Waunakee  

Building Permit Fees   Pewaukee  

Business License Fee  Antigo Rothschild  

  Baraboo   

Cat License   Waunakee  

Certified Survey Map Approval Processing Charge  Juneau   

Digitally Reproduced Maps   Prairie du Sac  

Dog License Fees   Pewaukee  

Driveway Fees    Onalaska 

Erosion Control Fees Rock    

Fire Equipment Fee  Cedarburg   

Fire Inspection Fees  Elkhorn Ashwaubenon  

  Green Bay   

Fire Number Signs    Onalaska 

Fire Protection Fees  Beaver Dam Greendale  

  Fennimore   

  Kiel   

  Marshfield   

  New Lisbon   

  Tomahawk   

Garbage/Refuse Collection Fee  Beaver Dam Brown Deer  

  Fennimore   

  New Lisbon   

  Sun Prairie   

  Tomahawk   

  West Bend   

Geographic Information Systems Mapping   Waunakee  

Handicap Parking Penalty Fees  Stevens Point   

Hotel Tax   Sauk City  
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Type of Fee County City Village Town 

     

Impact Fees  Marshfield  Minocqua 

  New London   

Impact Fees for Library   River Falls   

Impact Fees for Park, Sewer, Water, and New Facility   Ellsworth  

   Kewaskum  

   Sauk City  

Impact Fees for Recreation Facility   Waunakee  

Impact Fees for Public Fire Protection Equipment    Windsor 

Infrastructure Fees    Prairie du Sac  

New Construction Fees   Elm Grove  

Not-Sufficient-Funds Check Charges  Baraboo   

Overnight Parking Lot Fees  Stevens Point   

Park Use, Boat Launching, etc. Manitowoc    
Participant Fees for Summer Recreation  
Program and Winter Skating Park  Thorp   

Payment in Lieu of Taxes   Mukwonago  

Property Owners Exchange   Mukwonago  

Real Estate Transfer Fee  New London   

Recreation User Fees  Waupaca   

Sanitation Fee for Septic Systems Jackson    

Selling of Black Dust, Gravel, Sand  Greenwood   

Special Assessment Levy    Madison 

Special Event/Road Use    Dunn 

Storm Water Utility Fees Rock Antigo Brown Deer Freedom 

  De Pere Greendale  

  Fennimore   

  Marshfield   

  Mauston   

  Menasha   

  Sheboygan Falls   

  West Bend   

Subdivision Fees  Portage   
Transit Program—“Destination” Charge to  
Elderly/Disabled Who Use the Transit Program  
Services Offered Through Volunteer Drivers Rock    

Transportation Utility  River Falls   

Utility Connection Fees  Antigo   

Weights and Measures Fees  Antigo Germantown  

  New London Holmen  

   Waunakee  



Appendix 6 
 

Types of Fees that Increased 30 Percent or  
More over the Last Three Years 

 
 

Type of Local 
Government Fees 

  

Counties  

Barron Marriage License Waiver Fee 

Douglas Not-Sufficient-Funds Check Charges 

Eau Claire Huber Fees 

 Building and Zoning Permits 

 Camping Fees 

 Paper Service (Process) 

Lincoln Conditional Use Permits 

 Variances (Zoning) 

 Land Use Fees 

Shawano Utility Permits 

Sheboygan Child Care Provider Certification Fee 

Washburn Some Zoning Permit Fees  

  

Cities  

Abbotsford Cigarette License 

Barron Building Permits 

Beaver Dam Cigarette License 

Berlin Special Assessment Letters 

 Not-Sufficient-Funds Check Charges 

Black River Falls Garbage Collection at Transfer Station 

Boscobel Building and Zoning Permits 

 Special Meeting Charges 

 Not-Sufficient-Funds Check Charges 

 Peddler's License 

Brodhead Building Permits 

Brookfield Cigarette License 

 Ambulance Transport (Basic Life Support) 

 Dog Licenses 

Cedarburg Payment in Lieu of Parkland Land Dedication 

Fennimore Appliance Disposal 

 Memorial Building Rent—Office Rent 

 Memorial Building Rent—Fire Station Rent 

 Commercial Garbage—Without Dumpster 
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Type of Local 
Government Fees 

  

Galesville Variance Application 

 Rezone Application 

 Conditional Use Permit 

Green Bay Cigarette License 

 Letters of Specials 

 Class B Beverage License 

Hayward Cigarette License 

Lake Geneva Parking Tickets 

Lodi Sewer Hook-Up Fees 

 Park Reservation Fee 

Loyal Cigarette License 

Mauston Building and Zoning Fees 

Menomonie Cigarette License 

 Licensed Premises Alteration Fee 

 Masseuse/Masseur License 

 Massage Establishment 

 Duplicate License Fee 

 Public Dance Permit 

 Taxi Cab Driver 

 Transient Merchant 

 Youth Amusement Supervisor 

 Youth Amusement Enterprise 

Merrill Cigarette License 

Milwaukee Cigarette License 

Mondovi Building Permit Fees 

 Bag Prices for Landfill 

Monroe Garbage and Recycling 

Nekoosa Cigarette License 

New Lisbon Swim Passes 

 Liquor Licenses 

 Camping Fee 

New London Liquor Licenses 

 Cigarette License 

 Beverage Operator 

New Richmond Kennel License 

 Publication Fee for Liquor Licenses 

 Operator/Bartender License 

 Operator License—Provisional 

 Board of Appeals Variance—First Request 
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Type of Local 
Government Fees 

  

 Board of Appeals Variance—Second Request 

 Annexation 

 Certified Survey Map 

 Certified Survey Map—Amended/Revised 

 Concept Plan 

 Conditional Use Permit 

 Extra Territorial Items 

 Final Plat 

 Late Fee 

 Final Plat—Amended/Revised 

 Preliminary Plat—Amended/Revised 

 Unlisted Use 

 Zoning Amendments 

 Amusement Arcade License 

 Amusement Device License 

 Dance Halls 

 Direct Seller’s Permit 

 Driveway Permit 

 Fence Permit 

 Not-Sufficient-Funds Check Charges 

 Mobile Home Park Operator 

 Private Alarm Systems 

 Private Well Operation Permit 

 Processions, Parades, Runs, Bicycle Races 

 Public Dance 

 Real Estate Tax Information 

 Refuse Collector 

 Roller Skating Rinks 

 Secondhand Article Dealer’s License 

 Secondhand Jewelry Dealer’s License 

 Signal Receiving Antenna 

 Statement of Real Property Status 

 Street Excavation Permit 

 Street Privilege Permit 

 Street Use Permit 

 Taxicab License 

 Truck Parking License 

 Zoning and Occupancy Permit 
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Type of Local 
Government Fees 

  

Niagara Sewer Use Fees 

Osseo Operator/Bartender License 

 Publication Fee 

Rice Lake Building Permits 

River Falls Stormwater 

Spooner Building Permits—New Buildings 

Sun Prairie Ambulance Fees 

Thorp Swimming Facility Fees 

Wausau Pool Fees 

West Allis Building Inspections and Zoning Permits 

  

Villages  

Allouez Site Plan Review 

 Storm Water Management Review 

 Liquor Licenses 

 False Alarm Charges 

DeForest Special Assessment Search 

 Cigarette License 

Grafton Statement of Real Property Status Letters 

Hales Corners Operator’s License 

 Minimum Building Permit Fee 

Hartland Liquor and Beer Licenses 

 Cigarette License 

Holmen Building Permits 

Howard Park Impact Fee 

Mukwonago Liquor Licenses 

 Weed Cutting 

 Dog and Cat License 

Pewaukee Plan Commission Application Fees  

Prairie du Sac Building Permit Fees 

Pulaski Letters of Specials 

 Operator/Bartender License 

Rothschild Liquor Licenses (All Classes) 

 Operator/Bartender License 

 Cigarette License 

Saukville Assessment Letters 

 Class B Liquor Licenses 

 Operator/Bartender License—New 

 Operator/Bartender License—Renewal 
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Type of Local 
Government Fees 

  

Union Grove Liquor Licenses 

  

Towns  

Beloit Annual Boat Launch Pass Fee for Residents 

 Annual Boat Launch Pass Fee for Nonresidents 

 Cemetery Perpetual Care 

Buchanan Driveway/Culvert 

Dunn Dog License 

 Class A Beer License 

 Class A Liquor License 

Grand Chute Water Fee 

Greenville Park Fee 

Merton Park Improvement Fund 

Minocqua Cigarette License 

Mount Pleasant Cigarette License 

Mukwonago Conditional Use Application 

 Rezone Application 

 Variance Application 

 Street Opening 

 Amplifier Permit—Individual 

 Amplifier Permit—Establishment 

 Class B Liquor License 

 Cigarette License 

Norway 
Building, Electric, Plumbing, Heating, Ventilation, Air 
Conditioning, Culvert Permits 

Sheboygan Liquor and Bartender Licenses 

 Driveway Permits 

Somers Mobile Home License 

Vernon Liquor Licenses 
 
 
 
 
 
 





Appendix 7 
 

Unique, Innovative, or Particularly Effective Local Government  
Practices for Fee Revenue Management 

 
 

Type of Local 
Government Practice 

  
Counties  
 Kenosha Not-sufficient-funds check charges, county-wide. 

 
 Lincoln Most fees collected at counter when service/license is purchased. 

  
Cities  

 Brookfield Automated Clearing House collection (direct debit) for utility bills. 
 

 Juneau Pet fancier license of $20 for owners of more than two cats or two dogs encourages 
people with more than one cat or dog to register all their pets at one time. 
 

 Madison On-line payment options; not necessarily cost savings but enhanced revenue collection. 
 

 Mayville Automated Clearing House collection. 

 Medford City uses a financial software package that is time and cost efficient and improves 
accuracy. When a customer comes in to pay, the cashier immediately enters the payment 
into the system, which then automatically updates the balance and posts the payment. 
 

 Port Washington To avoid all charges associated with deposits to the main checking account, deposits are 
made directly to a savings account which does not have fees. 
 

 River Falls Environmental fee has been very effective. Revenue is used to pay for closed landfill 
monitoring and any future remediation. 
 

 Stevens Point Automated Clearing House electronic transfer from taxpayer account when taxes are due if 
taxpayer completes an application annually. 
 

 Sun Prairie Several city departments are using cash register software that links to the city's financial 
software. This allows transactions to be proofed and posted directly to the general ledger 
rather than having to be re-entered by the finance department. This provides enhanced 
controls and saves about a half hour per day of time for the account clerk. 
 

 Wausau Use of lock boxes available in retail locations. 

 Wisconsin Dells Installation of a nighttime depository box. 

  
Villages  

 Hartland Barcoding of utility bills and tax bills has been extremely beneficial in reducing errors and 
creating an accurate record of transactions. 
 

 Pleasant Prairie Automated Clearing House for recreational center members who pay monthly. The 
members pay an additional $3 monthly for this service but the retention rate for these 
members is higher compared to those who make annual payments. 

  
Town  
 Grand Chute “City letters,” letters that municipalities send title companies upon request that detail any 

pending or current special assessments, such as for sidewalk repair, that may not be on the 
current tax roll, are set up on a prepayment system.  
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